BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales (inhouse service) and installation (outsourced service) of a variety of above ground pools,inground pools and hot tubs. They also offers sales and installation (both inhouse) of patio furniture, billiard tables, bars and bar stools.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allied Pools & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allied Pools & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allied Pools & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1964 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated: 10/09/1990 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David P. Murray, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David P. Murray, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Sporting and Athletic Goods Manufacturing (NAICS: 339920)


Additional Locations

  • 1481 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 497-7774

  • 1800 S 108th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53214 (414) 282-6800

  • 5370 W Integrity Way

    Appleton, WI 54913 (920) 739-9522

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 13, 2013, I went to Green Bay to shop for a new hot tub. I visited several businesses and found the one I liked at Allied Pools in Green Bay, WI. The showroom model had a small pink stain (approx 3/4 inch in diameter) and a smaller yellow stain in the interior. I was not set up to receive the spa yet as I was building a new home. I asked if the showroom model was the only tub they had in this model. ******* assured me that they had several and would tag one in the back with my name as I put it on layaway until purchase.I took delivery of this tub on December 23, 2013 for a Christmas gift. I paid over the phone via credit card. I also paid for delivery at that time. To set up delivery I spoke with the Green Bay store on December 18th at 1:34pm. I was told that they did not have the spa in their store and would have someone from the factory in Milwaukee contact me to set up delivery. At 2:09pm on December 18th, 2013, I received a call back from the same number in the Green Bay store to set up delivery. Upon delivery, the drivers were asked how the long trip was and stated that they only came from Green Bay and had the spa in the store in Green Bay. When I returned from work and saw the tub, I immediately saw it was not a new model. There was the pink stain and the yellow stain I had noticed from the floor model in Green Bay. It also had water in it and had a strong smell of chlorine and/or bleach in it. There were water line stains across the top edge of the tub as well. This tub had been hauled in below freezing weather with water in it which obviously could have damaged the pump and/or valved inside the tub. Not only that, but I had been reassured, upon purchase, that this would be brand new and not used. I have begun a dispute with the credit card company which stated this should be an easy case to resolve in my favor due to the obvious used tub verified by pictures. Allied Pools refuses to admit or do anything for me after several attempts.

Desired Settlement: I simply would like a new Viking Aurora III Spa to be in place of this obviously used or demo model. I purchased new and expect NEW. I have given Allied Pools several options to rectify the situation, such as replace it with new, or come get it and refund my money in full.

Business Response: I am sorry Ms ******** is unhappy with her purchase. The hot tub that was delivered to her was NOT a used hot tub or even a display hot tub. She believes the tub delivered to her was the same one she saw on the Allied Pool's Green Bay store floor in April 2013. Based upon the serial number of the tub delivered to her (********) that hot tub was manufactured in August 2013. This was confirmed by ****** **** representative **** *********. In addition, he confirms all spas are water tested at the factory using chlorinated water. Every new tub we receive from the factory has some water still in the lines from the water test done at the factory. Allied moved the spa from our warehouse in Milwaukee, to our Appleton store. One delivery person came from our Appleton location, who stopped and picked up the second delivery person in Green Bay on the way up to Menominee, MI. Ms ********'s partner and son (delivery men's assumption) were present at delivery and were even taking pictures. They assisted in the delivery and helped in removing white factory installed shrink wrap from the tub. At this point I do not know what else I can do to prove this was a new tub. We do not stock or sell any used hot tubs at Allied Pools. I will drop off at BBB a copy of the letter from ****** **** supporting the manufacturing date of unit and water test procedure.  ***** ****** Allied Pools

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On Fri, 11 Apr at 7:39 pm , ***** <*************************> wrote:

I had received a response letter in the mail regarding my case with Allied Pools.  I have repeatedly called and explained to them that Allied NEEDS to call/contact my credit card company THEMSELVES to resolve this complaint. 
 
I have a dispute ongoing with Allied through my credit card company and they have sent Allied a letter that NEEDS Allied's response.  Legally, I cannot do anything or the credit card company cannot do anything until Allied responds to the letter.  Allied was given a date to respond by and the credit card company must give them until that date before anything is resolved.  That date is still a week and a half away and I am completely unable to resolve this without ALLIED CONTACTING MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY.  I have several times told them they must do this and they will not respond to my requests.
 
Allied states they want me to contact them and resolve this.  I am willing to resolve it to our agreement.  HOWEVER ALLIED MUST CONTACT MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY to resolve this issue.  I really don't know how else and how strongly I can say this as it has been several times already with no response.
 
***** ********

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: It is quite evident that Ms. ******** and Allied Pools will not agree on anything. The facts once again are Ms. ******** purchased and received a new, undamaged hot tub. She stated that the hot tub she received was the floor model she saw when she purchased the hot tub in April 2013. Utilizing the hot tub serial number the manufacturer stated the tub was made in late August 2013. Ms. ******** stated the hot tub had to be used because there was some chlorinated water in the tub. Once again we had the manufacture provide a letter stating all their hot tubs are water tested at the factory, with chlorinated water, and some water will always remain in the lines of the tub when shipped. But in order to eliminate the issue Allied Pools agreed to a $400 refund. Instead of taking a check from us or a credit back to her credit card Ms. ******** required the payment to go through a credit card chargeback process. This process doesn't allow for Allied Pools to contact Ms ********'s credit card company in order to speed up or slow down the process. As of 4-15-2014 Ms. ******** has received her credit and we at Allied Pools consider this matter closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Hot Tub from Allied pools 11 months ago has worked properly for only about 2 months real nice when I call but never calls back or follows up, getting discourage would like a proper complete working Hot Tub - Please help P.S - problems with hot tub include breaker keeps tripping ,radio component is bad 2 leaky pumps 1 broken pump and non working lights. As of now they haven't fixed the breaker tripping problem, or the leaky pump joint - nobody has called me to set up a service call to fix this. 2nd time for the leak and the breaker has not worked properly for 7 months, yes 7 months Please Help

Desired Settlement: a properly working hot tub if unable to fix a new one that does work properly

Business Response: The customers the *******'s were immediately contacted and a service call was arranged and all items of contention have been resolved and their hot tub is in working order.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned a hot tub that I purchased from them in February of 2011, the radio went out, took over 6 months to repair, and now the second radio went out and was told that it is not covered because it is near a water source, then why does it come with a radio? then the thermostat control burned out, was told that they were all defective and that took 5 weeks to replace that which I was told if the tub froze up, then warranty would not cover that, now recently I called in January to have the tub looked at because it was making a loud noise and lots of vibration, no one ever showed up and then the tub started smoking 3 weeks ago and had to shut it off, the repair technician came out and said, yep, needs a new pump, but pumps are not covered under warranty because they run all the time and looks to have a slight seal leak, so thats probably not covered, ill call you he say's, that was 3 weeks ago, today I call and the repair guy is gone on vacation.. I bought a hot tub to enjoy, not argue over the warranty. Also, the salesman that sold me the tub said every service call for warrant work you have to pay 60 bucks for service call but get that in credit of spa chemicals, the second service call to fix my tub, they say, oh you were mistaken, only one visit is covered, you must have misunderstood the salesman, but I know what he said. I called and reported a problem well within the warranty period and can not understand why when you call the company they act like you never bought anything from them, the never return calls and if they answer phone act like the repair tech sold you the tub.

Desired Settlement: Fix my Tub and honor all the service calls to fix defective workmanship, you can't tell me a radio should only last 3 months, or use better materials that can stand up to the environment. Im not sure how i am spose to heat a tub that is made for outside use if you can not repair it in a certain amount of time, my tub has been exposed to cold temperatures for almost 3 weeks since it quit running... Im very angry.

Consumer Response: Dear ****,

The company has not said a word, my hot tub has been broken for almost 2 months now and every time I call them they tell me to call the repair man, he say's he going to come out, but then never does and shuts his phone off. This company should not be accredited by your service, they treat customers like they don't exist and lie to make a sale then stop talking.

******* ****




******* ****
***** ******* **** **
******* , WI, *****

Business Response: Mr **** has experienced several issues with his hot tub. As of today, it is our understanding that the third party service firm who handles ****** **** repair work and Mr **** are in agreement as to what has to be repaired on the tub and who is going to make those repairs. In addition, Mr ****'s contact information has been updated in our system and Mr **** has also been asked to contact us at Allied Pools if he has any additional issues in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/19/2012 I purchased a Jacuzzi ***** *** (Seats: 2-3 Adults). Following the manufacturer's written manual for setting water level, when in use, the spa leaks water around the air injection switches (2) into the electronics cabinet. I have been in contact with the store on the telephone, email and in person many times. The low voltage control box has already been replaced once. Water in also leaking into the high speed circulation pump. Allied Pools "solution" has been to: 1) lower the water level below manufacturer's recommended levels which would require I take the filter cover unit apart, 2) I should fix the spa myself by making a water diverter for the leak which would still fill the pan with water, 3) I should fix the spa myself by taking the leaking air valves out of the spa and cover the holes with some improvised waterproof patch. The repair person I spoke with said this is a common problem with the Jacuzzi***** spa but this information was not revealed to me in any form prior to my August conversation with the repair company, Sundance Spas, *********, **. Presently the pan (lower sealed section) is 2 inches deep in water.

Desired Settlement: $ 5,280.00

Business Response:

Allied Pools

Jeremy Taylor

laoo S. lOam St.

West Allis. WI 53214

Re: Bill Meyers

J315 MFG

 

3/1011 I; Spa serial number 100393606

 

Dear Jeremy,

Jacuzzi Hot Tubs

Southern

 

C~htlHnla OpCraWl(lc; ('nte

 

1/.525

 

Monte Vista Avcnu('

 

Chino. CA 91/10 USI

T****** *****

F

 

**********

****************

 

We have reviewed the claim regarding spa serial number ********* registered to Mr. ****

******. The complaint involves water loss. or more specifically water is being displaced to a

level above the air induction toggle which is causing water to leak through the air toggle. To

clarify, the experience is not a result of a manufacture defect but rather it is due to overfill.

Nonetheless, we can add a Hartford loop to the system to prevent future water leaks from

 

thE~

 

air toggle switch. This corrective action is the same remedy the service tech, ****** ****

recommended to the customer on a previous visit. Moreover, this service would be provided

under good

 

will as a customer consideration.

 

We recommend moving forward by adding the Hartford loop so that the customer can use the

spa with confidence knowing that displaced water will not drip from the air toggle.

Regards,

****** *****

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

2/19/2012 I purchased a Jacuzzi ***** spa (Seats: 2-3 Adults). The spa leaks water into the electronics compartment. My original complaint, #*******, was closed prematurely by BBB assuming Allied Pools would honor the letter of 10/22/2012 from Jacuzzi Hot Tubs stating the repair would be "provided under good will as a customer consideration." Allied Pool, on November 24, 2012, demanded nearly $150 for travel to repair the spa. Since our initial complaint, we realized the water leak is directly over a 220V 50A power conduit. Both my wife and I are now afraid to use Jacuzzi J-315 spa for fear of electrocution. Our new $5,280 Jacuzzi **** spa sits empty in our back yard.


Desired Settlement
$ 5280
Desired Settlement: Refund-Cash

Regards,

 **** ******

 

 

Business Response: I am sory for the miscommunication. The woman who handles the service calls and scheduling did not realize it was Mr ****** calling. There will be no charge to make the changes the *****'s are requesting. ****** **** the service manager will contact the ******s to set up an appointment time. ***** ****** Allied Pools

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

When I called, I did identify myself and the young lady told me she had contacted Mr. ******.  Since my purchase of the Jacuzzi **** spa, we have had a history of miscommunications.  Today, our new $5,000 spa sits empty.  Both my wife and I are afraid to use the spa for fear of electrocution as the water leak is directly above a 220V 50A power conduit.  

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and it is our sincerest hope that this resolution is more successful than the last. 

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a pool one month ago, it was installed 2 weeks ago. There are 3 items that need to be fixed on the pump and filter system of the pool. Allied is telling me that they will give me the products to fix based on a maufacturers warranty. They WILL NOT send someone out to fix the items for me - they are saying I have to do this all myself. There is 3 things that need to be fixed. They claim they do not have anyone in their store that can fix these items. I can come into the store and they will show my how to fix them. They will give me the name of someone who can fix them all but they will not pay for it. Again, the pool was installed 2 weeks ago. Currently the pool cannot run because it is leaking water from one of the caps. I will eventually lose enough water to be at the safe level to run the pump. When I asked if I could speak to someone else, I was asked who my salesperson was and ***** indicated that my salesperson ****** was unavailable because he was working at the fair until Monday. So...I am to leave my pool off for an entire week?????

Desired Settlement: They send someone and pay for someone to replace all 3 parts that need to be fixed on my pool so that it can be in working order once again!

Business Response:

It was unfortunate that Ms. ******** had troubles with her pool filter. It is correct she purchased the pool filter from us but we did not install the filter nor do we install anyone's filter. The aboveground pool is based on a do-it-yourself customer model. All manufacturer's warranties are for parts only, no labor or incidental charges are covered. We at Allied Pools offered Ms. ******** exactly the sameresponse we would give to any customer. We at Allied Pools do not have service people. We have several knowledgable employees in the store who can assist the customer in determining the parts they need and explain to the customer how to replace the old or broken parts. But we do not leave the store and go to the customer's home to provide this service for any customer.

It is my understanding Ms. ******** has received all the required parts and her filter should be operating correctly if the parts have been properly replaced.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved