BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This school provides training for careers in the excavation and construction trades.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Associated Training Services Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Associated Training Services Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Associated Training Services Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated: 12/03/1996 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 W. Mifflin St., 9th Floor, P.O. Box 7874, P.O. Box 8696, Madison WI 53708
http://eab.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (608) 266-1996
Fax Number: (608) 264-8477
eabmail@eab.state.wi.us

U.S. Department of Transportation
400 7th Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Fax Number: 617-494-2783

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Klabacka, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Klabacka, President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Driving Instruction Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
ATS Heavy Equipment Operator School
Additional Information

Courses are offered during the week or on weekends. Although the school provides placement services to graduates through an affiliated company, it does not guarantee employment upon completion. Associated Training Services Corp. is approved by the Wisconsin Educational Approval Board. This company is affiliated with Diesel Truck Driver Training School and Employment Services Association, located at the same address.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2323 Performance Pkwy

    Columbus, OH 43207

  • 7190 Elder Ln

    Sun Prairie, WI 53590 (800) 383-7364 (608) 837-2851

  • P.O. Box 558

    Sun Prairie, WI 53590

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 383-7364(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The school itself is great, not worth the money spent but the training is AWESOME!!! However they offer a career service that is supposed to show companies that they have worked with and that are hiring. Everytime I have gone to this website the job postings a SERIOUSLY out dated like some were over two years old but listed as new. In the end I feel like I did not receive everything I was promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the web site updated with companies that are actually hiring and that have a good work knowledge of what students from this school are certified to do.

Business Response:

January 7, 2013

 

Mr. ***** ******

*** **** ***

*******, WI *****

 

Mr. ******, we are in receipt of your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concerns about our employment web site.  The following is our response:

 

We have recently converted our employment assistance web site from ******************** to **** *************************    This new web site has much more functionality and it will also allow the job seeker to see only job postings that have been made within the last ninety days.    You will have an account set up for you in this site with your email address as your user name and your last name+four digit date of birth as your temporary password.

 

Remember you can also contact our employment assistance department by telephone to get more up to date information.

 

Please contact me if further information is needed.

 

Respectfully,

**** ********

*********

   

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However I have been on the "TRN" website and the places I called have either told me a)they dont hire entry level. b) never heard of ATS/DDS or c) are not hiring.  

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to try a ten week training course with ATS. I attended for five days. By the end of the five days, I had second doubts about the loan though the school with the amount and interest rate which was $15,000 and 17% respectively. During that first week, the instructors had us sign form after form, giving them entirely full control over financial and other matters. One of the forms was Customer Right to Cancel. The last day that I attended ATS, the students in my class were sent to ******* for mandatory physicals. During that time of waiting, I decided to cancel my enrollment with ATS. By the time I had my physical completed it was already after 3:30 p.m., in which the ATS financial office was closed. After I drove back to my residence in ******, **. I called and left a message that night cancelling my enrollment. Later that weekend I fell ill. I also left a message on their system stating that I was ill and would not be dropping off books or the CRTC form on Monday morning. On Tuesday, I handed in my paperwork and training manuals with *******. She said that there would be some charges but did not say how much it would be. I left and later that day wote a letter stating that a charge for the hotel for a week and for the physical would be fair charges. After over a month later, yesterday I recieved a bill from their financing partner, USA Finance, a bill for $2981.69. There is no way that I can pay that amount while I am still unemployed and looking for work and I have worked to hard improving my credit score over the last six years to have it destroyed from an attempt to improve my life.

Desired Settlement: The only two pieces of equipment that I trained on for that five days, was a forklift and an old decrepit gravel truck. The rest of the time was spent inside with classes due to inclement weather. I only stayed at the hotel for a total of seven days, checking into the motel Monday night and then checking out the following Tuesday in the morning. I feel their charges are a complete lowdown, dirty business practice and an attempt to make a substantial amount of cash for a service that was not rendered or achieved. A charge for the hotel for $120, charge for physical, and maybe a bill for $125 for their time and labor is the only fair and correctly billed charges at this juncture would do.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** *******

 

**** ***** *****

*********** ** *****

 

RE: Cancellation & Refund

Mr. *******, pursuant to your complaint registered with the Better Business Bureau, the following is our

response:

As stated in the Enrollment Agreement document you signed upon enrolling, the School’s refund policy is

as follows:

3. If for any reason a student withdraws or is dismissed by the School after attending at least one class

but prior to completing 60% of the instruction in the current enrollment period, the student is entitled to a

pro-rata refund as follows:

AT LEAST BUT LESS THAN REFUND

1 unit/class 10% 90%

10% 20% 80%

20% 30% 70%

30% 40% 60%

40% 50% 50%

50% 60% 40%

60% no no refund

You attended five days which would be 12% of the 45 day program (nine weeks). The following shows

the tuition charge calculation and other charges:

Tuition: 20% x $11,995 = $2,399.00

Hotel: $120 x 2 = $240.00

Drug Test: $55.00

Cancellation Fee: $100.00

Total Charges: $2,794.00

In conclusion, we are following the refund policy as stated in your Enrollment Agreement. We would be

willing to settle for 50% ($1,397.00) if you could pay this amount within thirty days. If this is acceptable,

please contact us.

Respectfully,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Four-and-a-half days and they want that much?  Again, I did not attend more than five days .  They are basing their estimate of enrollment tuition without attention to RTC or the fact that this is a very gray area based on their case that the RTC form was not in their grasp at the end of the first week by 3:30 pm.  I really consider this a lowdown, unfair tactic to gain money for a service or degree not achieved.  Would they pay me for time I spent traveling to and from school?  The gas? Time not spent unavailable for work?   How does anyone know what to expect from their training and if  having second thoughts about the decision to try something new?  Also, it was not stated that there would be cost for even trying their program for five days.  So what good is having a right to cancel form or option.  So basicaly as soon as I stepped onto ATS property that first Monday, it was costing me over $700 a day?  Really?  And I was told it was $120 dollars a week for the hotel.  I did not spend more than a week(seven days) at that hotel.  I find their counterproposal unacceptable.

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: Mr. *******, you signed our Enrollment Agreement and thereby stated you understood the refund policy.   It costs a substantial amount of money to operate a business like ours.   The tuition is the primary charge.    We have offered to cut the amount we could charge in half.   We are being more than reasonable.      This is the best we can do.   **** ********Associated Training Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[ATS did not acknowledge that I was only in attendance for a week.  That I only stayed at the hotel for a week and being charged for two weeks.  ATS only claim is that it costs money to run their business, which I understand completely.  However, I did not cost them a spot that could have been occupied by another student.  I did not cost the hotel a chance to rent out the room I was staying in, since it was half empty for the last four days.   They did not have to use their cleaning staff at the hotel because of the weekend and being half empty there was nothing that they had to clean.  So that is not the reason ATS is charging me an extra week.  ATS counter-proposal is still over $800 what it should be.  They want their money in 30 days for their proposal and that is outright impossible at this time.  I state for the record that Associated Training Service  business practices are ethically challenged and unrealistic.   I assume I will have this bill turned into the credit bureau because I have less than four hundred dollars at my disposal as of today to pay anything on it.  Thanks to ATS for this most disappointing experience  and disastrous hit on my credit rating for a 17% loan with absolutely  no recourse.   I would  recommend their training but not their business ethics.  I rue the day I ever inquired about their programs.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was 21 years old I went to Associated Training Services and their CDL Training classes. I was young and broke but was still eager to get into a field of work in the professional way. What they charged he was unfair for what you get out of it. I spent almost $20,000 by the time I was done. That was in training cost and hotel. That's not including what I had spent on food and beverages for the 9 weeks I spent in Sun Prairie, WI. I feel that I was taken advantage of. Just like when someone is raped. This is the same situation. I am very up-set and heart broken. There is many other students that attended there and feel the same way. I feel I was very pressured once I started speaking with the staff. It was like I was dealing with a car salesman. I have no idea how A.T.S. is still in business. I know going to college doesn't automatically give you a job when you get done but what A.T.S. cost and when they pressure you in and after your done and get a shitty construction job and your trying to pay $20,000 off while paying bills and raising a family. It's eats away at you while paying $20,000 off on something that should not cost that much for what you get out of it. Not ONE construction company thinks going to A.T.S. is required. They actually laugh when hearing about it. I'm sure A.T.S. knows that but is still going on with training people and pressuring them in. Very wrong, I couldn't sleep at night knowing what I was doing to people and their future.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a full refund of my money or things could get ugly. I know there are a lot of people out there are very upset with this school. I think it is only fair that at least some of the money should be refundable.

Business Response: February 22, 2012 Mr. **** ******
**** ******* **.

**** ***** ** *****

RE:      Complaint Mr. ******, we are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding our School.  The following is our response: As stated in the Enrollment Agreement  you signed upon enrolling, the School cannot guarantee employment as a result of the training (Section 12, Item A).  You acknowledged your understanding of this by signing this agreement. The certification you received from the National Center for Construction Education & Research (NCCER)  is recognized by hundreds of companies across the country.   Following are some of the companies who recognize NCCER:  ****** *********** **** ****** ******* ****** ********* ********************** ******** ********** **** ***** ****** ******* ***** ****** * ******** ****** *** ********* ****** ************ ********** ** ******* * **** ****** ******* *********** ********** ******* **** ******* ***** **** ******* ********* *** ************* ****** ****** ************ **** *** ******* ************** ***. Our records show you had secured employment in the field for which you were trained with ***** ********* in ********.    The school has given you employment assistance in the form of employer contact lists.  You currently have internet access to the employers in our database who have hired one or more of our graduates or who have indicated an interest in hiring our graduates.   As you will see in this database, there are over three thousand employers across the country. We have maintained contact with you on several occasions to make sure you were receiving follow up and continual employment assistance.   We have made several  phone calls to you in an effort to assist you in finding employment.   We will continue to provide you with employment assistance for as long as you need it.   All of our employment assistance is free of charge. In conclusion, the evidence confirms you received what was stated in your contract with the school, and therefore, the school has fulfilled its obligations. Please contact me if further information is needed.  
Respectfully,
**** ********
President Sent Via:          US Mail                       
Email:  *******************                       
BBB: Response

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1