BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

National Premium, Inc.

N26 W23315 Paul Rd, Pewaukee, WI 53072

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm specializes in promotional product consulting, corporate promotional items, trade show displays, signage, corporate awards, and point of purchase displays.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Premium, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Premium, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 05, 2004 Business started: 05/01/1967 in WI Business started locally: 05/01/1967 Business incorporated: 09/26/1968 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Schmidt, President Mr. Gregg Weber, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Schmidt, President
Principal: Mr. Gregg Weber, Chief Operating Officer
Business Category

Promotional Products Promotional Products - Wearable Business Promotions - General Signs Marketing Programs & Services Corporate Awards Promotional Products - Non-Wearable

Additional Information

This company offers marketing solutions and promotional products.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    N26 W23315 Paul Rd

    Pewaukee, WI 53072

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Delivery Issues
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put an order together for paper plates, napkins and cups on the Thrivent.com website in order to estimate shipping charges for my board's approval. The subtotal amount was $2,576.07. When I clicked continue to get the shipping charges and tax, I got a "thank you for your order" screen from National Premium,Inc. I wrote National Premium, Inc to cancel the order immediately. The next day, I noticed a $3,722.72 charge on my Discover CC account. After ten days and multiple emails and phone conversations with National Premium, Inc, I am getting nothing but empty apologies and "...will keep you apprised of anything I find out as soon as possible." Another matter is the $1,146.65 additional charges added to the order. If this is supposed to be shipping for around fifty lbs of product, I have an issue with price gouging as well. No way would I have approved of that.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get an immediate refund of $3,722.72 I also need to know how the $1,146.65 additional charges break down. and I would like to know that steps are being taken to modify their website so this doesn't happen to others.

Business Response:

National Premium has been in the promotional products industry for over 45 years and we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service.  Like your letter stated, on occasion we are not able to please everyone, but we do try as you can see in our BBB file over the past 45 years 

I called the customer to hear his side of the situation and work with him to rectify the problem from his perspective.  We had a good conversation and I explained to him some of the limitations with our computer system as it calculates freight based on the carton size and weight.  The system doesn’t allow an option for larger shipments to go common carrier.  As you can see below, we have outlined the issue, addressed the cause and have put steps in place to rectify the situation going forward. 

Regarding the customer concern reported to the BBB on 8/29/13, here are the details of the order:

1.       Sequence of events

a.       Customer placed order on 8/18/2013

b.      Per customer request NP canceled the order on 8/19/2013 and attempted to issue a refund

c.       NP emailed customer on 8/22 to discuss the status of the refund.  NP provided a refund receipt, however the credit card processing system never actually refunded the card.

d.      Additional correspondence between customer and NP on 8/29 to discuss status of refund.  Internal issues at NP caused confusion in communicating status with customer.

2.       Freight calculation on website – our web site calculates UPS Ground freight by weight.  The total weight of the order is used to calculate the freight charge.  For this order, the total weight of the order was 991 lbs. which caused the web site to calculate $966.33 freight charge.  There were 16 cases of 8 oz. foam cups on the order.  We utilize dimensional weight for these cases because of the size of the box.  This process allows us to properly calculate the freight amount when a customer is ordering a case or two.  In this instance, extremely high quantities were ordered. 

NP is not gouging our customers on freight, but only charging UPS published rates for the freight to ship the orders.  Had the customer called Customer Care to inquire about the freight costs, we would have quoted a different method of shipping that would have saved approximately $300 in freight.  The difference is due to a manual calculation of the freight for a combined order of this volume considering total actual weight, number of boxes, and dimensions of those boxes.

3.       NP Rectification/Improvements

a.       Customer was wired a complete refund on 8/29.

b.      NP will add a note to the item detail pages for these three items indicating customer should call for a freight quote if ordering multiple cases due to the weight.

c.       NP will confirm administrative notifications for credit card refund system.

Consumer Response: On Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 7:24 AM, **** ****** ******************* wrote:

hi,

Have you heard from the company? Yes
Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter? Yes

*** ** *********
***** ** ********** ***
********** ** *****
****** ************* * **** *************
**********************
10/13/2013
**** ****** 
*** ***** ****** ******* 
******* * *** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.