BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they offer sales, rental and repair of musical instruments, sound systems and supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Laabs Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Laabs Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Jim Laabs Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 11, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1958 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1958
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James E. Laabs, Owner Mr. Jeff M. Garsomke, Manager Mr. Troy P. Laabs, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James E. Laabs, Owner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories Music - Sheet Sound Systems & Equipment Music Instruction - Instrumental Musical Instrument and Supplies Stores (NAICS: 451140)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Depends upon product and circumstance.
Alternate Business Names
Jim Laabs Music Super Store

Additional Locations

  • 1045 Main St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481 (715) 341-1666 (800) 657-5125

  • 835 W Johnson St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 (800) 733-9791

  • PO Box 81

    Stevens Point, WI 54481

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 657-5125(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wed, Feb 26, 2014 at 4:18 PM, I contacted Mr. *** Laabs owner of *** Laabs Pianos ******************* at **** **** ** ******* ***** ** ***** regarding the purchase of a piano. As a result he emailed me the following message ***** - Attached please find the order for a Schiller 5'7" Grand Piano and bench in ebony polish with the Piano Disc iPad system installed. Also attached find wire information for sending payment for the piano and player. *****, your business is much appreciated and I thank you. Any questions please call me at ###-###-#### or on my cell phone at ###-###-####.Thanks again, *** The amount of the wire transfer I have send him is: US dollars $ 10,479.00 as per Invoice ***** . Then a few days later over the phone Mr *** ***** acknowledged having properly received ( I have copies of the wire transfer)The price included (as per the invoice) $ 369 for the freight to Miami.Since that date FEBRUARY 26, I have no written or phone information about the Piano purchased.Please HELPPPPPPPPPPP Thanks ***** ********* Product_Or_Service: Piano Order_Number: ***** Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please contact this business and either deliver the goods sold or return the funds received

Business Response: Company states that they have been speaking with the consumer and contacted the consumer after receiving the information.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday February 24th I ordered a tenor saxophone mouthpiece priced at $139.00. The next day Tuesday February 25th, I received a phone call from Jim Laabs Music saying that they can't sell me that mouthpiece at that price. I quote from the salesperson "the price increase which we didn't know about price will be $156.00." He asked do you still want it. I said fine, just ship it to me. After the phone call, I was upset. You advertise a price and change it. Plus that $139.00 price is still on your website for that tenor saxophone mouthpiece. That is unacceptable and false information. Later on Tuesday, I received an email saying transaction was successful priced at $139.00 with no shipping and no tax. Then I checked my credit card statement and I was charged $161.00.

Desired Settlement: They should Honor the price at $139; however, I would like to refund my money. I thought I would give them a chance, but with two strikes

Consumer Response: On Sun, Mar 9, 2014 at 9:54 PM, ***** ******** ******************************** wrote:

*******,
 
This complaint was resolved. I was refunded the full amount from the company on Friday March 7th. You may close the complaint. 
 
Thank you,
***** ******** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've now ordered almost $3000 of merchandise from Jim Laabs Music, over the span of 2 transactions. The first transaction was for a used euphonium in excellent condition on their webiste. I placed my order and received a call later that week that the item was "no longer available." They then offered me a brand new one at a discounted rate - about $70 (approximately 15% above my original order price) above what I would have paid for the used one. I didn't file a complaint because I was happy with the product. Unfortunately, this seems to be a regular business practice for Jim Laabs. I placed a second order, this time for a new tuba, which was in stock - their used tubas looked to be of poor quality, so I didn't want to risk it. With the new tuba, I ordered a music stand and a mouthpiece. As with the last order, I received a call stating that the music stand was "no longer available," that the manufacturer discontinued it, yet it was still advertised on their site. I was once again offered a higher priced stand at a "discount" of about $20 above my original intended purchase, an increase of 50%. In addition the stand was not of the type I had requested - I had explained that I needed a fully-collapsable rehearsal stand, they sent a conductor's stand with legs that fold in, not what is understood in the industry as fully-collapsable. It was cheaper for me to purchase a new stand than to ship the one sold to me by Laabs back to them. They made no offer to take care of shipping or take the product back. The mouthpiece was not in stock either and didn't ship for almost 2 full weeks, despite their sales staff telling me that it was there and they were shipping it after the first 5 days.

Desired Settlement: Jim Laabs needs to check its inventory and update their website. They need to stop these bait and switch tactics and refund my money for the music stand. I'll be glad to ship it back to them if they pay for shipping.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 9:34 AM, ******** ***** ************************* wrote:

The company contacted me Monday and the issue was resolved yesterday. Please close the complaint as resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a melodica (musical instrument) by Jim Laabs Music. It had some defects and I wanted to have them repaired. **** ***** at that business dealt with me in an unprofessional manner, not offering to repair the instrument and said "how much of this do I have to put up with to make $10?" His further actions were set to belittle me, like giggling about my seriousness about this product.

Desired Settlement: fix the defective unit at no cost to me for shipping or repair.

Consumer Response: On Mon, Sep 16, 2013 at 12:33 PM, ***** ********************* wrote:

Hello, please close the complaint as the issue is resolved.   The business made a bargain with me on another instrument that closed the deal.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early July of 2012, I purchase an new accordion from Jim Laabs Music, an instrument I had seen on their web-site. Price: $2,969.76. Unfortunately, the accordion proved unsatisfactory, as it was too big and heavy for me to play as a senior, and the tone was somehow 'off' as well. When I called Jim Laabs to express my dissatifaction with the instrument, I was told that the store's policy was Exchange but No Refund. (Please note that this policy is nowhere to be found on their web-site.) I was told, then, that they were waiting on a shipment of 'hand-made' accordions from Italy, in approximately the same price range, and decided to wait until one arrived. I was also told that I would be contacted when the new instrument arrived, but even after one of them - red in color - appeared on their website, I received no call, and had to get in touch with them repeatedly to find out what was going on. The red accordion retails for $2992., and I was told that the black version of the same intrument would be 'a few hundred dollars less'. We were now into month FIVE without a resolution. It was January 2, 2013, when ****, one of the reps there, called to say that yes, the new instrument was 'in store', a black accordion, that to my eye looks identical to the red one. At this point I was told that the black version actually cost a few hundred dollars MORE, and that it was 'different from the red'. with no explanation as to how. Understandably, I was feeling somewhat desperate at this point, and in a bid to have the whole transaction settled and done, agreed to purchase the instrument. I was not given full credit for the first returned accordion, and with the suddenly 'inflated' price of the second, the new charge was roughly an extra $400. (Note: the credit card amount is $508., which refects the addition of several other items to the order in the amount of approx. $100. On receipt of the new accordion, and after playing it for under one hour, one of the keys began to stick down (and, therefore contnued adding an unwanted note as I was playing) - clearly a manufacturers defect 'out of the box'. I make part of my living playing accordion, and a defective instrument is of no use to me. Naturally, I assumed that the EXCHANGE ONLY policy (which, again, is nowhere to be found on the store's web-site) was still if effect, esp. as the accordion had a defect. And, now, having just got of the phone with Jim Laabs music (2:30 EST, Jan. 28, 2013.), it appears that the store policy has changed - NO EXCHANGE this time, but an offer to repair. I do not want a 'repaired' instrument, because who is to say that another key and then another will begin to stick, and then I'll be 'stuck' with an unplayable instrument. After all this time, and expense - and after all these calls - I feel entitled to a full store credit so that I can purchase a replacement instrument of my choosing.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would like a refund or credit card credit for the difference between the first accordion and the defective second one, since I see no reason why I should pay for an instrument that does not work properly. **** at Jim Laabs tells me that's 'not going to happen'. If possible , I would like the BBB to work towards that outcome, and then I will start again with the original credit of roughly $2750.. Failling that, I feel justified in asking for a STORE CREDIT in the amount of $3,388., which is how much I have spent to date at Jim Laabs Music, with nothing to show for it. I would like a STATEMENT of this credit sent to me by mail, or in some written or printable form. Further, I would like this credit to be applied to whatever merchandise I choose to buy from Jim Laabs Music store within an agreed upon period of time, say 60 days. (I understand there may be a $40. shiiping cost deducted from that amount.) In addition to the faulty instrument, I find that Jim Laabs Music did not communicate with me in a timely fashion, quoted prices that turned out to be inaccurate, were pushy and somewhat aggressive on the phone. It appears they waited until the situation was becoming protracted and untenable - that 'desparation' factor mentioned above - and then used the situation to artificially and capriciously inflate the price. I am a senior on a fixed income, who supplements that income by playing the occasional local 'gig'. I do NOT want this 'new' repaired accordion, that is liable to malfunctioin again. Instead, I would like to start form square one with the store, with a credit to be applied towards a new instrument and possibly other merchandise. Thank you very much for whatever help the BBB can offer. I am a reasonable person and this is the first time I have found myself in such a situation. Sincerely, ******* ****

Consumer Response: On Wed, Jan 30, 2013 at 7:36 AM, ******* at *********** **************************> wrote:

Mr. **********,
 
My sense is that the matter has been resolved, and that the file can be closed at this time.  If the business prove less than true to their agreement, I might have to re-open this, but I hope not.
 
Thanks very much,
 
******* ****  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT AND PAID FOR A ******** *** OF C ****** ******* FROM LAABS FOR $369 THIS SPRING. THEY SENT ME A Bb ****** *******. I SENT IT BACK. THEY SENT ME THE C ******* A FEW WEEKS LATER. IT ARRIVED WITH A HACK SAWED OFF MOUTHPIECE. RED FLAG! THEY THEN MADE ME PAY FOR ANOTHER USED MOUTHOIECE FOR $5.00. CHEAPSTERS! ANOTHER RED FLAG!!!! SUBSEQUENTLY I TRIED PLAYING THE HORN IN A JAM SESSION WITH STRING INSTRUMENTS. IT PLAYED HORRIBLY FLAT IN THE BEY OF B. THEN I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS HORN. THE BELL WAS STAMPED SCHILLER FRANKFURT GERMANY. BUT I FOUND IT WAS MADE IN SHANGHAI, CHINA. FRAUD!!! A JUNK HORN!!!!! I CALLED LAABS ABOUT THESE ISSUES REQUESTING A RETURN REFUND. THEY SAID NO. I PERSISTED. THEY HUNG UP. THEN CALLED BACK ONE MINUTE LATER. SAYING OK RETURN THE HORN AT MY EXPENSE AND WE'LL MAKE IT RIGHT. AFTER NO WORD FOR 3 WEEKS, I CALLED LAABS THIS AM, ASKING ABOUT STATUS. THEY CLAIM IT PLAYS IN C BUT WERE HAVING A TECHNICIAN CHECK IT. ANOTHER RED FLAG!!!! IF IT PLAYS IN C WHY HAVE A TECHNICIAN CHECK IT? IN OTHER WORDS THEY HAVN'T DONE A THING TO MAKE IT RIGHT. I WAS WILLING TO SELL IT BACK TO THEM FOR A REDUCED PRICE. THEY SAID NO AND HUNG UP. AGAIN GOT ANOTHER CALL BACK FROM THEM IN A MINUTE SAYING WHEN IT COMES BACK FROM THE TECHNICIAN - SOMETIME - THEY RECHECK KEY AND RETURN IT. WHO WANTS A JUNK HORN BACK RETURNED THAT PLAYS IN B ??????I WANT MY $369 BACK. WOULDN'T YOU? ****.

Desired Settlement: LAABS RETURN $369 TO MY ****** ACCOUNT AND KEEP THE B TRUMPET.

Business Response: Dear ********,
The customer is correct, as initially, we sent the incorrect pocket trumpet. We then immediately responded by sending the trumpet in the correct key. After that, we had not heard from the consumer for about three months. At that time he stated that the horn was not playing in tune. We checked the intonation at our store and found that the trumpet did play in tune. To check further, we now had the horn checked at our repair shop. The repair man is a trumpet player. He checked the instrument and found it does play in tune. 
Unfortunately, when the customer sent the correct trumpet back it came back with a dent in the slide. We are currently removing that dent at the repair shop, at our expense, to accommodate the customer.
In view of the length of time that the customer has had the correct trumpet, and in view of the dent in the trumpet, we cannot refund the customer’s money, but would be willing to issue a store credit. We suggest that the store credit could be used against a regular C trumpet, which would be much more usable in various musical styles.
Sincerely,
*** *****
JIM LAABS MUSIC


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I KNOW WHEN C ******** ARE IN TUNE. I'VE PLAYED ONE EVERY SUNDAY FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS. THE SUBJECT HORN PLAYS IN B. NOT C AS IT WAS SOLD.   I KNOW IT AND MY ELECTRONIC TUNER KNOWS IT. IT PLAYS IN B. THE FACT THAT I HAD THE HORN 3 MONTHS BEFORE TRYING TO PLAY IT PUBLICLY HAS NO RELEVANCE. ******** DO NOT CHANGE KEYS STORED IN THE CLOSET. THE FACT THAT IT WAS RECEIVED FROM JIM LAABS MUSIC WITH A SAWED OFF MOUTHPIECE SUGGESTS THAT SOMEONE KNEW IT WAS NOT RIGHT AND THOUGHT THAT A REDUCED LENGTH MOUTHPIECE WOULD HELP. IT DIDN'T. JIM LAABS KNOWS THESE ARE JUNK HORNS WITH NO VALUE. I'VE NOTICED THEY NO LONGER TRY TO MARKET THEM.

 THEY ALSO MENTION A DENT WAS FOUND IN A SLIDE WHEN IT WAS RETURNED TO THEM. THERE WAS NO DENT ANYWHERE ON THE HORN WHEN I RETURN MAILED IT WITH INSURANCE. IF THERE WAS A DENT IT HAPPENED IN TRANSIT OR IN THEIR RECEIVING DEPTARTMENT. IF IT HAPPENED IN TRANSIT, WHY DID THEY NOT CHECK WITH ME ABOUT THE INSURANCE COVERAGE?

JIM LAABS PROMISED TO MAKE THE PURCHASE RIGHT. UNLESS THEY CAN PERFORM A MIRACLE OF CORRECTING THE IMPROPER TUBING LENGTH, HE'LL BE RESENDING ME A JUNK HORN THAT STILL PLAYS IN B. HE OFFERED STORE CREDIT AS OPPOSED TO A REFUND AND SUGGESTED I CONSIDER A REGULAR C TRUMPET AS OPPOSSED TO THIS POCKET TRUMPET.  I DON'T NEED ANOTHER REGULAR C *******. I WANT A C ****** ******* THAT PLAYS  IN C. THAT'S WHAT I PAYED FOR.

IF THIS COMMON SENSE REQUEST CANNOT BE FILLED, THEN ONLY A $369 REFUND WILL SATISFY THIS DISGUSTED CUSTOMER.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

 

Business Response: RE: ID ******* : **** ******
Dear Ms. ********:

In regards to the above described case, Mr. ****** has taken upon himself to stop payment on the funds he gave us to pay for the trumpet, although this is totally against our return policy. Especially in view of the fact that he had this instrument for over four months, and then returned it damaged.

We have the damaged horn. He has his money, and we are going to consider this matter closed.
Sincerely,
*** *****
JIM LAABS MUSIC


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a accordion on Feb. 14 2012 and had $ 1809.00 dollars deducted from my account. After 4 calls and 3 promises of delivery I have not received the accordion as of may 12 2012 I requested my $1809.00 be returned but said it was a special order. The day I ordered the accordion it was to be delivered in 9 to 14 days. I have never had such bad customer relations as I had with Jim Laabs.I do want my money refunded and I appreciate any help you can offer. ******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: This is my worst shopping experience ever since we have lived in this country for about 12 years. The store (*** Laabs Music) has an advertisement of at least 2 products that are not available although still available on their website. The sales person (*** or **** ?), who seems to be the one in charge of piano sales in their ******* **** ** location, is extremely rude in attitude for customer inquiries. I called on Aril. 6 to ask about the 2 pianos listed on their website but I was told those are not available. However those are available on their website and you can even add the pianos to the shopping cart to check out. Below are the websites showing the products still available. ******************************************************************************************************************************************* ****************************************************************************************************************************** I had questions about this and was not sure why their website even lists items which are not available. I called on April.7 to ask about this. The guy, who does not even have the patience to listen till the end of my first sentence, started shouting and yelling at me in an extremely rude manner. He said that I have asked the same questions many times and that is why I deserve his shouting at customers. In the whole conversation I tried to control my temper although I felt extremely insulted by what he has done. I told him over the phone he is so rude and he ,again, right away shouted at me with about 5 times of my volume saying that it is I, a customer who is rude by asking him some questions instead of him, a sales person being rude by shouting at a customer who just ask questions. He even laughed at my accent with obvious race discrimination. At the very end, he hung up the phone. In respond to his statement that I asked the same questions again and again, I have listed the times of calls and each inquiry I made during each call. (1) My first call was on 1:37 p.m. April, 6 2012. I asked about whom is the person I can speak with and was told that somebody will call back soon. (2) I received the call from him on 2:21 p.m. In this call, I was told those pianos I have seen from their website are not available. He said that they may have others coming (Petrof 118 pianos) and promised that he will send me some information via email or phone. This call was interrupted for unknown reasons and I had to call them back 8 minutes later (my second call to them) to continue the conversation. (3) At 4:32 p.m., I made my third call on that day because I am not sure which Petrof *** model (*** ***** or ** ?) that will be available soon. He promised that he will get the information from the manufacturer. (4) At 11:35 a.m. on April.7 2012, I called them simply want to know why those unavailable pianos are still up in their website for sale. What happened next are his shouting, yelling, and insulting words for 2 minutes and I was not even able to finish my first sentence. To whom who is reading this complaint, could you please tell me did I ask the same question each time? Even though customers have asked the question twice, should the customers deserve all of the aforementioned shouting, yelling, and insults? If I were the sales person, I will reminder the customer in a politely manner that the questions have been answered already. The bottom line is you, as a professional business man, should never lose your temper to your customers. In the United States we have a saying, "The customer is always right", right? In short, I have complaints about this store (*** Laabs Music) for the following reasons. (a) An advertisement of products that are not available (b) Extremely rudeness to customers (c) Race discrimination I, as a customer, deserve a sincere apology!

Desired Settlement: Formal apology in a written format

Business Response: We would like to address the issues that the customer had with our sales representatives.

1) In regards to the pianos being listed on our website but not available at our store:  

We sell an enormous volume of pianos and other instruments.  Because of the huge amount of transactions we do not always have in-stock what is listed on our website.  If a product is for sale on our website but out of stock we will do our best to get the product as quickly as possible for our customers at the lowest price possible.

2) In regards to the customer feeling he was being "shouted" at:

Our sales representative was speaking on the phone as we have to sometimes when you work in a music store.  That is to say, our store is a very loud environment where in-store customers are trying out any number of pianos, sound systems, drums, keyboards, guitars and so on.  This causes us to have to raise the volume of our voice on the telephone so the customer can hear us.  If this was perceived as rudeness or shouting directed at him personally we apologize for that confusion.

3) Regarding "race discrimination:"

We do not discriminate against our customers.  In fact the majority of our customers come from across the United States and throughout the world and represent a cross section of many races and ethnic backgrounds.  

We encourage this customer to contact us again and ask to speak with Mr. *** *****.  We would love to be able to help this gentleman find the piano he wants for the price he can afford.  We are available six days a week at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response:

(1) The items have been listed on the website for weeks.  I was told by that sales man they were sold at least 2 weeks ago that the time I called on Apr. 6.  For any on-line shopping business, it is not acceptable for you list some items with attractive prices which were not available 2 weeks ago. I understand there are some delay, say 1 or 2 business days for you to update your online system.  Please check any other online shopping places.  Can you imagine a 2-week delay (or longer) for your inventory system? As a customer, it sounds like you are playing games by putting some attractive items on line but would never sell those products.

(2) The is the most unacceptable excuse.  I can definitely tell the difference between "speaking loudly" vs. "shouting".  The emotion, anger, and all other bad things mixed up an, ultimately bad & rude attitude from that sales man. It was not just the volume raised.  I have stated in my original complaint of what happened to my on that day and therefore i will not repeat.

(3) Again, his insulting words at my accent when I speak English is absolutely rude and unacceptable. 

In fact, I want to "thank" for that sales man for what he has done because he save me from future headaches.  Looking at the bad reviews from various resources, I feel so lucky this happened before any purchase.  In particular, many people have mentioned the sale person's bad attitude & rudeness.  I did not know why the reviews are so bad at first but now I understand why.

I only accept sincere apology in a formal written format.




 

 

    



Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

** ***

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/24/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues