Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they offer the manufacture and sales of residential ventilation products such as range hoods, bath fans, ventilation fans and indoor air quality products and also holds major market positions in door chimes, central vacuums, intercom systems, medicine cabinets, built-in electric heaters, attic ventilators, ceiling fans, ironing centers, trash compactors and speakers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Broan NuTone meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broan NuTone include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Broan NuTone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 2005 Business started: 12/01/1932 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/1932 Business incorporated 09/20/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Mueller, President Mr. Gene J. Theisen, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Mueller, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Gene J. Theisen, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Range Hoods & Canopies Chimes & Bells Compactors - Waste - Household - Dealers Intercoms Systems & Services Ironing Boards Appliances - Major - Wholesale & Manufacturers Speakers - Wholesale & Manufacturers Vacuum Cleaning Systems Ventilating Equipment Compactors - Waste - Wholesale & Manufacturers Small Electrical Appliance Manufacturing (NAICS: 335210)

Alternate Business Names
Best Range Hoods Broan-NuTone LLC NuTone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Broan NuTone has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 926 W State St

    Hartford, WI 53027 (800) 548-0790 (262) 673-8617 (262) 673-4340 (800) 558-1711 (800) 637-1453 (262) 673-8638 (877) 896-1119

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 S Wilhite St

    Cleburne, TX 76031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    305 W La Cadena Dr

    Riverside, CA 92501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    309 W La Cadena Dr

    Riverside, CA 92501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2371 Flute Ave

    Henderson, NV 89052

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    309 W La Cadena Dr

    Riverside, CA 92501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We renovated our house, which included a renovated kitchen. We installed the Best Custom Hood Insert (Model ***********). The product has been in use for less than a year and the lights on the unit stopped working. The fan still works. I replaced the bulbs, but they were still not operational. We called in a service technician and he said that there was something wrong with the circuit board. We called customer service and they said they need the serial number in order to honor the warranty. Unfortunately, I cannot get the serial number off of the unit because the grease and high temperatures have worn off the serial number. Knowing that this could happen, I think the company should consider etching the serial number instead of using ink that can be worn off. I do like the unit and hope that the company will honor the warranty. We have been using it for less than a year, although it is coming up on the one year anniversary of us coming back into the house.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to honor the warranty and repair the unit.

Business Response:

We contacted Mr. ******* today and provided authorization to cover any parts and labor costs under our warranty. Also provided

a name of a local Service Company he can contact to perform the work. Mr. ******* was satisfied with our follow-up and suggested

course of action.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I appreciate the quick response.  Great customer service.

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

 

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a Broan-Nutone Hood fan model #RL6100F-C. The silver screen is removable to clean the grease, for cleanliness and to prevent a grease fire. The fan that sits immediately above this screen cannot be removed for cleaning, therefore making this model in my home a fire hazard. This is the only hood fan I have ever owned that is designed this way. Broans customer service has responded that if I need a clean fan on their product, I should buy an entirely new motor assembly. I feel this product from Broan-Nutone has failed to live up to a minimum standard for customer expectations. I paid $48.00 dollars, plus tax for this unit. I would like to have Broan-Nutone reimburse me for the money I paid for this hood fan, so I may go purchase a model that does perform to my expectations. Thank you, *****

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund so I would be able to purchase a suitable product

Business Response:

The fan assembly for the hood in question is available and we can provide the part at no-charge to help resolve this matter.

 

**** *******

******** ******* ****

Broan-NuTone LLC 

Business Response:

 

Broan-Nutone will accept the request to reimburse the original $48 purchase price.  We can provide follow-up information on

where to send the receipt or proof of purchase so we can move forward with this suggestion and resolve this matter.

 

Thanks;

**** *******

******** ******* ****

Broan-Nutone LLC  

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I built my house in 1993 I shopped for a central vacuum system for my wife's use in the new home. I purchased a NuTone Central Vacuum and it was installed. I purchased this particular unit primarily because the salesman at Electric Supply Company pointed out to me that the vacuum carried a "NuTone Maximum Performance Products Limited Warranty". This warranty clearly states that as long as the original consumer purchaser is the owner of the home where the "Maximum Performance Product" is originally installed that product will be warranted free of defects in material and workmanship and repaired at no cost to the original consumer purchaser. My vacuum stopped working on 01-18-14. I phoned a NuTone repairman for my area. The repairman came to my home on 01-22-14. The repairman (Ron) checked the unit and said that the motor(s) had stopped working and that he would need to order the parts for the repair. Ron made copies of my original bill of sale and the warranty that came with the central vacuum when it was purchased saying that he would forward these items on to NuTone for the warranted repair.On 2-5-14 at approximately 1128 hours I received a telephone call from Ron concerning the parts/warranty work needed for my Central Vacuum. Ron told me that he was advised by Technical Support section of NuTone that they will not honor the warranty as it is written saying that this is now considered "Normal Wear and Tear".I phoned the Customer Service section of NuTone in an effort to inquire into this situation. I was transferred to Technical Support where I spoke with a male who would identify himself only as ****. **** seemed to be familiar with my situation and very pointedly informed me that this repair falls under Normal Wear and Tear and would not be supported by NuTone. I pointed out to **** what the warranty said that he again said that the malfunction would not be addressed as a warranty claim.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my vacuum repaired as the warranty states and in a timely manner. My wife has been without the vacuum for going on 3 weeks now and this is not satisfactory nor is this what the warranty says will happen if it malfunctions while I still own and occupy my residence.

Business Response:

Broan-NuTone LLC is following the conditions of the warranty noted in the initial message.

In order to help resolve this matter we will agree to supply a replacement motor.. A local Service Center will contact Mr. ***** on the installation.

I trust these actions will be satisfactory to help resolve this matter.

 

**** *******

******** ******* ****

Broan-NuTone LLC   

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will await the contact with the local Service Center to conclude this matter.

Regards,

 

* * *****

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife & I purchased the Broan bathroom fan/heater/light at ***** & paid almost $200. for it. There were cheaper options available, but we bought the most expensive fan on the shelf. The fan worked good for about 6 months then the heater part was the first to go. I called Broan & the heaters were back-ordered because it was winter time (go figure) so we waited about 3-4 weeks for it to come in. I spent an hour replacing the heater, & it worked for about 6 weeks & then stopped working again. Then the fan stopped working correctly & acted like it couldn't keep up with the steam coming from the shower I put my hand up to it & it was barely pulling anything. So I called customer service, & tried to explain to the representative that I thought the unit was defective. He tried to tell me that maybe there wasn't enough air coming into the bathroom & sent me a new fan part. So again I waited for the new fan part to arrive. While I waited I took the door off & cut some off the bottom to allow more air to come through underneath the door. I also checked the ventilation pipe to make sure it was not clogged in any way & it was open. The new fan came & I spent 1 1/2 hours replacing it only to find out I still have the same problem ( I finally just gave up!! I had asked for a new unit & got a bunch of parts for the old one & even they keep breaking). Now I want to mention the time I took to install the unit by cutting the hole in the ceiling, installing the the fan box, hiring an electrician to run a new third wire & switch for the heater function, patching the ceiling, painting the ceiling, etc. My bathroom is approximately 8' x 7'. I now have mold on the ceiling from the moisture problem because the fan cant ventilate right! I was going to install another fan/light/heater in my brand new basement bathroom with a corner shower, but I have to be honest I am not feeling very confident right now in Broan products. I also have to fix the mold problem upstairs & probably kilz primer/sealer & repaint. If interested the ***** Item number for the fan is *****

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what can even make this right after I have spent all this time installing, fixing, electrical hiring & money to have a nice bathroom fan in there & now I have to go buy kilz sealer/primer & paint to repaint again. 

Business Response:

A member of our Tech Support team contacted Mr. **** today (12-30) to discuss this matter. We covered the installation and ducting options for his particular application.. We also agreed to provide another 100HL heater at no-charge. The new fan will be shipping this week. Mr. **** has our direct contact information if he has any other questions after he installs the new fan.

**** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I want to say in addition that I was really impressed with how quickly the company responded to my complaint, & their willingness to do whatever was possible to help me to resolve my complaint immediately.  The representative I talked to was professional, courteous, knowledgeable, & concerned with the problems I have been experiencing.  She was even honest with me & told me they had some production problems with the heaters which I found to be commendable. I want to thank everyone involved including the BBB for helping me get this resolved & I just hope that I don't have any problems with the new unit. 

Regards,

 

**** ****

12/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Nutone CV450 Central vacuum system in Nov. of 1993 that included there Maximum Performance Products Limited Warranty. It states that the " MAXimum Performance Product " that it will be free from defects in material and workmanship for the time the original consumer purchaser is the owner of the home in which suck maximum Performance product is originally installed. We are still residing at our original home that the central vacuum was installed. The power unit motors have failed and now after speaking with a tec today they told me that since the company was sold a number of years ago they will no longer honor the Maximum Performance Warranty and replace the power unit . I did purchase this unit with the pretense that if it ever failed it would be replace at no cost.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Nutone has an obligation to honor the Maximum Performance Warranty whether the business was sold in the past to another company as this warrant weighed in our decision to purchase this brand central vacuum system

Business Response:  
 **** ***** from our company will be contacting Mr. ***** on this matter tomorrow (11-26)..

 
 The CV450 unit in question is now 20 years old and a motor that has simply worn out with normal use over this lenght of time is not covered under warranty.. However we will make an accomodation to Mr ***** on a replacement motor to help resolve this matter.

 **** *******
 ******** ******* ****
 Broan-Nutone LLC 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

 

Although I disagree with the customer service manager, Mr **** ******* statement as to the motors are not covered under warranty even after 20 years since this Central Vac system was purchased with there  Max Performance warranty.

However I did receive a call from Mr. **** ***** on 11/27/13 who was a pleasure to discuss the problem with and he did offer to replace the 2 defective motors.

If possible I will update this response once the replacement motors arrive.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I emailed Nutone a week ago asking for a copy of the owners manual for a Nutone Scovill 3003 home intercom system in a new house that I just purchased. No one ever contacted me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a copy of the owners manual for a Nutone Scovill 3003 home intercom system to be sent to me at my home address. Thank you.

Business Response:

Our company contacted Mr. ****** on 11-18 and provided the information on his intercom unit. My understadning is Mr. ****** was satisfied with the response and this matter is now closed.

 

**** *******

******** ******* ***

Broan-Nutone LLC

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ******

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a exshaust fan model number 688-j sones 2.0 cfm60 amps.70 hz volts the rest of the information is burned this fan caught fire in my bathroom fire department concluded due to faulty motor. And due to my income i am not able to repair my bathroom and this happen april21 2013 i would like the money to repair my bathroom. i have called and tried to talk to some one and they talk so bad to you and due to my health issues i cant afford the stress.

Desired Settlement: That i can get my bathroom fixed. I am a afge member and my president told be to try this route first.

Business Response:
 We contacted Ms. ******* on Monday, June 10th and give her directions on where her Insurance company can send follow-up information so we can investigate this claim further. Our company has no history of the product in question having the reported problem. Broan-Nutone will respond back to the Insurance company after we recieve the requested information.

**** *******
******** ******* ****
Broan-Nutone LLC 

1/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ******* ****** I range hood. The product has a defect, when utilized in a non ducted mode; the motor overheats due to misiing exhaust vents. The vents are in the newer model. This is a hazardous defect and the product does not work as advertised. This is consumer fraud and in violation of numerous Federal Statutes and the Uniform Commercial Code. The fan overheated and casued a smoke condition damaging the product. The Consumer Product Safety Commission should make Broan recall all these units. If the BBB cannot help me I will seek a class action lawsuit for this defect.

Desired Settlement: Replacement or refund

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Mr. ***** this past week to get some more information on this matter.

The range hood in question was actually built in 2004 and this series of hoods was re-designed later. The hood in question is not missing any vents or components to ventilate the area in a ductfree application. The subsequent hood re-design did include a new venting process along with a number of other component and cosmetic changes.  

 We are making arrangements to have the hood in question returned for reivew and we did agree to reimburse Mr. ***** the $249 for his replacment unit. 

**** *******

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Nu-Tone fan light ****** about a year and a half ago at **** *****. I came into my bathroom and noticed the grille assembly hanging from the ceiling with only one side of the grille/lens still attached to the base by the spring. The other side of the plastic grill was defective. At the point of attachment of the spring (the circular hinge) the grill snapped causing the side to become unattached. Apparently this point of attachment is weak for the load of the spring. I contacted the service department at ###-###-#### and described my problem. The lady indicated if it was out of warrantly I would have to pay for the part-$13 plus approximately 6 dollars shipping. My contention is they are lucky that the glass did not break (alot more cost and possible damage or injury!) when this defective point of support failed. I should not have to pay for this part or the shipping and they should provide it to me free of charge. This fan cost me $130.00!

Desired Settlement: Mind you I am not asking for the whole unit but the replacement grill shipped to me at free of montary charges as I have already spent enough of my personal time dealing with a defective product.

Business Response:

I contacted Ms. ****** today and agreed to send a replacement grille assy. for her fan.  Told Ms. ****** she could expect to see the part in 3-4 days. I believe this course of action meets Ms. ******'s expectations to help resolve this matter.

**** *******

******** ******* ***.

Broan-Nutone LLC

 

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an exhaust fan unit ****** due to it's promises of quiet operation and the NuTone name as that was my old unit. I had several problems occur with the installation and at the time thought I was missing hardware. I contacted NuTone on 8/8/12. I received an email from ***** on 8/30 after emailing NuTone again that my original email from 8/8 had not be responded to, and was informed that my email, not yet responded to would be directed to NuTone. I did not receive any response until 8/30 when I was contacted by ******* ***** explaining that he apologizes for the late reply and that no hardware came with my unit. He then went on to explain that although installation should be as easy as possible compensation can not be provided for the difficulties. I replied to the email asking what was recommended to use for installation hardware and to explain that my unit was not in new construction but a retrofit, contrary to what Mr. ***** had appeared to think in the original email. I also pointed out that NuTone is steadfast in protecting it's own economic interests even at the cost of customers. I also mentioned that after the month of installation my unit was getting, and still is, progressively louder. I received a reply on 8/31 from Mr. ***** stating that he was sorry I didn't agree with his comments and that I should contact technical service for issues with my unit. Never was the hardware question or the fact that my unit was a retrofit addressed. On September 7 I emailed Mr. ***** again stating that I would call customer service but has asked what I should reference. I also explained that I will not be responsible for installing a new fan for one that may be defective. That was 10 days ago and I have not received any reply. I feel as thought NuTone has no interest in providing me service and simply answers it's consumers with a script response that does not deal individually. I feel that Mr. ***** no longer wished to deal with me and my issue and simply pushed me off to receive the "run around" from phone support. I'm honestly quite upset over this whole ordeal and can not understand how a unit that I paid almost $100 for has such poor customer service and reliability. I truly feel as though my issues would have been completely ignored had I not filed this complaint. That leaves an awful view in my mind when I think of NuTone and when I need to tell others of my experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least a partial compensation for this product for the lack of customer service that has been going on since 8/8. Over a month is far too long for an issue to be resolved. Also, I feel I was treated less than a valued customer and that I still have no answer as to what I was to have my contractor use to install the unit.

Business Response:

 

We will follow-up with Mr. ***** to see what our company can do to help resolve this matter. Will try contacting him at the phone number on the original message.

**** *******

Customer Service Mgr./Broan-Nutone LLC

 

Business Response:

From: **** ******* [mailto:*****************************]
Sent: Tuesday, October 02, 2012 9:37 AM
To: Bradley Colmerauer
Subject: RE: The BBB of Wisconsin has received a customer comment regarding complaint #*******.

 

*******;

 

I know the BBB closed out this complaint, but I did want to confirm with you that Mr. ***** was on vacation last week and we did share some E-mails back and forth with him. Both parties agreed that Broan-Nutone would contact him early this week to see if we could resolve his concerns.

 

One of our employees talked to Mr. *****  yesterday and confirmed the “missing hardware” referenced in the complaint was Mr. *****’s expectation that some screws would be shipped in the fans. We explained to him that there are different requirements from home to home on the length and type of screws that may be needed to install the fans.. However any standard wood or drywall screw could be used for the installation.

 

On Mr. *****’s concern about noise on his fan, we did offer to send him a no-charge motor assembly to address this topic.

 

Just wanted to make sure the BBB knew that our company did actually get a hold of Mr. ***** to address his concerns. We always do our best to help resolve any possible issue that is reported to the BBB..

 

Thanks;

**** *******

Customer Service Mgr.

Broan-Nutone LLC

###-###-####.

******************

8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three years ago, my husband and I built our house and installed three bathroom fan lights made by NuTone that we had found at The Home Depot. Two of the units, same models, we placed in two of our bathrooms. Upon installation, we were easily able to purchase the fluorescent light bulbs it required (GX24Q). Despite the bulbs blowing every 6-9 months, I was able to purchase the bulbs at The Home Depot for approximately 18 months after fan/light installation at a cost of $8.00 to $10.00 per bulb. It was at that 18 month time period that neither the bulb, or the same fan/light models were sold at The Home Depot. The units had been replaced with an updated model that was able to accept a standard-type, twist in lightbulb. In an effort to to find the bulbs, I tried to order from The Home Depot, purchase at Lowe's, Aubuchon, True Value, Walmart, local hardware stores and specialty lighting stores. My search lasted for over an additional 18 months, all while living without bathroom ceiling lights, before I just recently attempted to contact NuTone Customer Service via e-mail. I started with sending my inquiry and story via the general customer service e-mail address. After 3 days, I received a response from a ************** named ****** ***** (******.Sears@broan-Nutone.com). She kindly informed me that I could order the lightbulb through NuTone at the price of $30.00 per bulb. Given that we could purchase a new unit for approximately $80.00 per unit, I feel this price, per bulb, was unacceptable. $30.00 per bulb is a 300% price increase from my previous bulb purchase just 18 months before. I expressed my concerns with ****** and explained that given that price, would they be willing to replace our units with the same, updated model, either covering the product cost entirely, OR offering a discount on the purchase of two new units. She replied, again via e-mail, that she was willing o give me a 25% discount on the purchase of 2 bulbs. This would still make the bulbs cost more than the initial cost we had paid in the past. I thanked her and let her know we would be filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of existing fan/light with updated model OR at least a discount on the purchase of two new models, same style, via Broan-NuTone.

Business Response:

I called the Place residence this morning at 11:32 CST and left a voice mail message. Either myself or *** ********* (****. ******** ******* ***) will follow-up again with the Mr/Mrs. *****.

Broan-Nutone will work with Mr./Mrs. ***** to work out an agreeable course of action for both parties.

**** *******

******** ******* ***.

Broan-Nutone LLC

 

 

Business Response:

From:**** ******* [mailto:Gene.Theisen@broan-nutone.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 21, 2012 3:27 PM
To: ******* **********
Subject: FW: The BBB of Wisconsin has received a customer comment regarding complaint #*******.

 

*******;

 

I had replied to the original complaint last week (8-16) and we were able to talk directly to Ms. ***** on Friday(8-17). We did agree to sell Ms. ***** two new fans and these units will be shipping today.

 

I wanted to include these notes to my original reply,  but I was not able to figure out how to add these additional comments to the BBB site. At this point I believe we have made the proper accommodation to satisfy Ms. *****.

7/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Nutone ******* intercom system for my new home in 1988. The motivating factor in selecting this unit was that the system came with a "lifetime warranty". The operational quality of the system has been declining over the years (poor sound quality) and it has finally failed completely (no intercom, no door chime, no radio, and the clock doesn't work). When I inquired about the "lifetime warranty", Nutone stated that they no longer honor the "lifetime warranty" that came with the intercom. In my opinion, Nutone's policy change constitute a breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: Nutone should repair or replace the intercom system under the "lifetime warranty" provision of the sales contract for as long as I own the product. If Nutone desires relief from the "lifetime warranty" provision of the old intercom system then they should provide a comparable "new" intercom system that comes with limited warranty.

Business Response:

Our company has been in contact with Mr. ****** and have agreed to have the unit in question sent to a Authorized Service Center for repair.

I do want to note Broan-Nutone LLC is following the specific details of the warrany in question, but we are willing to make this accomodation to help resolve this matter.

**** *******

******** ******* ***.

Broan-Nutone LLC..