Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Herzing University?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Herzing College, formerly Herzing Institutes, Inc., operates resident business and technical colleges in the United States and Canada (in Canada, only diplomas are awarded) including Herzing College of Technology located in Madison, WI. Herzing College of Technology was formerly the Wisconsin School of Electronics, founded in 1948. This school is approved by the State of Wisconsin Educational Approval Board, the regulatory agency for proprietary trade and vocational schools.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herzing University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Herzing University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Herzing University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1965 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated: 01/29/1965 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 W. Mifflin St., 9th Floor, P.O. Box 7874, P.O. Box 8696, Madison WI 53708
http://eab.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (608) 266-1996
Fax Number: (608) 264-8477
eabmail@eab.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Henry Herzing, Chancellor Ms. Rebecca Abrams, Campus President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Henry Herzing, Chancellor
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Online Education Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Herzing, Inc
Industry Tips
Education-Choosing a School and GEDs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Herzing University has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4006 Washington Rd

    Kenosha, WI 53144 (262) 671-0675

  • 5218 E Terrace Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 249-6611

  • 525 N 6th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53203

  • 555 South Executive Drive

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 649-1710

  • W140N8917 Lilly Rd

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 (866) 508-0748

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to school at Herzing for quite awhile. Suddenly, I was enrolled in a class I already had transfer credits for. After contacting MANY people without a response I was dropped from the school for failing that one class! After numerous more calls, I was told my transfer papers never came through (no one told me this) and I had no record of that class. AGAIN, I sent my transcripts in. When they finally received them after the 3rd try, I was told to go through re-entry, and I would get back into classes. I did re-entry with a promise that someone would get back to me in a few days. NO ONE HAS FOR MONTHS. Email after email has been ignored. I have been scammed out of thousands without my degree.

Desired Settlement: I want someone to enroll me back in school or credit my FAFSA for wasted time.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

I have reviewed this complaint and communicated directly with the complainant. We have reached a mutually agreed upon solution whereby the complainant will be able to return to Herzing University to continue her studies without detriment to her academic record or her fiscal responsibilities to the institution.

Please let me know if you  have any questions,

****** ** **** ********* ******* ** ******** ********** *** ******* ******** ******* ********** ****************** ************ **** ***** ***** **** ********* ***** ** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ********.....I am very pleased

 

 

 

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was dismissed from the school for a PACE score that was off by 2 points because i was failing a class. I wa not told that i could take two classes for the term and therefore meet the PACE requirement. I was told that I would be able to re-enter in september, but then emaled that i was not a fit for the college. I am a few semesters away from graduation and have had good grades throughout, leaving with a 2.9 gpa. I have tried to communicate but never received call back. i only wanted to complete ny degree and for them to dismiss me and not allow me reentry for a class that I did pass with a C IS obsurd. How was i not a fit for the school and my gpa was good

Desired Settlement: i would like re-entry to the college to complete my degree.

Business Response:

July 3, 2013
Mr. ******* **********
********* **********
Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
10101 W. Greenfield Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53214
RE: Case #******* * ******* ****** *******
Dear Mr. **********,
The purpose of this letter is to provide a response concerning a complaint filed by Ms. ******* ****** *******, Herzing University student (program; health information management) who participated in an online program for which I have oversight responsibilities through my team of academic deans, chairs and faculty. The complaint is based on Ms. *******’s desire to re-enter into the program and below describes events and details surrounding communication with Ms. ******* about her status with Herzing University described in her complaint –
1. There has been communication with Ms. ******* about her academic status and scheduling with Herzing University on several occasions that have been documented from 10/2011 – 05/2013.
2. Ms. ******* requested several schedule changes to accommodate her academic and personal needs throughout 2011 - 2013.
3. Ms. *******’s current GPA is **** and has attempted 81 credits and completed 49 credits, which means Ms. *******’s course completion percentage is 60%.
4. Ms. ******* received information from Herzing University about academic policies upon her enrollment with Herzing University, below is the policy per the catalog, pg. 68 -
Students must also remain on pace to complete their programs within a reasonable period of time. To calculate the pace at which a student is progressing, the number of cumulative program credit or clock hours the student has successfully completed is divided by the cumulative number of program credit or clock hours the student has attempted within their current program of study. Transfer credits are counted both as successfully completed and attempted when calculating pace. Incompletes, withdrawals, and failures will be counted as attempted credits or hours in the pace calculation. Developmental courses will not be calculated into the grade point average; however, a “Fail” will be counted as a course attempted, and a “Pass” will be counted both as a course attempted and a course completed for purposes of calculating a student’s pace toward completing the program for satisfactory academic progress. Pace is measured at the end of each semester. To remain on pace, students must meet the following minimum completion of credits or hours attempted at the respective evaluation checkpoints:
? End of each semester **** *** *** *** (pace of satisfactory completion)
Students not remaining on pace to complete their programs within a reasonable period of time (as defined in the academic catalog) are placed on academic warning for a period of one semester. Students still not on pace to complete their program in a reasonable period of time at the end of a semester of academic warning are dismissed from the University.
5. At the end of the Fall 2012 semester Ms. ******* was notified she was placed on academic warning for the upcoming semester because she was below 66% pace of satisfactory completion noted above, she concluded the semester with a **% pace percentage (73 attempted credits, 45 credits earned).
6. At the conclusion of the Spring 2013 semester Ms. ******* was notified she was being dismissed from Herzing University because she did not successfully pass her course that resulted in her not achieving the 66% pace of satisfactory completion, if she did pass the courses assigned within the semester she would have been able to achieve 70% pace of satisfactory completion.
7. On 05-02-13 Ms. ******* received her formal letter from Herzing indicating she was dismissed from the university due to pace of satisfactory completion was less than 66% after the conclusion of the semester
8. Ms. ******* did appeal her dismissal and was denied (on 05-22-13) because she has 24 credits left to complete in her program and will violate the 150% rule after she completes 14 credits out of the 24 credits she has remaining in the program. This means Ms. ******* will be financially responsible (out of pocket expenses) needing to cover the last 10 credits in her program.
The 150% rule policy states – per the catalog, pg. 68
Students must be able to complete their current program without attempting more than 150% of the minimum credit or clock hours required for the student’s program, as measured in credit or clock hours, or the student will lose Title IV eligibility. Developmental courses are not included in this calculation. Students may not appeal termination of eligibility for federal financial aid if they cannot complete their current program without attempting more than 150% of the minimum credit or clock hours required for the program
9. The decision was based on the fact Ms. ******* depends on federal financial aid to pay for her schooling.
10. We did not want Ms. ******* to incur additional tuition charges and not be able to complete her program after her federal financial aid was no longer available to her.
Upon review of the evidence, the following actions are implemented effective immediately:
1. Ms. ******* will be offered the opportunity to re-enter into the Associates of Science in Health Information Management (******** **** ***** *** will contact Ms. ******* by Monday, July 8 2013).
2. Once determined if Ms. ******* has the desire to return to Herzing University, understanding her potential out-of-pocket costs, ******** **** ***** *** will initiate the re-entry process activities with Ms. *******.
Contact information for ***** *** is:
Phone: ###-###-####
Email: ****************
It is Herzing University’s goal to provide reasonable accommodations while maintaining academic integrity for all students. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions regarding Ms. *******’s expressed concerns.
Sincerely,
***** *********
********** ******* ********** ****** ******

6/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 12th I called the University to withdrawal since I could not come to do it in person for about another week because of my hectic schedule with work and my kids. I asked for ***** ********* and **** who answered the phone asked what this was about and my name, he told me to hold and that she had left early today, which is funny to me now seeing as I have recently received an email from her stating Monday is her late day and she works till 7:00p.m...I asked if any one else could help me so I left a message on her voicemail. I called again the next day and left another message (I have phone records to prove this.). On the 15th of March I was finally able to reach *****. I told her that I was working 60 hours a week and wouldn't be able to handle school at this time. She told me that if I didn't keep at least one class I would end up owing a lot of money for withdraw ling a week after class had started. A month into the term I just couldn't keep up so I started reading into the polices what would happen if I withdrew from the class now. I read that if I had been able to withdrawal on March 12th when I originally had called and no one was there to inform or help me I would have been in the guidelines of attending less than 60.1% of the semester and would have owed only $31.00. How do I know these calculations? Justin Kehring figured them out for me after I had a meeting with ***** ********* and the **** telling them of how appalled I was of the lack of communication in a timely manner and how the staff failed to inform me of this knowing I had been trying to get a hold of them since March 12th. I left Herzing satisfied knowing that my issue would be resolved. Little did I know it wasn’t? They lied and failed to follow through on the resolution I left with from the April 25th meeting. On May 19th I get a bill from Herzing for $693.00 and a withdrawal date of April 25th.

Desired Settlement: I want Herzing University to fix the balance due on my account and admit that they lied about honoring my back dated withdrawal date of March 13th as agreed upon due to lack of an informative staff and getting back to me in a timely manner when I left the April 25th meeting with the Dean, Molly, and Justin.

Business Response: Hello ********, I hope you are well.  Please find attached the response letter for complaint ID *******.  If you have further questions or concerns regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards, ******* ******Director of Student AccountsHerzing University Online - Administrative Offices, **** ***** ***** ***** ********* ****** ** *****Toll Free: ###-###-#### | eFax: ***** ******** |Email: ********************************************  |  Herzing University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association. The Higher Learning Commission can be contacted at www.ncahlc.org or ###-###-####. Do you know someone who would be interested in joining the Herzing Family of Students and Alumni? Of course you do! Click here to share Herzing with them.