BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers programs in Medical Assistant, Veterinary Technician, Veterinary Assistant, and Dental Assistant.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Milwaukee Career College, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Milwaukee Career College, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Milwaukee Career College, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 02, 2000 Business started: 12/01/2002 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated: 10/24/2002 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 West Mifflin, 9th Floor, Madison WI 53703-8696
http://eab.state.wi.us
Phone Number: 608-266-1996
Fax Number: 608-264-8477
eabmail@eab.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jack Takahashi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Jack Takahashi, President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
MCC
Additional Information

Pro Mentor was previously known as ProStaff Training Plus.


Additional Locations

  • 3077 N Mayfair Rd  Ste 205

    Milwaukee, WI 53222

  • 3077 N Mayfair Rd  Ste 300

    Milwaukee, WI 53222 (414) 257-2939

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at MCC between 2008 and 2009 I was there to receive a ******* ********* ****** and when I started I informed the guidance counselor that I was on disability for migraines with syncope and a protein S and deficiency which is a blood clotting problem it doesn't let my blood thin and can cause pulmonary embolism which i have had many times before they told me that was fine i started in August of 2008 and that November I had to have surgery and I knew I was going to be out it was told to me that in order to come back or keep my spot, I had to take a leave of absence. The leave of absence was a 3 month leave so when I finally came back in January 2009 i started to take the classes that I had missed. I was doing fine until probably April 2009 I started to miss classes due to my disability I informed my instructors and also **** ******** along with an counselor who was monitoring my progress since I returned to school. When i started to get ill and having worse head aches I was again missing class . They had responded positively and told me that I was ok and they also let me continue to make up test assignments that I had missed. I then proceeded to come to school and miss school and i constantly kept them update. So in April I was dropped because of my attendance knowing my disability And speaking about it they agreed to work with me and they didnt do that. I was dropped for health reasons and they still charged me for the months left to graduate.I shouldn't have to pay for something that I didn't get. especially when they promised to work with me .I am finding it hard to enroll in any other schools due to bill from Milwaukee career college.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to attend again to get my certificate since they have been paid my financial aid .

Business Response:

Milwaukee Career College wishes to address the complaint ******* ******* submitted to the Better Business Bureau on October 31, 2012.

 

******* ******* first attended Milwaukee Career College August 25, 2008 in pursuit of a ******* ********* *******.  However, due to serious health issues ******* missed class regularly. By December 03, 2008, she had missed 86 hours (12%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program and therefore was sent a written notification that she was on attendance probation and her continued absenteeism might result in dismissal from the ******* ********* Program if she missed 108 hours absent (15%).  (Per the Milwaukee Career College catalog, absent time is defined as, and includes, time missed due to late arrivals, early departures, and any other absences from class sessions or scheduled activities).  So, rather than miss more time, ******* submitted a request to the Director of Education to take a leave of absence on December 03, 2008 with a return date set for February 23, 2009, which she said would give her time she needed to recover from her surgery.  This request for a leave of absence was approved.

 

******* returned to school February 23, 2009, but due to her unresolved health issues, continued to miss class regularly and therefore was dropped from the program on April 22, 2009 because she had missed 108 hours (15%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program.

 

Looking to return to Milwaukee Career College, ******* re-entered the program on August 11, 2009Milwaukee Career College agreed to work with her in regards to her existing tuition costs owed to the school, crediting her account for the amount of all funds received prior, and applying those funds towards her new enrollment.  However, this agreement was contingent upon the student starting the program over due to her absenteeism, which caused her to get dropped April 22, 2009.

 

******* agreed to this enrollment agreement and started classes from the beginning August 17, 2009, in pursuit of a ******* ********* *******.  On December 09, 2009, ******* received a written notice that she was on attendance probation due to the fact that she had missed 88.45 hours (12%) of the classes required to complete the ******* ********* Program.  This letter also stated that if ******* missed 108 hours (15%) she would be dropped from the program.  On January 05, 2010 ******* received another written notice stating that she had missed 95.57 hours (13%) of the classes required to complete the ******* ********* Program and if her absenteeism continued and she missed 108 hours (15%), she would be dropped from the program.  Due to health concerns, ******* submitted a request to the Director of Education to take a leave of absence immediately with a return date set for March 29, 2012.  This request for a leave of absence was approved.

 

******* returned to school March 29, 2010, but continued to miss class regularly and therefore was dropped from the program on April 8, 2010 because she had missed 108 hours (15%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program.

 

Milwaukee Career College is happy to work with ******* if she wishes to return to school and this will be contingent upon her starting the ******* ********* Program from the beginning and adhering to the attendance policy as seen in the Milwaukee Career College catalog.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. If we can agree on some kind of help with tuition in regards to them being paid for the time of me going there and they got paid even when I was not a student I shouldnt have to continue to pay over and over again. Yes they did offer to help at times but not all the time. 

Regards,

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1