Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jim Laabs Music

Additional Locations

Phone: (715) 341-1666 Fax: (715) 341-1800 View Additional Phone Numbers 1045 Main St, Stevens Point, WI 54481

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company states that they offer sales, rental and repair of musical instruments, sound systems and supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Laabs Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Jim Laabs Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1958 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1958
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James E. Laabs, Owner Mr. Jeff M. Garsomke, Manager Mr. Troy P. Laabs, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James E. Laabs, Owner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories Music - Sheet Sound Systems & Equipment Music Instruction - Instrumental Musical Instrument and Supplies Stores (NAICS: 451140)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Depends upon product and circumstance.
Alternate Business Names
Jim Laabs Music Super Store

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jim Laabs Music has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1045 Main St

    Stevens Point, WI 54481 (715) 341-1666 (800) 657-5125

  • PO Box 81

    Stevens Point, WI 54481


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2015 I ordered an accordion valued at apprx 1,700 dollars. At the time of purchase i was told the accordion was not in stock and was going to be shipped in from Italy 2 weeks later from the order date. In order to make the purchase order a deposit of $200.00 USD was needed. I agreed to make deposit and wait 2 weeks for my accordion. Since September 2015 i have called at least twice a month to ask about the accordion and have been informed each time i call that they should be recieving the accordion in 2 weeks. At this point i no longer need the accordion as i already bought one and i am requesting my deposit back of $200.00 USD. Jim Laabs keeps informing me they will not return the deposit, although i never recieved or was given a policy that states where deposits are not refunded. I have been lied to every month and believe Jim Laabs just wanted quick cash and persuaded me to leave the deposit having no clue when the accordion would be in stock. I currently know over 4 people having the exact same issue. We were never told in the beginning the accordion would take 6+ months to be in stock. If that were the case i would have never proceeded to buy an accordion.

Business Response: We have refunded the customer the $200.  We have been given notice from our broker that his accordion will be here either March 23rd or 24th and we will contact him to see if you would like to reorder at that time.  A PDF copy of his receipt is attached to this response.

9/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 31st I placed an order with Pay pal invoice number 2452 for the amount of $1,385 USD for a KURZWEIL MP20 EBONY POLISH FATAR ACTION Digital Piano + $190 USD of shipping to this address: ******* ********** **** *** ***** *** *** *** ******* *** ********* *** *** **** For a total amount of $1,575 USD. They promised to ship within 12-16 days of purchase. It has been more than a month and I cannot get the business to ship the Piano to me. As I have repeatedly emailed and talked to the business, I need the item shipped as soon as possible, and they just keep delaying it.

Desired Settlement: I want them to ship the Piano. I live in Mexico and I already told the store I need to pick it up on Sept 15th at the ship to address in Laredo Tx.

Business Response: The customer, a citizen of Mexico, is asking us to ship the piano for pickup to Texas so he can drive it over the boarder.  We had agreed to do so and had spoken with the customer multiple times agreeing to do so.  We have given the customer options for his delivery and we encourage him to call us at ###-###-#### to confirm the delivery date and time if he has any questions.  We encourage the customer to also be patient and know that we will follow through on the deal we made with him.

Business Response: We will deliver the keyboard on September 11, 2015.  We will call you with the time of delivery on that date when we are closer to the date of delivery.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Thank you!


****** **********

4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an accordion online. It was grossly misrepresented as having german reeds and 4 sets in the bass section. The accordion states on the face "Reeds Italy" and there is only 3 sets in the bass section. This aside, the accordion did NOT function, directly out of the box. Many of the oboe reeds did NOT work during the push operation of the bellows. I called them within hours of receipt of the product. They refused refund on a BRAND NEW product and offered only repair. Why would I want, or need, a brand new product repaired? I offered to even pay the return shipping. The return of this product will not cost them a dime yet they refuse to do the right and proper thing and accept the return.

Desired Settlement: Even though the credit card company has "temporarily" reversed the charges so I don't have to pay interest on it, Jim Laabs can resubmit the charge within 45 days.

Business Response: We have spoken with ****** over the phone and he has agreed to return the accordion.  When the accordion has arrived we will issue a refund. 

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cello for my daughter in December for $989.00 In mid February, six weeks after giving the cello to my daughter the cello began falling apart. I contacted **** at Jim Labbs and he advised me to have a repair shop in Virginia where I live look at the cello. I had two different repair shops look at the cello. They advised the cello was poorly constructed and can not be repaired. I again contacted Jim Laabs and also Vienna Strings, the same company and they requested I email them pictures of the damaged cello. I did so and they told me to ship the cello to them and they would send a replacement. I sent the cello using Fed Ex for $175.99. **** from Jim Laabs contacted yesterday and advised the neck of the cello was now damaged and it could not be repaired, and they will not send me a replacement. I already had two experts look at the cello prior to shipping who advised the cello could not be repaired. So now I am out $989.00 and $175.00 for the shipping. I am requesting either reimbursement of my money,or that a replacement cello be shipped to me like they promised. I requested they send me photos of the additional damage to the cello and they have refused. Also keep in mind I had two experts look at the cello who advised it was poorly constructed and defective, so an additional damage suffered in shipping does not change the fact that it is a defective instrument. Also all of Jim Laabs and Vienna Strings advertisements make it appear the cellos are made in Austria, not in China. They even brag that the cello would have the signiture of an Austrian cello maker inside the instrument. This is very misleading.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting to be refunded my expenses of $989.00 for the cello and $175.00 for having to ship the defective cello back to Jim Laabs, or they can do as they said they would and send me a replacement cello.

Business Response: We are currently working with this customer to resolve the complaint.

Since receiving the complaint we have found that when the instrument was returned to us it was not shipped with insurance.  The instrument was also not packed for shipping by the customer.  Customer is currently working with packing store to look for reimbursement because of poor packing job by the packing store that led to the cello being received by us with a broken neck.

We will update the complaint again when additional progress with the customer is made.

Jim Laabs Music

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The store is refusing to replace the cello or compensate me for the cost of the defective cello.  They are instead trying to get the shipping company to pay for the cello. This is unacceptable because the cello was already damaged beyond repair when I sent it to them.  To claim against the shipping company would be committing a fraud.  I would like the music store to compensate me for the cost of the defective cello, $989.00.


**** ********



Business Response:

Mr. ******** and Jim Laabs Music was able to come to an agreement on a replacement cello.  Jim Laabs Music charged Mr. ******** $269 for a new cello, shipped by FedEx (tracking ***************).  The broken cello sent by Mr. ******** to Jim Laabs Music will be kept by Jim Laabs Music.  This was found to be satisfactory by both parties.  Jim Laabs Music has emailed Mr. ******** all necessary receipts and tracking information on 3-11-15 and has asked Mr. ******** to update the Wisconsin BBB Complaint with his comments as well.



Thank you for adding this for us.




***** ******* ********* * ******** ******* *** ***** ***** ************ ***********************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



**** ********




4/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wed, Feb 26, 2014 at 4:18 PM, I contacted Mr. *** Laabs owner of *** Laabs Pianos ******************* at **** **** ** ******* ***** ** ***** regarding the purchase of a piano. As a result he emailed me the following message ***** - Attached please find the order for a Schiller 5'7" Grand Piano and bench in ebony polish with the Piano Disc iPad system installed. Also attached find wire information for sending payment for the piano and player. *****, your business is much appreciated and I thank you. Any questions please call me at ###-###-#### or on my cell phone at ###-###-####.Thanks again, *** The amount of the wire transfer I have send him is: US dollars $ 10,479.00 as per Invoice ***** . Then a few days later over the phone Mr *** ***** acknowledged having properly received ( I have copies of the wire transfer)The price included (as per the invoice) $ 369 for the freight to Miami.Since that date FEBRUARY 26, I have no written or phone information about the Piano purchased.Please HELPPPPPPPPPPP Thanks ***** ********* Product_Or_Service: Piano Order_Number: ***** Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please contact this business and either deliver the goods sold or return the funds received

Business Response: Company states that they have been speaking with the consumer and contacted the consumer after receiving the information.

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday February 24th I ordered a tenor saxophone mouthpiece priced at $139.00. The next day Tuesday February 25th, I received a phone call from Jim Laabs Music saying that they can't sell me that mouthpiece at that price. I quote from the salesperson "the price increase which we didn't know about price will be $156.00." He asked do you still want it. I said fine, just ship it to me. After the phone call, I was upset. You advertise a price and change it. Plus that $139.00 price is still on your website for that tenor saxophone mouthpiece. That is unacceptable and false information. Later on Tuesday, I received an email saying transaction was successful priced at $139.00 with no shipping and no tax. Then I checked my credit card statement and I was charged $161.00.

Desired Settlement: They should Honor the price at $139; however, I would like to refund my money. I thought I would give them a chance, but with two strikes

Consumer Response: On Sun, Mar 9, 2014 at 9:54 PM, ***** ******** ******************************** wrote:

This complaint was resolved. I was refunded the full amount from the company on Friday March 7th. You may close the complaint. 
Thank you,
***** ******** 

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've now ordered almost $3000 of merchandise from Jim Laabs Music, over the span of 2 transactions. The first transaction was for a used euphonium in excellent condition on their webiste. I placed my order and received a call later that week that the item was "no longer available." They then offered me a brand new one at a discounted rate - about $70 (approximately 15% above my original order price) above what I would have paid for the used one. I didn't file a complaint because I was happy with the product. Unfortunately, this seems to be a regular business practice for Jim Laabs. I placed a second order, this time for a new tuba, which was in stock - their used tubas looked to be of poor quality, so I didn't want to risk it. With the new tuba, I ordered a music stand and a mouthpiece. As with the last order, I received a call stating that the music stand was "no longer available," that the manufacturer discontinued it, yet it was still advertised on their site. I was once again offered a higher priced stand at a "discount" of about $20 above my original intended purchase, an increase of 50%. In addition the stand was not of the type I had requested - I had explained that I needed a fully-collapsable rehearsal stand, they sent a conductor's stand with legs that fold in, not what is understood in the industry as fully-collapsable. It was cheaper for me to purchase a new stand than to ship the one sold to me by Laabs back to them. They made no offer to take care of shipping or take the product back. The mouthpiece was not in stock either and didn't ship for almost 2 full weeks, despite their sales staff telling me that it was there and they were shipping it after the first 5 days.

Desired Settlement: Jim Laabs needs to check its inventory and update their website. They need to stop these bait and switch tactics and refund my money for the music stand. I'll be glad to ship it back to them if they pay for shipping.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 9:34 AM, ******** ***** ************************* wrote:

The company contacted me Monday and the issue was resolved yesterday. Please close the complaint as resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Jim Laabs Music
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart