BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wholesale and retail sales of musical instruments, sheet music, cameras and audio and video equipment. Additional services include: instrument rental, instrument repair and music instruction.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cascio Interstate Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cascio Interstate Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cascio Interstate Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 01/15/1970 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Houser, Owner Mr. DJ Hostettler, Director Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. DJ Hostettler, Director Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Michael Houser, Owner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories Music - Sheet Music Instruction - Instrumental Music Instruction - Vocal Internet Shopping Recording Studio Equipment Music Shells Home Electronics DVD sales & service Musical Instruments - Rental Online Retailer Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Other Miscellaneous Durable Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423990)

Service Area
Nationwide
Alternate Business Names
Cascio Music Co., Inc. Interstate Music
Industry Tips
Avoiding Overspending While Shopping Ebay Shopping Tips

Additional Locations

  • 13819 W National Ave

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 789-7600 (800) 462-2263

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 462-2263(Phone)
  • (800) 529-0382 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken 2 things to have repaired. A JBL Studio Monitor and a Berhinger Stage Monitor. Both have been taken back twice due to no being repaired correctly. Now the studio monitor and the stage monitor a both doing exactly the same thing they were supposed to have been repaired for. Plus, there is a feature on the Studio Monitor that no longer works because of this repair. Im Done with this company. I want a refund and I want to go to another store. You would thing spending over $4,000 in product within that period of time, you would a least get a good repair.

Business Response: **** ****** (our CEO) and *** ******** (our head of repairs) are looking into this now and I will report back with a resolution.

5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered some drum bags for one of my drum sets online & it was shipped to the wrong address. I called on numerous occasions & they promised to re-ship the item to the right address but never did, I requested a refund & was told it would be back on my card on Jan. 10th, i checked my account & still no refund! I will continue to keep calling until I receive my refund & will no longer do business or refer them to any of my musician colleagues.

Business Response: The customer was refunded on 1/22/14.

5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: order # ****** ... vendor charged in full and failed to deliver the full order. When I ordered online all the products were in stock. When I received August 8 email showing what was shipped the Ludwig L111 Torque Wrench Drum Key ***** $16.78 was not referenced. There is no reference in my order information such as if the item is backordered or when it will ship. I sent an email responding to the shipment email at orders@interstatemusic.com on August 8, 2013. Think anyone would have contacted by now? As of August 16, 2013 ... I have not received a response to the email of August 8, 2013 much less the missing product.

Desired Settlement: Send my Ludwig L111 Torque Wrench Drum Key ***** $16.78 Correct store practices to NOT charge customers when items are not in stock. Make sure items are in stock in real time so that customers do not order items out of stock.

Consumer Response:

Thanks for helping with my complaint against Cascio Interstate Music. As you have indicated they did not respond. One reason I did business with them in the first place was that I saw no negative reviews nor a bad letter grade. In fact they do not have any BBB letter grade. I really hope in the future that the BBB gives them a letter grade (F) to protect consumers from this company.

Sincerely,

***** ******** ************

Business Response: This item was shipped on 8/30 and delivered on 9/6: tracking number  ******************* The customer’s claim that we charged him for the order before shipping the item is easily explained by the fact that he paid us using PayPal. It is impossible with PayPal’s setup to wait to charge for an item until it ships. Had the customer used his credit card, he would not have been charged for this item until it shipped. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund for order #***** over the phone in the beginning of December due to a defect in the product, and promptly shipped the package back to Interstate Music's warehouse. It arrived there on 12/13/2012. After waiting a week and not receiving a refund, I contacted phone support again and was informed that it can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for the refund to process. After the second week of waiting, I called again and was told by phone support that due to the holiday season, it has taken longer to process my return, and that I would have to wait one more week. Instead of insisting on receiving the refund within the 7-10 day time frame as your company promised to me, I decided to wait another week. It's now Monday of the fourth week, and by now I am extremely disappointed that the refund still hasn't been issued. I called phone support yet again, and spoke to ******, who informs me that I must wait YET ANOTHER WEEK for the refund to process because of an issue at the warehouse. Your warehouse's issues are none of my concern, and all I care about is getting my refund. Your company has violated its own policy and promise to me regarding this refund and having to wait nearly a month for what SHOULD be a simple process is completely absurd. I can no longer waste my time calling your support staff and being told the same thing, so in hopes that you will become aware of this issue, I am submitting this claim with BBB. I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund that I have been entitled to for over three weeks now to finally be processed.

Consumer Response:

I am not satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve the matter as these efforts are nonexistent.  I finally received my refund nearly a month after they had specified I would receive it, and they gave me no form of compensation despite their violation of their own policy.  They left me waiting for no apparent reason, as every time I inquired about why this process was taking so long, I received a different excuse.

Regards,

******

-- 
****** ***
*********************

11/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to love Cascio Interstate Music. I used to refer people (musicians, roadies, hobbyists) to Cascio Interstate Music. I used to spend a good deal of money at Cascio Interstate Music. That stopped as of this week, when I received the second illegal telemarketing robocall from Cascio Interstate Music. This serves as written notice to Cascio Interstate Music to cease and desist contacting me in clear violation of Wisconsin State Statute 100.52 pertaining to unwanted telephone solicitations. A copy will be sent to the Federal Trade Commission as a formal complaint that Cascio Interstate Music is in clear violation of the Telemarketing Consumer Fraud and Abuse Prevention Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1601-1608. A second copy will be sent to the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin informing them that: 1) When I gave my phone number to Cascio Interstate Music I was adament that my number was never, under any circumstances, ever to be used to market/telemarket to me; 2) When I received the first "robo-call" sales contact in blatant disregard of my instructions, the on-duty manager, ***** ****, was apologetic and took my number "out of the system", promising that it would not happen again; and 3) After receiving a second call, Mr. **** informed me that: - it was not his decision to disregard federal and state law; - that it was Cascio Interstate Music's marketing department responsible for violating my wishes and the law; and - there was "nothing [he, Mr. ****] could do". Fortunately, there IS something that I can do, and I'm doing it right now. Federal law allows me to seek compensation of $1000, and Wisconsin allows me to recover $100 per violation of our telemarketing laws. Any and all further contact by Cascio Interstate Music, or any marketing agent acting on their behalf, will be considered a third violation subsequent to my demand that they cease and desist their illegal telemarketing activities. I will subsequently seek recompense for all three phone calls, and any subsequent calls of a similar nature, as well as full restoration of my attorney fees, and whatever civil penalties a jury might consider. ****om line Cascio, stop calling me. Stop. Now. Lose my number. If you want to talk this over, I'll probably be shopping at ****** ******. Come tap me on the shoulder if you'd like, but stay off my phone... https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/52

Desired Settlement: Lose my phone number, stop violating Wisconsin and federal telecommunication laws...

Business Response: We have received and reviewed this complaint and have removed this customer from our contact lists. We are also in process of reviewing all of our call outs, which have been mostly involving letting our customers know of either special offers or Free Clinics or events. We certainly have no intention of irritating customers, and this process is in full review.
Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company assured me that I would not be telemarketed to when I first gave them my number.

Then they telemarketed me.

THEN they RE-assured me that my number was purged from their system, and that I'd not be telemarketed to again.

Then they telemarketed me again.

Now they "resolve" the matter by re-re-re-assuring me that my number was purged from their system, and again promising I'll not be telemarketed to a third time.

You'll understand why I don't find yet another dismissive "assurance" the least bit reassuring...


Regards,

** ********

2/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product online with expedient shipping. This stated that I would receive the product in '1 business day'. It took over two days from when i ordered it to receive it making it too late for when I needed it. As I had paid a much larger shipping price compared to two days, I sent an e-mail requesting that at the very least, the price be reduced to two-day shipping as that was what I had gotten, but not paid for. They replied with an e-mail stating that they could not help me. I sent a reply e-mail explaining that I was misled on delivery time, and another after two weeks. They never responded.

Desired Settlement: A price drop in shipping cost from 1-day to 2-day shipping.

Business Response: We are planning to refund the extra shipping charge, and apologize for this particular issue which was a matter of timing of the placement of the order and how it interacted within our order system.

Thank you for your patience.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

From: ***** ***** ********************************

Sent: Monday, January 23, 2012 12:48 PM

To: Complaints Mailbox

Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Wisconsin

 

Hello,

 

I have resolved this complaint provided that I receive a refund for the said amount.  So far, I have not received any such refund.  When should I be expecting this?

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *****

Business Response: Dear Mr. *****-

We believe this is now solved and sorry for this delay. We now believe the credit has been applied to your account.
Please let us know if this has not properly occurred.
******* ****** ***