Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales (inhouse service) and installation (outsourced service) of a variety of above ground pools,inground pools and hot tubs. They also offers sales and installation (both inhouse) of patio furniture, billiard tables, bars and bar stools.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allied Pools & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allied Pools & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allied Pools & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1964 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 10/09/1990 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David P. Murray, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David P. Murray, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Sporting and Athletic Goods Manufacturing (NAICS: 339920)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Allied Pools & Spas, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1481 W Mason St

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 497-7774

  • 1800 S 108th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53214 (414) 282-6800

  • 5370 W Integrity Way

    Appleton, WI 54913 (920) 739-9522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Viking Royal ETS spa from Allied in August of 2010 with a six year warranty. In May of this year I was having trouble with the spa and called Allied for repairs. They gave me a name of a technician named ***** ###-###-#### and I called him on May 27, 2015. He came out and looked at the spa around June 5th and said it needed a new motor and he would order it. He told me it would take about a week or two to receive. Since that time I have called ***** 3 to 4 times and never received a return phone call. On July 27th I decided to call Allied again in tell them of my frustration. ******* ###-###-#### at Allied said he contacted ***** and he would be calling me me back today. Now it has been 3 days later and have not received a phone call. My spa has been out of commission since May of 2015. We are now almost entering August. I have 3 kids that are off during the summer and we want this items repaired. I need help in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: Repair the spa so we can enjoy the rest of the summer!

Business Response: The Viking Royal ETS that Mr. ***** purchased in August of 2010 has a two year, 100% warranty.  The Viking warranty is then pro-rated from the third through sixth year.  Mr. ***** did call Allied Pools looking for service on his spa.  Allied Pools gave Mr. ***** the local Viking technician's phone number.  The local Viking technician is ***** ********.  ***** is not an employee of Allied Pools.  He is the designated local Viking technician, chosen by Viking.  ***** states he did go to Mr. *****'s house to inspect his spa and determined a pump/motor assembly was damaged.  ***** also stated the pump/motor assembly was damaged by a leaky seal, which is not covered under Viking's warranty.  ***** informed Mr. ***** that the pump/motor assembly would cost $600.00, and that he would need to have it paid for before he could order it.  ***** said he had called Mr. ***** to obtain his credit card information, so that the pump/motor assembly could be ordered.  ***** states that he has not heard back from Mr. ***** about the payment.  Allied Pools will continue it's efforts to facilitate Mr. *****'s spa repair, as we would like for him to be able to use it as soon as possible.

Business Response: Let us start over. Mr ***** purchased his spa from Allied Pools in 2010. When he contacted Allied Pools for service on his spa, Allied pools sent him to Viking Spas authorized service tech in the area which is Alliant Pool & Spa (*****). At this point Allied Pools is out of the equation. Alliant is an independent third party. Allied Pools has nothing to do with them. Mr ***** complaint is with Alliant and not Allied. I contacted Alliant and ***** stated Mr *****'s pump was replaced on 8/5/15. New pump was not sounding right and another new pump has been ordered. David ****** Allied Pools

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The tub was finally repaired on August 12th 2015, so we basically have two weeks to use it before the kids head back to school. Per the warranty information, it indicates it is "Very important that your initial contact be with the Dealership". I made this initial contact on May 27th 2015. In my opinion this is way, way too long to be waiting for spa repair. I thank BBB for the help in this matter, because without them, I feel the tub would still not be repaired.

Regards,

***** *****

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a quote for $3569.49 from *** ******** on June 19 for a 27 ft Morada 6 pool package that included: pool, liner 25 mil Mystic Gold, filter Voyager 1 1/2 matrix upgrade, skimmer, standard vaccum, thermometer, leaf net, ladder 200600Tstep, solar cover, winter cover, pool coving, start up chemicals, test strips and local delivery. I called on June 26th to purchase and spoke with a very rude ******** Schuh--after paying $3769.49 over the phone using my credit card, I asked for a receipt to be mailed to me. My husband called later that day to confirm the number of "legs" on the pool and she did not give that information as she said she had to find out. We called 3 more times over the 4 days and never received an answer--this was needed for our pool contractor and we ended up with a slight delay because of it. When I called again on July 2nd regarding the legs and missing receipt, she rudely indicated it had been mailed. I called again on July 7th as I STILL had not received the receipt and we were missing the start up chemicals from the delivery of our pool package; ******** told me I had to bring in a water sample before they could give us the start up chemicals as the chemicals needed depended on what our water sample/levels were. I was unable to drive into Green Bay until July 11th, and arrived at 4:30 PM with my water sample. *** took the sample, tested my water, then told me the only start up chemicals included in my package were 4 bottles of pool shock; I had to pay an extra $13 per bottle of conditioner (I needed 2 for my 27000 gallon pool) since those were not included in the "contract". I never received a contract from Allied Pools. I was unhappy, and voiced again the issues we've had with customer service. I've even emailed the corporate "contact us" email and received no response. If the pool package included "start up chemicals" (I have a sheet stating so from the company with ***'s writing on it), and their employees indicate that the right chemicals cannot be given until a sample is submitted...why did I have to pay extra for something that should have been included in the cost?!? This was a total misrepresentation. Between a lack of contract, failure to provide a receipt in a timely manner (I finally received on on 7/12) and the HORRIBLY rude customer service, I'm less than thrilled.

Desired Settlement: At the very least, I would like a refund of the conditioner I purchased as part of the "start up chemicals" in the amount of $23.61. I'd also like an apology from the company along with a refund of the "start up chemicals" cost.

Business Response: I am sorry for the trouble Ms. ******* has experienced. Nothing I write here will change what she feels has been bad customer service. Therefore, in order to attempt to make her experience better, Allied Pools will be sending her a check for $100. Again sorry for the bad experience. ***** ****** ********* Allied Pools

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 13, 2013, I went to Green Bay to shop for a new hot tub. I visited several businesses and found the one I liked at Allied Pools in Green Bay, WI. The showroom model had a small pink stain (approx 3/4 inch in diameter) and a smaller yellow stain in the interior. I was not set up to receive the spa yet as I was building a new home. I asked if the showroom model was the only tub they had in this model. ******* assured me that they had several and would tag one in the back with my name as I put it on layaway until purchase.I took delivery of this tub on December 23, 2013 for a Christmas gift. I paid over the phone via credit card. I also paid for delivery at that time. To set up delivery I spoke with the Green Bay store on December 18th at 1:34pm. I was told that they did not have the spa in their store and would have someone from the factory in Milwaukee contact me to set up delivery. At 2:09pm on December 18th, 2013, I received a call back from the same number in the Green Bay store to set up delivery. Upon delivery, the drivers were asked how the long trip was and stated that they only came from Green Bay and had the spa in the store in Green Bay. When I returned from work and saw the tub, I immediately saw it was not a new model. There was the pink stain and the yellow stain I had noticed from the floor model in Green Bay. It also had water in it and had a strong smell of chlorine and/or bleach in it. There were water line stains across the top edge of the tub as well. This tub had been hauled in below freezing weather with water in it which obviously could have damaged the pump and/or valved inside the tub. Not only that, but I had been reassured, upon purchase, that this would be brand new and not used. I have begun a dispute with the credit card company which stated this should be an easy case to resolve in my favor due to the obvious used tub verified by pictures. Allied Pools refuses to admit or do anything for me after several attempts.

Desired Settlement: I simply would like a new Viking Aurora III Spa to be in place of this obviously used or demo model. I purchased new and expect NEW. I have given Allied Pools several options to rectify the situation, such as replace it with new, or come get it and refund my money in full.

Business Response: I am sorry Ms ******** is unhappy with her purchase. The hot tub that was delivered to her was NOT a used hot tub or even a display hot tub. She believes the tub delivered to her was the same one she saw on the Allied Pool's Green Bay store floor in April 2013. Based upon the serial number of the tub delivered to her (********) that hot tub was manufactured in August 2013. This was confirmed by ****** **** representative **** *********. In addition, he confirms all spas are water tested at the factory using chlorinated water. Every new tub we receive from the factory has some water still in the lines from the water test done at the factory. Allied moved the spa from our warehouse in Milwaukee, to our Appleton store. One delivery person came from our Appleton location, who stopped and picked up the second delivery person in Green Bay on the way up to Menominee, MI. Ms ********'s partner and son (delivery men's assumption) were present at delivery and were even taking pictures. They assisted in the delivery and helped in removing white factory installed shrink wrap from the tub. At this point I do not know what else I can do to prove this was a new tub. We do not stock or sell any used hot tubs at Allied Pools. I will drop off at BBB a copy of the letter from ****** **** supporting the manufacturing date of unit and water test procedure.  ***** ****** Allied Pools

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On Fri, 11 Apr at 7:39 pm , ***** <*************************> wrote:

I had received a response letter in the mail regarding my case with Allied Pools.  I have repeatedly called and explained to them that Allied NEEDS to call/contact my credit card company THEMSELVES to resolve this complaint. 
 
I have a dispute ongoing with Allied through my credit card company and they have sent Allied a letter that NEEDS Allied's response.  Legally, I cannot do anything or the credit card company cannot do anything until Allied responds to the letter.  Allied was given a date to respond by and the credit card company must give them until that date before anything is resolved.  That date is still a week and a half away and I am completely unable to resolve this without ALLIED CONTACTING MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY.  I have several times told them they must do this and they will not respond to my requests.
 
Allied states they want me to contact them and resolve this.  I am willing to resolve it to our agreement.  HOWEVER ALLIED MUST CONTACT MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY to resolve this issue.  I really don't know how else and how strongly I can say this as it has been several times already with no response.
 
***** ********

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: It is quite evident that Ms. ******** and Allied Pools will not agree on anything. The facts once again are Ms. ******** purchased and received a new, undamaged hot tub. She stated that the hot tub she received was the floor model she saw when she purchased the hot tub in April 2013. Utilizing the hot tub serial number the manufacturer stated the tub was made in late August 2013. Ms. ******** stated the hot tub had to be used because there was some chlorinated water in the tub. Once again we had the manufacture provide a letter stating all their hot tubs are water tested at the factory, with chlorinated water, and some water will always remain in the lines of the tub when shipped. But in order to eliminate the issue Allied Pools agreed to a $400 refund. Instead of taking a check from us or a credit back to her credit card Ms. ******** required the payment to go through a credit card chargeback process. This process doesn't allow for Allied Pools to contact Ms ********'s credit card company in order to speed up or slow down the process. As of 4-15-2014 Ms. ******** has received her credit and we at Allied Pools consider this matter closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Allied Pools & Spas, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart