Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Recreational Concepts, Inc.

Phone: (608) 835-2780 Fax: (608) 835-2784 View Additional Phone Numbers 121 N Main St, Oregon, WI 53575 http://www.recreationalconceptsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the installation and service of in-ground swimming pools, spas and hot tubs, concrete installation, landscaping and remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Recreational Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Recreational Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Recreational Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2001 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 04/16/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Kjelland, President Ms. Denise Sime , Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Denise Sime , Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Industry Tips
Read Before Signing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Recreational Concepts, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 121 N Main St

    Oregon, WI 53575 (608) 271-8296 (608) 835-2780

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Recreational Concepts, Inc to install a pool that I purchased. They came out to look at the area and the pool and gave an estimate, which kept changing. But in the final proposal it was stated that if I helped with the work, they would deduct $250.00 from the liner installation of $1100.00. After the work was completed I received the final bill, and in the notes it stated again to subtract $250.00 from the liner installation cost of $1100.00, which would total $850.00. The bill then went on to itemize the rest of the work, Mason sand and delivery $250.00, additional mason sand of $40.00, Patio blocks $10.00, Excavation $800.00, plus tax of $95.50, which totaled $2047.50. I paid this amount before installers left, and was never questioned on the amount paid. I called the owner, Jeff Kjelland numerous times during the project, regarding issues that were occurring with the excavation and installation, with no return call. After he wrote the proposal he never came back out regarding any of the issues that were occurring, or to check on my complaints. The excavating was suppose to be at a slight enough angle to be able to mow with a rider lawn mower. After excavation the sand was brought in and placed where the leveling took place. When the installers went to install the pool, they realized that the area that was excavated, was not large enough to accommodate my swimming pool, which caused myself and the workers to dig into the hill by hand. So after having to dig into the hill the angle was lost, along with the levelness of the pool area itself, which caused for more sand to be delivered, with an additional sand charge, to raise up the downside of the pool. This caused the pool to be raised to the point of major landscaping having to be done to accommodate the pump and filter of the swimming pool, plus making the above ground pool depth vary throughout the pool. I also had to make a retaining wall on one side of the pool that I specifically stated I did not want to do, to Jeff and the excavator. I was assured by both of them that I would not need to do this. Overall I was not pleased with the service provided by Recreational Concepts, Inc. Not only with the billing issue, but with the workers that were sent to do the work. Other complaints that I have, is before the sand was installed for the 2nd time, a lot of digging had to be done, plus because of the area, there are a lot of rocks that needed to be taken out. The workers were trying to get away with not taking these rocks out. I personally caught them trying to hide the rocks rather then dig them up numerous times. Because of this I have rocks that are digging into the liner of my pool. I also observed them striping out screw heads, because they were trying to use the wrong size screw bits to put the walls of the pool together. I tried to contact the owner during and after the installation regarding the issues with the excavation, pool installation, with no response. Then I received another bill for an additional $273.50, after paying $2047.50 already. I tried again, to contact the owner, with no response.

Desired Settlement: I have already paid Recreational Concepts, Inc. more than enough for the work completed, per the final proposal and the final bill. Since there were so many issues, I would just really like this to be resolved without any further action.

Business Response:

I am one of the attorneys that represents Recreational Concepts, Inc., located at *** ***** **** ******* ******* ********* *****, which has asked me to respond to you on its behalf with regard to the above referenced complaint.
Before specifically addressing the facts alleged in Mr. *******'s complaint, it should be noted that the
complaint was filed with the BBB only after Mr. ******* received correspondence from Recreational
Concepts demanding the balance due on the contract. The timing of the BBB complaint is not a
coincidence. The complaint was filed one day after Mr. ******* left a voicemail for me during which he
acknowledged receiving a letter from me regarding the payment due. The purpose of the complaint is to
get Recreational Concepts to not pursue the amounts due and owing under its contract with Mr. *******.
It is also interesting to note that allegations of Mr. *******'s unhappiness with the work done have only
been shared well after Recreational Concepts' demand for the balance due.
The relevant facts of the situation are simple. Multiple proposals were provided to Mr. *******. On
each of those proposals Recreational Concepts identified that the liner installation cost was $1,350. The
July 25, 2014, proposal further identified that the purchase price for the liner installation would be
reduced to $1,100 if the homeowner assisted in the installation. That discount was already reflected in
the final bill that was provided to the customer.
Simply stated, Mr. ******* is incorrect in his belief that the liner installation should have cost $1,100
less a $250 credit for his assistance. If this were correct, he would have received a total discount of
$500. The discount that was agreed upon by the parties has been correctly applied.

Starting August 1, 2014, Mr. ******* and representatives of Recreational Concepts were in
communication with regard to this issue. While Mr. ******* insisted that the $250 credit had not been
applied, Recreational Concepts did provide him with documentation showing that the credit had been
applied to the $1,350 proposal quoted. Mr. ******* did not respond to the supporting documentation or
further follow-up conducted by my client until November 19, 2014, at which time he reiterated his
position that he had paid the invoice in full and for the first time since installation was completed,
alleged that he was unhappy with the installation of the pool.
Recreational Concepts stands by its position that the balance due and owing on its contract is $273.50.
The pool was installed pursuant to the terms of the parties' contract and the appropriate credit was given
to the homeowner.
If you have any questions or would like further information with regard to this matter, please contact
me. Thank you for your consideration of this response.

Business Response:

Please consider this email the formal response of my client, Recreational Concepts, Inc. to the request for further information from you dated March 24, 2015.  As described below, further communications through the BBB are not likely to be useful as the parties are at a standstill on the issue.  Due to the limited amount due from Mr. *******, Recreational Concepts is not going to take any further action to collect the debt owed at this time.

 

During the course of the project and numerous times thereafter, representatives of Recreational Concepts, including its owner, were in constant communication with the homeowner regarding the status of the project and payment due on the project.  Upon demand for payment being made, Mr. ******* left a voicemail message for me at 1:27 p.m. on March 13 indicating that “you’re sending me certified mail and the post office and nobody has my mail.”  Rather than call him back, I sent him a new copy of the letter that same day.  At 1:13 a.m. that night, he filed the complaint with BBB in an effort to use the BBB complaint process to get Recreational Concepts terminate its pursuit of payment.

 

The proposals provided to Mr. ******* were consistent.  The price for the liner installation was $1,350 less $250 if Mr. ******* assisted.

 

Recreational Concepts stands by its position.  However, it is not cost effective to continue to pursue the payment due of $273.50 at this time.  As such, we will consider the matter closed.  Thank you for your consideration.

 

Consumer Response:

On Fri, Apr 10, 2015 at 6:07 PM, ***** ******* ********************** wrote:

I agree to close this case with no further action from either parties. My understanding is that this complaint will not come up again in the future from Recreational Concepts and I do not owe any further money.
I just want to thank BBB for their assistance in resolving this complaint.

 

 

 

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 years ago Recreational Concepts installed a pool after our own pool had been taken down by a storm. last year we didnt' use the pool because of the temperatures, we put the needed chemicals in and recovered it. The first year we noticed 2 small holes above water level in the liner on the south post. We let it go, thinking we could simply patch it. There was also a large wrinkle running along the north side of the pool about 1" wide and 2 1/2' long along the wall. Upon opening it this year we noticed 13 additional holes, also on posts. We contacted Recreational Concepts regarding these, and 2 "rocks" under the liner in the bottom of the pool. After not receiving a "promised" call back, I called them again, and after another email, someone showed up and looked at the pool. While talking to ******, he told us that he'd seen this problem before (the holes) in other pools and to just patch them. He also said the wrinkles in the bottom of the pool were tree roots, at which time he looked behind him then back at the bottom of the pool after seeing only a corn field way behind him and no trees, not understanding where the roots could be coming from. The "rocks" he told us to take a rubber mallet and move the sand around them (there were 2 at the time, very noticeable, yes I have photos of all of these things). We had been charged for that call, which shocked me, but they decided later to remove the charge, but when I tried calling them to see if they were going to do anything about fixing the liner (replacing it, etc) I kept getting the same thing; that someone would call me back, which never happened. We gave up because nothing was coming of it and ended up going to someone else as we started losing water in the pool, which we told Recreational Concepts (this was the last thing we told them without getting a response from them. These are all in emails and phone calls to them. After going to ******** ********* **********, because of the lack of response and help from Recreational Concepts, and the fact that we'd called them about our pool starting to lose water (6" after we'd refilled it twice and it continuously losing water despite refilling it), Dewayne (sp), the man from ******** ********* ********** who worked on the pool revealed to us the reason the holes were in the liner was because the people putting in the liner failed to have enough lax in the liner and when the water was put in, it pulled over the top of the posts, putting small tears in it, thus the holes where the posts were located (yes, I have photos, many of them). The "rocks", which slowly vanished to near nothing, were where weights were put on the bottom of the liner to hold it flat as it was filled. I have a photo of where the metal piece that normally would cover the second skimmer hole had slid down to the bottom/side of the pool on the east side, with it's sharp edges (think of a flat sharp piece of metal about 1' x 1') exposed, duct tape had come lose; and the skimmer hole with it's sharp metal edges exposed (photos of that, also). This had to be put back on by ****** ***** and secured. There were no roots in the area that Recreational Concepts said there were, and no worm holes, either. There were a small piece of roots, in a totally different area that had no exposure on the liner. The wrinkle was also caused by the same way of putting the liner in without any lax when they installed it and put the water in. A wrinkle above the skimmer and hose also were there because those were not done AFTER the water was in the pool.

Desired Settlement: Because they failed to do the work we requested, with the replacement of the liner as should have been done, and failed to do as they promised, returning our calls and we ended up calling them instead; we would like for them to pay for what we should never have ended up paying for. Work which was done by another business, work that they should have had to do because of their inability to do it right the first time because they didn't do it right the first time. If others are having the same problems (which ****** stated as I noted above, when he came to look at our pool), if this can be stopped from happening with these other pools, ie the "rocks" and the holes in the side, then that will make a huge difference, too. But we don't feel we should have to pay for work that was done and should have lasted the warranty of the pool, 20 years. We put our pool in ourself 21 years ago and it lasted 21 years without any of these problems. A professional should be able to do it without all these problems. So we are wanting a refund of the money we spend to have it done by a business who was willing to help us when we couldnt' get any response back from the original ones. It has cost us $2,534.96 from ******** **** ***** **********.

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer.  We are trying to come to a resolution with the customer that is satisfactory for them and satisfactory for us.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

We spoke to ****, ***** of the business tonight on the phone, he has offered us $300 worth of pool chemicals (a years supply) which my husband accepted.  Considering we've already had a new liner installed, we have decided to accept this offer. 

We thank you very much for all you've done to help us with this situation and for aiding us in resolving it.  Have a wonderful day, and if we don't receive the voucher, we will be in contact with you again. 

 

Thank you, again.

 

****** * **** *****


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****

3/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received estimate for pool liner replacement 3/21/2012. paid 70% of high end estimate ($780 of estimate $1,065 or $960). Liner was replaced on 4/23/2012, with some concerns with quality for the price - but was under the impression the down payment was payment in full - based on no follow up - so I was content with price/quality. Was invoiced for remainder 2/11/2014, and remainder requested is the high end of estimate. ($284 balance due)

Desired Settlement: Invoice to be considered paid in full. I had concerns with the quality , 2 years later I can no longer review these concerns with Recreational concepts. How can someone legally bill for a service 2 years after the fact, they were negligent on completing their contractual liability to invoice me and did not allow me an opportunity to dispute any services or charges.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

 
I have attached a copy of the signed contract between Mr. ***** and Recreational Concepts, Inc.  Mr. ***** signed the liner installation contract on 03/23/12 for $1064.18.  He paid $780.00 on 03/23/12 on check number 2011.  This is the 70% that we require down per our contract.  Mr. ***** hired us to install a new above ground 27' x 52" liner and remove his old liner.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. completed the services on April 23, 2012 & April 24, 2012.  We had a total of 10 hours and 20 minutes for completion of this job.  Our normal rates per hour are $75.00.  The original contract estimated the liner installation at $425.00-$525.00 based on hours spent on the job-site and removal and disposal at $45.00.  10.25 hours times our hourly rate is $768.75 plus the $45.00 removal equals $813.75.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. did not charge the additional amount of $243.75 since we underestimated our labor costs in the original liner contract. We charged the higher end of $525.00 for liner installation based on the contract. Mr. ***** has never contacted Recreational Concepts, Inc. with any concerns regarding the quality of the liner. In fact he has never contacted us since signing the original contract.  We keep adequate records of all our customer concerns under each customer file in our Quickbooks software. Recreational Concepts, Inc. sent out a past due invoice on 02/11/14 for the remaining balance due on the original contracted amount after reviewing our pending past due customer files.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. would have welcomed and addressed Mr. *****'s concerns if he had contacted us regarding this issue.  
 
Mr. *****'s desired settlement under his Better Business Bureau complaint can not be satisfied by Recreational Concepts, Inc.  He was aware when he signed the contract that an additional $284.18 would be billed for services rendered.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. reviews past due notices every six months, since his file was still showing a past due amount a notice was generated and mailed.  Mr. ***** is obligated under his contract for the balance due.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ********
****** *********
Recreational Concepts, Inc

Consumer Response:

I did not voice any concerns, since I was never invoiced for the remainder.  I was under the impression that the down payment was accepted as payment in full since I did not receive an additional invoice.  I have issues with the integrity of this business, as they state past due invoices are reviewed every 6 months - if that was a fact, why did I not receive an invoice on 9/23/2012, 3/23/2013, or 9/23/2013 ?   They also state that it took 10.25 hours instead of the proposed amout of time - I find it hard to believe they can account for these hours, but can not produce an invoice within a year and a half.  I would like an explination as to why this took a year and a half to contact me.   Since when is it the consumers responsibility to remind the contractor to invoice their services ?  I did sign the contract, but to my knowledge the business was negligent in its contractual responsibility to invoice for more than a year and a half.  My ability to dispute any services is difficult at this time.  I refuse the businesses justification.  It is not consistent, and I have no faith in the integrity of this business.  This appears to me that they are enduring a hardship, and are reviewing all prior invoices to identify where they can accumulate additional funds.

Business Response: Recreational Concepts, Inc. has contacted Mr. *****.  *** ***** **** ******** spoke with Mr. ***** regarding his concerns.  Mr. ***** has agreed to pay the remaining balance after speaking with ****.  Please make sure the above information is reflected in the complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Recreational Concepts, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart