BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the installation and service of in-ground swimming pools, spas and hot tubs, concrete installation, landscaping and remodeling.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Recreational Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Recreational Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Recreational Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2001 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated: 04/16/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Kjelland, President Ms. Denise Sime , Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Denise Sime , Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 121 N Main St

    Oregon, WI 53575 (608) 271-8296 (608) 835-2780

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (608) 271-8296(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received estimate for pool liner replacement 3/21/2012. paid 70% of high end estimate ($780 of estimate $1,065 or $960). Liner was replaced on 4/23/2012, with some concerns with quality for the price - but was under the impression the down payment was payment in full - based on no follow up - so I was content with price/quality. Was invoiced for remainder 2/11/2014, and remainder requested is the high end of estimate. ($284 balance due)

Desired Settlement: Invoice to be considered paid in full. I had concerns with the quality , 2 years later I can no longer review these concerns with Recreational concepts. How can someone legally bill for a service 2 years after the fact, they were negligent on completing their contractual liability to invoice me and did not allow me an opportunity to dispute any services or charges.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

 
I have attached a copy of the signed contract between Mr. ***** and Recreational Concepts, Inc.  Mr. ***** signed the liner installation contract on 03/23/12 for $1064.18.  He paid $780.00 on 03/23/12 on check number 2011.  This is the 70% that we require down per our contract.  Mr. ***** hired us to install a new above ground 27' x 52" liner and remove his old liner.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. completed the services on April 23, 2012 & April 24, 2012.  We had a total of 10 hours and 20 minutes for completion of this job.  Our normal rates per hour are $75.00.  The original contract estimated the liner installation at $425.00-$525.00 based on hours spent on the job-site and removal and disposal at $45.00.  10.25 hours times our hourly rate is $768.75 plus the $45.00 removal equals $813.75.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. did not charge the additional amount of $243.75 since we underestimated our labor costs in the original liner contract. We charged the higher end of $525.00 for liner installation based on the contract. Mr. ***** has never contacted Recreational Concepts, Inc. with any concerns regarding the quality of the liner. In fact he has never contacted us since signing the original contract.  We keep adequate records of all our customer concerns under each customer file in our Quickbooks software. Recreational Concepts, Inc. sent out a past due invoice on 02/11/14 for the remaining balance due on the original contracted amount after reviewing our pending past due customer files.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. would have welcomed and addressed Mr. *****'s concerns if he had contacted us regarding this issue.  
 
Mr. *****'s desired settlement under his Better Business Bureau complaint can not be satisfied by Recreational Concepts, Inc.  He was aware when he signed the contract that an additional $284.18 would be billed for services rendered.  Recreational Concepts, Inc. reviews past due notices every six months, since his file was still showing a past due amount a notice was generated and mailed.  Mr. ***** is obligated under his contract for the balance due.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ********
****** *********
Recreational Concepts, Inc

Consumer Response:

I did not voice any concerns, since I was never invoiced for the remainder.  I was under the impression that the down payment was accepted as payment in full since I did not receive an additional invoice.  I have issues with the integrity of this business, as they state past due invoices are reviewed every 6 months - if that was a fact, why did I not receive an invoice on 9/23/2012, 3/23/2013, or 9/23/2013 ?   They also state that it took 10.25 hours instead of the proposed amout of time - I find it hard to believe they can account for these hours, but can not produce an invoice within a year and a half.  I would like an explination as to why this took a year and a half to contact me.   Since when is it the consumers responsibility to remind the contractor to invoice their services ?  I did sign the contract, but to my knowledge the business was negligent in its contractual responsibility to invoice for more than a year and a half.  My ability to dispute any services is difficult at this time.  I refuse the businesses justification.  It is not consistent, and I have no faith in the integrity of this business.  This appears to me that they are enduring a hardship, and are reviewing all prior invoices to identify where they can accumulate additional funds.

Business Response: Recreational Concepts, Inc. has contacted Mr. *****.  *** ***** **** ******** spoke with Mr. ***** regarding his concerns.  Mr. ***** has agreed to pay the remaining balance after speaking with ****.  Please make sure the above information is reflected in the complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1