BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hot tubs, pools and saunas. Including sales, installation and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Pool and Spa Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Pool and Spa Center, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Pool and Spa Center, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 09/28/1999 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dennis D. Larsen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis D. Larsen, Owner
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Products & Services

The Pool and Spa Center, LLC sells the following brand(s): Hotspring, Arctic and Doughboy.

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Service Area
All of Wisconsin.
Alternate Business Names
Doughboy Pools

Additional Locations

  • 1719 W 9th Ave

    Oshkosh, WI 54902 (920) 235-5661

  • 4380 W Greenville Dr

    Appleton, WI 54913 (920) 882-0353

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/23/13 I ordered a heater board #***** from this business. The following is everything I included in a letter to this business on 11/18/13. To: The Pool and Spa Center Regarding : Heater Board #***** I ordered this heater board on 10/23/13 at the price of 119.46. When placed in the hot tub, this heater board short circuited out once the tub got up to temperature. I than called *** *** ****'s who is located in ***** ***** **. He has been in contact with ******* ***. because they have told him the code shows the heater board as bad. He has put in 3 other heater boards which all short circuit out. ******* ***. is refunding him money for his boards because they have had some problems with the new board. At this time I would ask that I get my money refunded for this board, as it is a manufacture issue and not an installation issue. Thank you!!! Feel free to contact me at (Number went here). Do you have any of the old boards 74618? I also have **********'s cell number if you would like to talk to him. (This was the content of the letter I sent.) I called this business on 12/3/13 at which time I was told the lady just had to get supervisor approval and I would get an email confirmation back. I received no email. I left a message once again for ******* on 12/10/13 with no follow up call from them. On 12/13/13 I talked to ******* once again who said she would once again talk to her supervisor and would email me by the end of the day. On this date she acknowledged that ******* had encountered some problems with the new heater boards. On 1/7/14 I once again called and left a message asking for this issue to be resolved and got no return call. All I am asking is that I be refunded the $119.46 which I originally paid for the heater board.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $119.46

Business Response: We greatly apologize for the delay in this matter of getting the refund in a timely matter. I myself can guarantee this refund will be credited to his credit card within 24 hours of this response. 

******* *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. It is sad it had to go through this channel as it should have been very easily resolved. I am greatly disappointed with how this company handled the matter.  

Regards,

 

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several months ago daughter and friend took 2 pool filters into store One to be repaired and have bypass valve installed and one to have cartridge placed. Gave written list of required services which clerk entered into computer. Made appointment to have pool opened week of 5/13 and they would bring filters and connect all pool plumbing including solar heaters for which they needed to supply correct fittings. I called before they were to come and verified the agreement. They did not come scheduled week and when they did come I was not notified in advance and was not here. They did not bring the Nature 2 Filter and had not installed the valve on the Perflex filter and used my existing fittings to connect the solar. Have since complained by telephone to 3 different employees including *** and ***** who promised to arrange a return the following weeks and left an unreturned message message for the billing person(? ****) While waiting have not been able to use pool

Desired Settlement: To have valve installed , Perflex delivered and installed and all connections made properly. To be charged for only one service call and parts and labor and to have this done in early August

Business Response: This issue has been resolved.  I also left a message with ******* at BBB ###-###-####

 
****** ******
The Pool & Spa Center
###-###-####
 

Business Response: I talked with ****** this morning and we are adjusting his bill and taking care of the situation.

Thank You.
****** ******

Consumer Response:

On Wed, Oct 16, 2013 at 3:39 PM, ****** ******* *************************** wrote:

satisfactory resolution of the dispute.  thank you for help

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After ten years we recently purchased our second hot tub, choosing The Pool and Spa Center, the authorized Hot Springs Spa dealer for the Fox Valley. It was installed in July of 2012. We also purchased an enhanced sanitizing feature with a one-year warranty (full price $1199; our promotional price $599.50). This feature failed in December of 2012 and was replaced. In early May of 2013 the sanitizing feature was again not functioning and we noticed black residue in our hot tub. Our complaint focuses on the service (or lack of service) we have received in the past 4 months since the problem was discovered. We have attempted to work directly with ****** ******, ******* ****** to resolve this issue. This has been tremendously frustrating and time consuming, as illustrated by several of many, many examples we could provide: • Many phone calls were not returned • Face-to-face contacts were very difficult to arrange. On numerous occasions I would arrive at the store to speak with him, only to find him not there for our pre-arranged contact • Despite my attempts to provide complete information, Mr. ****** did not appear to have an adequate grasp of our problem. On one occasion he did contact the manufacturer in our presence, but the water quality data he provided them was not current (approximately one year old), and the solution he finally suggested was one we had already tried, at his previous suggestion! When it became clear to us that the sanitizing feature was not working and we were making no progress in diagnosing or correcting the problem, we requested our purchase price be refunded, citing two failures within the one year warranty period. Mr. ****** immediately deferred to the manufacturer, noting that we had received some benefit, and ignoring that this was our second failure during the warranty period. (The manufacturer’s written warranty does not indicate this is to be pro-rated.) Throughout this process, The Pool and Spa Center, and specifically Mr. ******, has offered virtually nothing to resolve this issue. He has responded only when we have doggedly pursued this issue, and minimally at best, sometimes with outdated and incomplete information as previously noted. He has been a major hindrance to resolving this issue. Our request that our purchase price be refunded under the terms of the manufacturer’s warranty has not been honored. Just this morning the sanitizing feature was finally removed; we were told it would be sent to the manufacturer for examination. This could go on for months and months and months…… After two failures we are no longer interested in this feature. We only want our money back, and a dealer who services their products in a timely, responsible, and customer focused manner.

Desired Settlement: Please honor that manufacturer's warranty and refund our purchase price ($599.50 + tax.)

Business Response: I have talked with the manufacturer and even emailed a copy of ***'s complaint so they know her side of the story.

******* ************* is contacting her by next week to discuss the matter and resolve to ***'s approval.

****** ******
The Pool & Spa Center, LLC
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by The Pool and Spa Center, LLC in reference to complaint ID *******.

After many months, we have been contacted by the manufacturer of our spa; it appears we are moving toward resolution.

However, it is impossible to know what role, if any, our dealer played in this process.  All the communication issues cited in our original complaint have continued throughout this process.  All of our concerns about timely, responsible customer service after the sale remain.

Regards,

 

****** *** *** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Pool and Spa Center did not train well nor inform us that burying a Doughboy pool could result in ground water welling up along side the pool and causing the liner to float. None of this was even disclosed as risk when they talked about burying the pool in ground. "You won't have issues for 10 years and that will only be if you need to replace the liner." This spring the pool walls collapsed and the owner informed us this was because of excess ground water. We were never informed this was a possible issue nor were we ever told to redirect down spouts from our home. The business fixed the sides but the bottom of the pool now has deep creases throughout. It is difficult to walk on and looks horrible for a pool built in July of 2010. They also billed us for all of these services. I have not yet paid the bill and feel the problem is not yet addressed

Desired Settlement: Delivery of service and covered at their expense. As the consumer we were never told this could happen when looking at installing a pool. We would have never buried the pool had we known this risk. We want the business to fix the liner to how it looked when initially built (i.e. get rid of all creases in bottom) and there be no charge for any of this work.

Business Response: Response was not made because we immediately called customer to tend to issue and customer informed us he was recinding his complaint with BBB.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

*** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought in a ******* room heater for repair on Saturday, 3/31/2012 to the Appleton store location and spoke to **** *******, she said they would bring it to there ******* location and they would call me on Monday, April 2. I did not hear from them so I called on 4/9/12, spoke to ****, said they would call back. Did not hear from them. Called on 4/20, talked to ***. Called on 4/21, talked to ***. Called on 4/26, this time to *** and ******. Called on 4/27, talked to ***. Called on 4/28, did not get the employees name, that employee put me on hold, came back and said they found the heater and it was in ******* and *** will call me on Monday, April 30. Never hear from ***. I called again on 4/30 and spoke to ******, said the heater was there. Called again on 5/3, talked to *** . Called again on 5/7, talked to a **** and ***, said *** was gone until Thursday and they would call me on Friday, 5/11. Did not get a call. Called again on Sunday, 5/27, talked to ***, he said he was slow so he would work on it and call me on tomorrow. Never heard from him. Called again on 6/5, talked to Ron, said he would check and call me back. I requested the heater be sent back o the ******** store so I may pick it up. Ron did call me back that day and said *** was golfing and would call me the next day. I have not heard from him. They are listed as a authorized ******* dealer.

Desired Settlement: I would like my ******* room heater returned to me without a bill from them.

Business Response:

2 of the 4 employees involved have been terminated.

 

I called customer and left voicemail on 6/7/12. Heater has been tested and nothing found wrong so more time was spent troubleshooting. Heater will be brought to ******** location for customer to pick up at no charge on 6/8/12.

 

Complaint resolved.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The ******* store left me a message on my voice mail on June 7, 2012 stating they would be sending the heater to the ******** store and would call when it was available to pick up. Again they did not call. I called the ******** store and they said it was there. Picked up the SunHeat room heater today, June 13, 2012. Which the heater is now missing the filter which was on it when it was brought into the store (noticed this after I got home). Brought it home and plugged it in - within 10 minutes it kicked itself off. They have not repaired it or did any trouble shooting like they indicated. They also indicated they discharged two employees, (they did say this also on my voice mail the employees were **** and ****). **** and **** had nothing to do with the service repair, it was *** who was to do the repair. *** is a owner or a retired owner, I am not quite sure.  I also spoke to his son Dennis on 4/30/2012 who never helped with my complaint.

I did receive my heater back which was my request. I do not feel that this business should be rated a A+ for their customer service and repairs. 

I have contacted the SunHeat dealer directly and they will be helping me with my repair. They are also checking into the credibility of The Pool & Spa Center as a authorized SunHeat dealer.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Mary Demerath

 

 

Business Response:

Our employee Rex stated he plugged the heater in and it ran for 2 days with no signs of failure. A few troubleshooting suggestions would be to try a different outlet, the heater amps are too high for her home wiring, or she may have a bad breaker. Those are issues our company does not handle. She has not been charged for any services and was informed of these options per employee ********* on 6/22/12.

The Pool and Spa Center did not sell customer this heater and there is no verification of how old this heater is. She should take the heater to the place she purchased it at and see if they can help her further. A new filter is waiting for customer to pick up in ******** store at no charge. A phone call to customer has been verified on 6/22/12 at 10:15AM.  

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this issue is finished for me. The service this company has is bad. SunHeat is helping us directly with the heaters issue. They are very helpful and easy to work with, unlike The Pool and Spa Center. We had been excited to discover The Pool and Spa Center because we also have a inground pool in our yard so we are always looking for chemicals and supplies. Thought The Pool and Spa Center had been a good store for us, unfortunately we had a bad experience right away.

Regards,

 

 

**** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a service call to have our sand filter cleaned for our inground pool on Thursday, May 24th. I was told that someone would call me when they were in the area and close to our house. No one showed up on Thursday. I waited all day Friday, May 25th, and finally called the store at 5:00 p.m. I spoke with Allison who said the service guys work until 7 or 8 p.m. and she would call to find out where they were and call me back. She never did call me back. I called the store again on Saturday, May 26th, and spoke with the manager, ******. He noted my complaint on his system and rescheduled my service call for Wednesday, May 30th. Two guys showed up at my house this afternoon (May 30th) and it was raining very slightly. One of the guys told my husband he would be soaking wet by the time he hauled all the sand to the backyard so he was going to do the service call some other day. I called the store tonight and spoke again to *******. She knew nothing of the situation and there were no notes in the computer regarding my service call being cancelled -- nor was it rescheduled. I told her I didn't know how they could stay in business if they treated all of their customers in this manner.

Desired Settlement: I would like the manager of the store to see this complaint and apologize for the inconvenience. After all, we do not have all summer to wait for pool service in the state of *********!!

Business Response: Issue has been resolved. Owner has spoken with customer and cancelled job the evening of May 30th. Owner called customer again after receiving BBB complaint to apologize.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Pool & Spa center was engaged to install a pool and liner and the installation was delayed for months after our $500 prepayment. The installation was rescheduled several times with no notice. When they did finally complete the installation at the end of June (we prepaid in April) they failed to fill the pool with water and as a result deep ruts and jagged rocks being exposed and foam base fixtures being shifted out of place. We are disappointed with the lack of professional workmanship on the installation that may reduce the useful life of the liner and absolutely makes the surface literally a pain to walk on. We immediately informed their installer, of this issue and we were assured it would be corrected. It remains uncorrected with the last promise from the company being that this would be corrected on October 19, 2011. The installer and owner seem like good guys who are perhaps overworked with other demands, unfortunately we did not receive what was promised.

Desired Settlement: To remedy the improper installation the water would have to be drained, liner removed, sand replaced and water refilled. This should be completed at no cost since none of this would be necessary had the initial installation been performed properly.

Business Response: Mr. ****** requested our services and ordered a new expandable liner to be installed in addition to the set up of a used pool on April 15, 2011. They made a $500 down payment and we ordered the liner. The original installation date was scheduled for the beginning of June but due to extreme weather conditions, the project was delayed some. The customer was never moved from their place in the “order of install” list. All jobs were delayed.  On June 20th, 2011 the project started. The customer did not want to use our water vendor as suggested and informed us they were providing the water from the Town of ******. As the project proceeded, our installer became concerned that there was not going to be a sufficient water source available. After asking the customers when their water trucks were coming, they informed us they would be able to get water delivery in the evening, so the project continued. When it was time to start filling the pool, the customers then told our installer that they would not be getting any water that evening and asked if our water vendor would be available. At that time, his schedule was full 3 days out. At the end of the day, there was no water source provided by the customer so the pool sat empty for a day. The next day, because of incoming weather, we were forced to push the project along and use a slow water source (garden hose attached to a fire hydrant which the customers provided) which added many hours to the project and cosmetic problems to the bottom of the pool.  The fill water the customer provided was not fast enough to keep up with the problems the rainfall was causing as it filled and also kept the customer from backfilling the pool, which they also elected to do themselves, in a timely matter. This is the main cause of the problem.  In short, the delay in the customer’s water source kept the customer from backing filling in a timely manner which caused some washout under the liner.  When the installers left the site, the liner was in proper place. If the customer would have used our water vendor, the project would have been completed with no liner issues from day one. Most of the problems with the liner are reversible. We planned on fixing it when the water was lowered in the fall for winter closing. We tried to work with the customer to fix the liner but they were refusing to pay the remaining balance on their bill of $1862.02.  The expected life of the liner has not changed since pre install and the pool is structurally sound.In order to get the washout from the bottom of the liner, the entire pool would need to be drained and water would need to be added with proper water pressure. There is a 20 year warranty on the new liner. The first letter we received from the customer was on November 29, 2011 explaining their disapproval of the installation. We contacted the customer via phone that day and spoke with Mrs ******. We requested to set up an appt that week to talk about options to fix the liner and receiving their final payment still owed. Mrs ****** said she would talk with her husband and get back to us. We did not hear from her. On January 13, 2012, we received a copy of the letter dated November 29, 2011 with an added explanation that they were not going to pay the balance due. The owner of The Pool Center then called the ******'s again and this time left a message on the ******'s voicemail to give us a call to discuss options to fix the liner, their liner is under warranty for 20 years and they were still responsible for the remaining balance on their account of $1862.02. After no response, our Office Manager sent a letter dated January 25th, which is attached for your review. When installing pools/liners, we have a No wrinkle-free liner guarantee. We tried to work with the customer to fix the liner but not only has there been no verbal reply from our numerous calls, they are still refusing to pay the balance owed on their bill of $1862.02.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. ****** Response to MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS in boldThe writer of the message from the business has not been accurately informed by her team.  The Pool Center’s handling of this situation is disappointing.MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS: Mr. ****** requested our services and ordered a new expandable liner to be installed in addition to the set up of a used pool on April 15, 2011. They made a $500 down payment and we ordered the liner. The original installation date was scheduled for the beginning of June but due to extreme weather conditions, the project was delayed some. The customer was never moved from their place in the “order of install” list. All jobs were delayed.  On June 20th, 2011 the project started. The customer did not want to use our water vendor as suggested and informed us they were providing the water from the Town of Algoma. As the project proceeded, our installer became concerned that there was not going to be a sufficient water source available. After asking the customers when their water trucks were coming, they informed us they would be able to get water delivery in the evening (First we did not know when the installers were coming since they did not return phone calls.  When they did show up it was not with any advance notice which did make scheduling water a challenge and the Installation Supervisor was made aware of this immediately when he showed up.  Again, they showed up with no advance notice).  He was informed that we would only be able to get water from a hydrant on our property which offered 30 gallons per minute (much more than a standard garden hose).  After only filling up a portion of the deep end the crew left.  I’m not an expert installer, that’s why I hired the experts, but it would seem if they simply stayed a bit longer the base of the pool would’ve been filled and not allowed any of the sand to be washed out in the event it did rain.  This is the same water source that was used a few days later when they returned to finish the job.  Had they simply finished what they started this situation would’ve been avoided). , so the project continued. When it was time to start filling the pool, the customers then told our installer that they would not be getting any water that evening and asked if our water vendor would be available. At that time, his schedule was full 3 days out. At the end of the day, there was no water source provided by the customer so the pool sat empty for a day. The next day, because of incoming weather, we were forced to push the project along and use a slow water source (garden hose attached to a fire hydrant which the customers provided) which added many hours to the project and cosmetic problems to the bottom of the pool.  The fill water the customer provided was not fast enough to keep up with the problems the rainfall was causing as it filled and also kept the customer from backfilling the pool, which they also elected to do themselves, in a timely matter. This is the main cause of the problem.  There is no secret here – we hired you for a professional installation and didn’t get what we are being billed for.  It’s the lack of water in the bottom of the pool not the lack of backfill that resulted in the ruts.  Even though the installation team failed to communicate when they were arriving we were able to obtain a sufficient water source and had they simply stayed to finish the job we would’ve had a professional installation.In short, the delay in the customer’s water source kept the customer from backing filling in a timely manner which caused some washout under the liner.  When the installers left the site, the liner was in proper place. If the customer would have used our water vendor, the project would have been completed with no liner issues from day one. Most of the problems with the liner are reversible. We planned on fixing it when the water was lowered in the fall for winter closing. We tried to work with the customer to fix the liner but they were refusing to pay the remaining balance on their bill of $1862.02.  The expected life of the liner has not changed since pre install and the pool is structurally sound.  First the remaining balance you have is not correct that is the total and we paid $500 (as you accurately note above).  Second, how can you have any idea on the expected useful life? No one from your company has ever visited to check on how deep the ruts are nor how jagged edged the rocks are.  Note that we were assured this would be fixed by both the installer and the Oshkosh branch owner.  In order to get the washout from the bottom of the liner, the entire pool would need to be drained and water would need to be added with proper water pressure. There is a 20 year warranty on the new liner. The first letter we received from the customer was on November 29, 2011 explaining their disapproval of the installation. We contacted the customer via phone that day and spoke with Mrs ******. We requested to set up an appt that week to talk about options to fix the liner and receiving their final payment still owed. Mrs ****** said she would talk with her husband and get back to us. We did not hear from her. On January 13, 2012, we received a copy of the letter dated November 29, 2011 with an added explanation that they were not going to pay the balance due. The owner of The Pool Center then called the ******'s again and this time left a message on the ******'s voicemail to give us a call to discuss options to fix the liner, their liner is under warranty for 20 years and they were still responsible for the remaining balance on their account of $1862.02. After no response, our Office Manager sent a letter dated January 25th, which is attached for your review.  True, after immediately informing the installer of the issue, being assured he would come out and fix it then months of voicemails we left for the owner and the installer with little or no follow-up and never an on-site visit to inspect the poor installation we finally received an invoice for the job in August.  Again, several calls were made to remedy the situation and we were assured it would be fixed in the Fall.  Fall came, still no one on-site.  The installer did return a call sometime in October and assure us he would be on-site in Mid-October and failed to show up.  After all of this your above paragraph of letters pretty accurately tracks the recent communication.  My letter emailed to the owner and his installer on  November 25 indicates that would be the final dialog on this matter since verbal discussion has only resulted in no follow-up and unfilled promises until now when they want to be paid.  We will pay when we receive a professional installation.When installing pools/liners, we have a No wrinkle-free liner guarantee. We tried to work with the customer to fix the liner but not only has there been no verbal reply from our numerous calls, they are still refusing to pay the balance owed on their bill of $1862.02.  No one tried to work with us to fix the poor installation and your are exactly right that after months of our calls being unreturned I will only put communications in writing.  You are also right that we refuse to pay the balance owed until we receive what we paid for.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

We have been in business for 35 years professionally and the technician who installed ******'s (customer) liner has professionally installed thousands of liners and is certified to do so.

 

The customer was informed in advance when the technicians were coming on the installation day because the pool supplies were dropped off the day before at their home along with a phone call informing them of this.

 

The customers were offered a proper water source (65,000 gallon water truck) for a cost. They declined the offer and chose to use a garden hose attached to a fire hydrant supplied by their town. There is a 3 hour time limit for our technicians to fill a pool which is why 95% of our customers use our water trucks. The customers were informed on their initial quote that there is a 3 hour time limit for our installers to fill pools. The installers did leave after the 3 hour time limit was up.  

 

The technician did go to the customers home and looked at the liner when the customer complained. The issue was diagnosed as a result of the backfill and not from poor installation. When this was relayed to the customer, they disagreed even though they have never installed a pool liner themselves. They then refused to pay their remaining balance.

 

Once again, this problem is not from poor installation but from the customer not using the proper water source (backfill) as suggested to fill his pool; which lead to the issue. During the summer months, a new pool is installed by our technician everyday using our water sources and our technician has a habit of going above and beyond to please the customers.

 

It is very unfortunate the customer is having a poor experience with their pool but if the backfill was done properly as our professional technician suggested to the customer, there would not have been an issue with thier liner.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Customer Response to 29 Feb 2012 MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

We have been in business for 35 years professionally and the technician who installed Panske's (customer) liner has professionally installed thousands of liners and is certified to do so. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: WHICH IS WHY IT IS DISAPPOINTING THIS INSTALLATION WAS NOT COMPLETED PROFESSIONALLY.

The customer was informed in advance when the technicians were coming on the installation day because the pool supplies were dropped off the day before at their home along with a phone call informing them of this. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: POOL SUPPLIES WERE DELIVERED THE DAY OF INSTALLATION. OUR POOL WAS A RESTALL OF A POOL WE PURCHASED SEPARATELY WE HAD EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE LINER. THIS AGAIN DEMONSTRATES A DISCONNECT BETWEEN THE WRITER OF THE BUSINESS RESPONSE AND THE INSTALLER.

The customers were offered a proper water source (65,000 gallon water truck) for a cost. They declined the offer and chose to use a garden hose attached to a fire hydrant supplied by their town. There is a 3 hour time limit for our technicians to fill a pool which is why 95% of our customers use our water trucks. The customers were informed on their initial quote that there is a 3 hour time limit for our installers to fill pools. The installers did leave after the 3 hour time limit was up. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: AS INDICATED IN PREVIOUS RESPONSES WE HAD WATER LINED UP BUT DUE TO NO NOTICE THE HYDRANT WAS THE ALTERNATIVE COMMUNICATED TO THE INSTALLER.  IF THIS SOURCE WAS NOT APPROPRIATE THE INSTALLER SHOULD NOT HAVE INSTALLED THE LINER.  TO INSTALL THE LINER WITHOUT WHAT HE VIEWED AS A PROPER SOURCE IS NEGLEGENT AND OUR PROBLEMS ARE A DIRECT RESULT OF HIS POOR DECISION MAKING.  IT IS WORTH REPEATING THE INSTALLER IS A GOOD GUY BUT SEEMED TO HAVE TOO MANY PROJECTS GOING ON AT THE SAME TIME.  ALSO, THIS IS THE FIRST A THREE HOUR TIME LIMIT HAS BEEN COMMUNICATED.  

The technician did go to the customers home and looked at the liner when the customer complained. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE - NO ONE HAS EVER LOOKED AT THE PROBLEM WITH THE LINER.  The issue was diagnosed as a result of the backfill and not from poor installation. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE WE WERE TOLD NOT TO BACKFILL UNTIL THE POOL WAS ADEQUATELY FILLED OTHERWISE THE WALLS WOULD COLLAPSE.  AFTER WE IMMEDIATELY COMPLAINED WE WERE ASSURED THEY WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM.  When this was relayed to the customer, they disagreed even though they have never installed a pool liner themselves. They then refused to pay their remaining balance.

Once again, this problem is not from poor installation but from the customer not using the proper water source (backfill) as suggested to fill his pool; which lead to the issue. During the summer months, a new pool is installed by our technician everyday using our water sources and our technician has a habit of going above and beyond to please the customers.

It is very unfortunate the customer is having a poor experience with their pool but if the backfill was done properly as our professional technician suggested to the customer, there would not have been an issue with thier liner. CUSTOMER RESPONSE: IT IS UNFORTUNATE WHEN A COMPANY WHO HAS BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR 35 YEARS DOES NOT TAKE ACCOUNTABILITY FOR PROBLEMS CAUSED BY THEIR NEGLEGENT INSTALLATION.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1