Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Spa Paw & Tail, LLC

Phone: (262) 784-7297 Fax: (262) 784-7298 5055 S Emmer Dr, New Berlin, WI 53151 http://www.spapawandtail.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers cage-free boarding accommodations for dogs and cats. The facility includes an indoor doggy park, climate controlled environment, bedding, private suites,  music, movie lounge, massage, full menu of grooming and spa treatments and belly rubs. Customers can order room service of a frosty paw treat before bed time.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Spa Paw & Tail, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spa Paw & Tail, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 2010 Business started: 11/12/2008 in WI Business started locally: 10/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/12/2008 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Nina M. Race, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nina M. Race, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Grooming Pet Sitting Services Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Day Care Pet Kenneling Services Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Products & Services

Spa Paw & Tail, LLC sells the following brand(s): American Natural Premium, Fromm, Isle of Dogs

Spa Paw & Tail, LLC offers the following product(s): Dog Food, Dog Treats, Salon Products

Service Area
Southeastern Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Spa Paw and Tail Premier Pet Resort and Daycamp

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5055 S Emmer Dr

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 784-7297

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our dog, ****, stay for 6 nights at Spa Paw & Tail starting on July 14, 2014 and ending on July 20, 2014. Our dog has diabetes so he gets shots twice per day and stays in the Senior Lounge. We had our dog at Spa Paw & Tail in March of 2013 for the same length of time with the same requirements for our dog. When we called to find out the cost for our upcoming vacation, we were told the cost would be the same as last time - $37 per night. They charged our credit card for $37 to hold his place. When we dropped **** off on July 14, we paid the $37 per night fee of ($233.32 - $37.00 already paid = $196.32. When we were on vacation in another state and our dog was at Spa Paw & Tail, we received a call from someone at Spa Paw & Tail. The person said that since **** was in the Senior Lounge (the Senior Lounge is where the staff don't do anything with the dog all day) he was considered "special needs" and therefore the charge would be $49 per night. (**** needs to have the same amount of activity every day in order to control his diabetes so he cannot be part of "play time". It worked great last March.) My husband explained to the person on the phone that when he called to make reservations the person on the phone said it would be the same charge as last March ($37 per night). When we dropped our dog off, we paid the $37 per night fee remaining balance of $196.32. Now that we are in another state they are telling us that we have to pay $49 per night. The person on the phone said she would talk to the person that scheduled the reservation and get back to us. She said it was important to get this straightened out before we pick up our dog on Sunday morning so that the person at the front desk is not caught in a jam. We did not receive any other phone calls while on vacation so we assumed that all was good with the $37 per night. When we went to pick up **** on the morning of July 20, the person at the front desk said that we cannot take our dog unless we pay the additional fee of $101.95. Since it was a Sunday morning, we were not able to talk to anyone else. We asked them to have *** *****, ****, call us on Monday, July 21 to discuss the situation. We told the front desk person that we read the policies online and it says that giving medication is included in the $37 fee. She said that there was a change to their policy and since our dog stayed in the Senior Lounge instead of doing play time that he was then considered "Special Needs". I explained that sitting in the Senior Lounge means they don't have to do anything with him all day except his feeding and shot in the morning and evening. She said that any dogs in the Senior Lounge that do not do play time are not charged at the $49 per rate. It was not right that we were told one thing and then when our dog was there and we were in another state we were told the charges would be higher and then be told that we could not take our dog home unless we paid the higher rate. Honest business people do not do business this way. We should not have been charged the additional $101.95. We should pay what we were quoted when we made the reservation and paid when we dropped off the dog (a total of $233.32). We received a call from *** ***** on Tuesday, July 22. She said she was on vacation and would not be able to work on this problem until Monday, July 28. It is now Wednesday, July 30 and we have not heard from *** *****. We have put a dispute on the 101.95 charge on our credit card.

Desired Settlement: Spa Paw & Tail should remove the $101.95 charge from our credit card.

Business Response: I spoke to this client many times during this situation. Even though he spoke personally to my associate to approved this program for his pet- he returned from vacation and decided that he did not approve it any longer. This client is asking me to place his pet in a room for a week and leave him there. I will not do business that way. That is not a proper way to care for a pet. He was notified right away about this and the additional charges. Now I am being threatened with online complaints to refund this difference even though this elderly diabetic pet received the absolute best care that he could have received. I think it's very unfortunate that someone can put a public complaint online about a company when

The company did everything in their power to give great service to their pet. I have agreed to resolve this amount of 76.00 to this client to just draw a truce but honestly my company did what they were
Supposed to do with love and compassion. It's a shame that a pet parent would argue to keep
Their pet in a room
For a week without a bathroom break. That is just awful.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

We knew our dog would need to go to the bathroom a few times a day and they would take him to their "potty" location and then back to the Senior Lounge.  That is the way it worked last March.

The issue is with the amount charged not with the potty breaks or care.  We were told we would pay $37 per night - put $37 down to hold our "reservation".  When we dropped off our pet, we paid the rest of the stay at $37 per night.  Then, when we were in another state we received the call that they made a mistake and it should be $49 per night.  I did not agree to it at that time and the person was supposed to talk to someone and call us back.  We never received a call back.  When we went to pick up our dog they would not release the dog until we paid $101.95.  We paid the money to get our dog. 

I have spoken to *** ***** several times and she said she was going to refund us the $101.95.  However, it has not shown up on our credit card yet.  Once we see the credit of $101.95, we will close this case.

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

Business Response: What this client failed to say on the BBB website is:

He did receive a refund the VERY day I spoke to him. He then called me back within 2 minutes to tell me that he gave me the WRONG credit card number. He had in fact given me his corporate card. Well to show how quickly I refunded his money- the refund was already posted to the WRONG card. This was not my fault or any fault of my business. I called the credit card processing company to notify them of the CLIENTS error. They stated that it would be 3 business days until error could be reversed. I called this client immediately and told him this. He apologized an said that was fine. Today I am able to do his CORRECT refund so the fact that he is still complaining should honestly show the public that some people abuse public websites. I hardly think anyone reading this would find my business at fault in any part of this situation. I  sorry the BBB has had to waste time in this response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Spa Paw & Tail, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)