5/29/2016 Objectively speaking F & S introduced me to so many wonderful products that I will never be without, and that have saved my fish. I am grateful to them for this. On the down side, their delivery was so slow that between ordering and receiving, i found myself having to go not once, but twice to my LFS for supplies. That isn't even the worst part : I have never seen any site, anywhere do this : Fosters and Smith reserve the right to not only perhaps not publish a bad review- they will actually completely and literally re-write, word for word , what you have written, use your name and re-publish the review as if you had written it. I have never seen this done before anywhere. Next: My first several orders were over 200.00 $. When i found the shipping to be so slow that I had to pay so much extra for expedited shipping; I only began ordering things I could not get anywhere else. While I had been receiving discounts ( that NEVER worked anyway) and I mean never, it only took one time of this smaller , but still respectable order , for them to never, not once, send me another discount. Next: They constantly promote their sister site -live aquaria, for live fish, plants, etc..yet, you simply cannot toggle between both sites to have one order. You must sign in and out of each site to order. Plus, you also must spend over 150 at the live store, and the shipping of course must be overnight , and the cost is something like 75.00. why would anyone buy from them? Its as if they are coming right out and saying, Please, let us rob you! I will buy from anyone but them, going as far as buying a product from the U. K because I will no longer even go to their site. and ONE more. : they suggest strongly that you make an account so that sign out can be easier, unfortunately, at each and every sign out, I still had to fill in my delivery address, therefore rendering my account, useless. Given all this, they should be rated much lower. I am surprised to come here and find more people who feel like me, and the rating an A+ which once again just reinforces how big business rules even something like the BBB.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by kadena on 5/29/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Report Abuse another important experience I found with F & S : there is virtually no quality control. I kept ordering and receiving a defective medication. I kept alerting them to it. I kept receiving the same un- inspected batch. They have a major problem with anyone writing a negative review, but no problem potentially hurting your pet. by kadena on 5/29/2016

Comment from the Business We sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused our customer. We have reviewed the concerns and note that we do use a third party to review our customer reviews and they do not change a review that was submitted. If the customer would kindly supply us with the original post, we would be happy to review this with our contact. We don't show any recent orders for this customer on our Live Aquaria site, but also wanted to note that shipping is 1 Day Air due to the live specimen. The cost ranges based on whether the free shipping minimum of $175 is met or not. If below the minimum the cost is $29.99 for 1 Day Air. If the customer was ordering Live Rock, the 2 Day Air shipping is Free otherwise it is $1.29lb for 1 Day Air. We apologize if this wasn't clear to the customer, but would be happy to clarify if they would like to speak with one of our representatives. We do send out promotion codes and find that the email on file has a different provider ending than the one supplied with this review. This could be the reason for not getting the promotional offers. We are working hard to review our current processes and will be noting all customer concerns to help with making our sites even more customer friendly. We are always looking to make our processes better. We will note the concerns and pass them onto the appropriate departments. Sincerely, Drs. Foster and Smith by on 6/13/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
4/4/2016 This company is awful to deal with. Their website states, "Orders shipped Monday through Thursday typically ship the same or next business day... Though we process your orders 7 days a week, our carriers pick up packages Monday through Friday." This is wholly untrue. I've placed 2 orders with them. The first was a dog bed that took 4 days for them to ship and another 11 days for it to arrive. The second was a medication order that still had not shipped by day 5. I called and asked why it had not shipped yet and was told it was being processed and would ship that day or the following day. I again asked why it hadn't shipped and why after 5 days it was STILL being "processed" and mentioned what the website said to the "friendly customer service representative". She was rude and condescending and replied, "I didn't make the website." I then told her to cancel my order since it hadn't shipped and I knew delivery would be weeks out. She said since it was still being processed (because despite what the website says, they don't process orders on weekends) it may or may not still ship and if it did we could initiate a return once I got it. Of course, I'd be charged $156 in the meantime, and no doubt their return and refund procedure also takes weeks and numerous calls. If you don't mind rude customer service and waiting 3-4 weeks for your product, this is a great business. *** ********** ******** *** *** ** ***** *********** *** *** *** **** ******** ****** *** *****
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by C. M. on 4/4/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. After further review of this order, we would like to explain the process. Pharmacy orders ship once the prescription is received. The order was placed on 3/31/16 @ 12:55 pm. The prescription was received on 4/1/16 and would be entered in date order. This prescription was entered on 4/3/16 and was processing to ship when the customer contacted us to cancel the order 4/4/16. We sincerely apologize if this wasn't clear at the time of order. We do still have the prescription available to order for this customer, if they would like to order the next time. With the prescription on file the order is able to process once placed as we don't need to contact the veterinarian for approval, since that part has been done already. In reference to the bed, it was placed on 3/11/16 and shipped from our vendor on 3/14/16. We apologize that the shipment took longer than our customer had expected, but we did get the shipment to our customer within the 5-9 business days as it was delivered on 3/21/16 and the shipping chosen was to arrive within 5-9 business days. Again, we apologize for the frustration, but hope our customer will understand the process with this explanation. We apologize that it doesn't seem this was explained well to our customer at the time order. We strive to have spectacular customer service and will note this for our supervisory team to work with our customer service representatives. Please feel free to contact with us with any further questions or concerns. Sincerely, Drs. Foster and Smith by on 4/13/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
3/3/2016 I wish I had come here first before giving this company my business. If I had known there were overwhelming negative reviews and complaints such as what I am seeing, I would never have placed an order with them. Unfortunately, I gave them chance after chance and that was my fault. EVERY single order I have placed with them has had an error. Most of those errors have to do with shipping ....not shipping an item at all or shipments not being received at all. Part of the reason why I went back (and this is the only good thing I have to say about this company) is they made amends by shipping the items overnight free of charge. Please be aware that they use UPS Sure Post which means that the package starts out being delivered by UPS and then they transfer the shipping responsibility to USPS. That's where the shipment STALLS!!!!!! I called them immediately and they reshipped my order.....BUT.....to the wrong address!!! I have no idea where they got the address as my account and my receipt show the correct address. It wasn't UPS delivering to the wrong address, Drs. Foster & Smith input the wrong address. Even more frustrating is that I talked to a supervisor when I first realized that the shipment wasn't going to be delivered. Are you kidding me???? A supervisor is making this type of error????? I highly recommend you shop elsewhere. I feel that as a consumer, I share responsibility in warning other consumers.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Brenda L. on 3/3/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. With further review of the situation, it was found that we did reship the order 1 Day Air and it was shipped to the same address as the initial order that was placed online. If it wasn't shipped to the address as it was noted on the order, we would have to work with our shipper to try and resolve why it happened, but in this instance we would have been happy to assist with getting it to a different address per customer request. This customer has a few different shipping addresses and we could have used one of the others if it would have been helpful. We apologize again for the inconvenience this has caused and would be happy to discuss our customers concerns again, in order for us to resolve future order concerns. We strive to have impressive Customer Service. Thank you by on 3/7/2016

Report Abuse Apologies are one thing. Actually getting things right is another. Yes, you did reship it. However, you reshipped to a different NAME and ADDRESS!!!! A name and address that has NEVER been associated with my account. A few addresses?!?!?!!?!?!? I have my home and my work address on my account. That's it...how does that constitute a "few" addresses? I have had ALL of my orders delivered to my work address. I'm required to have my home address on the account for the billing information. If you are going to reply to a review/complaint you really should get your facts straight. No way are you getting any future business from me especially with your response here. Take ownership of YOUR mistake(S)....don't try to put it on your customers!!!! Having said that, I did end up receiving my order AFTER it was re-routed. Then, I get a call from UPS yesterday saying that I got the shipment in error and that it wasn't my order that I received. Well, yes, it was. It had the exact items I ordered. All because Drs. Foster and Smith shipped it to the wrong name and address, I had to spend 20 minutes explaining the situation to UPS!!!! I just want buyers to beware. While they do make "corrections" to their mistakes, you'll be spending A LOT of time to get them to correct their mistakes...not just one mistake here and there....EVERY order had an error on their part. Believe me...it's not worth it. I recommend you shop elsewhere. by Brenda L. on 3/8/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
2/25/2016 The worst customer service... They (Joyce) was nasty and almost accusing that I was lying about a heart worm test at the North Shore Animal league. They threatened me my order would be canceled in a couple of days if I didn't don't get them the information which they were suppose to obtain. Horrible place to do business.. And they never shipped the other part of my order which I needed immediately.. And was almost 3 weeks past due. I will never do business with them
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by L. D. on 2/25/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer. With further review of their file it was found that we contacted the vet on the file the order was received, but the clinic didn't have the customers name on file. In these cases it is usually found that the clinic has one of the family members names on file and if the order is placed under another the clinic is unable to connect the two accounts. We would have been happy to assist with contacting the vet under the name they have on file. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, but would be more than happy to assist with requesting under the pet owners name listed at their vets office. Thank you by on 3/7/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
2/12/2016 I don't know how this company could have an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau after reading the complaints, mostly unresolved, against them. This company is dishonest and they shouldn't be allowed to get by with it over and over and over again. I purchased an item which was inoperable, looked like an item returned from another customer and thrown into a box with a huge SKULL AND CROSSBONES on it instead of manufacturers packaging - no instructions included. I called Doctors Foster and Smith Customer Service over the course of 3 hours trying to assemble it - with Foster and Smith having no clue about the product they sold to me, referring me to another company's website. Finally they said I should return it, and they would refund my money. I used the UPS shipping label. When the tracking number showed it as delivered to their warehouse, I called, asking for my refund. Foster & Smith assured me I had been credited through PayPal days before they received it back in their warehouse. They confirmed they received it. Paypal has received no credit from Foster & Smith for the item. A claim was initiated, with no response at all from Foster & Smith. Consumers, BEWARE - this company will steal your money and lie to everyone involved!!!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Ripped-off on 2/12/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We sincerely apologize for our customers frustration in this matter. We did process the refund back to PayPal. We are unaware of why the customer didn't show the refund, but a charge back has since been filed. We do have to wait for the charge back to process at this time. We apologize for the frustration, but since it was processed through our system and payment processing system, we would request that our customer reach out to PayPal, as it would likely be a transmittal issue into their system. by on 2/17/2016

Report Abuse As I said in my original review, Foster and Smith has issued NO credit to me through Paypal. I contacted them over 2 weeks ago after you refused to issue a credit---PayPal confirmed they had NOT received a credit for me from Foster and Smith. PayPal opened a claim, and after 10 days there is still NO response from your company. This is a matter of poor bookkeeping by Foster and Smith, or downright dishonesty. After reading the numerous complaints about your company, I believe the latter. Disgusting! by Ripped-off on 2/17/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
1 2 3 4 5