BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers pet supplies, pond supplies, pet vaccines and prescriptions and a full line of pet care products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drs. Foster & Smith meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drs. Foster & Smith include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Drs. Foster & Smith
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 30, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1983 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 02/16/1983 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Bellile, Customer Service Manager Dr. Race Foster, C E O Ms. Ann Mapes, Circulation Director Dr. Martin Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Bellile, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Internet Shopping Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Doctors Foster & Smith Doctors Foster and Smith Pet Supplies Foster & Smith - Order Foster and Smith, Inc.
Additional Information

Veterinarians Dr. Rory Foster and Dr. Marty Smith founded this company.


Additional Locations

  • 2253 Air Park Rd

    Rhinelander, WI 54501

  • PO Box 100

    Rhinelander, WI 54501 (715) 369-3305

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 562-7169(Phone)
  • (800) 826-7206(Phone)
  • (888) 381-7179(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year this company has failed to successfully remove my information from catalog mailings and email promotions despite repeated requests and using their unsubscribe link. I have made requests to be taken off of their mailing and email list at least 5-6 times over the last year. I have been assured each time my information has been unsubscribed. This seems to last only a few months and then I start to receive their catalogs that I do not want. I owned a pet chinchilla from 2010-2013, therefore I used this company's services. I no longer own a pet (I haven't for a year), and have no need for this company's products and have communicated that to them multiple times. I want the catalog mailings to stop immediately, and for good. My direct contact with this company does not seem to be effective, so I am hoping you could help. Ordinarily I would not be filing this complaint, but as the consumer, I get slammed with up to 3 catalogs at a time that go in the recycling since they are of no use to me and I have to dispose of them. I am pretty tired of it. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: As described in my explanation of the problem, I want the mailings to stop and for my information to be removed from their files. At this point I feel harassed by this company's sales tactics.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the concerns and found that we had two files for this customer with different addresses, but the same email. One file was setup to receive emails and catalogs and one wasn't. We have flagged all accounts with the same name, email and phone number to not receive emails or catalogs. We have worked directly with our marketing department to have all emails and catalogs stopped. We hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased live tropical fish from Drs. Foster & Smith's Live Aquaria site. They advertise to have healthy, quality aquatic life. What I received was not. The fish I received not only themselves perished due to them being diseased, but the disease has spread to the rest of the fish in my aquarium that I had previously, and has killed all my fish in a week and a half since the specimens purchased from Live Aquaria were first introduced. I've attempted several times to resolve this with the company, and every time I've brought the issue up they have avoided taking responsibility for their poor quality livestock. Not only are they unwilling to take responsibility for the fact that their products have killed all my existing fish through infection, they're unwilling to even honor their policy of refunding for their defective product, dodging the issue, and only offering store credit, when their policy states they will offer a refund to the credit card. The responses I've received to my issues have always deflected blame and implied that I was the source of the issue in some way. I've kept fish for close to 20 years. This is not a new hobby, and my methods are not at fault. The sick fish I was sent that have spread their infection to the rest of my fish, killing them all, is the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund, not just for the fish they sent which have all perished due to the sickness, but also to be reimbursed for the existing fish which have been lost due to the sickness their fish have introduced. The amount for the existing fish I had which have perished is $164

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. 

We reviewed the customer file and all concerns pertaining to order #'s ******** & ********.  We had refunded the customer on 10/25/13 for the Blue Reef Chromis (3 x $19.99 = $59.97) and also the Yellow Tang (1 x $36.99 = $36.99) as DUW (dead under warranty).  That makes a total refund of $96.96.  The $59.97 was refunded to the original method of payment and the $36.99 was placed as a credit on file.  Also at that time a $17.50 credit on file was offered to pay for part of the shipping for the inconvenience.  At this time, we have noted all the fish on the above mentioned orders as being DUW.  We will leave the $17.50 as a credit on file and also place $164.00 as a credit on file for the customer to restock their tank.  We have also had the remaining amount ($119.94) on order# ******** refunded to the original method of payment.  The only amount we were unable to refund to the original method is the $7 Reward points, as they will go back on file for future use.  Also order# ******** was fully refunded ($171.93) to the customers original method of payment.  The amounts refunded to the original method of payment have been processed and include the original shipping cost of the orders.  

We hope this resolves the customer concerns.  They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

**** ****** * ***** 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 17, 2013, I purchased $259.96 worth of live corals. I had accumulated $24.00 of credits from previous purchases which should have been applied to the order but was not. Furthermore, due to a specimen issue, a further credit of $29.99 was to be applied to the order. After making numerous attempts at recovering this credit, including not one but two conference calls with Paypal, the $53.99 credit was promised to me today, October 2 2013. As I have just logged into my paypal account, the credit has still not been applied. I have no choice but to formally file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. What's most puzzling though, subsequent to all I have said, a second specimen had died. The credit for that purchase of $69.99 was applied within one day. Why is it taking such an effort to collect what's due me, especially considering the fact that $24.00 of the balance is credit I have earned from previous purchases!

Desired Settlement: For Live Aquaria to keep their word and credit my paypal account the $53.99 I am due.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have processed a refund to the original method of payment, but we've had difficulty with them accepting it.  Because of the difficulty, I have processed a refund check in the amount of $53.99 to the customer.

We hope this resolves the customers concerns.  They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *********

 

 

I accept Live Aquaria's response. However, this is the same response they have provided all along without refunding my account. Provided they follow through this time I accept their response.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered puppy Vaccines from Dr.s Foster and Smith, I paid overnight shipping and the vaccines arrived Warm which are unusable, I requested new vaccines in which they sent a few days later again arriving HOT this time again unusable, I then sent both boxes back to Dr.s Foster and Smith and requested a full refund for all charges. I have not received a refund. My order number was ORDER NUMBER: *********.

Desired Settlement: I request a FULL refund including the overnight shipping to which was useless due to hot vaccines of the amount TOTAL AMOUNT: $186.97

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reviewed the customers file and show the order was for item# **** ******** *** * - $78.99 (25 doses) and item# ***** ******** *** ** - $82.99 (25 doses) with 1 Day Air shipping at $24.99.  We show the package was received back to our returns building today (9/11/13).  We have refunded the Paypal used on this order for the full amount of the order including shipping. ($186.97)  The customer is always welcome to contact our customer service department with any of her order concerns.   

We also have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. 

We hope this resolves the customers concerns.  They can contact us directly at (800) 575-8475 with any questions.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *****I am not sure which category best describes my issues (several) with Drs. Foster & Smith. My first course of action was to work with this company in finding a mutually acceptable resolution to my problem, but, due to their response feel I am no value as a customer due to their lack of communication and lack of any intention to correct this problem at all. *****I now find it necessary to file a complaint against this company for missing and defective product to protect my interest and money hard earned -- as well -- to let it be known the inferior/improper service I received. *****I am submitting documentation to support my claim against this company regarding the advertised product I purchased and the poor service received from their customer service rep(s). My last email was completely ignored ... maybe the rep who received it was having a bad day (we all have them) and didn't want to deal with it, therefore letting me know that my relationship with Drs. Foster & Smith is not important and I am of no value as a customer. *****This upset me the most as the company -- Drs. Foster & Smith has been a part of our family since I can remember when I was about *** ***** *** ** *** **** ****. My parents use to **** ****** ******* **** and mail ordered vaccine shots and supplements. I remember collecting the K-Zyme buckets to play with. My parents have a trust relationship with this company. This was my first order with them and chose to purchase as a guest on their website instead of registering as a client as I personally don't have that trust and confidence built with them. Did they classify me as someone just PASSING through because I didn't register for an account? *****I will do my best to describe my complaint in a chronological order of events. *****February 2013 -- I purchased Live Rock from a LFS for a new aquarium that would cure over the next few months while I determined my final setup. *****April 2013 -- I ordered a custom starfire 58g aquarium along with an UNfinished stand from another company to be delivered June 3rd. It was delivered June 1st. *****May 22, 2013 -- I purchased an EcoSystem Pro60 HOB Filter System for a total of $297.98, order number N16719558 that was delivered on May 28th. *****This item was in their CLEARANCE category. I interpret a clearance as an item that a company is no longer going to carry/stock. I do not and did not assume that clearance would or may indicate the item is defective, open box (return), missing parts, demo, etc. unless such is disclosed. I did assume and expect this item to be new, as described, as advertised. *****May 30, 2013 -- I unpacked the contents and compared/checked off included items to what was in the listed components ... Filter Box, CHECK; Miracle Mud, CHECK; PC Light, CHECK; Protein Skimmer, CHECK; L-Brackets, CHECK; Plastic Screws, CHECK; Bioballs, CHECK; Pump, CHECK; Air Lines, CHECK; Filter Pad, MISSING. There was no manual included to double check this, so I downloaded the manual off the internet. I immediately sent an email to Customer Service that the Filter Pad was missing. I sent the following email: "Greetings, This HOB Pro 60 did NOT include a FILTER PAD that is suppose to go into chamber 4. The shipping box (retail box) had a sticker on it stating INSPECTED. I opened the box and everything in there was all secured and wrapped in cello. Everything stated as included components was in the box except the FILTER PAD. This is suppose to be complete. Please advise! **** ******" I put everything back in the box, until I was ready to put into use. *****May 30, 2013 -- Within a couple of hours, I received the following response from Customer Service: "Dear ****, Thank you for choosing Drs. Foster & Smith. We have contacted the manufacturer on the part needed for the ProSeries 60 filter. This part will be sent directly to your address we have on file, and will arrive within 10 business days. If we can be of additional assistance, please contact our Internet Customer Service Department at ###-###-####, via email or on our Live Help link. Live Help is available 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CST seven days a week. Sincerely, Customer Support Drs. Foster & Smith cmc" *****I accepted, with no reply. *****May 31, 2013 -- I received the following SECOND reply from Customer Service: "Dear ****, Thank you for your inquiry to Drs. Foster and Smith. We were able to contact the manufacturer to find out where the sponge is for your ProSeries up to 60 gal item 32876. The manufacturer stated they no longer place the sponge in the item. They now have a screen instead of the sponge. This allows the unit to function better so that it does not clog easily. If we can be of additional assistance, please contact our Internet Customer Service Department at ###-###-####, via email or on our Live Help link. Live Help is available 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CST seven days a week. Sincerely, Customer Support Drs. Foster & Smith lrb" *****I had no choice but to accept. This SCREEN was never sent and I never pursued that issue any further. I was not happy about Customer Service never sending the screen, and already this purchase had been a slight hassle to have to even address what was suppose to be included. This was minor and already not worth any more of my time. *****June 22, 2013 -- Aquarium stand is finished and moved into my house. Neighbors helped me get the tank in place. Next day: I setup this EcoSystem HOB Pro60 Filter and began the cycle process WITHOUT the light on (as per instructions) or even attached at this point. It is still in the box. *****July 19, 2013 -- My parameters are good and I attached the included light fixture to the divider wall between chambers 4 and 5. The light was suppose to attach to the bracket above chamber 3, BUT -- the footing on the light is 1/4 inch opening (ID), and the bracket on the filter is 3/8 inch thick (OD). As an example: You cannot put a 3/8 inch bolt into a 1/4 inch hole. With this light, even if it would have attached to the bracket on the filter it would only cover 4 inches of the 22 inches of chamber 3. This little light has a little extension bracket, so placement did put the 4 inches above chamber 3. The reflector curves toward the arm (back toward chamber 5), so the light does not extend any further than the 4 inches. *****At this point, I should have thought something was not right. Ignorance is no excuse. *****I placed my plant/algae directly under the light. *****August 22, 2013 -- the light stops working. I spend the next few days going to different hardware stores to find a replacement bulb. I can't find it anywhere. I spend hours searching online and contacting various light bulb supply companies. I did find this exact replacement bulb ... it is only available through *********** at a miniumum order of 10,000 pieces (bulbs). The various companies I called in my search also told me they had never seen such a bulb. *****August 26, 2013 @ 6:09am -- I sent the following email to Drs. Foster & Smith customer service using the reply from message back in May: "This item seems PIECED together with various parts from many different manufacturers. The compact light is already out with less than 2 months use and I cannot find it anywhere online other than ******* at a minimum order of 10,000 pieces. Where can I get the replacement lamp and under what part number since this is all in Chinese. I've searched all identifying marks and I come up empty. There is a STICKER .... JC554-10000K that is next to a VIVARIA logo English on top of box is COMPACT LIGHT LUMINO DX Bottom of box has the following on 2 different lines: 10000K-3U A-1824 260x90x135 24w PLEASE HELP! Regards, **** ******" ******I chose not to get into any dispute at this time until I get more information, regarding the first sentence in the email about the purchase being PIECED together. At this time, all I wanted was a replacement bulb to get this back up and running. WHILE waiting for a response, I did find more information and BEFORE getting a response, I also sent the following email (same day @ 11:45am): "I sent the message below earlier today. I've spent the morning searching for a replacement lamp and now I am back to the original ad. This little 4 inch 3U light isn't even what was SHOWN with the light. The manufacturer included a cheap chinese replacement fixture with original setup purchase. It isn't right to spend this much money and not be able to replace the bulb. Now it looks like I need to purchase an entire new light fixture. I've also searched your own site ... and find ONE fixture at 10000K to FIT this .... CD-078703 and different bulbs ... CD-15494 that I don't even know if they are right, since different. Please advise!" *****August 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm -- I receive the following response from Drs Foster & Smith customer service: "Dear ****, Thank you for your email. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Item 32876, the Pro Series 60 has been discontinued and is no longer available. You may contact the manufacturer at ********* *********, ###-###-#### for further assistance. If we can be of additional assistance, please contact our Internet Customer Service Department at ###-###-####, via email or on our Live Help link. Live Help is available 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CST seven days a week. Sincerely, Customer Support Drs. Foster & Smith pxp" *****Drs Foster & Smith did not acknowledge/reply to my second message to let them know that this light is NOT what was suppose to be included, NOT as advertised. *****In my search and inquiries trying to find the BULB -- One company replied by email: "Dear Mr. ******, Thank you for your product inquiry regarding. To the best of my knowledge, no one makes CFL's at 10,000 kelvin. The brightest is 6400K. In addition, a minimum order quantity (MOQ) is required = 5000. I can handle an order of CFL's at 24W 6400K. However, payment would have to be a wire bank transfer 100% TT, or company check. It would take 6 - 9 weeks for delivery. If you have actually seen CFL's at 24W 10000K, let me know and I will continue asking our factories. In either case, this is a special order and different price, terms and conditions would apply. If you decide to continue, please contact me. Respectfully, ******* ******* Customer Service Solarpowergetics ###-###-####" *****THEY/ Drs. Foster & Smith got my money in good faith. THEY/are responsible to me. *****At time of purchase, there was a Bill Me Later option that I thought was great to establish more credit. I have perfect credit, but due to my age, I lack credit (number of accounts, length of history, so my credit score is only GOOD. I used Bill Me Later on 05/22/2013 and PAID IN FULL on 06/06/2013. Again, this was to build my credit score. I would have passed had I known I would be forfeiting my rights to dispute, but I didn't expect any issues. It never entered my mind that there would be any problem. *****August 27, 2013 -- I realize Drs. Foster & Smith have chosen the unprofessional method of ignoring me in hopes that I will go away. I've given them enough time to respond. I contact Bill Me Later to obtain information to proceed with a chargeback against Drs. Foster & Smith. I was not expecting that any dispute had to be submitted within 30 days. What I thought was a good thing in establishing more credit was the worst possible method to pay them. Had I used my bank account OR a credit card, that window is open for 90 days, not 30. I have mixed feelings on the way I've been treated. Did customer service blow me off because they knew I couldn't file a chargeback? This was inappropriate action. *****CUSTOMER SERVICE FAILED TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE -- It is POOR customer service to suggest I keep trying to chase down what isn't there instead of assisting me. CUSTOMER SERVICE provided INFERIOR service. NOT what I would expect from a company my parents swear by to be the best. NOT what a customer would expect from a company with only 30 complaints in 3 years, which is amazing -- extremely low dissatisfaction rate. Why am I treated different! (???) I am extremely unhappy with the way this was handled. I want this resolved. *****PRODUCT ISSUE -- The product I purchased was DEFECTIVE as stated above. This has resulted in additional damages. I've lost my algae. My vegetation had to be removed, due to wilting and getting slimy (dying). *****My mother is sending me her 18 inch Innovative Marine SkkyeLight SingleStrip 14000K LED Light that will fit this. This is a loaner till I get this resolved. Not even sure it will suffice as it is not the same kelvins. 14000K and 10000K may do the same job needed on this filter application. That light as well, if it works is $90 on the Drs. Foster & Smith site. *****DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING ISSUE -- Their advertisement MISREPRESENTED this product. The light included is NOT what was advertised either by type or image. If I am provided a link to upload images and documents for this dispute with Drs. Foster & Smith through the BBB.org, I will be able to visually PROVE this case. *****On Monday, I would have accepted a replacement bulb ... not knowing at the time that I did not get what was advertised. Now that I have checked into it further, they need to complete my order with the light advertised and shown. It's what I paid for. *****I don't know if this is actually a PIECED together unit or a returned item. It could have been pieced together from the manufacturer and being discontinued they used whatever items they had on hand to complete the unit and that is how they packed it for resale (???) ... It could have been returned to Drs. Foster & Smith from another customer due to bad light fixture and then Drs. Foster & Smith completed the product with an aftermarket light they had on hand (???). I don't know where with SWITCH took place. In hindsight, and stated in my first email to them, all components were CELLO wrapped together. At the time, I thought it a neat idea to keep anything from moving around. NOW, I find it odd and wonder why anyone would contain products together in CELLO wrap, vs. internal boxing/packaging. (???) I only know that I paid Drs. Foster & Smith and did not get what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want the light advertised, which appears to be *** ******** ***** which sits on the pre-made light brackets and covers the entire refugium area of the filter and is made specifically for this application. I don't find it on the Drs. Foster & Smith site, but it is available from another vendor and retails for $84.95 for the Model#****. I don't believe it is the larger model, but may be. It is definitely not the smaller model . Drs. Foster & Smith also have a light specific to refugiums: The Coralife Mini Aqualight T-5 Dual Lamp Fixture, but it is 11 inches and does not state the extension arms along with poor reviews on life of fixture, so I probably shouldn't even mention it. I mention the options I find if they are not able to provide the advertised fixture. The light brackets on this filter are 15 3/4 inches apart (outer). If they cannot provide the advertised light or a light equal to the specs and application, then I want the money refunded so I can purchase the light elsewhere. I should not have to spend $85-$90 to get product (light fixture) I should have received in the first place along with additional monies to find a screen/filterpad that was never sent and shipping. Please replace with correct fixture or refund.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have contacted the manufacturer directly regarding the concern with item# 32876 (Pro Series 60)and they will be sending the customer a new light fixture and the screen noted in the complaint.

We hope this resolves the customer concerns.  They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions. 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I appreciate Drs. Foster & Smith decision to make right on this situation as it is their company who is responsible to me. This was not a warranty issue and if it had been then of course I would be expected to contact the manufacturer. Drs. Foster & Smith sold me the system as stated in complaint and shown in images (I've several more images if needed.) -- shown on unit, it is not what I received. The system was advertised as shown with a full length light fixture and sponge. The FOUR inch clamp light (image attached), that I received with the unit, is defective & insufficient, made in China, but retail box stated MADE IN THE U.S.A. The point of my complaint stands that I did not receive what I paid for and that is unacceptable. I am grateful that Doctors Foster and Smith have chosen to do the right thing and maybe they will improve their customer service as well as it is also the right thing to do. To prevent deceptive advertising, and the safety of their customers, they should also quality control check products they sell for other companies and make sure what they think they are selling is actually true.

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned Advantage II by Postage Service Tracking. When I called on 7/29 was told they received it on 7/20 but the return would take 3 to 4 weeks to process and they would have to mail me a check. Their return form clearly states they will reimburse my original method of payment which was my credit card. When I made my purchase it took them no time to debit my credit card but now that they have received their unopened product back it is going to take them a month to reimburse me and they are going to do it by snail mail! This is outrageous especially when they guarantee a money-back which this seems to be a failure to honor

Desired Settlement: Refund my credit card immediately and now since they have held onto my purchase for so long to reimburse me for my shipping costs of $6.45

Business Response: The return has been processed and a refund check of $51.94 was sent on 8/5/13.  Due to a system processing change, we were unfortunately unable to credit the customer's original method of payment for the returned merchandise amount.  Additionally, we have issued a credit on file for a total of $16.45, which includes the return shipping cost of $6.45 and $10.00 for the inconvenience we have caused.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on February 22nd and paid over 20.00 for expedited service to me. I never received the item and although their customer service dept. has promised a refund over and over again, I have not received my refund! I am sick of their lies and promises that I will receive one..they have stated over and over again that they would be sending my refund and have not done so to date. I have spent much time trying to get satisfaction from this company and seem to be dealing with the worst customer service person I have ever dealt with in my life. My order number is *********** AND the incident number they have given me is #*******************

Desired Settlement: I want this money refunded back to my paypal account immediately. I am done playing games with this company. Thank you.

Business Response: We apologize for the many inconveniences caused to our customer with this order transaction.  On March 4th, we attempted to credit the customer's PayPal account for the order for the shipping and handling charge of $22.97, however, our refund attempt was rejected by PayPal because of a chargeback initiated by the customer and subsequently accepted by PayPal.  PayPal will not allow any credits to be issued if there are no accepted charges.  Prior to the attempted credit, we also offered a reship of the item, however, our agent offering to reship the order was not aware the item was discontinued and no longer being sold by Drs. Foster and Smith.  Since the PayPal chargeback effectively returned the funds to the customer and prevented us from issuing any credit to the PayPal account, we can only offer a good will credit on file for a future order in the amount of $15.00 due to the inconvenience.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

Paypal has been waiting for a response from THEM in order to initiate and approve the refund BACK to me...they have failed to do that..or more likely, given the runaround I have encountered, refuse to do that.  The complaint will also be sent to the attorney general's office tomorrow if I do not receive the refund by then.  The ONLY reason the charge was disputed in the first place is because of the lies and runaround I was getting from their customer service rep.  Otherwise, I would have waited for them..but that person continued to lie about the order and status of the order...I have been getting the runaround from day one!!! They seriously have the worst costumer service rep in their employee right now.and unfortunately, I was the unlucky person who had to deal with them.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went on the website to order a glass canopy for my aquirium. Found the page and it read 48in x 18in. ordered pruduct when arrived it was 2 24in x 18in pieces. not what was on the order form. not once did the order form say scroll down and read the fine print or say it was in 24in sections. When I filed a complaint with Foster and Smith all they did was say they would not publish my complaint on there website. Instead of contacting me to correct the problem. But the order form clearly reads 48in x 18in.

Desired Settlement: Refund of funds and a shipping label that they should pay for so I can return the wrong product they sent me.

Business Response: A prepaid return label will be sent to the customer.  Once the merchandise is returned, a credit for the purchase amount of the item will be issued to the original method of payment.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered ******** Plus heart worm medication from them. I found it was out of date on March 1, 2013. I called them to tell them, and they told me to send the expired pills back and they would exchange them. They gave me my customer number and shipping information and I had to put the customer number on the package. I have the tracking number: USPS #**** **** **** **** **** ** and I shipped it back on 3/1. Fully expecting the pills to be replaced like they said. Yesterday 3/13 a ******* called me from DF&S and told me she was going to issue a credit for half the pills. I did not pay to ship them back for a credit. This requires another vet visit to get the prescription again, and he already ordered the pills once. I called ****** the manufacturer of the pills and they told me they do not sell to Drs. Foster & Smith and told me they do not sell to any internet companies. While I was on the phone with them I got an email from DF&S thanking me for changing my account information. They locked me out of my account. I cannot get into it period. I do have that email with the date and time if needed. My husband called them back to try to make sense of their actions. Of course he could not, he asked for my pills to be returned to me, and she said they were destroyed. He asked for our money back. They said they would issue a credit. ******** from DF&S called this morning to tell me how right they are, and how wrong I am and she issued a $12 and something credit on my account. I told her I wanted the pills like they told me they would send. Since I am locked out of my account, I can't use a credit to get more pills, and I will not order from them ever again. They owe me at least my cash back or the pills period.

Desired Settlement: $12 plus the cents she quoted me she issued to my account that I am locked out of. They have my cash, and my pills. Plus the $2 it cost me to ship them back.

Business Response: A credit in the amount of $8.44 has been issued back to the original method of payment used on the order.  This amount is equal to the purchase price of the four pills the customer returned. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] I asked for a check to be mailed. The odds of me having what ever card they  issued it to is slim to none from 2011. Most of the internet used credit cards have been changed. So far there is no credit on my current cards. $8.44 is a long cry from the $12 ******** stated she issued a credit on my account for the pills too.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

Business Response: A refund check in the amount of $12.66 has been processed for the customer.  The customer should allow 7 business days for the check to be received.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, if a check in fact does show up. They have changed the amounts, said they issued credits and now a check of another amount. If it does show up that is fine. If not, then I'll be back.

Regards,

 

**** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used their website several times many years ago to purchase products for my cat. However, my cat has been deceased for over 5 years and I have asked them 3-4 times to remove me from their email and mailing lists and they keep sending them to me. I finally telephoned them directly and made a verbal request to have my email address removed. I even waited on the phone until they found it to make sure things were taken care of properly. Then, the next day, and 2-3 days later (today) I received additional emails, more than the usual 1 every month or so. All I want is for them to quit sending things to me as I don't want to be reminded about my pet's death but they won't quit sending things to me. I request that this issue be taken care of immediately. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: For the company to quit sending me emails and catalog mailings as I no longer want them.

Business Response: We are extremely sorry that our customer is continuing to receive printed catalogs and email promotions after her repeated attempts to remove herself from the mailings.  I did code her account that no future mailings should be sent, printed or emailed.  I would like to advise our customer that it is possible she may receive 1-2 more additional printed mailings before she is completed removed for the mailing list.  I encourage her to contact myself or a supervisor at ###-###-#### is we can be of future assistance.  I sincerely apologize for any frustration and inconvenience we may have caused.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a product called "Real Reef" Eco Friendly Live Rock - Fully Cured “Real Reef" Eco Friendly Live Rock - Fully Cured (Calcium carbonate). I received the product which was ordered on 4/16/12. Once I received the Real Reef Live Rock I followed the instruction that arrived with the product. Can't recall how long after I had the live rock in the saltwater tank I started to notice aptista (a very hard to rid pest) popping up in several spots on the live rock. I called LiveAquaria to inform them that I found aptista in several spot. They offered to send me a product that will take care of the aptista at no cost to me. It rid them for a while, I have now spotted more than 15 popping up and the reason I purchased the REAL REEF is 2 reasons: 1 it is not taken from any of the oceans and 2 that it states on their site - "Real Reef Eco Friendly Live Rock answers increased demand for live rock with zero coral reef impact. This Eco-friendly, man-made, bio-active live rock is manufactured in the USA within a closed system, preventing all the unwanted pests we sometimes encounter with live rock collected in the ocean.” I called on 2/8/13 to complain once again about the aptisa problem, while they offered a solution that if I wanted to purchase a cleaner crew for the tank or a fish that would eat the aptista they would cover the shipping and handling fees. I appreciate the effort on their part but I am still upset that I purchased a product that was falsely advertised and I want the company to make good on their statement that: "Real Reef Eco Friendly Live Rock answers increased demand for live rock with zero coral reef impact. This Eco-friendly, man-made, bio-active live rock is manufactured in the USA within a closed system, preventing all the unwanted pests we sometimes encounter with live rock collected in the ocean.” Which is one of the main reason I purchased the live rock. Now I have to rid the tank of the rock before they get unmanageable and purchase new live rock which will cost between $300 and $400. Not a happy customer!

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to make good on its claim.

Business Response: A credit of $329.99, the cost of the live rock order, has been issued back to the customer's original method of payment.  We apologize that the customer felt it necessary to file a complaint against the service we offered; however, we were under the impression that our resolution first offered, nearly a year ago, was acceptable to the customer.  We encourage our customers to work with in finding mutually acceptable resolutions to any problems within a reasonable time frame.  We are happy we are able to satisfy our customer in this situation.  

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

While I appreciate Drs. Foster & Smith Live Aquaria decision to make right on this situation, at the time they sold me the Real Reef Live Rock it was advertised as free of unwanted pests (since my compliant to the BBB they have taken out the statement that the live rock was free of unwanted pests). The point of my compliant was at the time of my purchase they advertised live rock free of unwanted pests, and that is not what I received, which is why I filed a compliant to the BBB.  While their offer to try and correct the situation a year ago was appreciated it did not correct the problem. I am happy with the outcome and grateful that Doctors Foster and Smith (Live Aquaria) has chosen to do the right thing.

Regards,

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business sends unsolicited emails (SPAM) without a mechanism to unsubscribe. This violates my privacy, is unethical, and is in direct violation of the CAN SPAM Act. Unsolicited email also claimed that I had "subscribed" to their emails, which I did not. In fact, I never heard of this company before I received their email.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to follow the law and find its customers ethically.

Business Response: We apologize that Mr. ****** did not personally subscribe to Drs. Foster and Smith's sale alerts and emails. To ensure no further emails are sent, may we ask Mr. ****** to contact us with the exact email address he received the promotion to?  In regards to Mr. ****** concern with there being no method to unsubscribe to our email promotions, each email sent by Drs. Foster and Smith does have a link to unsubscribe located at the bottom of the email.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ****** and look forward to resolving this concern for him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a one year prescription of ********* **** for my dog. The prescription was filled on 01/28/2013 and I received the product on 02/02/2013. The medication expires on 01/2014 - which I need to give her the last dosage in March of 2014. When I called the pharmacy she told me it was okay to give her the expired medication & then said it was only a couple of days past expiration. I can't believe they have this attitude & I think this pharmacy is very suspicious. This medication comes packaged so they can't change expiration dates; however, I shudder to think of the mistakes & outdated medications they may be dispensing that are not packaged by the manufacturer. ********* **** lot #: ******* Exp.: 01-2014

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my money but I also want to make sure they don't keep selling expired PRESCRIPTION medication. This can be extremely dangerous & some people might not have even noticed this. This pharmacy needs to be seriously investigated. I don't expect an apology from this company since the attitude was downright hostile & not the least apologetic. I will never trust this company again since this was not a mistake on their part but they thought this was okay to sell & dump outdated prescription medication.

Business Response: Drs. Foster and Smith pharmacy apologizes that our customers received a prescription medication that would expire prior to using the full amount dispensed.  Per our customer's request, we have issued a credit in the amount of $75.00 for the medication and an additional $25.00 credit on file due to the inconvenience we have caused.  We sincerely apologize for our error in handling this order.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order to this company for a dog harness and dog perscription. There was an issue with the vet and I called earlier in the week and confirmed the vet and address to have the items shipped to. Then later I that day I received an email stating the order was cancelled because they could not send the perscription. They did state they would try to send the harness. Then I received an email that the order had been shipped. Mind you, it showed the perscription as well. Today I have received a phone call stating the order shipped to the wrong address. I called them and was told nothing can be done. That it shipped to my 2nd previous address I have lived at. How this happened, I have no idea. I registered an account with my current address and it shows my address to be the shipping address. The Michigan Ave address they sent it to was something they have sent orders to a long time ago. This has to be a glitch. I would not put my old address on there. Espeically, since I CREATED A NEW ACCOUNT with this order. I want the harness or full refund. So far, I show not even the perscription refunded on my account either which they stated they didn't even send.

Desired Settlement: I want this full order refunded or the perscription refunded and the harness resent.

Business Response: I would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for our lack of appropriate response and resolution to her order concern.  Although her initial order total was $52.03, the amount charged to her PayPal account was only $19.39 due to the prescription being cancelled from the order.  I would like to offer Ms. ******* a reshipment of the harness or a credit for $19.39. Ms. ******* should contact one of our representatives at ###-###-#### and we will be more than happy to assist her.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with them 0n 8-25 -12 ,order # ********* .I received an E-mail stating that the order was being processed on 8-26-12 .On 8-27-12 I requested by phone that the order be changed .I was told three that they could not change or cancel my order .

Desired Settlement: I want the request for the change in my order made with out having to receive something I do not want .

Business Response:

When we spoke with the customer in regards to cancelling his order, we informed him we would certainly try to cancel the order per his request, however, would not be able to guarantee since the item was shipped directly from the manufacturer.  We were successful in cancelling the order and a credit for the merchandise was issued back to the original method of payment on 8/28/12.  We trust that this has been satisfactorily resolved for the customer.

 

******** *******

Drs. Foster and Smith Customer Service Management

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

 ***** *********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I mailed a xashier's check on Jan. 5,2012 for $54.99 for an item xalled a cat cottage complete Item # *****. I called the say before and confirmed the price and to make sure that the company would take this form and methos of payment. The man I spoke to comfirmed this. We got the product and it was not sturdy enough so I sent it back at my expense through the U.S. Mail. I requested a full refund but only received $49.00. When I called to see why I was told that because the item had been put on sale that I would not get the full refund. Since I was unaware of the reduced price I do not feel that this was a fair thing to do. Ipaid what was quoted to me and was not reimbursed as such. The $5.99 is not a great amount, granted, but the principle was wrong.

Desired Settlement: The rest of my money back,please.

Business Response:

We have issued a separate refund check in the amount of $5.99 to Ms. ******.  I apologize that the refund was not issued when her return was received.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** *******

Drs. ****** and ***** Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/19/2011 Delivery Issues
1