BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Feed Bag Pet Supply

Phone: (262) 241-7061 Fax: (262) 241-7063 10900 N Port Washington Rd. #1, Mequon, WI 53092 http://www.feedbagpetsupply.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a pet supply retailer and also offers grooming and training services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Feed Bag Pet Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Feed Bag Pet Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 13, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2003 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/2003 Business incorporated: 04/22/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark T. Haslam, Owner Ms. Connie Roller, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark T. Haslam, Owner
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Health Plans Pet Training Pet Shops

Alternate Business Names
Feed Bag Pet Supply, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10900 N Port Washington Rd. #1

    Mequon, WI 53092 (262) 241-7061

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 $50 gift cards in 2010 to give to colleagues for special days. I went into the store today after being told by a colleague that had problems with one of the cards. I brought a separate card. After much debate with the store *******, he told me that this was a one time return on this gift card. And that even though there was another $50 card in existence under my account, that card would not be honored. I asked for a refund of money for all the remaining gift cards and was told flat out no. The ******* then proceeded to tell me that since I do not use this store that much, it would not affect him. I will never shop here again. I will also encourage those whom I know not to use this store due to bad customer service ie $250 gift card cost me $300.

Desired Settlement: Full refund

Business Response:

Mr. ******* **********,

 

This is a response to complaint #*******

 

Mr ******* ***** submitted a complaint that he was denied a refund on December 26, 2012 regarding 6 $50 gift cards for a total of $300, he purchased on March 1 2010.  Mr. ***** also alleged he talked with the company on September 28, 2012.

 

Our record show:

 

Mr. ***** purchased 2 $60 gift cards on March 18, 2010 for a total of $120.  Mr. ***** (or his daughter…he mentioned he gave the gift cards to his daughter and the redemption receipt for one gift card shows the food his daughter feeds her pet) redeemed one $60 gift card on November 8, 2012 [2 ½ years later] towards a $96.54 purchase and at which time was told the gift cards were no longer valid.  We mentioned that we had signs up in our store for 1 year stating that these gift cards needed to be turned in due to a change in our gift card merchant.

 

On December 26, 2012, Mr. ***** tried to return the second $60 gift card.  At which time we told him that we could not honor the gift card since it was no longer valid….Mr. ***** then mentioned that he knew it was not valid because his daughter told him earlier in the year…which we then ask why did you not come in sooner…no response

 

…so out of good business practice we looked up his account and saw that he had purchased the gift card for $60 back in March 18, 2010.  Therefore, we gave Mr. ***** a new gift card for $60.  He was not satisfied, he wanted a cash refund of $60, we could not refund a 2 ½ year old gift card for money.  We also told Mr. ****, since he claimed that he had purchased several gift cards that we could no longer honor the other (old) gift cards, mainly because there was no record of him purchasing the gift cards and he could not produce the gift cards; he claims he gave them to his employees….if they are his employees he should be able to collect them if they really had them.

 

We also looked back on our records for a $300 purchase on the following dates, March 1, 2010, and March 18, 2010, our computer system shows no $300 purchases on either date for gift cards.

 

Mr. ***** mentioned in the complaint that on September 28, 2012 that a colleague had problems redeeming a 2 ½ year old gift card, we have no record of any customer not being taken care of regarding an old gift card.  We would have followed the same procedure as mentioned above in looking up that colleague request; second if that colleague had a true problem back in September, why would have Mr. ***** waited three months later to resolve his gift cards….?

 

On December 28, 2012, I contacted Mr. *****, asked him to produce the sales receipt or gift cards for the remaining gift cards, he stated that he could not, but insisted that he purchased the gift cards.  The discussion became heated and Mr. ***** was told that lying can lead to a slander suit, Mr. ***** hung up.  Yes this phone call might be the only bad business practice I did, and for that I am sorry and have learned from it; as for the service at our store….

 

Mr. ***** was provided with the best service at our store, by us redeeming an almost three year old gift card in its full value; Mr. ***** lodged this complaint because he was not given cash back versus a new gift card; in addition he was not satisfied that the so called other gift cards would not be honored…we can not honor something that the customer does not have nor can prove they had purchased it.

 

We hope that the information we provided gives you enough information that will resolve this issue, as we believe per our records that Mr. downs purchased $120 worth of gift cards (2) and redeemed $60 (1) and received an updated gift card of $60 (1), thus does not have a resolution of dispute of $100.

 

If you need any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

P.S.  We believe that Mr. *****, may have purchased $300 worth of gift cards from another store and is confusing our store with that store, since Mr. ***** does not live in the immediate area of our store and he mentioned that he does not purchase any of his pet products from us because we do not carry his pet’s food.

 

 

**** *. ******, *****

The Feed Bag Pet Supply Company, LLC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all I am not sure if **** is the person who responded to my original complaint, with a phone call inquiry to my home.  If it is, I shall give you a snipet of his verbal response.  Overall, I found his tone and general manner to be very unprofessional no matter what anyone feels the "facts" of the case are.  When I told him on the phone that I only wish to bring this card back that I had for a cash refund he out rightly refused.  He then told me that I was totally incorrect about the overall  transaction and that his next step was to take me to court for slander.  I quickly said do what you need to do, I have to go and hung up.  I have never been treated so disrepectfully at a store.  At this point, not only do I not wish a refund.  I am shredding the card he reissued, and will never step inside that store again.  I wish no further contact with this man. 

Lesson learned.

I appreciate your help in this matter.

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1