BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers selection of ramps, loading and transport products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Ramps.com, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Ramps.com, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Discount Ramps.com, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 01/15/1998 in WI Business started locally: 01/15/1998 Business incorporated: 03/19/2001 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Krolski, President Ms. Aimee J. Lederhause, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matt Herbert, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Krolski, President
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Wholesale Trade Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 425120)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, and Paypal.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please visit our website www.discountramps.com for our full return policy.
Alternate Business Names
Discount Ramps

Additional Locations

  • 760 S Indiana Ave

    West Bend, WI 53095 (262) 353-7901 (262) 338-3431 (888) 651-3431

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (262) 338-3431(Phone)
  • (262) 353-7901(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on line and ordered a ramp so that there will be wheelchair accessibility near my front door of my home. I purchased the item online by viewing photos to know which product I needed / wanted. When I received the product, it was nothing compared to what was shown on line. I then contacted Discount Ramps, ******** *, and advised of the issues. ******** states that I can return the item but they will deduct $14.63 for shipping from a $29.99 product. In the invoice that I paid on line, there was no shipping fee. ******** stated that I would have to bare the cost in returning the item, which is fine, but also bare the cost of their shipping fee. The shipping fee for Discount Ramps on my invoice was $0.00.

Desired Settlement: I am wanting a full refund when i return this item. I am already paying to return it when most companies offer shipping labels to return items that are not correct. ******** would not do that. I am simply asking for my full $29.99 especially if I am baring the cost to return an item that was not correct from the beginning. I have emails and photos regarding our transaction and conversation

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer regarding this order and offered to waive the outbound shipping cost as a courtesy. Based on the information we received, the ramp does in fact appear to be what the customer ordered through the website. If an item has free shipping listed on our site, it is stated that actual shipping costs will be deducted from the refund. In an attempt to reach an agreement with the customer, we did offer to refund $29.99 upon receipt of the product in new, unused condition. Please feel free to contact us should there be any more concerns with this transaction.

12/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 4" x 30' TOW RECOVERY ***** STRAP-15000 LB-TRUCK TOWING ROPE (STRAP-REC-30) thru e-bay on 11/23/2013. I paid for the product right after purchasing it, using a PayPal transaction. I received an e-mail stating that the product had been shipped on 11/25 via UPS, tracking number ******************. According to the tracking information, the product was left at our front door on 11/27. However we do not have the product. Due to the holiday and weather issues in our area, I waited until 12/08 before checking the tracking information. When the tracking info indicated the package delivery information, I immediately contacted Discountramps.com about non-delivery. They responded with the following message: "I am not sure what we are supposed to do. We shipped the address provided by ebay and it has been delivered. I'd check with other members of your household. We can not refund, since ebay can see we shipped to that address and it's delivered . We won't ship again without another payment. We can't start a trace with UPS weeks after delivery. "

Desired Settlement: Normally I would ask to have another product shipped to me, however, I cannot wait any longer for Discountramps to do something. I will need to have a cash refund.

Business Response: Hello *******,

I apologize for the response that our customer, ***** ***** received in regards to an issue with her order.  This is not how we do business and the representative that provided this information is incorrect.

In all fairness to our company, this item is showing as being delivered to our customer on Wednesday 11/27 via UPS ground.  The customer first contacted us over this past weekend 12/8 when we are closed.  She filed a case against us in Paypal as well as with the BBB on 12/9 before allowing us to take care of the problem.

As you can see below a UPS tracer was started yesterday for the missing package.  This is something that must be completed prior to either a replacement or a refund being processed.  Per UPS this could take up to 8 business days to be done:

11/25/2013
Package
3.90 lbs

Shipment Progress

Location Date Local Time Activity
Sioux Falls, SD, United States 12/10/2013 2:56 P.M. Tracer request. / Lost package tracer.
Sioux Falls, SD, United States 11/27/2013 10:00 A.M. Delivered

11/27/2013 4:25 A.M. Out For Delivery

11/27/2013 12:46 A.M. Arrival Scan
Omaha, NE, United States 11/26/2013 9:46 P.M. Departure Scan

11/26/2013 1:27 P.M. Arrival Scan
Hodgkins, IL, United States 11/26/2013 4:56 A.M. Departure Scan

11/26/2013 2:00 A.M. Arrival Scan
Oak Creek, WI, United States 11/26/2013 12:16 A.M. Departure Scan
Oak Creek, WI, United States 11/25/2013 5:07 P.M. Origin Scan
United States 11/25/2013 5:38 P.M. Order Processed: Ready for UPS

As soon as the tracer is completed and UPS confirms that the item has not been delivered to the customer we will issue a full refund to the customer.

If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
***** ****** ************ * ****** ************************
 

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ramp on ebay that was described as "This item may be scratched, dinged, and dented, or may have cosmetic imperfections such as paint chipping and scuff marks. Each customer return is thoroughly inspected for safety and product completeness. We are confident this product is in full working order and contains all necessary components for safe use and operation". The weight limit was 600lbs. When loading the bike I have that is 454lbs, the loading ramps collapsed causing damaged to my bike in the amount of $450 and my knee getting hurt. I contacted discount ramps and was only offered a upgraded ramp for the unit which should have been sent in the first place. They refused to pay for the damages and said to contact the manufacturer. I had already contacted them and they wanted no part in this because it had been sold as used. I watched the video they had listed and had loaded the bike perfectly. The loading ramp was not safe for operation.

Desired Settlement: I would like $100 to replace the loading ramp with a more secure ramp and $450 for the replacement of my pats damaged. Hopefully I have only twisted my knee and it heals.

Business Response: Our customer ***** ********* contacted us 8/16/13 statlng that there was an issue with the carrier that
he purchased from us and that the ramp failed. He immediately filed a complaint/comment to the BBB
before giving us a chance to correct the problem.
The ramp failure has nothtng to do with the item being sold as used. Any used item that is returned to
our location is inspected before it is re-shipped. The customer supplied our ***** ******* *** *******
with the parts of the motorcycle that were damaged and research was done as to the cost to replace
these parts, which was $419.88. The customer did not supply us with an estimate as he was going to
replace the parts himself and was not going to take it to a shop for repair
We received the approval from the manufacturer of this carrier and ramp to refund the customer. The
total damage for the motorcycle was $419.88 and this check was mailed to the
customer on 8/26/13.
Per the customer he will be keeping the carrier as is and did not want us to send him a replacement
ramp.
Please see all attached documentation for this complaint.
Thank you,
***** ******
************************
###-###-#### - ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

 I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I filed the complaint minutes after I was told they weren't going to pay the damages by the president of the company. You should tell the truth. Thanks for making it right!

Regards,

 

***** *********

 

 

 

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The swing away was not working properly and Discount Ramps refused to honor there return policy.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and an apology from ***** **

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
Customer - *** ****/**** **** placed an order with us on 7/11/13 for 4 items, one being item #SCSwing-
Away. The SC-Swing-Away is designed to be used with our carriers SC400-V2 and SCSOO-V3 only.
This is shown on our website for both the carriers as well as for the Swing-Away option only - see
attached pages from our website.
The customer called us on Thursday 8/8/13 stating that he needed to return the SC-Swing-Away stating
that he didn't need the item and wanted to return it. He was given our return information as we
normally would and once the customer found out that he would be responsible for the shipping charges
on this item he let the customer service rep know that the item was defective and bent when he had
their 301b. manual wheelchair on it and he didn't feel that he should have to pay the shipping charges.
In our normal process for warranty type issues we needed to verify what carrier he had the swing away
attached to. The customer first told the customer service rep that he purchased the SV4000 and he was
told that was not one of our items he then changed it to the SC400. This carrier and swing away option
will hold up to 400 lbs. in the closed position and Is made ·of steel. When the swing away is in the
opened position. it must be empty without a wheelchair or anything on it.
The call was then escalated to me and I spoke with **** ****. I checked in our system and could not
locate an order for either the SC400-V2 or the SCSOO-V3 carriers under his or his wife's name. He called
me a liar and insisted that he purchase one of these carriers from us through ******. I asked several
times for the ****** order number as I can look that up in our system. He said that I was going to feel
pretty stupid for questioning him and that we were Just trying to get out of covering this item under
warranty. He kept insisting that it made no difference what carrier he attached the swing away option
to. It absolutelv does make a difference .. we cannot verify the weight or material used for another
manufacturer's carrier. That is why our website states that the swing away Is only to be used with our
carriers SC400-V2 and SCSOO-V3.
He finally was able to get the ****** order number ******************* and I was still unable to pull
anything up in our system. He then emailed a copy of the ****** order to me. In looking at the order
he placed on ******, he actually ordered a carrier from ******* ******** and not Discount Ramps. This
person/company stole our pictures and was calling their carrier our SCAOO-V2 Next Generation Power
Scooter and Wheelchair Folding cargo Carrier Rack by Discount Ramps - Sold by: ******* ******** for
$169.00. I requested pictures of the carrier so we could determine what type of carrier he purchased
and he refused.
Our SC400-V2 sells for $259.99 on ****** as well as on our website www.discountramps.com. We
have no idea what type of carrier the customer purchased and InstaHed our SC-Swing-Away onto. If the
carrier they purchased weighs more than our carriers this could have caused the swing-away option to
fail. I again requested pictures of the carrier that he has as well as the swing away so we could see
where it failed and he refused.
The customer still insisted that they bought our carrier but truly we have no idea what carrier he
purchased or received from ******* ********. The customer then stated that while I had him on hold
asking our sales staff questions about his issue, he called the Better Business Bureau and the top 4
medical transport companies to file complaints about us and when he got off the phone with me he was
going to call the Secretary of the state of Wisconsin to report us.
As you can see from our past history that we do stand behind our products and help our customers out
as much as possible. This customer was not willing to work with us and I do not feel that we were asking
for anything out of the ordinary.
He said that he would do everything fn his power to make sure our name was sullied and we would be
screwed when he was done with us.
We would be more than happy to help this customer if he provides us pictures of the carrier he had the
item that he purchased from Discount Ramps attached to.
Please see all attached documentation in regards to this complaint. A copy of the order they placed
with us, a copy of his ****** order showing the description of an item he purchased from a different
company, a copy of the Return Authorization that was created in our system when the customer called
in, the description from our website for the SC-Swlng-Away as when as the installation instructions,
website description for the' SC400-V2 carrier and our listing on ******.
If additional information is needed please let me know.
Sincerely,
***** ******
*************** ********* ***
###-###-####

8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PUCHASED 2 ITEMS FROM THE COMPANY... CALLED DISCOUNT RAMPS. ITEM 1 WAS... A V RACK, ITEM 2 WAS A... UNIVERSAL CAR RACK. PUCHASED ITEMS ON MAY 14, 2012. WITH MY MASTER CARD. PURCHASE PRICE FOR THE 2 ITEMS ARE $97.98. THESE 2 ITEMS DID NOT FIT MY VEHICLE... SO I SENT THEM BACK BY UPS ON MAY 18 2012. TRACKING NUMBERS...****************** AND ******************. I TALK WITH THERE***. ABOUT CREITING MY MASTER CARD ACCOUNT, IN MAY 2012.. I WAS TOLD THE CREIT WOULD REFLECT ON MY JUNE STATEMENT. IT DID NOT. TALKED WITH THERE ***. IN 1ST WEEK IN JUNE, I EXPLAINED TO THEM, NO CREIT WAS GIVEN IN THE MONTH OF MAY OR JUNE TO MY MASTER CARD ACCOUNT STATEMENT.THE***. ASSURED ME MY JULY ACCOUNT WOULD HAVE THE REFUND ON IT. THERE HAS BEEN NO REFUND CREITTED TO MY ACCOUNT.

Desired Settlement: SETTLMENT FOR THE AMOUNT OWED TO ME. $97.98 WITH A COMPANY CHECK... SENT TO MY ADDRESS.

Business Response:
Hello,

The items ordered were returned to our location on 5/22/12 and a refund was issued back to the customer for $97.98 on 5/23/12.  The refund posts to the customers account in approx. 3-5 business days after it's processed, the earliest date would have been approx. 5/28.  The refund was processed so no additional refund is due or will be done.  The customer needs to check their statements or contact the credit card company with questions.

Attached is the credit memo showing the amount refunded as well as the documentation from our credit card processor showing the date, time and amount of the refund that was processed.

If additional information is needed please do not hesitate to contact me.



Thank you,

***** ******
******** ******* *******

DiscountRamps.com
760 S. Indiana Avenue
West Bend, WI 53095
USA

Work: 888-651-3431 x 7901
Direct: 262-353-7901
Fax: 262-306-6733
Email: PeggyL@discountramps.com
www.discountramps.com













Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** *******

 

 

 

 

1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable