Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers pet supplies, pet prescriptions, pet food and a full line of pet care products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drs. Foster & Smith meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Drs. Foster & Smith include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 41 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 17
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

40 Customer Reviews on Drs. Foster & Smith
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 28
Total Customer Reviews 40

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1983 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 11/05/2014 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Race Foster, CEO Ms. Fawn Lawton, Assistant Manager Ms. Ann Mapes, Circulation Director
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Race Foster, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Fawn Lawton, Assistant Manager
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Internet Shopping Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Alternate Business Names
Doctors Foster & Smith Doctors Foster and Smith Pet Supplies Foster & Smith - Order Petco Wellness LLC
Additional Information

Veterinarians Dr. Rory Foster and Dr. Marty Smith founded this company.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Drs. Foster & Smith has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2253 Air Park Rd

    Rhinelander, WI 54501 (800) 826-7206 (800) 562-7169 (888) 381-7179

  • PO Box 100

    Rhinelander, WI 54501 (715) 369-3305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 18th I placed a very large order for The Honest Kitchen dog food. They were running a huge 30% off sale (not just on this item). They called me a few days later and said they did not have one of the fish to fill so I said fine. She said they had other flavors I could order to replace that but it would have to be a new order placed. I said I wanted to wait until they shipped and credited my account before ordering again, which I did. She said they were a little behind in their orders due to the sale. I was credited back for the fish flavor no longer in stock. She said they were very busy with their sale. Order shipped 3-4 days later and my total was adjusted on invoice. I then ordered an additional Turkey flavor on July 21st. All orders arrived late in the afternoon on July 25th. I unpacked one to start feeding the dogs. I did not realize that the expiration dates was about 30 days from expiring until the next day. I went down to check all of the new order for expiration dates. At that time I noticed that all of the boxes, except for the one Chicken, Expired September 2016. This product was not advertised as any clearance due to expiration date. It was a standard 30% off sale on their site for a plethora of different types of items. I contacted Dr. Fosters & Smith on July 26th at 11:51am and spoke to Karen. I discussed the expiration dates and that I wanted to send them back and have replacements sent out. Karen put me on hold to talk to her supervisor. She came back on the line and said they could no longer honor the sale price and I would just have to reorder. I said I am not willing to do that and that I expected the product (not expired or near expiration date) to be replaced as it was not my error. She said they couldn't do that but would send me labels prepaid to return all of the food. She reiterated once again they were not willing to replace at sale price. I told her if we could not find a resolution I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and Attorney Generals' office and that it was illegal to sell food so close to expiration date without letting the customer know. She said let me go back and talk to my supervisor again. Once again she came back to the phone stating they could not do anything to help but were willing to take the food back. This time she said we aren't going to carry that product any longer. (Different Story) I will be sending over $500 back of dog food and am waiting on labels. I am extremely dissatisfied. Not only that but to send an almost expired product to the consumer lacks integrity. I also called The Honest Kitchen directly to let them know.

Desired Settlement: I feel the company should have to replace all items, with 2017-2018 expirations, even if the have to purchase new from The Honest Kitchen. The bottom line is my money has not been refunded and will not until I receive the labels from them and they receive it in the warehouse. They have over $550 of my money. If they won't replace them I should be refunded my monies immediately. I will also provide sales receipts and pictures of expired items.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reached out to our customer to address the concerns noted.  We have fully refunded the customer for their purchase and asked that the product be donated so it can be used prior to the expiration dating.

If our customer has any further concerns, they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-#### Sun-Sat 8am-8pm CST.

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster and Smith

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Their online FB page people actually called me to resolve.  The immediately refunded my money and I donated the food to dog rescue friends as they are always in need of food for the foster dogs.  So I didn't have to worry about loading big boxes to get them sent back.  I also found out they merged with Petco and this type of food is specialty and The Honest Kitchen does not sell their products to big box stores. So there was a good reason for all of this.  I am thankful the online Facebook team saw my post as well as received the BBB complaint. Many thanks to the BBB.  

Regards,

**** ******

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I'm *** *******. I have been conducted (made purchases) from this company via online several times in the past with no major problems. However, I recently ordered a "specific" fish (picture included on their website to verify what I was expecting) and received a "similar" fish, but was obviously NOT the specific sub-species I order (which cost me $59.99). Upon advising them of the issue, they quickly sent me a second fish. However, the second fish was exactly the same sub-species (which is striped instead of distinctive spotted color) as the first time (and a much cheaper fish at only $7.99). After several emails and a promise that I would be refunded...my "real" complaint at this time is I'm thinking this is a practice of delivering a "cheaper" fish when more expensive fish are ordered (they do look similar, however, being an aquarium hobbyist for over 35 years, I caught the difference). If this is the case, it is clearly a practice of fraud to unknowing customers. I'm a 25 year police veteran (recently retire just 3-4 weeks ago) and I've seen other companies practice this very same practice. Hopefully this is NOT the case with this company; however, I would appreciate if the appropriate people (Agencies, if any govern such companies) would look into this matter. Respectfully, ***ald M. *******

Desired Settlement: I would love for someone to determine if this company is providing "honest advertisement" for an "honest product" across the board. And if not, "criminal" actions if found that they're conducting fraudulent practices. Again, hopefully this is NOT the case...but I can't understand how a reputable company making the very same "error" (sending a much cheaper fish) TWICE.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has ca used our customer. After receiving th is
complaint, it was requested that our Aquaculture Facility Manager get involved in the review of the
website concern . In spea king with our Aquaculture Manager, it was determined we needed to confirm
some addit ion al things with our vendor. We have since reached out to our vendor for clarification of
what was being shipped . The vendor stated they were shipping what they were being told was the Rio
de Para PIe co, but after further investigation the image online didn't show the exact item being shipped.
Since this complaint the item was removed from the website until we could appropriately display the
specimen. We appreciate our customer letting us know of this concern. We had refunded the ori ginal
method of payment for the specimen on 5/18/16 $64.19. We also placed a credit on file for the total
amount of the order. We then refunded our customer's ori ginal method of payment for the shipping
cost of $32.09 on 6/13/16.
If our customer has any further concerns, we ask that they please contact us at ************
Monday - Friday 7:30AM-10:00PM or Saturday-Sunday 8:00AM-8:00PM.
Sincerely,
Drs. Foster

4/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 11,2016 an order was placed for multiple items altogether with one agent. Most orders ship in 12 hours according to there latest magazine sent to me and on Friday if an order is placed the order shall ship on monday as ups operates a monday through friday schedule. From Rhinelander, WI to Orono, ME shipping ground being the best and cheapest method (As they offer free shipping) the order should have all arrived on Friday March 18,2016. As always they didn't pull through. So now my 150 lbs. of ferret litter will not be arriving until Monday March 21st. I don't live in Orono and UPS does not deliver to my address in hampden/bangor; so all orders of mine ship to Orono. I drive to Orono as expected to have my whole order to findout that i spent $20 for this trip once. Now on Monday I'll need to spend another $20 to drive there while in the meantime i'm out of litter as of tonight Saturday the 19th I need to go to Petco or closest store to buy more litter for another $25 because I have several ferrets whom depend on me and I need to depend on you as a customer service provider you are. Yes I was also given credit of $20 on Thursday the 17th where the lady told me things shipped on 3 different days.

Desired Settlement: Leaving it to the business to make it right.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for any confusion there might be with our customers most recent order placed on Thursday March 10th @ 10:17 AM.  This order was processed from 3 different areas of our warehouse and so it shipped in 3 different shipments.  The first shipment was 3 boxes and was the ferret litter.  Being as these are 50lb bags they needed to be packaged separately.  (3 boxes)  We also had two other packages that shipped to our customer on this order.  The date of shipment in our system is when the package was processed for shipment.  We do state "Most orders ship within 12 hours and it is our goal, but not a guarantee.  We do guarantee the package to arrive within the designated shipping time-frame.  This order was placed on 3/10/16 with "Economy Free Shipping" (5-9 Business days) and all 3 shipments show delivered with the latest being 3/21/16 which would be the 7th business day.  We do apologize that it was inconvenient for our customer to pick up their order in two shipments.  I feel that we have explained this to our customer in the past and although it can be frustrating, we are within our guidelines.  Our customer was offered the $20 credit and it is felt this is sufficient.  We would also like to suggest our customer be sure to allow the full shipping time-frame for shipments in the future and order at least 2 weeks before he is going to run out of the necessities.  This will allow for his pet's to have what is essential for their everyday care.

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-#### 7 days a week 7am-10pm.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith


Consumer Response: Have you heard from the company?I Did receive one reply of them basically saying they compensated me a measly $20 which was on the phone with a lady whom I told don't bother I'll be calling back to get this resolved better.

Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter?No i am not satisfied I want them to complete there job or make it right.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this causes our customer.  We do understand his concern, but also note that we have a satisfaction guarantee of items arriving within delivery time frame.  We know this customer has been concerned in the past, due to the way his orders arrive.  Meaning a drive to pick up the package is made on his end.  If we can do anything to make it easier for him to receive his orders closer to home, we would be happy to try to arrange this.  We apologize we can't guarantee all packages to ship in the same packages or on the same day, as we do have additional distribution centers and vendors that ship directly.  This isn't any different than prior orders with us.  Please let us know if we can work to have packages delivered somewhere closer to home  in order to save time and effort on the customer's part.

Thank you for your understanding and willingness to work with us.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster and Smith


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As you should follow through with your guarantees which you have not. I'll also be posting frequent reviews about how poor of a shipping industry you are. I can't receive shipping to my address because it's not a "safe location" so there really isn't a different method other then do your job. Also your compensation wasn't satisfying to me when I spend $40 more then the $20 you compensated;which also I told the lady on the phone that I was not happy.

Regards,

***** *****

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have unsubscribed to the Liveaquaria.com emails SEVEN times, yet I continue to get them. I did not request these emails/spam in the first place, only had ordered some products off of Foster & Smith. I have asked politely, demanded, and have stated in the request to unsubscribe that I would be filing a complaint for the next email I received. I WANT THESE TO STOP IMMEDIATELY!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Remove my email address and stop sending me spam emails

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reviewed this customer file and flagged the account associated with the email noted on the complaint.  We also contacted our marketing dept to stop sending promotional emails in general, so they aren't on any additional marketing lists.  Our customer shouldn't receive any further emails as of Friday this week. (4/15/16)  If our customer has an additional email that is receiving emails, we would ask they supply that email information to us to remove from marketing lists also.

Please feel free to contact us at ###-###-#### with additional questions.

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster and Smith


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

4/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dr. Foster and Smith's advertise on google the 51-100 6PK Heartgard tablets for $8.49 yet when I go to their website the price is $39.96. The search I performed for the item is clearly defined as a search for the 6PK package. The vendor, through online chat, refused to honor the $8.49 price for the HeartGard tablets stating that they are able to sell them individually so they advertise the individual price rather than the 6PK price within the 6PK search results. The URL used to search is: https://www.google.com/shopping/product/127486356943853049?q=heartgard+51-100&safe=active&biw=1920&bih=1075&bav=on.2,or.r_cp.&bvm=bv.116573086,d.cGc&tch=1&ech=1&psi=XeTiVv76OdjSjwPC04XIAg.1457710174832.3&prds=hsec:online,paur:ClkAsKraX4Jz7bdEL83vdyLcWArXMaRTsqaDqx_eHrUHXp8U5L8RQzmiiPmuqDFARwdN5dxz4jw-7QgCvUt5artqHWt-5C9mFX23dupp1mVNi1sR7CMDn32OeBIZAFPVH73TVL05LP4xl973kQ3tWabFPRmgQw&ved=0ahUKEwjay5_K-bjLAhVBGmMKHeftCysQ2SsICQ&ei=YOTiVtqbOMG0jAPn26_YAg I have screen captures of the site taken as of this morning as well as the chat logs which I am willing to share.

Desired Settlement: I'd like store credit for the cost of two 6PK 51-100lbs HeartGard packages minus the advertised price of $8.49 x 2 and shipping. I'd also like for the store to discontinue their false/click bait/bait and switch advertising tactics.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer.  This Advertisement is on Google and because we sell this product by the pill it notes the "Base Price" which is per pill.  $8.49 a pill + tax and shipping.  This is not something that going forward will change, as it does list our base price.  We do understand that the customer searched for a 6 pk and Drs Foster and Smith and other competitor names came up.  It does have a button to click on in order to shop with each company and directs you to each site.  Our site shows the price listing for each pill, 6 pk and 12 pk discounts.  Not all companies sell Heartgard Plus by the pill, so base prices will show differently.  As a courtesy we are extending a $32 credit on file for our customer.  We just want to be sure they understand this Ad won't be changing. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they can contact us at ###-###-####.  (7 days a week 7am-10pm CST)

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

*********** ******

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Doctors Foster and Smith has my 5 year old son, ***** *******, on their catalog mailing list. I have telephoned and emailed them over 5 times to take him off their catalog mailing list and still after nearly a year, he is still on it. He was placed on their mailing list by someone in my community that has now been convinced of felony identity theft so falsely putting me and my families names on catalogs, magazines, restaurant reservations, pornography, etc. We closed this chapter in December 2015 but when I continue to get these catalogs sent to my young son, it brings back all the trauma this person put my family through. Despite asking this company to take my son's name of their list, they have ignored me and this goes on and on.

Desired Settlement: Take ***** ******* off all of your mailings lists NOW!

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.  After further review it is noted that we did still have a catalog request account for ***** ******* .  We have flagged the account to not receive any further catalogs.  We have also requested our catalog marketing dept to remove his name from all listings.  Please note that although this has been done, he could receive additional catalogs over the next month as the catalog's are pre-printed. 

 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us ###-###-####. (7 days a week from 7am-10pm CST)

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith


2/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2016 Delivery Issues
2/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received bank notification 1/11/2016, that this company had charged my credit/debit card, which they DO NOT HAVE PERMISSION to have on file, without my knowledge or consent. They admitted their mistake but have yet to refund me the money they took from my account.

Desired Settlement: $31.46 refunded IMMEDIATELY. ALL OF MY INFORMATION - ALL OF IT - DELETED FROM THEIR SYSTEM(s), IMMEDIATELY.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for our customers frustration.  We have reviewed the customer file and find that on 11/7/15 an order was placed online and the Auto Delivery option was chosen and filled out.  The auto delivery was setup for item# 75682 - 4LB Select Chicken Premium Ferret Diet and item# 264358 Ferretvite 4.25oz.  The total came to $31.46 and was scheduled to reoccur every 9 weeks.  Next delivery was set to be shipped on 1/11/16.  When we were contacted on 1/11/16 by our customer, we cancelled the order, cancelled the auto delivery program and requested that the account be removed from any further emails per the customers request.  The order hadn't shipped yet, so we only had to cancel the order and the bank drops the authorization. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should contact us at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,

 

Drs. Foster & Smith


1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company refuses to refund my money for product not received before Christmas as guaranteed on their website when I placed order. Emailed customer service twice, and twice they refused to issue refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund back to my credit card immediately .

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer.  After review it is noted that UPS states the package was refused and being sent back to us.  The package has an attempted delivery on December 26th @ 2:36 PM and additionally on December 29th @10:39 AM.  We don't typically refund until the package is received back.  This order had 2 separate shipments.  One shipment was for a dog bed and this was delivered on December 24th.  The other was for flea and tick products that didn't arrive until December 26th when UPS attempted the first delivery.  We apologize if any inconvenience this may have caused.  Our customer also stated they would be filing a charge-back and since this was noted we don't refund as it may cause duplicate refunds.  I don't see that a chargeback has been done at this time, so I will refund the customer for the flea and tick package that hasn't arrived yet.  ($58.98)

 

If our customer has further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.  7am-10pm

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
Hello-

i have detailed info on the fiasco of this order.

packafe was addressed wrong and went to FOUR DIFFERENT LOCATIONS- none of which was my home.

the customers service felt was rude and refused to help.

NO ONE OFFERED HELP OR A REFUND OR ANYTHING TO RESOLVE THIS,

stating I have to pay for it.

i have PROOF ITEM WAS RETURNED TO COMPANY.

THERE IS NO CREDIT BACK TO CREDIT CARD .

Once I see the credit back I will let BBB know.

Thank you for your help.

i have tried to attach files but was unsuccessful .

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for our customers frustration in this matter.  We have refunded our customer $58.98 on 12/31/15.  This was then processed and the credit was transmitted 1/4/16 due to the holiday weekend.  It is confirmed that as of 1/4/16 our customers original method of payment was refunded. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they can contact us ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

12/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased merchandise from this company 4 years ago, no complaints with my merchandise. The company sends 3 - 4 emails to my personal email address daily. I do not have an account with this company to sign in and change email preferences although again they send me multiple emails a day. I have spoken with customer service on four separate occasions and three weeks ago used "Live Chat" so I could have a record of my conversation with them asking them to remove me from their email distribution list. The customer service agent asked me to sign into my account which even though I knew I did not have one, I attempted to show the agent this was not possible or the case. Eventually she advised me my email address would be removed and this could take up to 5 work days. It's been three weeks and I am STILL receiving 3 - 4 emails a DAY. I called customer service today to inform them of my pending BBB complaint to which the agent informed me...BBB can't help me with this. I would greatly appreciate it if someone could assist me to getting to the appropriate parties to protect my rights. I have never signed up for nor do I want 3-4 emails a day from this company. Your time and efforts are appreciated. Thank you Kimberly Lane

Desired Settlement: PLEASE HAVE MY PERSONAL EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED FROM THEIR DISTRIBUTION LIST. Greatly appreciated, Kimberly Lane

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer.  We have requested our marketing department have the noted email removed from all promotional emails. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Drs. Foster & Smith


12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: after ordering 2 types of food for my fish from this company. when I started to use it the first day the fish eagerly ate it. the second day they were not to aggressive like normal. on the third day 3 of my larger fish were dead on the bottom of the tank. this is not un-common to find a dead fish once in a while but 4 I was worried a little. I checked my water and it was ok. the 4th day I got up in the morning and turned on the tank light and every fish in there was dead on the bottom. I immediately new it had to be the food because I did nothing different than I ever do. I did not touch the tank in any way as far as adding anything. I have had these fish for several years with no problem. I have had 3 successful breeding's. the last one I had about 35 to 40 babies. about 25 survived and grew to about 1 1/2 inches. I was going out to get another tank to move the younger ones the very next weekend. they were all the same breed of cichlid that's all that were in the tank. I emailed drs. foster and smith twice about what happen and got no response like they didn't care or didn't want to be bothered. I even lived chat with a rep. he said he would pass it on that's it. I have been a customer of this company for a long time and very disappointed in there caring. they should have more respect and try to help un some way. not just blow you off.

Desired Settlement: I should be compensated for my entire loss. in the same product or a substitute of my choice if not available.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused our customer.  After reviewing the account, it was noted that on 11/23/15 the customer was going to be contacted by the manufacturer to resolve any concerns as this is product related.  The manufacturer wanted to follow up in regards to their product.  We do still understand the frustration of our customer in the fact that we did have some technical issues this past week and weren't able to be reached via phone a few days which led emails to dramatically increase.  We understand this is not an excuse and would like to offer our customer a credit on file of $31.00 to cover the cost of the recent order.  We realize the manufacturer was intending to take care of the product concern, but we feel it is still necessary to address the poor communication on our end.  

We hope the manufacturer her been able to resolve the customers product concerns.  If any further concerns come up, they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize again, but note that we have reached out to the manufacturer to be sure they were address our customers concern.  Per the manufacturer on December 10th they were able to get in touch with our customer to resolve their concern.  The customer has been offered compensation for his loss and we have refunded the the product.  

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

Drs. Foster & Smith


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

12/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starting about a month ago, this company is spamming me with several emails EVERY day. I never signed up for an email subscription. The last time I placed an order with this company was about 6 months ago. The link in their emails to "unsubscribe" only brings up a web page to subscribe. There is no way to unsubscribe on the web. I have called their customer service several times over the last couple of weeks and have been told each time that the email will stop. It doesn't. The emails keep coming. I will NEVER order anything from this company again.

Desired Settlement: STOP SENDING ME EMAILS. DO NOT SEND ANY EMAILS FOR ANY PURPOSE. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO CONTACT THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU TO MAKE YOU GUYS STOP SENDING ME EMAILS. THIS IS A WAIST OF MY TIME.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have worked with our marketing department to be sure they have removed the email noted in this complaint. 

If our customer has an further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####. (Mon-Fri 7am-10pm)

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The e-mails finally stopped.  It is a shame that after repeated calls to this business that I was forced to take action with the BBB to get them to stop spamming me with several e-mails a day.  I won't be placing orders with this business in the future.

Regards,

******* *******

11/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased one product from this company one month ago. Since then, I have been receiving their spam email daily. I've tried to unsubscribe by using the link on their website. I phoned them as well, and talked with a person who agreed to remove me from their mailing lists. Nothing seems to work.

Desired Settlement: I want this business to remove me from all of their mailing lists.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for our customers frustration.  We have requested the email noted on this complaint be removed from the marketing emails and ask that the customer make sure they removed themselves from any online email alerts.  Please allow 2 business days for this to be fully removed from the system.

If any further concerns come up we ask that the customer contact us at ###-###-####. Mon-Sun 7am-10pm CST

 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith


11/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business claims that their product in a product of the USA (the bait) and when it arrives, it is a product of Columbia, SA (the switch). This is a willful violation of federal law and I hope you will address this with the company. I called the company to express this concern, and the representative was very apologetic and explained that she will inform management of the misrepresentation of the product on line at: *****************************************************************This business offered to provide a free shipping return slip for the unused product to be utilized at any UPS store. My complaint is being filed only because it is a willful misrepresentation of the product origin/processing. The Customer Service Representative did state that the "Tech Data" viewed on her computer screen states "product of USA" and also stated that is was processed in Columbia. The website makes no mention of Columbia being a part of the supply chain. The reason I purchased this product is because of the USDA regulatory oversight. I do not have any faith that other countries produce or process a product at the same quality level as food products produced in the USA. The website needs to be clear that the product is "Processed" in Columbia. Having made no mention of this, and knowing it is processed in Columbia via the "tech screen data" via the CSR demonstrates a willful disregard for advertising regulations and might be considered a "bait and switch" technique.Kindest regards,**** ********

Desired Settlement: Simply insure that this company modifies their advertising so as to not WILLFULLY misinform the general public, and then send an inferior product as a method of bait and switch.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize that this complaint wasn't responded too more
timely.  We did look into the concerns and had responded, but the
complaint doesn't show this was done and note that this product is not
shown as "Made in USA".  We apologize for the miscommunication that
occurred.  We have sent the customer a return label and would be happy to accept
them back, but we went ahead and refunded the customer for the full
$85.38 as of today. 

If our customer has further concerns we would be happy to assist them and can be reached at ###-###-####. 

 

Thanks,

 

Drs. Foster & Smith


Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer.  The information has been passed onto our merchandising department as a customer concern.  Although we understand the customers request for this information to be disclosed, we have a process to follow internally in order to address customer concerns.  At this time we won't be posting this information, but the appropriate department has the information.

 

If our customer has further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ****** * *****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****

11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company somehow got my debit card info and address. A fraudulent order was placed with them and they won't give me the address it was delivered to so that I can give that info to the police. Online there are several other people complaining of a similar experience and the person I spoke to at Fosters & Smith even told me that "this happens all the time." The person I spoke with was ****. The phone number I called was ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: They wouldn't refund my money even though they said it was a fraudulent charge. The product being ordered wasn't shipped to my address. I also want this business to have such a bad rating with BBB that people will stop using them since they harbor fraudsters and won't help the victims. Everything they said made it sound to me like they were in on the scam.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this is to our customer.  We are unable to release information to customers due to the privacy laws.  Our Law team can release the information if this is requested by the customers local law enforcement in reference to a claim.  We also would suggest the customer contact their credit card company right away to cancel the credit card associated with the account.  This would get them started in a charge back process and would leave the customer not liable for the charge.  This is the standard process for us.  Since we have not been notified of a charge back yet, we have refunded the customer the $53.57 which is the total amount of the order.  We still highly recommend the customer cancel their card, though.  

If they have any further questions or concerns, they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####. (7am-10pm)

 

Sincerely,

 

Drs. Foster & Smith


10/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LiveAquaria.com sends spam emails to my inbox serveral times a day. I have emailed customer service twice and unsubscribe numerous times. It's at the point where I feel this is harassment. After each email I was told this matter would be resolved to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I wish for the spam to stop immediately.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the frustration regarding this matter.  We do show our customer is removed from the emails via the customer file.  We have escalated a request to have the customer remove from any further marketing email lists via our IT & Marketing departments.  It will only be for the email that we show on this complaint. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

 

Customer Service Management


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I am somewhat leery that the matter has truly been resolved. I continued to receive spam email from this business up until 10/24/15. I have not receive any this week but time will tell. Thanks for your help in this matter

Regards,

****** ******

10/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered different items on two different occasions over a period of approximately 18 months. Both times the product was sent to the wrong APO address. The first time I can excuse since there was another service member by the same last name BUT a different box number that had an account with this company. The first time the product was sent to him. When the US Post office showed it returned, the company offered to send me another. It to, went to the other individual. I opted to try again in July of 2015. the order confirmation I received via email for this 2nd order in July showed the right delivery address. I followed up in August 2015 with a live chat session that again verified the correct delivery address. After 7 weeks and still no package, I call the company. I explained the situation with the customer service representative and was put on hold while they checked into the situation. when the CSR came back on the line, she called me by the other customer's name and read out their delivery address, not mine. After the first incident about 18 months ago and now this time, complete with 2 positive verifications of a delivery addres; to find out that they still delivered it to the wrong address is ludicrous and absurd. I did ask to speak to a manager and was put in contact with one. I explained my situation again and was offered a replacement package. I have no desire to wait another 8 weeks for delivery on something I need now. I asked for a refund of the full price and I was told that they would do that.

Desired Settlement: The company agreed to refund the price to me while I was on the phone with them. It is my desire that they develop some kind of quality assurance system to keep this from happening to other customers. This is no way to run a business.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the customer’s inconvenience.  We have reviewed this file and see that the customer was refunded for this order for their inconvenience and frustration.  We have
reviewed the system concern and forwarded the order matching concerns to our IT dept. to address right away.  On 9/16/15 the customer was able to obtain the package and called us back offering to pay for the order.  We again
sincerely apologize for the customer’s frustration and so we have placed a $50 credit on file for the customer to use in the future. 



If the customer has further questions and concerns they can reach us at
###-###-####.



Sincerely,



Drs. Foster & Smith






8/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Once before I've made a complete and they credited my account for poor service. I've now placed the next order after this and the shipping is suppose to be in 24 hours from the point of making an order and my order still did not ship after that time-frame it has taken then 48 to 56 hours to get this out still unable to provide me tracking when I placed one order and it ships as 2 boxes on 2 completely different days. Now I pay $10.00 for gas to pickup my packages because my household does not allow UPS shipments nor my Post office of this size. I will now have to pay $20.00 to get these boxes on different days because you never hold true to your words.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job and don't guarantee consumers services you can not follow through with.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  I have reviewed this order and found that it did ship in two different packages.  It depends on what area of the warehouse the items are located.  I see that some items shipped 1 day sooner than the rest.  It is our goal to ship orders out within 24 hours.  We do show a delivery of within 5 to 9 business days based on the customers order.  The order was placed on 7/8/15 and part shipped on 7/9/15 and the rest on 7/10/15.  The customer will have this order on 7/15/15 per the UPS tracking information.  We do apologize that the order didn't ship as quickly as we would have liked, we assure that the customer will have the package in the proper delivery time-frame. 

We apologize that this causes the customer to make two trips to pick up his boxes, but in this instance the packages will arrive on the same day.

If the customer has further questions or concerns, they would feel free to contact one of our friendly customer service representatives at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

You state that the boxes were set for same day delivery, but my bank account or UPS doesn't look like they delivered the same day. When an order is placed regardless if they were on opposite sides of the warehouse they should ship the same day. When you guarantee something you should follow through with what you say, instead of make an excuse why they didn't ship. There is no explanation for why, except that your telling me to just deal with it and drive 20 miles to pickup packages that you guys ship 2 different days. Yes the shipping time-frame is 5-9 days which is the shipping method for everyone who places orders over $49.00; unless they want an upgrade. If they were both sent within 24 hours of the order being placed (which they were) then there would never have never been a need for me to take two trips. Personally I feel you need better warehouse management on getting out orders and packaging practices need to be better. Where as every order I have through you guys I'm having damaged issues or shipping issues. If every other drop shipper or dealer for ferrets and birds offered the same shipping method I would go through them but with online shopping or for these type of pets you have a good monopoly going.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We do have a guarantee that states "Most Orders Ship within 12 hours.  Orders ship Mon-Fri 7am-9pm.  Most orders placed Fri, Sat or Sun ship the next business day (Mon).  While we process your orders 7 days a week, our carriers pick up Mon-Fri only.  Prescription orders ship after veterinarian approval." 

We want to explain a little more detailed about the shipping process.  Some items comes from different areas of the warehouse.  This order has items from two shipping locations within our warehouse.  Since these ship from two separate locations they also get put on separate trucks.  Although it didn't show on UPS tracking that it went out the door until the next day it was given tracking in our system on the same day.  Trucks leave the facility at different times of the day and with different shipping time cut offs. 

We still understand the frustration they must feel in reference to having made two separate trips to pick up the packages at a facility.  Although this is something that is out of our control as we do have our carrier ship directly to homes.  We stand behind out Shipping and Satisfaction Guarantees and for that we will refund the customer for the full amount of the order.  The amount of $142.95 has been fully refunded to our customers original method of payment.  We have forwarded the concerns to the warehouse management, also. 

If our customer has any further questions or concerns they should feel free to contact our friendly customer service representatives at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

8/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began receiving email advertisements/newsletters from the company in June 2015. I am not a customer of this business or any known affiliates nor do I wish to be nor did I subscribe to any emails from them. I have followed the process to unsubscribe from emails upwards of seven times and yet have continued to receive the messages. The last several times I have also included a note stating that I had never subscribed to the emails and that I had made several attempts to remove myself from the mailing list.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive no further contact from this business via email or otherwise.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.  We have reviewed with our Marketing and IT departments to confirm the email noted in this complaint is no longer on our subscription lists.  No further promotional emails should be received by this customer.

If we can be of any further assistance, we just ask the customer to contact one of our friendly customer service representatives at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

7/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly unsubscribed from their email list via their website, which I never subscribed to in the first place. The last time I unsubscribed, I left a comment saying that if I had to unsubscribe again, I would take action. So here I am, taking action. All I want is to be off their mailing list, permanently.

Desired Settlement: Never to receive another email from them, unless I willingly subscribe to their email list.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  I have reviewed this information and will send the request off to our marketing and IT departments to be sure this gets addressed right away.  The customer’s information will be removed. as we have it on file.  If the customer has multiple files or email addresses, they could still receive these emails.  So if they have an email that is different than on file, they should contact us with that information.

If the customer has any further questions or concerns, we ask they call one of our friendly Customer Service Reps at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On three occasions over the past month, I received spam email solicitations from this company. On each occasion, I clicked on the "Unsubscribe" button on their email, was routed through their website, and formally unsubscribed from future spamed solicitations which I never signed up for. On each occasion, their website said it had confirmed I was unsubscribed. Today, I received yet a fourth piece of spam email to the same email address in violation of the law.

Desired Settlement: I want to be fully unsubscribed from their email/spam list for all future correspondence.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  I have reviewed this information and will send the request off to our ****eting and IT departments to be sure this gets addressed right away.  The customer’s information will be removed. as we have it on file.  If the customer has multiple files or email addresses, they could still receive these emails.  So if they have an email that is different than on file, they should contact us with that information.

If the customer has any further questions or concerns, we ask they call one of our friendly Customer Service Reps at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution — if they live up to it — is satisfactory to me. Sadly, these predatory spammers are relentless in their harassment of consumers, fail to remove you from their spam list -- even when you click their own "unsubscribe" button on several occasions -- and therefore force us to have to take additional action through third parties like the Better Business Bureau. While I hope this behavior towards me ceases, I also hope that the Better Business Bureau will aggressively deal with these issues in the aggregate.

Regards,

 

**** ********

 

 

 

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company claims they could not process a purchase made online through their web portal. They took my credit card information and billing address, and have in fact charged my account, but have not made delivery of the item purchased. They claim my address information did not match, and therefore, the charge could not go through. My ***** ***** bank statement tells a different story and the charge remains. Reference order #********

Desired Settlement: I want my bank account credited for the charge and a review of their deceptive and mis-leading claims on their website about making online purchases.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reviewed the customer file and see that we needed to verify the customer's credit card information, due to a flag that caught the order in our system.  The customer placed this order# ******** on 6/21/15 and the order was flagged and the customer was emailed to contact us for verification.  The customer was then contacted via phone and a message was left on 6/22/15 to verify this information in order to allow this shipment.  The customer called us back on 6/22/15 stating they would not verify the credit card information for us.  For security purposes we were unable to ship the order without verification.  The customer was informed we would need to cancel the order.  We apologize that we were unable to verify this information in order to ship the order.  We would be happy to assist the customer with placing an order and taking the credit card information directly from them.  The customer was never charged for the order, it was only authorized.  Once the order is cancelled the information is transmitted to the bank in order for them to drop the authorization.

We again hope the customer can understand that we have these checks in place for the security of our customers and if the information was verified we would have been happy to ship the order out.

If the customer would like to speak with us in regards to this, we would be happy to do so.  Please contact us at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster and Smith

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As my order was first place I began to have issues. Drs. Foster & Smith's brand food has ingredients that make my ferrets sick. I've had to bring them to the vet. Also I've bought the ferret nation cage when received it was broke on a entire panel instead of easily sending me the cage, I had to wait another 10 days after buying my ferrets for this one part (as my ferrets slept in a blanket on my floor). They have product recommendations such as a cat carrier says for 16 lb. cat. My 14 lb. cat would never fit in it. They fail to get me return labels when I need them and they say they have sent them. I'm never contacted or provided with supervisor or manager when asked for them.

Desired Settlement: I would love an explanation of why I'm never offered anything in compensation to all these issues I have. Also want explanation for the reason on such terrible customer service they all have attitudes.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reviewed this customer concerns and note that our Call Center ********* ******* tried to contact him personally on May 29th, 2015.  The customer was unable to be reached at the number on file and so a message was left to call us back.  No return call was received from the customer.

We are happy to assist this customer with any further concerns.  I show this customer contacted us again on 6/2/15 requesting reimbursement for his inconvenience of an item being on backorder and was offered $5.  The customer did call again on 6/5/15 requesting his refund for items returned, but not yet received by us.  This was processed for the customer and the return label shipping fee of $7.99 was not charged to the customer. 

We do understand our customer’s frustration and I have placed a $30 credit on file.  This leaves a credit on file total of $35.

They should feel free to contact us with any further questions or concerns at ###-###-####.  7am to 10pm CST.

Thank you,

Drs. Foster & Smith

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly requested Drs. Foster & Smith to remove and unsubscribe me from their emails, but I continue to get them. The CSR verified over the phone I was removed, yet I continued to receive emails. I have repeatedly emailed customer service to remove/unsubscribe me, but I continue to get unwanted emails from the company. Their unsubscribe links in their emails and on the online account go into endless loops to subscribe, but nowhere does it actually allow you to unsubscribe.

Desired Settlement: I want Drs. Foster & Smith to remove and unsubscribe me from all their emails. I also want them to close my account completely, since I am tired of continuing to go in an endless loop of trying to get unsubscribed to their emails.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. I have reviewed our customers file and worked with multiple internal departments to be sure they are removed from our mail/email list and deactivated their account. Our catalog marketing department states the customer was removed from catalog mailings on 4/5/15, but they will receive these until July 2015 as we have pre-printed catalogs. I apologize if this information wasn't given to the customer. I also note that our internet marketing department has removed this customer from any future emails (************************). Our IT department has also deactivated this customer’s online account as the customer requested. I apologize that this wasn't followed through on sooner. If our customer has any further questions or concerns, they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked to be taken off the catalog mailing list multiple times in the past, and whenever I place a new order, I automatically get put back on the mailing list. It seems that it's impossible to be permanently removed from their mailing list unless I never order from them again, which I'm considering doing unless they change this practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written confirmation from the company that I have been permanently removed from their mailing list, and will not receive any catalogs in the future, regardless of whether or not I place any orders with them in the future.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the information given and note that the customer is adding multiple names when placing orders online. Depending on how the names are added on the order, it causes our system to create a new file. We found a couple of duplicate files for this customer and have flagged them all to not send catalogs. We will also work with our catalog marketing department to be sure they flag him to not receive catalogs. I will also merge the files, so we only have one file. The customer should only use one name on their files as this will stop new files from being created. I will leave only the name within the customers email address provided in this complaint. The other name will be removed. Hopefully this will help our customer in the future. If the customer would like to speak with us further, they should feel free to contact us at ###-###-####. 7am-10pm CST. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December i ordered a Dura Ruff bed from Doctors Foster and Smith. I received it and my dogs loved it They could not chew it up. So I bought another one. My dog destroyed the new one within 5 minutes. The company exchanged the bed no problem. I received the new bed promptly and it was destroyed within minutes as well. The first bed i bought is not damaged at all, not a mark on it. And again they exchanged the bed. And for the 3rd time this has happened. Now they want me to pay for another bed!!! I just want a refund NOW and now they are giving me the run around. Obviously they are making the new bed from shoddy materials!!! I will never buy from this company again and I will continue to let everyone I know the problems that I have had with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a box sent to me to ship the dog bed back at the companies expense and have ups pick up at my door. I would like a complete refund including the shipping and handling I initially paid for original product.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer. I see that an order was placed on December 26, 2014 for the 54x36 Dura-Ruff Bed (Item# 34494) in the color chocolate. The customer paid $54.99 for the bed and accepted the free shipping (5-9 business days). Then on January 11, 2015 our customer purchased the same exact bed (item# 34494) with the free shipping. I have reviewed with the manufacturer that the bed in December likely has a different fabric as they were making them in house as their supplier was unable to ship them what they needed. It was a short time that they were using a different fabric. The manufacturer is happy to make a cover for this customer out of the same fabric she has on the bed from December. I would be happy to assist in organizing this, but would need to customer to call me to discuss how to proceed. (###-###-#### – Ask for ********* *******) The latest reshipment was on 2/12/15 for the same bed in a Gray color. This order was unable to be stopped and the customer will receive it. I ask that they accept the bed and call me, so we can work out the details on how to get the same matching cover of the December 2014 order. Again, I am happy to assist with getting the customer the same cover, but would need the customer to contact me in order to be sure they want this done. I hope to resolve this concern for the customer and will await a response from them. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.].

My complaint has nothing to do with my FIRST order placed. I was happy with that order. That is the reason i ordered the second bed.  The SECOND bed is the one that was defective and all 2 subsequent replacement beds that was sent by the company.  I dont care what color the bed is i just want what I paid for and that is a bed like the first that my dog will not destroy. I did pay for shipping on the second bed so the company's answer in regards to free shipping was only on the first bed I purchased which was NOT defective!!! This could have been resolved better had the customer service person I spoke with last treated me the customer with respect.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for any confusion on the last response. We are happy to get our customer the same cover that was received on the December bed purchase. We just wanted to be clear on the matter, so we could assist to our best ability. We will have a bed cover made with the same fabric as the original bed purchased in December. We will put through this request to ship the cover to the customer. We just ask that the customer keep the latest bed shipped to them on 2/12/15. We again apologize that this situation wasn't looked into further when the customer contacted us the first few times. We will address this internally. Thank you, Drs. Foster & Smith

2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dr Foster & Smith are out of compliance with the CAN-SPAM Act of 2003. Marketing emails contain an unsubscribe link that purports to allow a person to unsubscribe to marketing messages. When actually it is not possible to do so. Clicking on the link brings you to a login page to subscribe to more messages, but not to unsubscribe yourself. If you attempt to remove your email address from the form you are given an error or simply redirected to a page to subscribe again to the mailing list. Mulitple attempts to unsubscribe have not yielded a stop to the messages.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to fix their unsubscribe method by immediately unsubscribing a user upon clicking the link. A user should then be given visual confirmation of success or a email confirming the request was processed. This should result in messages no longer being sent after no more than 10 days from clicking the link. The company should take steps to ensure their mailing list is dually opted in such as requiring subscribers to revalidate their opt-in if they have no proof a customer purchase was made.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have reviewed this process again with our internet marketing team and find that we do have an easy "Unsubscribe All" option.  The most convenient way to unsubscribe is to click on the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of the email received.  Once you click on this, it will direct you to the subscription page.  On the right hand side of the page you will see a button stating "Unsubscribe All".  Once you click on this, it will confirm that you have been successfully unsubscribed. 

We hope this resolves our customers concern.  Our customer is welcome to contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2 items on eBay from them. They sent an email that they no longer had the product. They said they would refund my money but they never did. Very bad business practice to advertise items they don't have and then not refunding money in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and an apology for bs business practices.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  I have reviewed the customer information and verified with our accounting department, that the customer has been refunded in full.  The initial refund was done on October 15th, 2014 for $8.99 and it was realized that it wasn't for the full amount.  The customer was then refunded for the additional $8.98 on October 16th, 2014.  The full amount refunded equals $17.97.  I apologize for the delay in refunding the customer promptly.  It was an error on our end, since EBay orders are refunded in a different manner.

We also apologize that we were unable to fulfill the shipment for our customer.  Unfortunately, things can run out of stock prior to us knowing as we are not staffed 24-7.  Although it is our goal for this not to happen.

We hope this resolves the customers concerns.  They can contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions. 

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 20 gallon scroll fish stand, I received a 10 gallon scroll fish stand instead, I have emailed customer service on two different days and still have not heard a word from them. I have not sent the item back yet because I do not feel I should have to pay for shipping and handling to return it, since it was there mistake. I had contacted customer service several days before this asking about there safety with using there website as I hit the log in button with nothing in the username and password field and it logged me into someone elses account. Customer service assured me that they are safe and emailed me back the next day. I decided to order that product and then they sent me the wrong item. I think that there customer service is very poor quality.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to send this item back at there expense since it was there mistake and a full credit issued to my credit card on file.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  After reviewing the file, it looks as though our Customer Support Department left a message for the customer today in order to resolve the customer concerns.  (10/7/14)  I will at this time, go ahead and send a prepaid label to the customer for the 10 gallon stand received in error.    I will also refund the customer for item# ***** - 20 gallon scroll stand $29.99 as the customer requested. 

I hope this resolves the customers concerns.  They can contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** **********

9/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their website said, "All items In-Stock and ready for delivery unless otherwise noted" This is not true. I waited for 4 days for shipping. Their excuse is inventory not updated. Also one of customer service lady said "Our company is drop ship company" I don't get it. How drop ship company has all items in stock?

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We will make sure to provide better communication with our customers when items are delayed in shipment. I also apologize for the misinformation about our company being a drop-ship company as we are a retail company. I hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster and Smith

9/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8-11-14 They received a returned product a ( dog bed) Nothing was wrong with it as my dog will not sit in it. I called to see if it could be returned and was told yes at anytime with a full refund. I printed out the proof of returned delivery via UPS and it was received at reception signed by ******. I have called 2X on the 13th and 15th to see if they have it. I was told on both occasions its here according to my UPS tracking #. I asked to have someone physically check to make sure and was told on both occasions by the same person that they can't do that. To this day on the 19th I have not received any verification it was received or a refund. on the invoice it says and I quote "Quick and EASY Returns" I find nothing QUICK and EASY about this at all but they were REAL QUICK at taking my money!! They advertize 100% return satisfaction, well I'm not satisfied and have never dealt with a company that has taken this long to process a full refund non the less acknowledge it was received and never plan to ever again!

Desired Settlement: I expect to be contacted to tell me that my return has been physically received and processed for a full refund. I expect a full refund to the same method at which I paid for product via credit card as stated on invoice

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused our customer. I want to apologize if our returns process wasn’t explained in full to the customer. We do ask that our customers allow 2 weeks for a return to be fully processed. We process returns in order by the date received. I have reviewed the customer file and see that we have processed the refund for item# 37700 (Large Sherpa Sleeper) in the amount of $159.99 back to the MasterCard. This was processed on August 21, 2014. I hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster and Smith

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this is just satisfactory but not fixing the problem.

First of all let me explain why I did what I did. Drs Foster & Smith were not clear at all on there return policy, when I called 3X to find out if my item was received the same person that answered the call could not tell me if it arrived all she could say is according to your UPS tracking # it has arrived, well I already new that. I wanted a confirmation that it arrived. My returned should have been logged in the day it was received and a notification should have been sent to me stating that item was received and in the return process. I would have been fine with just that but they could not do what MOST other company's do. This company needs to explain there return policy better. On the invoice it states "Quick and Easy Returns" well I did not see any of that! It needs to be in writing on there web site and in there catalogs as what will happen if an item is returned and not keep the customer who paid to buy an item from them and there money was taken real fast informed. This company lacks that ability to do that and until they change the way they handle returns I will no longer order from them!

For such a large company I expected them to be more professional and informative, I guess I was wrong......... 

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

 

 

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When you call customer service their recorded sales pitch states free shipping with orders of $49. It does not say to only certain zip codes. So I place an order send a check for $59.15 and they call for more money for postage. I tell them I am no longer interested, shred my check and order. A day later they have now cashed my check. They left me a voice mail about how I'd like to pay for the shipping now. Last time I checked that was extortion. The nasty customer service clerk i was on hold with waiting for her to return for over 7 minutes stated they would shred my check and order.

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned immediately. This is not only false advertising but deceptive business practice.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the concerns noted by the customer and show that the customer was contacted about the additional shipping charge. We do note in the catalog and on our order forms the terms of the Free Shipping being within the 48 connecting states and to contact us for shipping rates for outside the 48 connecting states. I also apologize that misinformation was given, as we do process the checks right away, and then distribute the orders to be placed. In this case the customer requested their money back and we did process a refund check that day (July 22nd). The refund check is processed in our system with our end of day process and printed the next day (7/23). It is then verified and mailed the following business day (7/24). We have refunded our customer the full amount of the original check ($59.15) and mailed it out to them on July 24th. It can take 7-10 business days for delivery of the mailed check. I hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us at ###-###-#### with any additional questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 4 Bordetella Vaccines from Dr. Smith's company to cut cost as New York State requires all dogs to be vaccinated every 6 months if they intend stay at a doggie daycamp or boarding facility. Each time my dogs have to be vaccinated, I have to bear the cost of a physical examination. With two dogs, this can be a hefty expense just for a $20 Bordetella vaccine. I explained all this to the customer service representative. My next concern was what verification could I bring to the boarding facility that my dogs' Bordetella vaccines were up to date. I was told to purchase their yellow record book,and it would sacrifice or I could have the boarding facility call them. First, the yellow record book is useless as verification, because the boarding facility does not acknowledge self administered vaccines. Next, my veterinarian was willing to issue a certificate of vaccination is someone at Dr. Smith's would verify that the vaccine I ordered was "real". No one would verify this information. WHAT DID I GIVE MY DOGS?

Desired Settlement: I want someone from the pharmacy division to call my veterinarian to verify that the vaccination ordered is really Bordetella vaccine so I can be issue a certificate. I can not board my dogs at the point and go on vacation next month. I have called this company numerous times and left my veterinarian's information to no avail. This is not customer satisfaction, and now I am worried that my dogs were vaccinated with "unapproved" or experimental product. No one at Dr. Smith's wants to certify what they sold me.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the concerns and found that we received a request from our customer to contact their vet to verify that the vaccine they had purchased was Bordetella. The customers vet would then honor a certificate for them. One of our pharmacists was given the contact information and left a message for them to contact us back for verification of the vaccine. On May 27th, Dr. ***** contacted us back stating that it doesn't matter if the vaccine was the Bordetella, they will not honor a certificate for it. I am also sincerely apologetic that misinformation was given in regards to what would suffice for proof of vaccination. It certainly depends on the vet or boarding facility. I am also going to refund the customer for the full price of the 4 vaccines, pet health record and Air delivery. ($45.44) We hope this helps resolve the customers concerns. They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** *******

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Drs. Foster & Smith Pet supply did not disclose that their chicken jerky called Fillets Dog Treats Chicken, I purchased for my 2 dogs was made in China. The product caused an ongoing major skin itching and infections in both dogs. I had an expensive visit to the Veterinarian and their groomer. We went over everything the dogs consumed. I am extremely careful with their diet, avoiding chemicals, wheat & corn. Had I known the product was made in China, I would have not bought it. I returned my entire order to them which then cost me $12.75 at the Post Office. I called their customer service. I understood the problem would be handled. I am not asking for Vet bills or reimbursement for the PO expense. However, I do want a refund for the order I returned, $50.96

Desired Settlement: I believe that they are a reputable company that made a huge error by not disclosing full information regarding food we feed our pets. I now have no confidence in purchasing anything from their company. Ignoring me is not a solution. All I want is a refund for my order. A reputable company that they claim to be, should do this without my having to file this complaint.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the return paperwork and don't show the shampoo ($9.99-Qty 1) and crème rinse ($9.99-Qty 1) being returned in the package. We will refund the customer for the additional $19.98 for those products. We do have a search online that allows customers to type "Made in USA" and it will display our USA made products. Otherwise, we do suggest our customers contact us to verify where products are made. One of our friendly customer service representatives would be happy to assist. We hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

Business Response: We apologize for any confusion. The refunds were processed back to the original method of payment. The $30.98 was processed for refund on February 13, 2014 and the $19.98 was processed on February 21, 2014. These should appear on the customers next bank statement. They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions. Sincerely. Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year this company has failed to successfully remove my information from catalog mailings and email promotions despite repeated requests and using their unsubscribe link. I have made requests to be taken off of their mailing and email list at least 5-6 times over the last year. I have been assured each time my information has been unsubscribed. This seems to last only a few months and then I start to receive their catalogs that I do not want. I owned a pet chinchilla from 2010-2013, therefore I used this company's services. I no longer own a pet (I haven't for a year), and have no need for this company's products and have communicated that to them multiple times. I want the catalog mailings to stop immediately, and for good. My direct contact with this company does not seem to be effective, so I am hoping you could help. Ordinarily I would not be filing this complaint, but as the consumer, I get slammed with up to 3 catalogs at a time that go in the recycling since they are of no use to me and I have to dispose of them. I am pretty tired of it. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: As described in my explanation of the problem, I want the mailings to stop and for my information to be removed from their files. At this point I feel harassed by this company's sales tactics.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the concerns and found that we had two files for this customer with different addresses, but the same email. One file was setup to receive emails and catalogs and one wasn't. We have flagged all accounts with the same name, email and phone number to not receive emails or catalogs. We have worked directly with our marketing department to have all emails and catalogs stopped. We hope this resolves the customers concerns. They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions. Sincerely, Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased live tropical fish from Drs. Foster & Smith's Live Aquaria site. They advertise to have healthy, quality aquatic life. What I received was not. The fish I received not only themselves perished due to them being diseased, but the disease has spread to the rest of the fish in my aquarium that I had previously, and has killed all my fish in a week and a half since the specimens purchased from Live Aquaria were first introduced. I've attempted several times to resolve this with the company, and every time I've brought the issue up they have avoided taking responsibility for their poor quality livestock. Not only are they unwilling to take responsibility for the fact that their products have killed all my existing fish through infection, they're unwilling to even honor their policy of refunding for their defective product, dodging the issue, and only offering store credit, when their policy states they will offer a refund to the credit card. The responses I've received to my issues have always deflected blame and implied that I was the source of the issue in some way. I've kept fish for close to 20 years. This is not a new hobby, and my methods are not at fault. The sick fish I was sent that have spread their infection to the rest of my fish, killing them all, is the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund, not just for the fish they sent which have all perished due to the sickness, but also to be reimbursed for the existing fish which have been lost due to the sickness their fish have introduced. The amount for the existing fish I had which have perished is $164

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. 

We reviewed the customer file and all concerns pertaining to order #'s ******** & ********.  We had refunded the customer on 10/25/13 for the Blue Reef Chromis (3 x $19.99 = $59.97) and also the Yellow Tang (1 x $36.99 = $36.99) as DUW (dead under warranty).  That makes a total refund of $96.96.  The $59.97 was refunded to the original method of payment and the $36.99 was placed as a credit on file.  Also at that time a $17.50 credit on file was offered to pay for part of the shipping for the inconvenience.  At this time, we have noted all the fish on the above mentioned orders as being DUW.  We will leave the $17.50 as a credit on file and also place $164.00 as a credit on file for the customer to restock their tank.  We have also had the remaining amount ($119.94) on order# ******** refunded to the original method of payment.  The only amount we were unable to refund to the original method is the $7 Reward points, as they will go back on file for future use.  Also order# ******** was fully refunded ($171.93) to the customers original method of payment.  The amounts refunded to the original method of payment have been processed and include the original shipping cost of the orders.  

We hope this resolves the customer concerns.  They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

**** ****** * ***** 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *****

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 17, 2013, I purchased $259.96 worth of live corals. I had accumulated $24.00 of credits from previous purchases which should have been applied to the order but was not. Furthermore, due to a specimen issue, a further credit of $29.99 was to be applied to the order. After making numerous attempts at recovering this credit, including not one but two conference calls with Paypal, the $53.99 credit was promised to me today, October 2 2013. As I have just logged into my paypal account, the credit has still not been applied. I have no choice but to formally file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. What's most puzzling though, subsequent to all I have said, a second specimen had died. The credit for that purchase of $69.99 was applied within one day. Why is it taking such an effort to collect what's due me, especially considering the fact that $24.00 of the balance is credit I have earned from previous purchases!

Desired Settlement: For Live Aquaria to keep their word and credit my paypal account the $53.99 I am due.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.  We have processed a refund to the original method of payment, but we've had difficulty with them accepting it.  Because of the difficulty, I have processed a refund check in the amount of $53.99 to the customer.

We hope this resolves the customers concerns.  They can contact us directly at ###-###-#### with any questions.

Sincerely,

Drs. Foster & Smith

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *********

 

 

I accept Live Aquaria's response. However, this is the same response they have provided all along without refunding my account. Provided they follow through this time I accept their response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

40 Customer Reviews on Drs. Foster & Smith
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart