Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Jim's Small Engine Service, LLC

Phone: (262) 567-5878 Fax: (262) 244-0015 650 Armour Rd, Oconomowoc, WI 53066 http://www.bigjimsses.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company states it offers garden equipment sales and service, including snowblowers, lawnmowers, garden tractors and small engine repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Jim's Small Engine Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Jim's Small Engine Service, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Jim's Small Engine Service, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 2004 Business started: 02/01/1994 in WI Business started locally: 02/01/1994 Business incorporated 10/30/2001 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Barbara Johnson, Owner Mr. Pete Kelly, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Barbara Johnson, Owner
Principal: Mr. Pete Kelly, General Manager
Business Category

Small Engine Repair Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn Mowers Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair Snow Removal Equipment Home and Garden Equipment Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811411)


Additional Locations

  • 650 Armour Rd

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-5878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December or November of 2010, I took a recently-purchased Echo PB 460-LN leaf blower into Big Jim’s Small Engine Service for warranty service. After an unusually long time had passed I called the business. I was given an apology (by Jim?), told that he had been in the hospital with serious medical issues, and that now my issue would be taken care of. I did not press the issue because of his hardship. I called again some time later and was told that there was good news: Echo was going to replace my blower. Still later I called again and was told that Echo had no new blowers of the correct model at the moment, but they would take care of me. I called again some time later. The owner was not available, but I was told they would take care of me offering me a “500.” I checked my records to confirm that my blower, a low-noise model had been worth $160 more than the 500. I called back to say I didn’t want the 500, but the original version. Twice in the whole process I had visited Big Jim’s (in another city from where I live). I have left my contact information with the sales person at the counter, asking for the owner to call me. It will soon be FOUR YEARS since I began this process. Those I have talked to at Big Jim’s have always been polite to me, and seemed accommodating. I think I may be a victim more of sloppy record keeping or communication than any deliberate attempt to defraud me. I haven’t seen other complaints about them. Nevertheless, I still want what I am owed, either: 1) A new Echo Leaf Blower PB 460-LN or better (original was low noise, 44cc, 281.6 KM/H, 10.8 m3/min, diaphragm carburetor) or, 2) $429.99, the original cost of the blower

Desired Settlement: Either: 1) A new Echo Leaf Blower PB 460-LN or better (original was low noise, 44cc, 281.6 KM/H, 10.8 m3/min, diaphragm carburetor) or, 2) $429.99, the original cost of the blower

Business Response: Company states that they are in contact with the consumer in regards to the issues.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Big Jim's Small Engine Service, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)