Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pool Works, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a swimming pool contractor for residential and commercial markets. They offer building, sales, and design for above-ground pools and in-ground pools (including fiberglass in-ground pools). They also offer spas, accessories and pool/spa chemicals and repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Works, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pool Works, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pool Works, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 05, 1997 Business started: 07/01/1987 in WI Business started locally: 07/01/1987 Business incorporated: 07/15/1987 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave. Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://dsps.wi.gov/sb/SB-HomePage.html
Phone Number: 608-266-2112
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David A. Kubiak, Owner/CEO Ms. Connie A Kubiak, Owner/Secretary Mr. Matthew J. Kubiak, Owner/President Ms. Kim Sanders, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David A. Kubiak, Owner/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Sanders, Treasurer
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pool Works, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 765 Lawrence Dr

    De Pere, WI 54115 (920) 339-9801 (800) 638-8822

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 638-8822(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November, 2013 my hot tub pump was getting extremely hot (so hot you could cook an egg on the pump). The hot tub was also over heating and turning off. Obviously it needed a repair and was also a fire hazard. I contacted Pool Works and set up an appointment with ***** in the service department. The service tech came out to my house and replaced the pump. Pool works charged me $855.62 for the pump and service. I paid for the service with a credit card. Reference invoice ID *******. At this point there is nothing wrong. The bill's terms and conditions read as follows: "Celebrating 25 years in the business!!!! All residential service work payments are due on or before the date of the service. Help us go green and save yourself some gree-provide your email or fax to save a $2.5 mail processing fee! Please contact our service department with any questions or concrns! email: ********************* Phone ###-###-#### Toll Free ###-###-####" In May 2013 The hot tub again was over heating, shutting down and the pump was feeling extremely hot. This is the same pump Pool works replaced. I started to contact Pool works On July 1, 2013 at 1:37p.m. I spoke to ***** in the service department. ***** told me it was summer so the business was busy with pools and hot tub (understandable). I explained the problem with ***** and asked about the pumps warranty and to have my hot tub checked out. ***** said she had to check with the scheduler and get back to me within the week. ***** never call me back. July 5, 2013 at 2:00p.m. there was no call from Pool works or ***** so I called again to have it serviced. ***** again said she would get back to me and check with the scheduler. I also asked again to know if the part is under warranty. ***** again said she would look into it and get back to me. aT 3:58P.M. ***** contacted me back and said she had an appointment right now. Obviously "right now" doesn't work for most people due to house responsibility so I asked ***** again if there was a different day and again asked about the warranty. For a 3rd time ***** said she would get back to me on the warranty and the service time. I never heard back from ***** so I called again sometime after July and spoke to a very nice younger sounding person. I explained my frustration (nicely) to the other service department employee and gave her numerous day and times it would work for me to be at home during the repair or call out. The employee said she would check with the schedular. I also asked the employee about the pumps warranty (4th time) and she said she would let me know before the technician comes. I never heard from Pool Works again. A couple of days later the service tech showed up (2-3 hours) early. This usually doesn't present a problem but it does if I'm not at home and my wife works the night shift and was woken up by the service tech. the technician said he was in the area on a different job and he decided to stop over to see what the issue was. The service tech looked at the hot tub and said it wasn't the pump they replaced in November ( if the pump was having the same issues as the time in November I'm now wondering if the previous "bad" pump wasn't bad at all). The technician now said the jet pump was bad and if he turned down the filter cycle on the hot tub the pump (perviously replaced) would't get so hot. I had to speak to the tech over the phone since I wasn't home. The tech was at my house for a total of 15-20 minutes. The tech said ***** would call me for a price on a new jet pump and to try having the filter cycle run less (so the pump doesn't over heat). The tech never said how much it cost for him to come out nor did he give my wife a bill or have her sign anything. That same day ***** actually called me back but she called to give me a quote on a new Jet Pump. I contacted marques spa's (the manufacturer of my hot tub) explained the issue to them and Pool Work's behavior and they agreed the service tech didn't address the issue and they couldn't explain Pool Work's behavior. Pool Works in the only service business in the area for Marquis Spa's. A couple of day's later I saw on my credit card Pool Works charged me $110 for this call. I did not authorize Pool Works to charge me (how do they not know I didn't want to pay in cash or with a check). I also did not sign anything authorizing them to charge my credit card when they feel like it (reference terms and conditions on their bills above). Pool Works also did not get back to me if the pump originally replaced and thought again was bad if it was under warranty. I asked at least 4 times if the pump was under warranty and was never given a answer. On July 15, 2013 I spoke to *** ***** of Pool Works over the phone and at first was very nice and calm and described how ***** promised to get back to me on the warranty how much it would cost to service my hot tub or replace a part and they charged my credit card without my authorization. *** ***** didn't seem to care what I had to say and said they keep a credit card on file. *** ***** said they don't come out to houses for FREE (understandable). She did say she would look at my account and refund me for the labor $55. 2 hours after speaking to the manager ***** called me. Thinking she was calling me to apologize for never getting back to me or not telling me the bill before and or if the pump was under warranty she started to defend herself and basically tell me I was wrong and she called me back. ***** then hung up the phone on me. I'm not the only one that this has happened to before. BBB has a previous complaint and if you look at the following websites they also list similar complaint: ****************************************************************************** ***************************************************************** ********************************************************************** What I would like is a apology (written) from ***** for never returning my phone calls when she said she would about the warranty and a date to have my hot tub service and for her rude behavior by calling me after I spoke to the manager and telling me she was right and I was wrong. I would also like a apology (written) from *** ***** and an explanation on how she is going to make sure this doesn't happen to someone else (new business policy?) since this is happening to other people. I would also like a 75% refund (80$) since the service tech was already in the area when he stopped over, the business came at their connivance, never got back to my on the warranty of the hot tub (the reason for the call out), and my time to keep calling them. I do think they deserve some money for travel expenses but the tech did nothing to my hot tub beside press one filter cycle button. Nothing in the bill's TRERMS AND CONDITIONS says anything about Pool Works has the right to charge my credit card at any time.

Desired Settlement: What I would like is a apology (written) from ***** for never returning my phone calls when she said she would about the warranty and a date to have my hot tub service and for her rude behavior by calling me after I spoke to the manager and telling me she was right and I was wrong. I would also like a apology (written) from *** ***** and an explanation on how she is going to make sure this doesn't happen to someone else (new business policy?) since this is happening to other people. I would also like a 75% refund (80$) since the service tech was already in the area when he stopped over, the business came at their connivance, never got back to my on the warranty of the hot tub (the reason for the call out), and my time to keep calling them. I do think they deserve some money for travel expenses but the tech did nothing to my hot tub beside press one filter cycle button.

Business Response: We mailed out documentation today to your office.  Please let us know when you receive it.  Thank you!

Business Response: We notified the customer that we have refunded the full $110.78 to their credit card.  We have also closed their service account.  

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

POOL WORKS has listed below that they notified the customer (ONLY TIME I WAS NOTIFIED WAS THROUGH THE BBB/showing how inaccurate or misleading this company can be). I'm accepting this full refund (even though I still think POOL WORKS deserves travel costs $25).  It should be noted I am still unhappy that *** ***** and ***** arn't sending a apology letter for their behavior in this matter and hopefully down the road this company realizes that most of their problems probably stem from their employee *****. I hope no one ever has this bad of an experiance from anywhere in the world. I will not being buying or getting my hot tub servicd through this comnpany at all.  Since POOL WORKS is the only MARQUIS dealer/repair company in the area I will be looking into buying a whole new hot tub instead of getting this fixed in the future just to avoid POOL WORKS.

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

6/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool Works installed my in-ground pool on time and on budget in September 2009. The following year, I informed them that the stone in one of the corners was crumbling, and they said they would fix it. They did not repair it in Fall 2010, and said they would do the following season. It was not repaired again in 2011. This year when they came out to open the pool (April 25), the service person took photographs. I spoke with ****** several times to try and schedule the work. She kept promising me a return call, which has yet to occur. I have left messages for Vivian. I have left a message for ****** ******, explaining that I hate to "pull this card," but I will not pay for the service call until the repair work is completed. While I have yet to receive an invoice, I also have not received the promised call back from Vivian. Earlier this week (May 14 or 15), I left a message for **** ****** (the owner). While my messages have involved a complaint, they have been firm, but never unpleasant. If I lived closer to Pool Works, I would have gone in personally. I did have *** at the retail store hold a $500 item for me. But I called him back and told him I would not be coming in to purchase it because I could not spend more money there on principle of these ignored calls. Unfortunately, Pool Works is the only such business in this area, so they have a monopoly. I have not been adversely affected by their monopoly position until now. As a customer who spent around $70,000 for my pool, I do not think I am being treated appropriately.

Desired Settlement: I woudl like the job to be scheduled as soon as possible AND I believe Pool Works should credit me this year's service costs to compensate for the hoorible service and for the time I have spent to handle this situation.

Business Response: We have been working with ******* to remedy the situation.  We have been out there a couple of times since this complaint to get her pool repaired.