Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Suter's Speed Shop

Phone: (608) 221-8865 Fax: (608) 221-9003 3333 Femrite Dr, Madison, WI 53718 http://www.sutersspeedshop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the service and repair of motorcycles, snowmobiles and ATV/ATCs, including off-road bike repair, new/used motorcycle salvage and vehicle storage.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Suter's Speed Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Suter's Speed Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1984 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/15/1991 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Suter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Suter, Owner
Business Category

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Snowmobiles Auto Machine Shops Recreational Vehicles - Storage Motorcycles - Dealers

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday: 9AM-6PM
Saturday: 10AM-3PM
Alternate Business Names
Suter's Speed Shop, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Suter's Speed Shop has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3333 Femrite Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 221-8865

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 19th I purchased a 2008 Suzuki DRZ 400SM from *****’s Speed Shop located in Madison, WI. The transaction was personally handled with ***** ***** (the owner of the shop), who simply signed the title and gave it to me, after receiving the cash. At the time of the transaction, I asked if the fluids in the bike were good since it was coming out of storage. Mr. ***** replied, “yes”. During this transaction I was never given a WI Motorcycle Buyers Guide, asked to sign a purchase agreement for the vehicle, or was given a used vehicle disclosure form. The only tag or information displayed on the vehicle was a tag stating “08 Suzuki DR-Z 400SM $4995” (See Picture A1 & A19). I was given verbal confirmation by the owner, Mr. *****, that the bike was ready to ride and so I drove it home. Due to my current living arrangement I chose to store the bike in a garage approximately 45 minutes away from my primary residence. For this reason, I was not able to thoroughly examine the bike and discover the extent of disrepair that it was in until recently. On October 24th I noticed that the bike had produced a lot of backfire from the exhaust (usually a sign of improper carb jetting) and that many of the spokes were loose (a danger to throwing the wheel out of alignment). I notified ***** ***** via phone on October 27th at 2:37pm(see picture A2), and asked him if the bike had passed mechanical inspection and had been properly tuned after aftermarket products were added to the motorcycle. Steve personally assured me that the bike had been properly adjusted (jetted) by the previous owner, and had passed an inspection by his shop (*****’s Speed Shop). On November 6th I thoroughly investigated the bike including the removal all of the plastics and gas tank. I found that the throttle cable had a tendency to remain open and was not closing properly. The front brake reservoir was extremely low (see picture A3 & A4), and the rear break fluid was discolored and needed changing (see picture A5). Next I changed the spark plug (see picture A6) and found that the motorcycle was running very rich and had not been jetted properly contrary to what I had been told on October 27th. Additionally I found an excess amount of engine oil in the bike (1” over the maximum fill line). Given the combination of low brake fluid, a faulty throttle cable and loose spokes the condition of the bike when purchased from *****’s was not safe to ride. If the brakes were to malfunction and the throttle remain open that could easily cause a deadly crash. The bike was sold to me under the assumption that it had undergone a mechanical inspection and was sold as safe to ride. The information Mr. ***** provided about the bike was fictitious and illustrates blatant negligence in allowing the bike to leave his shop in such condition. I called *****’s Speed Shop on November 7th at 10:23am (see picture A7 and spoke directly with Mr. *****. I notified him of the issues that I had found and asked him whether it had been inspected prior to sale. He confirmed again that it was inspected, and that he was unaware that the bike was low on brake fluid. I asked if it was possible to bring the bike back to the shop to have the fluids replaced and for it to have another inspection ensuring it was safe to operate. He replied “I guess we will give you a good deal on labor”. I called the Wisconsin Department of Transportation on Monday 11/9/15, and notified them of my situation. They confirmed that *****’s Speed Shop is in fact a licensed dealer (as listed on google search see picture A8 & listed on website A9). Given that they are a licensed dealer and the bike was advertised and sold under the business (see picture A10-A21). *****’s by Wisconsin State Statute 139.04 subsection (6) should have provided a Wisconsin Buyers Guide detailing the inspection of the bike. In addition to the Buyers Guide, *****’s failed to provide a purchase agreement and complete the registration process of the vehicle through the dealership.

Desired Settlement: Given the fact that the all of the issues that have been presented should have been found and addressed during a proper inspection of the motorcycle prior to sale, Mr. ***** did not follow Wisconsin State Statute 139.04. The statute states, “it is an unfair practice for a dealer to not remedy an item improperly reported on the guide that the dealer could have found using reasonable care”. In light of the failure to provide me with the proper documentation and refusing to remedy the issues brought to light by my notification. I would like to return the bike and receive a full refund and be prorated for taxation incurred through registration of the vehicle totaling $4245.31

Business Response: This has been Resolved

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Suter's Speed Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart