Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Moore Pet Supplies, LLC

Phone: (608) 781-7385 View Additional Phone Numbers 3170 Airport Rd, La Crosse, WI 54603

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company states it offers the sale of pet supplies.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moore Pet Supplies, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

As of May 16th, 2007 all complaints for this company are being forwarded to the BBB of MN for processing as the company is a member in that service area. For a full report on this company please contact the BBB of MN at: 2706 Gannon Road Saint Paul, MN 55116 651-699-1111

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Moore Pet Supplies, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1996 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 09/12/2006 in MN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Ritterling, President Mr. David Mayhugh, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Ritterling, President
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Products & Services

Moore Pet Supplies, LLC offers the following product(s): This company provides pet supplies.

Alternate Business Names
Moore Pet Supplies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Moore Pet Supplies, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    3170 Airport Rd

    La Crosse, WI 54603 (800) 829-7876 (608) 781-7385


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: While researching automatic pet doors I contacted Moore Pet Supplies to inquire about specific information regarding the Solo Automatic Pet Door. While I received the product information I was looking for, I was mislead by billing information they provided. I called Moore on 8/11/2015 (which happens to be my birthday) to ask one final question before ordering the door. I asked the rep if it was easier to place the order via telephone or through their website. They said it is easier to order through the website so that's what I did. I was never told about any potential discrepancies between these two ordering methods. About 2 hours after ordering the product, I received 2 phone calls from 2 different representatives of Moore Pet Supplies. They both told me they need to charge me additional money for sales tax which was never represented to me in any previous phone calls and was not shown on my final invoice for the order. The company is based in Wisconsin and I live in California. I place online orders on a daily basis and constantly look for the companies where there is no tax charged in my state. Moore Pet Supplies appeared to be one of those companies. They would not credit the tax amount to the order, nor would they reduce the cost of the pet door to absorb the tax cost. I begrudgingly paid the tax as I was forced to do so in order to keep the order moving. I never received an updated invoice showing the tax was paid, and for all I know this added cost was never required and just adds to their bottom line. The manager I spoke with (Heidi) said their website does not allow sales tax to be charged which I find impossible to believe in this age of e-commerce. In all my years of online purchases, I have never been called after an order was placed to get more money for tax when a final invoice shows there was never a responsibility to pay it. The manager was very uncooperative to reduce the product price, expedite shipping, or provide any level of retribution for their obvious lack of accounting management. While they may have a decent knowledge of their products, they lack a basic understanding of their own financial and order processing methods which creates distrust. In combination with the lack of customer service to provide any remedy to the situation, this company will never will get my business again. It is my belief that Moore should credit me for the tax charge which is un-verified.

Desired Settlement: Refund my credit card in the amount of <$32.60> to cover the misrepresented sales tax.

Business Response: As we explained to the customer, we are unable in our system to have it charge tax on only one item when it ships to only one state. When speaking with the customer, we very clearly told him he was not obligated to complete the order and we would cancel the order if he did not want to pay the tax, but that we are obligated to collect tax on that brand of pet door when it is shipped inside the state of California. The customer said he would "grudgingly" pay the tax even though we offered to cancel the order. When the customer asked for the order to be expedited, we explained that the order would arrive in 1-2 business days since it is shipping within California. Since the customer is obviously not satisfied with the order, we have cancelled his order and refunded all of his money.

4/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a tall custom pet door from Moore Pet Supplies online. The website advertises the door I chose as 96 1/8" to 110 1/8" tall and I knew I needed a door height of at least 104" so I chose that option and my appropriate flap size. After that you are prompted to enter in your slider opening height for which I wrote 104". The door arrived and after much confusion the 8" extension that was provided with a 96" door were put together. The only problem was the max height of the door with the extension totaled 103". I contacted the retailer, Moore Pet Supplie, and they passed me off to the manufacturer. After going back and forth between the manufacturer and the retailer no solution was provided except for me to purchase a new extension that is taller for fifty some odd dollars plus shipping. They did not offer to exchange the extension I have for the correct size or appologize for any inconveniences. A review on yelp of the company that I wish I read before dealing with them says "Avoid this place at all costs. They are unprofessional, rude, and treat their customers like they are idiots for dealing with them." Funny that's exactly how I feel.

Desired Settlement: I wish they would accept some responsibiltiy for this transaction and exchange the incorrect patio door slider extension for the proper one at no cost or the difference of the two. They are not being reasonable and I'm sorry I had to result to this but they clearly do not advertise correctly nor have good customer service. Thank you

Business Response: Our website states the range of sizes available for a custom door and requires that the actual measurement of the patio slider be entered. The customer entered 104 inches as the height of his patio slider.  When he called to report that his patio insert did not fit, he told us that his patio door measurement was actually 105 inches. Since the accurate measurement was not put in, the patio insert will not fit 105 inches. The customer then told us that the insert actually only went up to 103 inches. He measured the extension that fits at the top of the insert to make it fit 104 inches and the extension length was correct. Since the extension length was correct for 104 inches, the only reason it would not have reached 104 inches is a problem with the spring in the insert. That is why we referred him to the manufacturer. He ordered an insert to fit 104 inches and the insert with extension should fit 104 inches, if not, the manufacturer could troubleshoot why.  We explained that the only way to have the insert fit 105 inches would be to order a new extension.
In the interest of assisting the customer, we are willing to waive the shipping on an order for the correct size extension. He will need to purchase the correct size extension as the measurement provided to us was not correct.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

What company does not honor an exchange?  I wish to return the insert for credit towards a new insert that works for my situation.  This 104" vs. 105" is an excuse because frankly it wouldn't have worked anyways.  There website for this order is very poorly designed.  If they aren't willing to work with me I will gladly return the entire contents.


**** *****



Business Response: I worded my response incorrectly, what I meant to say was that the customer was requesting a new insert “at no cost or the difference of the two.”  From our communication with the customer it did not seem that he was requesting a return/exchange, just a new insert at no cost. Our exchange policy is plainly stated on our site and we are willing to accept a return according to that policy. In addition, as a courtesy, we have offered to not charge the customer for shipping on the new insert.

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I processed online order for ****** **** with Moore Pet Supplies. Based on their website and a phone call to their customer service rep was told the small size would accommodate my **** *** pets. When door rec'd was way too small so returned and ordered larger one. They rec'd the original door on 11/16 and after numerous emails finally processed my credit to my credit card today, 12/21 well over a month later. I originally paid $13.39 in shipping but they issued the return label and charged me $22.09 for the return shipping. I have since returned the 2nd door which would not work and they rec'd it on 12/10. Their customer service rep. originally stated it could take up to 30 days for a refund to process after their receipt. After 30 days passed and I questioned where my credit was they said oh, they meant 30 work days. In my opinion they are using my money for as long as possible (which totals $450.00) and charging twice the original shipping cost for the return. Their website says there is no restocking fee for this item so I don't understand the increased shipping cost nor the length of time it takes them to process a credit. I have used many online merchants and have never had this difficulty.

Desired Settlement: I think they should immediately refund the 2nd return of $244.00 minus the original shipping cost of $13.90 plus refund the difference between the original shipping cost of $13.39 and the $22.09 they charged for shipping on the first purchase.

Business Response:

The customer has emailed us to let us know she spoke with *** and understands the return shipping costs. We credited her original return on 12/18/12, within 30 business days of receiving it and her second return is being processed.


Thank you,


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I did contact *** and was told there was a return fee they charge Moore Pet Supplies, however, that was not my major complaint with this company.  I have done business with many website companies and have never had to wait 30 BUSINESS DAYS (not just 30 days but 30 business days) for my refund credit. My husband and I are retired and on fixed income so to withhold the refund from our credit card in the amount of $244.00 for the last transaction (the total refund amount of almost $500) is beyond any fair business trade I have ever encountered.  They have had this item back in stock since Dec. 10th so why can they not process the credit right away?  I appreciate your assistance in this matter.


***** *****



Business Response: Our return policy is posted prominently on our website: **************************************************** and there is a link to our policies at the top of every page. The customer admitted to one of our representatives that she had not read the return policy on our site. We have it clearly stated that return processing can take up to 30 business days. We are processing her credit in accordance with our posed policies.