BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Tipler Transfer

Phone: (608) 274-6866 905 Stewart St STE B, Madison, WI 53713 http://www.tiplertransfermoving.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service residential and commercial moving services. They provide packing supplies, packing, cleaning, organizing, climate controlled warehouse storage, moving services provided for local, state, national, and international moves.  

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tipler Transfer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tipler Transfer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 25, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1933 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1933
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John M. Lindauer , Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John M. Lindauer , Owner
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Cleaning Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    905 Stewart St STE B

    Madison, WI 53713

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tipler Transfer packed up my moving items to **** ******* **. The packing job was horrible as I found a young man just throwing items into a box. They did not provide enough staff to take care of the move so I put my own clothing into their boxes and a friend also helped. Items were broken even before they were packed due to sloppy organization. Upon arrival in **, items were missing in the shippment and the company will not reimburse payment for stolen items. They said I checked off the boxes upon arrival which I was told I had to do it in order to get the boxes. After the movers left and opening them, I noticed items not included in the boxes. Their inventory process is also unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Pay for items that were stollen.

Business Response:

********,

I will be receiving all claims information from ****** *** ***** to
support my response to the complaint made by ***** ******** no later
than Friday February 10, 2012. As soon as I receive all information I
will forward a full response to the complaint.

Thanks.

**** ********
*****
Tipler Transfer
###-###-####

Business Response:

********,

I will be receiving all claims information from ****** *** ***** to support my response to the complaint made by ***** ******** no later than Friday February 10, 2012. As soon as I receive all information I will forward a full response to the complaint.

Thanks.

**** ********
*****
Tipler Transfer
###-###-####

Business Response:

********,

In response from the complaint of ***** ******** with ID #******, it is
as follows.

This move was booked with ****** *** ***** and done on all thier
paperwork. I have obtained all paperwork in which the claim was filed
and settled. If you need any paperwork from me to support my response
please let me know. I am the ***** ** ****** ******** and we work as a
sub contracter on jobs in the Madison area to assist in long distance
moves with ****** *** *****(***). I personally worked for a *** agent
for 10+ years and know that when it comes to moving and service they are
the best of the best! The *** rep in this area that works with me is
***** *********

I personally was on site during all the packing during the move. Some of
the claimed items I was aware of when they happened. The packers that I
had on site for the ******** move, with me, are some of the most
experienced packers I know of. One had been packing for 25+ yrs, his
daughter had been packing for 12+ yrs, and the other had been in the
business for 23 yrs. Thats not to mention my own experience. The shipper
***** ******** was on site at all times while my crew was there.

***** stated "Items were broken even before they were packed due to
sloppy organization." ****, one of the packers, was working outside the
master bedroom and removed 2 pictures from a wall and placed them on the
floor outside the door. While he was packing some items, he turned and
bumped the picture which tipped over and hit one of her vases. I
immediatley came over to that area and saw what happened and assured
***** things would get taking care of. Total accident not sloppy
organization. I called **** from *** and told her what had happened and
said that she needed to send a claim form to ***** for the damage. Both
the vase and the picture were claimed and the claimed was settled as
follows. *** ********* ****** ** ****** fixed the chips on the vase for
$74.00 and *** also paid ***** the sum of $150 cash for loss value of
the item. The picture frame was cracked in multiple places and had
scuffs that couldn't be touched up. The picture frame was rebuilt with a
custom framer at the cost of $700.00. These were the only two items
damaged prior being packed. Again I stood by what I told her on site and
it was taking care of.

There were also two items claimed by ***** that were settle with cash.
One was a plate and another was a picture frame. She put down claimed
amout of $50.00 for both and she was cashed out with $100.00 for them.
Customer stated to **** ********* that both of those items were from
cartons that were damaged. This was not a packers issue(Tipler Transfer)
it was a moving related claim.

There was also a move related claim of a sofa, again not a Tipler
Transfer claim, and was cleaned by extaction for $150.00.

She was giving $250.00 check for the cash settlement and all other items
repaired.

There were two items she claimed that were denied. The first was a
printer. ***** stated to **** that the printer did not work and had no
external damage. Item could not be inspected because she had already
traded it in for a new one. Being we could not inspect it the claim was
declined. ***** was sent a letter from *** on August 15, 2011 stating to
her "Do not dispose of, replace or repair any items you have claimed, or
any cartons and packing material in which claimed items were packed. A
visual inspection is necessary to be able to confirm transit damage."

For the claim of the Crystal Candlesticks. When she originally sent in
the claim form to ***, she claimed the Candlestick value to be $250.00.
To me it's odd that now they are only worth $150.00. Why have they gone
down $100.00 in six months?For her to accuse my workers of stealing
these items is absolutly crazy. She was on site the entire time we were
there and for one of my men to walk out the door with these would be
nuts. These packers depend on this income to take care of their
families. Does she really think they would jeapordize their jobs for two
Crystal Candlesticks? Every item in this home was packed and ***** and I
did more than walk throu to make sure we had packed everything. I was
there until the last box was taped shut.

Tipler Transfer has been doing business since 1930. I have been the
owner for the past three years. We have done plenty of pack jobs during
this time. We have NEVER been accused of stealing any item from any
shipper during this time. We have never had a complaint of such either.
If there has ever been a broken or damaged item, we have stood by our
name and reputation and have had these items fixed or settled. I think
its proof that you can find no other complaints filed with the BBB. I
have all paperwork to back up everything that is said in this response,
including pictures of damaged items, settlement letters, and copies of
the checks payable to ***** ******** and the ********* ****** ** ******.

Just a side note...when I was leaving the house at completion her friend
that was there helping her came to me. She said that the last few days
had been very stressful for ***** under the circumstances for which she
was moving. Her friend also handed me a piece of paper with her name
address and phone number. She wanted to work for me if I ever needed
packers and I told her I would keep her in mind. Why would her friend
come to the owner of a company, looking for work, if she didn't think we
did a good job? Again, just a thought.

If you need anything else please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

**** ********
*****
Tipler Transfer
###-###-####

> -------- Original Message --------
> Subject: *** ** * *******
> From: "******** ********* *****************************
> Date: Mon, February 13, 2012 3:47 pm
> To: *******************************
>
> Thank you,  I will await for the response.
>  
> Have a great evening
> ********
>  
> From: ***************************** **************************************
> Sent: Monday, February 13, 2012 3:40 PM
> To: ******** ********
> Subject: *** ** * *******
>  
> I just recieved all the documents from ******* ********s move claim.
> Everything was settle on with ****** **** *****. I will send a formal
> response tomorrow with any supporting documents you may want.
>
> **** ********
>
> > -------- Original Message --------
> > Subject: *** ** * *******
> > From: "******** ********" *****************************
> > Date: Wed, February 08, 2012 3:45 pm
> > To: *******************************
> >
> > Hi ****
> >  
> > Great!
> >  
> > Have a great day
> > ********
> >  
> > ***** ***************************** **************************************
> > Sent: Wednesday, February 08, 2012 3:33 PM
> > To: ******** ********
> > Subject: ID # *******
> >  
> > ********,
> >
> > I will be receiving all claims information from ****** *** ***** to
> > support my response to the complaint made by ***** ******** no later
> > than Friday February 10, 2012. As soon as I receive all information I
> > will forward a full response to the complaint.
> >
> > Thanks.
> >
> > **** ********
> > *****
> > Tipler Transfer
> > ###-###-####
> >
> >
>
>

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved