Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Milwaukee Career College, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 257-2939 Fax: (414) 727-9557 3077 N Mayfair Rd  Ste 300, Milwaukee, WI 53222 http://www.mkecc.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers programs in Medical Assistant, Veterinary Technician, Veterinary Assistant, and Dental Assistant.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Milwaukee Career College, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Milwaukee Career College, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Milwaukee Career College, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2000 Business started: 12/01/2002 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated 10/24/2002 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 West Mifflin, 9th Floor, Madison WI 53703-8696
http://eab.state.wi.us
Phone Number: 608-266-1996
Fax Number: 608-264-8477
eabmail@eab.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Takahashi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Takahashi, President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
MCC
Additional Information

Pro Mentor was previously known as ProStaff Training Plus.

Industry Tips
Education-Choosing a School and GEDs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Milwaukee Career College, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3077 N Mayfair Rd  Ste 205

    Milwaukee, WI 53222

  • 3077 N Mayfair Rd  Ste 300

    Milwaukee, WI 53222 (414) 257-2939

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a student at this school for the last year in the VA/VT program. In that year, I have maintained a GPA above 3.5. The program is set up such that the Veterinary Assistant portion must be completed prior to moving on to the Veterinary Technician portion of the program. I had reached the externship phase in the Veterinary Assistant portion of the program, where evaluations were given weekly, at 120 hours into externship and a final evaluation at 240 hours or completion of the externship, as well as weekly meetings face to face with an instructor, staff members from the externship site and the student. The first week of externship I received a few Cs, the rest of my grades were As and Bs, the subsequent 5 weeks grades consisted entirely of As and Bs, 120-hour evaluation was all As and Bs in fact my externship site had expressed to my instructor that I was "the best extern the have had from Milwaukee Career College". It was in my final week of externship that my grades took a turn for the worse, consisting of 3 As, 1 B, 5 Cs and a D. My subsequent 240 hour evaluation then consisted of 1 A, 2 Bs, 2 Cs and a D, clearly not a reflection of my 240 hours of performance at this site. This combined with 1 assignment that was turned in late, resulted in a final grade from externship of a C. A minimum grade of a B- is necessary for admission into the Vet Tech portion of the program and I was denied. This school has no student handbook that offers any type of direction as to an appeals process, I have been informed that there is no appeals process, there is no review board, the final decision and only consideration is left to the sole discretion of the program chair. This program's tuition fees are $15,000 for the Veterinary Assistant portion and another $15,000 for the Vet Tech portion. Most Veterinary practices hire individuals for a Veterinary Assistant position, based on an individuals knowledge of animals, prior history of working with animals and a desire to learn more about working with animals. While helpful, most do not require any formal type of education, much less one that costs $15,000. It always was my goal to move on to the Vet Tech portion of schooling. I never would have agreed to such an expense for a position that would land me a position that pays most often just above minimum wage or, if you're lucky, $10/hour. It is my feeling that this school should not only have guidelines in place to justify a grading scale at these externship sites, but also some sort of board to oversee a decision that ultimately lies in the hands of one individual when such high fees are being charged and an individuals future is in jeopardy. Externships are not paid, 240 hours of time is what is expected and I feel that I was used as free labor for 7 weeks. I also feel that $15,000 worth of Federal Loan money was taken for a position that in most instances is acquired with on the job training.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for my tuition.

Business Response: As to the attachment you sent, Ms. ****** filed a complaint against us to the Wisconsin Educational Approval Board (EAB) as well. After our sending a response to them, EAB sent us a letter to inform us that this case is closed. Please see attached files for 1. Our response to EAB and 2. Letter received from EAB. Our response to her complaint will be the same, therefore, I will forward them to you. 

Business Response:

Response to ******* ******

 

Ms. ****** states:

 

“The bottom line here is, I did what was expected of me to gain admission into this program and more. The fact that I apparently am not allowed into ******, is first if all, unconstitutional (see Section 1983) and is the true reason for denial into this program.”

 

Milwaukee Career College states:

 

The fact of the matter is that ******* ****** did not meet the entrance requirements for the Veterinary Technician program.  She did not earn a B- or above for her externship grade, which is one of the criteria that must be met to be considered for admission into the Veterinary Technician program.  That is the “true reason” Ms. ****** was not admitted into the program.  Yes, it is possible for the program chair, Dr. ******, to waive one of the required criteria for a student, but it is at his discretion.  However, he chose not to waive the criteria because she disparaged them on Facebook, which came to their attention and told to Dr. ******.  Ms. ****** then asked another student, **** ***, (now an employee of ******) to spy on ****** for her, which also came to their attention and was concerningMs. ****** acted in an unprofessional manner at ******, which resulted in ****** asking that Ms. ****** not return to their facility.  Regular field trips to ****** are required in the Veterinary Technician program so, Ms. ****** would not be able to complete the program.

 

Ms. ****** states:

 

“And finally, as I have stated numerous times, there is no amount of money I would have paid any school for a diploma to be a Veterinary Assistant.  While being a Veterinary Assistant is a necessary first step in becoming a Veterinary Technician, it does not require a brick and mortar school and the fact that I will now either have to find an employer willing to give me training necessary to take the VTNE (National Veterinary Technician Exam), or go and acquire even more student debt to attend a brick and mortar school to achieve my goal based on this unprofessional and unfair treatment should rightfully yield a refund for my tuition.”

 

Milwaukee Career College states:

 

When prospective students meet with an Admissions Representative initially, it is told to them that admission into the Veterinary Technician program is not guaranteed.  It is explained that Milwaukee Career College offers two Veterinary programs: the Veterinary Assistant program, which is a diploma program and the Veterinary Technician program, which is an associate degree program.  All students start in the Veterinary Assistant program as it is a prerequisite for the Veterinary Technician program.  Students are informed of the criteria needed for admission into the Veterinary Technician program at that time.  It is then up to the student as to whether or not they agree to those terms and choose to enroll in the Veterinary Assistant program as Ms. ****** did.  It is true that “while being a Veterinary Assistant is a necessary first step in becoming a Veterinary Technician, it does not require a brick and mortar school”, but that was the choice Ms. ****** made when she signed the enrollment paperwork for the Veterinary Assistant program.  Furthermore, numerous students complete the Veterinary Assistant program and find employment. 

 

Furthermore, there was no unfair or unprofessional treatment shown to Ms. ****** by Milwaukee Career College.  She simply did not meet the criteria for Admission into the Veterinary Technician program.  She states that she deserves a refund; however, she completed the Veterinary Assistant program in its entirety.  As is stated on her enrollment agreement under the section titled “Tuition Refund Policy”, “it is the policy of MCC to require full payment of tuition from students who remained enrolled in 60% or more of their scheduled classes”.  Ms. ****** signed the bottom of this document acknowledging and accepting this policy. 

 

We are confused that Mr. ****** requests the refund because her payment history does not support what she requests. Here is the history of her payments.

 

11/18/13 - $100.00

11/27/13 - ($100.00) - Her payment above became NSF check. NSF check fee of $35 never paid

 

1/8/14 - $92.31

1/17/14 - ($92.31) - Her payment above became NSF check. NSF check fee of $35 never paid

 

7/9/14 - $300.00 - This is the amount we allowed her to go to externship because she has not paid anything toward our institutional loan. Her actual balance of institutional loan to MCC as of July 2014 was $829.89 instead of $300.00 -  $92.31 times 9 months (November 2013 to July 2014).  

 

Milwaukee Career College is always willing to work with our student as long as they are willing to work with us. Because of that, we have never had a problem like this case before. However, if our response does not solve the problem this time unfortunately, we are willing to go to the arbitration process as BBB suggested.

 

Best regards,

 

**** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

Below are excerpts from emails from Milwaukee Career College's Program Chair, Dr. ****** to ***** *********, ********* ********, Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission.   In the first excerpt, Dr. ****** tells Ms. ********* of his decision to not allow me into the Vet Tech portion of the program.  This email is dated July 23, 2014, weeks before my grades had been submitted and 2 months prior to me being notified that I would not be allowed to continue on at this institution in pursuit of a new career.  I would suggest this to be highly unprofessional.  It is my feeling that I was not made aware of this decision immediately after it was made and not before completion of the Veterinary Assistant portion of the program to prevent me from having any recourse to pursue refund of tuition, as indicated by another email between Dr. ****** and Ms ********* on June 13, 2014

"In any case, ******* is on externship now, and is almost done with the VA program.  She does want to go onto the VT program -- part of which, as you know, involves field trips to ******.  However, I have the authority to bar admission to the VT program, and I am now absolutely satisfied as to her unsuitability for the program.  She will not be allowed to enroll in the VT program at MCC, so I can assure you will not see her at ****** as an MCC student."
"I'm also not sure if we have any legal grounds to remove her at this point.  (If, however, she violates confidentiality/social media policy again, that is another matter.)"

My position in this matter remains as it always has.  For me to continue in my pursuit of a new career, I will be forced to start with a different school from square one.  I have and always will be of the opinion that I should not have to acquire more debt to acheive this goal based on a task that was requested of me, and not of any other student and one of which I requested on two separate occasions to have open communication regarding guidelines for this task, that were ignored.  

This institution's comments regarding my payment history are nothing short of deflection and their statement about being told upon enrollment regarding no guarantee of admission into the Vet Tech portion is simply untrue.

Respectfully,

******* ******

11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at MCC between 2008 and 2009 I was there to receive a ******* ********* ****** and when I started I informed the guidance counselor that I was on disability for migraines with syncope and a protein S and deficiency which is a blood clotting problem it doesn't let my blood thin and can cause pulmonary embolism which i have had many times before they told me that was fine i started in August of 2008 and that November I had to have surgery and I knew I was going to be out it was told to me that in order to come back or keep my spot, I had to take a leave of absence. The leave of absence was a 3 month leave so when I finally came back in January 2009 i started to take the classes that I had missed. I was doing fine until probably April 2009 I started to miss classes due to my disability I informed my instructors and also **** ******** along with an counselor who was monitoring my progress since I returned to school. When i started to get ill and having worse head aches I was again missing class . They had responded positively and told me that I was ok and they also let me continue to make up test assignments that I had missed. I then proceeded to come to school and miss school and i constantly kept them update. So in April I was dropped because of my attendance knowing my disability And speaking about it they agreed to work with me and they didnt do that. I was dropped for health reasons and they still charged me for the months left to graduate.I shouldn't have to pay for something that I didn't get. especially when they promised to work with me .I am finding it hard to enroll in any other schools due to bill from Milwaukee career college.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to attend again to get my certificate since they have been paid my financial aid .

Business Response:

Milwaukee Career College wishes to address the complaint ******* ******* submitted to the Better Business Bureau on October 31, 2012.

 

******* ******* first attended Milwaukee Career College August 25, 2008 in pursuit of a ******* ********* *******.  However, due to serious health issues ******* missed class regularly. By December 03, 2008, she had missed 86 hours (12%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program and therefore was sent a written notification that she was on attendance probation and her continued absenteeism might result in dismissal from the ******* ********* Program if she missed 108 hours absent (15%).  (Per the Milwaukee Career College catalog, absent time is defined as, and includes, time missed due to late arrivals, early departures, and any other absences from class sessions or scheduled activities).  So, rather than miss more time, ******* submitted a request to the Director of Education to take a leave of absence on December 03, 2008 with a return date set for February 23, 2009, which she said would give her time she needed to recover from her surgery.  This request for a leave of absence was approved.

 

******* returned to school February 23, 2009, but due to her unresolved health issues, continued to miss class regularly and therefore was dropped from the program on April 22, 2009 because she had missed 108 hours (15%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program.

 

Looking to return to Milwaukee Career College, ******* re-entered the program on August 11, 2009Milwaukee Career College agreed to work with her in regards to her existing tuition costs owed to the school, crediting her account for the amount of all funds received prior, and applying those funds towards her new enrollment.  However, this agreement was contingent upon the student starting the program over due to her absenteeism, which caused her to get dropped April 22, 2009.

 

******* agreed to this enrollment agreement and started classes from the beginning August 17, 2009, in pursuit of a ******* ********* *******.  On December 09, 2009, ******* received a written notice that she was on attendance probation due to the fact that she had missed 88.45 hours (12%) of the classes required to complete the ******* ********* Program.  This letter also stated that if ******* missed 108 hours (15%) she would be dropped from the program.  On January 05, 2010 ******* received another written notice stating that she had missed 95.57 hours (13%) of the classes required to complete the ******* ********* Program and if her absenteeism continued and she missed 108 hours (15%), she would be dropped from the program.  Due to health concerns, ******* submitted a request to the Director of Education to take a leave of absence immediately with a return date set for March 29, 2012.  This request for a leave of absence was approved.

 

******* returned to school March 29, 2010, but continued to miss class regularly and therefore was dropped from the program on April 8, 2010 because she had missed 108 hours (15%) of the total class hours required to complete the ******* ********* Program.

 

Milwaukee Career College is happy to work with ******* if she wishes to return to school and this will be contingent upon her starting the ******* ********* Program from the beginning and adhering to the attendance policy as seen in the Milwaukee Career College catalog.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. If we can agree on some kind of help with tuition in regards to them being paid for the time of me going there and they got paid even when I was not a student I shouldnt have to continue to pay over and over again. Yes they did offer to help at times but not all the time. 

Regards,

******* *******