BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Suter's Speed Shop

Phone: (608) 221-8865 Fax: (608) 221-9003 3333 Femrite Dr, Madison, WI 53718 http://www.sutersspeedshop.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the service and repair of motorcycles, snowmobiles and ATV/ATCs, including off-road bike repair, new/used motorcycle salvage and vehicle storage.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Suter's Speed Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Suter's Speed Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 13, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1984 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 01/15/1991 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Suter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Suter, Owner
Business Category

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Snowmobiles Auto Machine Shops Recreational Vehicles - Storage Motorcycles - Dealers

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday: 9AM-6PM
Saturday: 10AM-3PM
Alternate Business Names
Suter's Speed Shop, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3333 Femrite Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 221-8865

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Suter's Speed Shop trailer my motorcycle, a **** ******** ******** *******, to their place of business to take care of problems with the bike's starting/running issues on 8-6-12. Suter's then informed me that they would not be able to start the work until the following Monday, 8-13-12. I received a call from Suter's that same day, (8-13-12), in which they stated they "hit a brick wall" and were "stuck" on how to go about repairing my motorcycle. I informed Suter's mechanic, ****, that I had the original repair manual, for which I was asked to drop it off so he could get a better undersanding of what's going on with the bike. I did just that. **** then told me that it would be the following Monday that work would resume on the motorcycle and that I would be informed on what was happening. I called Suter's on Tuesday, (8-21-12), only to find out that they gave up working on it that very Monday, (8-20-12), he said work would continue. I also received info from the guys that trailered my bike back that the owner saw it would be a good amount of work to make it run again and stated that they WOULD NOT WORK ON IT WHAT-SO-EVER. So I wound up paying $179.35 for services not rendered. I did not receive the services I was told to expect. Suter's did not even call me to let me know they had halted services to my motorcycle. I had to call to find out the progress was, only to find out they had no intension on completing the work. Since the beginning of this little oddessy, I was asked by three different people working at Suter's how much I wanted for the bike, which is a rare one indeed and is sought over by many collectors. There are also witnesses to the statements commented by owner regarding the motorcycle.

Desired Settlement: First of all, I would like to see that this never happens to any other individuals who patronize this business. This has caused me undo stress due to the fact that this is my only means of transportation for the moment. In addition to the amount I had paid Suter's and the monies that I had to pay out of pocket to cover traveling expenses to and from work, I believe that I am entitled to reimbursment of expenses.

Business Response: My name is **** ******, a Mechanic at Suter’s Speed Shop in *******. Our shop received a phone call from Mr. ******** on August 6th, 2012 to Tow his **** ******** ** ******* ********** to our shop to be inspected for a poor running condition. I personally met Mr. ******** at Culver’s on ******* ***** **** in ******* and promptly loaded up his motorcycle on our trailer and towed it back to our shop. Inspection of the running condition included: A compression check on all 4 cylinders of the engine to verify that the engine was in proper condition for it to run. I had performed a spark test and cleaned all the spark plugs to verify that the engine had proper spark to fire. The battery was dead on the motorcycle, and it was charged fully so the ECU could properly operate the fuel injection system. The oil level in the engine of the bike was 1.5 quarts over-filled, and was drained by me personally and re-filled to the proper level. I was able to get the bike to start on its own one time, the engine ran very poorly, and was blowing black smoke out of the exhaust pipe Which told me the engine had a rich running condition. I pulled the spark plugs back out of the engine, and noted that the spark plugs were wet and were a sooty-black color which verified my conclusion that the motorcycle had a fuel-rich running condition. The ECU/Fuel injection system on these motorcycles are notorious for causing engine running troubles. I Called and talked to Mr. ******** on the telephone after coming up with the conclusion that the ECU or a part in the fuel injection system had failed. I had told Mr. ******** that the repair costs could be well in excess of 1000 dollars if we were to find a problem with the ECU or the fuel injection system. I stated that parts for the fuel injection system and ECU for this motorcycle are not only expensive, but are no longer available through any Kawasaki dealer, so there was nothing I could do for his motorcycle. Mr. ******** then proceeded to bring in a Service repair manual supplement which is not an original repair manual. The repair manual that he provided Included The information of the tests that I had already performed, but not the information needed to properly diagnose the ECU or components of the fuel injection system. I had once again called Mr. ******** and told him there was nothing I could do to fix his 32 year old motorcycle, nor did we have or could get any parts for it. He then asked me to deliver his motorcycle back to his place of residence, as I did the following day. Mr. ******** also asked for a repair order of the work that was not performed on the motorcycle as this was a rather offensive Gesture. The repair order of $179.35 Included: A $68 dollar charge to pick up and tow his motorcycle to our shop to be inspected, a $34 dollar charge to diagnose the running issues of the motorcycle Which included all of the tests and tasks performed above, and a $68 dollar fee to tow his motorcycle back to his place of residence. $9.35 was charged for tax. I felt that I was very fair and honest with Mr. ********, and I had only charged him $34 for 2 hours of shop labor, which normally is $68/Hourly. I Only charged him $34 to diagnose the running condition of the motorcycle to keep his bill under the price limit of $200 that he signed and agreed to pay that dollar amount to tow and diagnose his motorcycle. If there are further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally VIA Telephone ###-###-#### 10 AM-6 PM Monday thru Friday. 
Sincerely,
**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved