Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Baileigh Industrial, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (920) 684-4990 Fax: (920) 684-3944 1625 Dufek Dr, Manitowoc, WI 54220 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.baileigh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an international provider of metal fabrication and woodworking machinery.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baileigh Industrial, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baileigh Industrial, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Baileigh Industrial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1999 in WI Business started locally: 10/01/1999 Business incorporated 10/01/1999 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephan Nordstrom, President/CEO Mr. Randy Blindauer, Director of Sales Mr. Steve Wronkowski, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Blindauer, Director of Sales
Principal: Mr. Stephan Nordstrom, President/CEO
Business Category

Sheet Metal Equipment & Supplies Woodworking Saws Drill Presses Grinding Machines Welding Equipment & Supplies Metal Fabricators Lathes Machinery - New Machinery - Specially Designed Milling Machines Presses - Power Punch Presses Sheet Metal Work Manufacturing (NAICS: 332322)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Baileigh Industrial, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1625 Dufek Dr

    Manitowoc, WI 54220 (920) 684-4990

  • PO Box 531

    Manitowoc, WI 54221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sheet metal brake from Baileigh Industrial. After a short period of time one of the legs of the stand collapsed almost breaking my arm in the process as the brake fell to the floor. I managed to avoid severe injury. After contacting Baileigh Industrial and explaining what happened and sending them pictures, two phone calls later I was promised a replacement stand. I was willing to pay for the stand but before stating I would, they offered to replace the stand under warranty. This was back in August of 2013. Then I started calling them back since they told me it would be 4-6 weeks to receive the stand and it never arrived. At first no one could find me or my case in the computer system. On the last phone call, I was told for a second time that the stands were on order but that they kept getting backordered. I am a **** ********** and I can't work with a brake sitting on the floor.

Desired Settlement: Please just get me the stand that fits this brake so I can put the equipment back in use. I didn't ask for the warranty replacement, but they offered it. Stand behind your word. I'm tired of calling.

Business Response:

Subject:  Complaint - ID # *******

Mr. ******** was contacted earlier to this week to let him know a "Complete Stand Assembly" (including both sides) will be shipping to him this week under warranty.  Mr. ******** is correct, the Stand Assembly was backordered and did take longer than either Baileigh Industrial or Mr. ******** would have preferred.  Based on my discussion, Mr. ******** is very happy with the product and that this will resolve any and all open issues.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ********

 

 

 

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a magnetic sheet brake from Baileigh through ******** ****, their authorized distributor. This machine is currently under lease. Upon receiving the machine, and opening the box, the equipment was not in working order. Upon opening the electrical panel, as per instructions from customer service, we found the wiring to be of poor quality, and in disrepair. After many hours on the phone with customer service, who did not return my phone calls after repeated attempts and promises to call me back "in 15 minutes", I was able to start the machine. Their solution did not last long. The brake stopped functioning after a few simple attempts to bend. This was three weeks ago, after customer service promised to call me right back with a new solution for repair. During this time, I've written letters, made phone calls, send emails to Baileigh and to ******** ****. At this moment, Baileigh claims this machine is working. But they never made a site visit, much less returned my phone calls. All I want is to get rid of this machine, and receive a complete refund, including freight. For the last week, Baileigh has been promising that someone would come out. But my emails are being ignored. Right now, I have had to sub out all the work I would've used this machine for, so not only am I leasing a broken machine, I am losing money in paying someone else to do these jobs, and it is taking up real estate in my shop. In all our years in business, we have never experienced such poor quality products, or such negligent customer service. I will never use Baileigh again.

Desired Settlement: Full refund, including freight and crating.

Business Response: The Baileigh Industrial technical service team has been in contact with the customer on numerous occasions regarding this magnetic brake and has provided replacement parts to get the unit up and running at no expense to the customer.  

Baileigh Industrial does not provide on site service, but covers the cost of any parts and shipping for a period of one year from the time of purchase.  That being said, we have arranged to have another of our dealer representatives make a service call at the customer location.  This will be entirely covered by us and at no cost to the customer.  Should the unit be found defective at that time we will return the unit and refund the dealer for both the cost of shipping and the freight charges.  At that time the dealer will be responsible for refunding the customer.

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Baileigh Industrial VMD-40G on August 10, 2012. This was my third purchase of a Baileigh Industrial machine. Unlike the first two machines, the quality of the VMD-40G is extremely poor. Immediately we noticed areas where the paint was chipped off revealing a rusty under-structure that was simply painted over. Once the machine was setup and turned on for the first time it was immediately apparent that it was defective. Issues included a gearbox that jammed preventing speed changes, runoff in the chuck, a table that had the wrong size t-slots and an "operator's manual" full of gramatical errors and basically no content on operating the machine. It simply suggests that one contact the supplier of the machine for training and not to operate it without training. I immediately contacted Baileigh Industrial via a detailed e mail to express these concerns. Over a week went by without a response so I sent a second email. Again no response. I called and talked with an individual named *****. He confirmed that the machine indeed sounded to be defective and that he or someone would get right back to me. Two weeks went by with no response. I then called again and talked to *** ******* who told me he would also get back to me. After over a week I had no response. I called again and left a voicemail for Mr. *******. Another 10 days or so went by with no response. I called again and asked to talk with ******* *********, the *************. I was told that he was unavailable and directed to his voicemail. I left a message and that same day received a call back from Mr. *******. This lead to a confirmation that the machine was indeed defective in multiple areas and the option was presented to replave this machine with an identical model or upgrade to a more expensive machine. I had to decide what to do and said I'd call back in a day or so. I did call back three weeks ago, left Mr. ******* a voicemail and am still waiting for a return call.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for this machine that includes the shipping cost I paid for its original delivery.

Consumer Response:

I feel like I was more than fair concerning what I am requesting from the company. Shipping this very large and heavy machine back to them will require much work on my part with disassembling the machine and building shipping crates for it. I would be open to keeping the machine and having it repaired at my expense. What I would request from Baileigh Industrial is a refund for the purchase price alone and not shipping. This would save them almost $1000 in refunding my original shipping charge and the expense of shipping the unit back to them. It’s only a $2500 machine (and defective) so I would think this might be an appealing option for them.

 

Business Response: I have been in contact with Mr. ******* and arranged to have the faulty machine picked up and returned at our expense.  All money will be refunded including the initial cost of shipment.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did receive a call from **** at Baileigh Industrial. We discussed a resolution to this matter however more details needed to be worked out...primarily how I would receive my refund and when. **** needed to check into this and said he would call me back. When I didn't hear back from him after a couple days I called him at the number he gave me (his direct line). I left a voicemail but am still awaiting his response. I am hopeful they will follow through with their proposed resolution on this matter but based on my experience with the company thus far I can't state that I accept their response until they follow through with their comitment.  

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

Business Response: This product was not purchased directly through us but through one of our dealers, ****************.  Due to this Mr. ******* will have to contact ************ to get the proper amount of the refund.

As for our end, I have forwarded information regarding the correct amount we are refunding , including the $50.00 allowance for packaging materials, to our reseller ************.com.  This amount does differ from the amount the customer will receive as I am not privy to the actual retail price of the machine at the time of sale.

Pickup for this mahcine has been arranged for Monday, April 15th.  All arrangements and freight charges are being paid by Baileigh Industrial.  A copy of the BOL and shipping labels has been forwarded to ************ for this shipment.

The refund will be issued to our dealer the same day that the machine is received at our warehouse.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will accept this once I receive the full refund.

Regards,

**** *******