Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dog training as well as mobile dog training, day care, boarding, and grooming. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pet University Doggy Daycare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pet University Doggy Daycare include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pet University Doggy Daycare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2012 Business started: 06/01/2012 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/2012 Business incorporated 02/24/2012 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Angela L. Trzcinski, Co-Owner Mr. Dennis A. Trzcinski, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angela L. Trzcinski, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Dennis A. Trzcinski, Co-Owner
Business Category

Pet Training - Dog Pet Day Care Pet Services Dog Daycare Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Training Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)

Service Area
Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, Racine, and Kenosha counties. 
Alternate Business Names
Pet U Pet University, LLC
Industry Tips
Before You Buy

Additional Locations

  • 2625 Eaton Lane

    Racine, WI 53405 (262) 619-0109

  • 6120 S Howell Ave

    Milwaukee, WI 53207 (414) 766-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been going to Pet University for the past few year's and trusted them to care for my dog. My dog was always happy to go there. However, my last experience was horrible. I dropped my dog off for a one night stay while I was out of town for the night. I received a call from the owner that evening informing me that my dog has somehow escaped and ran away. Since my dog is no escape artist this seemed like an unlikely story she just happened to get out so easily. They mentioned that they had gone out looking for her with no luck or sighting from the Pet University employees. Since I was out of town I was unable to rush back to help look for her myself, the entire night I felt helpless and panicked when I realized I may never see my dog again. The next morning I received another call saying MADACC had found her and held her for the night. They were not able to contact me since the microchip system was down. The Pet University employee said that one paw was hurt and was treated and that she would need a bath, but otherwise was in good spirits and seemed fine. When I was able to return and pick up my dog, I was heartbroken to find my dog crying/whimpering. She could hardly walk and was covered in burrs. She couldn't get in the car by herself or up the stairs when we got home. The owner was not there or available to give me an honest explanation, let alone apologize and compensate me for loosing my dog. The story had changed from just my dog to several dogs getting out from the employee that was there. I still had to pay for a night (my dog wasn't even there for the night)! I have the added expenses of at least one vet visit to see what is wrong with my dog and a trip to the groomers and time out of my day for something that could have been easily avoidable. My dog is a member of my family and to have her treated this way is not only unacceptable, it could have a lasting effect on her well being. I would never recommend this company to anyone who cares about the well being of their dog.

Desired Settlement: I would like to understand the full situation, an honest explaination, a full refund of my dogs "stay", refund for all very bills accumulated from this incident and a refund for the extensive grooming my dog will need to get all the burrs mud and mats out of her fur.

Business Response: This letter is in response to submitted complaint #********.
***** ********* is the subject of this matter and has been a client of ours since approximately March
2014. ***** was registered and listed under owner ******* *********. ******* ****** is listed as the
emergency contact person.
***** has boarded with PETU approximately 12 or more times since registering. She also has added baths
and nail trimmings during her stays at PETU with no incident.
On April 16th, 2016 at approximately 7pm I received a call from my staff informing me that ***** had
gotten out of the building through the front door in the lobby and was running loose. One staff had run
after her on foot however. She was headed northbound on Howell Ave towards the airport. *****
continued to run back and forth and was no longer visible.
An immediate search party was formed to continue the search. Upon reaching the last known location
of where ***** was spotted I immediately contacted the owner, who we have listed as Nicholas
*********. I left a message and heard nothing for 20 minutes. The search is still continuing. I contacted
the owner again, no response. I called the emergency contact, ******* ******, left a message, no
response. I continued to call both the owner, that I had listed and the emergency contact ******* 3 more
times before getting a call back from ******* at 9:07pm. After clearing up who the actual owner is,
******* apologized and said she forgot to update the records.
By this point, our search was still on going. PETU had made contact with many people in these past 3
hours. We talked with the Milwaukee County Sherriff's deputies on site at the airport, the circulating
security officers, taxi cab drivers, local people walking, and businesses on the main street of Howell
Avenue, as well as contacting the local police department, Milwaukee PO at 7:58 pm to ask if ***** was
spotted or located. There was no siting's any further.
I made another contact directly with Deputy **** ******* who was happy to help in the search. Deputy
******* was even able to switch cars that evening to continue searching. At 11:40 pm Officer *******
contacted me to give an update about a CAD call that was updated from 6:52pm. It stated that a dog
was captured and turned over to MADACC. No other information was provided.
I was not able to get ahold of anyone at MADACC due to the hours of operation. At this point I am
unaware if this dog captured is confirmed to be ***** or not, so the search continues.
At 6:00 am, contact with MCSO again, still unsure if ***** is at MADACC or not. Have to wait to call until 8
am. However, I notice an odd number in the CAD call. I was told it was a number from one of the 20 +
calls that came through regarding a loose dog near the airport. After contacting the surrounding
businesses in the area again, Signature Flight Support directed me to the 440th grounds, who said they
spotted a possible dog. After still inquiring about the unknown phone number, at 7:26am I called it and
it was the emergency officer that picked up ***** at 6:52pm the night before. He said he had ***** at
MADACC and she was fine.
I contacted ******* again at 6:05 am with all the updates I have and continued to keep her involved with
a play by play report.
6:51am Contacted MCSO, continued searching, 7:00am arrived at Signature Flight Support, 7:14am back
to MCSO, 7:26am MADACC, 7:27am Contacted *******, 7:36pm MADACC called me back to tell me to
bring her necessary vets records. 7:38am contacted *******, 7:43am contacted MCSO to report ***** was
located. 8:00am arrived at MADACC to pick up *****. 8:25am contacted ******* with the final update. I
was originally told by the emergency officer that ***** had what appeared to be raw paw on one of her
front paws, most likely from running but otherwise was in great shape and health. I did relay all of these
reports to *******.
Upon picking up *****, who is a long haired dog, she had an odor from expressing her anal glands and
was in need of a bath. I assured ******* we would be giving her a bath.
***** was able to walk out of the MADACC facility and able to get into my vehicle for the ride back. She
was in very good spirits and her tail was wagging.
Once back at PETU, I assigned one employee to *****'s care until she was returned to her owner. That
employee brushed and bathed ***** for 2 hours specifically.
Upon my last conversation with *******, I did ask if we could talk on Monday morning to discuss anything
further. She agreed.
Upon further investigation of this circumstance, I learned at approximately 6:00 pm that a group of dogs
were running around in our play yards playing when dog #1 open the latch to the gate of the play group.
Then dog #2 jumped up and opened the closed door to the front lobby. It was then dog #3, *****,
continued running forward and jumped up on the lobby door which opened the door and allowed her to
run out. As this was happening as quickly as I am typing this, a handler ran out to get ahold of ***** to
call her back in. Unfortunately, *****, who is a shy dog, decided to run the opposite direction and
continued to appear spooked and continued running. As she continued to run, many good Samaritans
had called immediately 911 to give her location. At 6:52pm a K9 officer captured ***** and turned her
over to MADACC. ***** is microchipped and therefore, the owner should have been contacted
immediately, but to our avail, the microchip system was down for the evening, leaving us all in the dark
of her whereabouts and the search to continue from PETU.
On Monday morning I contacted ******* ****** to discuss anything further. I did refund her the $50 she
had paid for *****. This was my last contact with ******* ******. I learned that ******* decided to contact
the local news media regarding her story.
Update, on Tuesday April 19th
, 2016 while driving, I saw ***** out on a walk with her owner. I was happy
to see her walking wonderfully with her tail wagging and sniffing the trees and the grass.
In closing, this was a terrible accident that took place. PETU cares for our dogs very much and we do
everything in our power to keep them healthy and safe. Our practices and procedures showed that we
could improve two things. One is to add latches to all gate doors and the second is to change the door
handles to prevent a dog from opening them. These two tasks were satisfied immediately.
Thank you for your time.
Respectfully Submitted,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pet University Doggy Daycare
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)