BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Star Connection Satellite & Security

Phone: (608) 355-2025 Fax: (608) 234-4302 S2634 County Road Bd Ste 1, Baraboo, WI 53913 http://www.starconnection.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm specializes in custom electronics, including satellite, audio and cellular phone services, security/burglar alarm systems, satellite, TV, cable, entertainment packages, wireless, audio/video/internet, for residential, hotels, restaurants, property owners, and management companies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Star Connection Satellite & Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Star Connection Satellite & Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Star Connection Satellite & Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1996 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1996 Business incorporated: 01/26/2000 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chad Strampe, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Strampe, Owner
Business Category

Satellite Equipment & Supplies Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Computers - Network Security Home Electronics Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Satellite Communication - Common Carrier Satellite Telecommunications (NAICS: 517410)

Alternate Business Names
lodgeVision Star Connection, LLC
Industry Tips
Digital Television (DTV)

Additional Locations

  • S2634 County Road Bd Ste 1

    Baraboo, WI 53913 (608) 355-2025

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early November 2012 I inquired about satellite internet service. I said I would like to subscribe later in the month. They took all of my information at that time. I received my credit card bill in mid-November and I was already being charged for the service. They connected my service before the end of November. I was to receive 10GB service for $49 a month + $10 equipment fees. The installer even verified to me that I had 10GB service. I signed the needed paperwork before the installer left, and he took all copies with him. That evening my computer did a number of updates. I checked my usage that night. I had used about 1.14??GB of service with all of the updates that I downloaded for my computer. Then I also seen that I only had 5GB of srevice. When I inquired about it with Star Connections the following morning, they told me that I subscribed to 5GB service. After a number of phone calls back and forth with various people from Star Connections, they admitted that I should have had 10MB service but could do nothing about it unless I would pay an additional $10 a month for the 10GB service. I then cancelled the service with them verbally, I also emailed my intentions to them and also mailed them through the postal service the same letter. I also put a stop payment on the check I wrote to the installer. I believed I was granted the Wisconsin Consumer Protection law of the 3-day right to cancel in this regard, especially since the service was misrepresented. After demanding a copy of the contract I signed, I did receive it later that evening through the email. I removed all of the equipment from my property and a representative from Star Connections picked it up 2 days later. Since that time I received harrassing phone calls from Start Connections, **** *******, and now a collection agency demanding that I pay the $420 cancellation fee. I am afraid that this whole incident may be affecting my credit history since it is now in the hands of a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I would like this whole incident resolved with an apology from Star Connections and if my credit history has been affected, to reverse their mistake as well.

Business Response: To Whom it may concern:
On October 8th 2012, we received a phone call from ***** ***** inquiring about the new Exede Satellite internet.  Upon the completion of the conversation, ***** decided to go with the Exede internet. We created the account ****************. According to the rules set forth by **** *******, customer prepays for the first month of service at time of account creation. ***** provided a credit card Visa ending in **** exp **** (october 8th). ***** chose the plan that includes 5gb anytime data and 5gb bonus data for $49.99 plus a $10 modem lease fee. He was installed on October 22nd, 2012.

We received a email from ***** on October 23rd. We called him back the same day trying to explain what to do, and that he was getting 5gb anytime data and 5gb bonus data. Totalling 10 gb. In order to work with the customer, we called **** ******* retail services. They were willing to work with the customer and give him a discount on the 10gb anytime data and 10gb bonus data for 6 months of $49.99 plus $10 modem fee. After that 6 months, it would go to the regular price of $59.99 plus $10 modem fee. ***** was upset about this, and decided that he wanted to cancel the service. We also received a copy of his email via us postal service a few days later.

According to **** ******* on October 25, 2012 **** ******* sent their installer to pick up the equipment. They found equipment modem and tria, along with dish outside in the driveway. On November 2, 2012 all equipment was processed and removed from his account. ***** did sign an 2 year contract with **** *******, not with Star Connection.

We never contacted ***** about any cancellation fees since that is handled through **** ******* directly at ###-###-####. If he has any questions regarding these collections, it needs to be directed to dish network customer service since we do not have any access to billing.

Attached you will find the advertisement for Exede along with package details and his signed contract.

Thank you