Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Animal Campus LLC

Phone: (414) 529-0686 Fax: (414) 427-2701 View Additional Phone Numbers 10936 W Loomis Rd, Franklin, WI 53132

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company states that they are a pet care facility specializing in dog/cat boarding, dog daycare, animal grooming and vet services/clinic. They also have onsite retail, featuring dog/cat food and toys.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Animal Campus LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Animal Campus LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 04/16/2008 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Meinerz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Meinerz, Owner
Business Category

Pet Services Veterinary Surgery Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Grooming Veterinarians Pet Sitting Services Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Training - Dog Pet Day Care Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)

Additional Locations


    10936 W Loomis Rd

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 425-5889 (414) 529-0686


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We boarded our dog July 20-26, 2013 at Animal Campus. When we picked him up, he had an eye infection and was extremely matted-so matted it constituted neglect. We fully understand he was running around with other dogs and swimming, but part of paying someone to take care of your dog in your absence is to CARE FOR IT! If this is a common occurrence at Animal Campus, which they insisted after we complained it is, then we should have received notice prior to boarding that our dog would come home so matted, he had to undergo grooming/shaving. Obviously, I would have found a boarding facility that was more caring and aware. They kept insisting I signed a waiver that allowed our dog to get dirty. DIRTY is one thing, getting so matted and contracting an eye infection are two different things. Our dog was so severely matted that three different groomers, including our veterinarian wouldn’t groom him. It was beyond their scope. We spoke with ****** explaining how disappointed we were and her solution was for us to pay to have him groomed by their groomer. We also had to see their vet within 5 days to treat his eye infection, which we had to pay $30.00 for. Our grooming bill was $60.00. I specifically voiced my concern to the groomer concerning our dog’s matts. I was worried that if they had to shave him, they would cut him. The groomer said they were very experienced. My trust level for Animal Campus was pretty low at this point, but considering the fact no other groomer would tackle the matts and our dog must’ve been extremely uncomfortable, I let Animal Campus groom him. He came home with nicks and cuts near his ear. The scabs became infected, When I called ****** to tell her what had happened, she still wouldn’t admit any wrong doing and went so far as to accuse me of dropping our dog off with matts that led to the nicks and cuts that became infected. Really?1? To summarize, we paid to have our dog cared for in our absence. We picked him up with severe matting and an eye infection. The severe matting let to a botched grooming that resulted in infected skin sores. So far, their neglect and wrongdoing has cost us an extra $90.00 beyond what we paid to board our dog. Animal Campus and it’s affiliates won’t admit to any wrongdoing. How is a matted dog, an eye infection, a skin infection, and extra costs our fault? We tried to rectify these concerns with Animal Campus with no luck. Not only has this situation been unhealthy for our dog and frustrating for us, it has been time consuming and expensive.

Desired Settlement: Had we received proper notification prior to boarding our dog at Animal Campus, that our dog would get severely matted and possibly contract an eye infection, we never would’ve have boarded him there. If this is normal business practice, which after the fact, Animal Campus insists is, then customers doing business with Animal Campus should receive prior notice. Certainly had we known that Animal Campus groomers would cut our dog while shaving him so severely that the wounds would get infected-or at least let us know about the cuts so we could’ve monitored the situation, we would never have let Animal Campus groom our dog. We would like a total refund of $307.00.

Business Response: Sorry for the late response to this compliant. Mrs ****** has talked with myself, ******** *******, ************ and ******* at our facility. I feel her use of words to describe the condition of her dog is extreme. We talk to all of our customers about the use of our play yard that has a pond for the dogs to play in. We do have owners sign a contract for the use of that play yard. The boarding manager has spent much time talking with Mrs. ****** and being present at the vet appointment as well as overseeing the grooming. I am sorry Mrs ****** feels a financial settlement is warranted.  We towel dry each dog that plays in the pond after every play time, we do not brush each dog every night.  ***** *******, Animal Campus

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


********* ******



Animal Campus didn’t address my complaint in their response.  There was no explanation as to why my dog was so matted that three other groomers, including our veterinarian wouldn’t tackle his matts.  That is extreme matting!  Also, there was no response concerning my dog catching an eye infection at their facility (sticking me with the medicine cost) and getting cut behind his ear by the groomer-again, sticking me with the additional $57.00 cost.  

When I spoke to ***** on the phone, her response was, “if your child came home from school with head lice would you blame the school?”  If I was paying a babysitter and I came home to my child’s hair tangled to the point her head had to be shaved AND an eye infection, and a cut where the babysitter shaved her head; yes, I would blame the babysitter.  I was paying someone to take care of my dog in my absence and Animal Campus failed to follow through with this service.  

Business Response: The BBB of Wisconsin, Regarding Compliant #*******

I don't know how to respond any different than what Mrs ****** has been told by the manager at boarding and the Doctor at the Vet Clinic.
As far as the matting of **, while he was boarding with us, we were given permission by the ******s for ** to use the "Big yard" ** was in the pond, rolled in the grass and dirt and ran in the woods with the other dogs. Being a longer haired dog this could cause matting. ** was dryed after each play time outside. There was no appointment made by the owners to groom **.
Regarding **'s eye infection. ** ****** saw ** who had Conjunctivites. Which can be cause by any exposure to foreign material to the eye. Which would include and not limited to, grass, dirt, pond water (lake, puddles,water of any kind), allergies, other dogs slobber(while mouthing or playing), twigs, leaves, etc. ** played  and had a good time and was exposed to nature. Animal Campus paid for the office visit ($45.00) and the ** ****'s paid the perscription ($28.75). If it would help to send the waiver that is signed by all clients, including the ** ****s let me know.  ***** *******/Animal Campus

Consumer Response:

I stand by my original complaint.  I paid to have my dog taken care of in my absence.  I came back to an extremely matted dog----not just dirty from grass, mud, pond water, etc.  My dog was so matted that three groomers, including a veterinarian wouldn’t tackle the matts.  Animal Campus can call it “exposing my dog to nature, playing with other dogs, etc.”  When you’re paying someone to care for your dog, you expect it to be cared for.  

Animal Campus claimed I didn’t make an appointment with the groomer?  Like this was a service included with the boarding?  It’s $57.00 extra.  We took him to our groomer after we picked him up.  Unfortunately Animal Campus let him get so matted that no other groomer was capable of handling the severe matts.  We paid $57.00 to have ** groomed by Animal Campus and the groomer proceeded to cut the skin behind his ear which led to an infection that we had to treat on our own.  

To summarize, I paid to have my dog taken care of.  I came back to a dog that was severely matted and had an eye infection. Animal Campus groomed my dog and cut him, which led to a skin infection.  If Animal Campus is a “one stop pet care facility” as advertised on their website, then I object to the way they take care of animals.  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


********* ******