Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bird and reptile cages and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adam's Specialty Products, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Adam's Specialty Products, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Adam's Specialty Products, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1997 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 01/30/1998 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Adam John Keller, President Ms. Stacy Perry, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam John Keller, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Stacy Perry, Assistant
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Bird Feeders & Houses All Other Miscellaneous Manufacturing (NAICS: 339999)

Alternate Business Names
Cages By Design Cages Under 500 Dollars

Additional Locations

  • 7260 Commerce Plaza Dr

    Neenah, WI 54956 (800) 941-2243 (920) 886-1220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $4000 item from this company in 2013 for use in the future. There were a few issues with some of the parts, some of the parts got damaged most likely from shipping and I was concerned with the variation of the parts. I didn't notice these issues at the time of purchase and understood that I would need to order new replacement parts. I placed an order recently to replace these parts and they were not received in the correct or complete condition. I notified the company and I was told they would not be replaced or refunded. I asked to speak with someone over the phone to resolve the issue, but I got no response. I went ahead and returned the parts anyway while sending dozens of emails and voice mails explaining the issue and ways to resolve it. The company ended up refusing the package that I returned and continue to ignore me. I even stated that I would take the loss on this order and asked to place a new order for these parts in the correct or complete condition. I have done a great amount business with this company and have had no issues in the past ordering parts and/or complete items. This issue could have been easily resolved with a simple returned phone call and the company is very capable of offering these parts in the correct or complete condition. As of now I still don't have the replacement parts for this item and don't know where else to purchase them. I am a honest, polite person that worked very hard to afford this $4000 item and not to be able to use it is heart breaking. For a company to abandon a good customer and not offer any assistance what so ever is very ignorant.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to place a new order for these replacement parts in there correct or complete condition.

Business Response: In response to *** ******* regarding a replacement part order that he placed March 2 of 2015.  He stated that the replacement parts received were not correct or in complete condition. As per email dated March 2 of 2015 he specified the desired the "aluminum laminate panel must be square and measure at least 22.125" x 46.125" (corner to corner) . The four 33C's must measure 43.937" - 43.968" in length and the 33S must measure 44.875" - 44.906" in length." (*** *******). Please see attached sales receipt noting the desired measurements as specified above were placed on the sales receipt.  Three shop employees measured all pieces before they were shipped to make sure they were per ***'s standards.  The replacement pieces that were sent out were accurate in length.  *** had emailed ***** stating that the aluminum pieces were cut off on the ends leaving a silver edge.  The measurements that *** requested were not a standard measurement therefore needed to be cut to his exact specifications there fore needed to be cut.  *** stated he wanted us to return the product and have his pieces re-anodized at our expense.  He was told that we would not be able to re-anodize his order nor any order that is a custom sizing. We order specific lengths of aluminum that are pre-cut and anodized and are done in large batch quantities. Once a piece of aluminum is anodized we are not able to be sent out on a single piece basis to get it re-anodized, it is an expensive process to do in large quantities and to get his specific lengths anodized we would have to purchase a large batch and it was it was custom measurements that we would not be able to sell to other customers.  The desired settlement is for him to place a new order in correct or complete condition, which again was done accurately per his measurements.  His actual complaint per our email conversation is to have the product re-anodized which is not able to be done therefore we cannot and will not be able to place a new order.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There still are some misunderstanding between Adam's Specialty Products and I. First thing, I placed an order for (1) replacement aluminum laminate panel that was not correct in size. This was not the first time this has happened with the aluminum laminate panels, but I have resolved this issue myself by finding another source for the material and a company that was able to cut the panels accurately to size. I am not blaming anyone and understand if the company doesn't have the tools to cut accurately. The single 33S aluminum piece that I ordered was correct in length and anodized on both ends, therefore no issues.
Now the only issue is with the (4) 33C's, all four were unfinished on one end and only (1) was correct in length. I don't care if ten people measured the pieces, (3) of them were not within the companies tolerance of 1/32" and I have no reason to lie about this. Also, I would have never ordered the 33C's if I knew they would be unfinished on one end, simply because that is not the way they are intended to be and don't match all my other (20) pieces. Second thing, I am not ordering custom sized parts, I am simply trying to replace the parts that were either damaged or incorrect in length that came with my original purchase. I need the 33C's to be finished completely and that are the same size (within 1/32") as all my other (20) pieces so that everything lines up and fits good. Third thing, I never stated or expected the company to be responsible for anodizing/re anodizing these parts, in fact I clearly stated that I would pay for it in a letter that I wrote to the company. 
As I mentioned before, I tried to send back these 33C's and the package was refused and sent back to me. I don't even have these 33C's pieces, they were discarded since they couldn't be returned. Bottom line, I still need (4) 33C pieces that are the same length as my others and that are completely finished. Actually, I may need (6) of them, (2) of the original one's that are correct in length are bent and I'm trying to find out if there is a way to fix them myself. Here are the ways that I know of that the company can help resolve this issue,
1) Place a new order for 33C's (If they have 33C pieces that are completely finished, (don't need to be cut) and accurately measure the same length as my others) I would even send them one of mine to measure so there are no misunderstandings.
2) Place a new order for 33C's (If they are unwilling or can't guarantee the parts to be the same length as my others, I will simply order them over sized and have them cut/anodized elsewhere) 
3) At the very, very least tell me where I can purchase the 33C aluminum material and I will have it cut to size and anodized myself.
I am not trying to give anyone a hard time and only trying to get replacement 33C's that are the same size and same condition as the 20 pieces that I have. I am not even asking for a refund, I am asking for help to get these replacement parts so I can use my enclosure and will pay for them.

 

 

Business Response: *** can reorder the 33C with our standard measurements to avoid cutting the aluminum, this way the full piece of aluminum will be anodized on both ends. 

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 7 foot high outdoor cat cage inclosure from their web site to be made and delivered by our agreement. Ordered April 04,2014, through phone and web, requiring them to have rep go over the specifications. Then 6 weeks go by with no contact by this company, they send a bird cage as the cage, not the one I ordered and paid for.. Cost of our cage by specifications and selection from their web site was $3728.00,, includes shipping. We ordered the SunCatcher System as Ultimate package to be 7ft high. (This is what their web site represents.) They substituted a lesser cage and shipped it to us without our authorization. They admitted to us by phone and email the one on the website we saw was discontinued two years ago. We have pictures of the one we ordered and the one received. I am 6 foot 2 inches tall and the cage I ordered would have fit me to be in the cage. The one they sent is a Bird cage that is 6 foot. and represents there lesser price of $2,374.95 plus shipping comes to $2500. This is a difference of $1228. dollars that i should not pay for. I believe I am a victim of "Bait and Switch" by this company. When they delivered this crate it was over 500 lb crate packed and set down in front of garage. I was without use of car in garage for four days due to this large crate I could not move. I paid for help in getting this crate to side of driveway from front of garage and it is still here packed in front our home. The contact person of order and answers the phone(sometimes) is Stacy??? She repeated she would pass the information on,, after several phone calls for almost two weeks we got nowhere. An email came stating from the shop manager (no Name), that he would substitute a door or a smaller cat tree. No way will we accept this. There was never any indication or information given they were sending us a 6 foot cage not to our specifications.

Desired Settlement: We want them to refund Credit Card and have an order to pick-up of this crate from our home.

Business Response:

In response to the above complaint by Mr. *********. He indeed ordered the 7 foot high model of our outdoor enclosure from our company. Cage specifications have been changed to improve the structrual integreity and make the product an overall better product for our customers. Height of the enclosure was incorrect on our website and was updated immediately after it was brought to our attention. There is a disclosure on our website Terms of Use, that does happen occassionally.

Cages By Design did not "Bait and Switch" Mr. *********. By Definition "Bait and Switch" is an intentional method of attracting consumers to our products and the giving them an inferior product to what they ordered. Cages By Design did not nor will ever intentionally deceive a customer into buying an inferior product. In fact, the cage that Mr. ********* received is our new and improved model. Cages By Design does understand that Mr. ********* is unsatisfied witht the height difference of 7 inches in the enclosure and we did offer, as Mr. ********* mentioned, to send out a smaller cat tree so that it would fit better into the enclosure.

We are a small company, there are times where we may be on the phone with another customer and have to gather information before we contact back the customer. We understand that it is frustrating to wait for answers, but we will always do the best we can to assist our customers. In the end, we were able to come to an agreement with Mr. ********* to fully refund his enclosure and he was able to keep the cat tree.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order online and it was confirmed on October 2, 2013 by ****** from Customer Service, via email. Later that day I found I had no need for the item, so I attempted to call Customer Service and was unable to reach anyone. At the same time, I emailed ****** to Cancel my order. I continued to try and call Customer Service and ****** throughout the day of Oct 2, and failed to ever be able to reach a human being. I left several urgent messages on their voice mail requesting them to cancel my order and to confirm the cancellation with me either by phone or email. This morning Oct 3, I receive an email from ****** stating that the cage has not shipped, and she would cancel the order but also deduct a 25% restocking fee!?!? I had checked their website before purchasing this, and they do not have any Terms & Conditions posted. The only thing on their receipt is a RETURN POLICY that details items must be returned in NEW Condition within 14 days of purchase and then once received they will deduct a 25% restocking fee. This order never shipped, and it had only been about 6 hours after the order was confirmed as received, that it was cancelled.!

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund of the original price I paid for the order.

Business Response:

This customer was refunded in full for their order.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Adam's Specialty Products, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)