Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Casablancas Modeling & Acting Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (262) 879-1200 Fax: (262) 879-0310 View Additional Phone Numbers 16650 W Bluemound Rd Ste 600, Brookfield, WI 53005

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers modeling and acting training as well as personal development.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Casablancas Modeling & Acting Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on John Casablancas Modeling & Acting Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1977 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 07/22/1998 in MO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 West Mifflin, 9th Floor, Madison WI 53703-8696
Phone Number: 608-266-1996
Fax Number: 608-264-8477

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Gans, President Ms. Pam Beatty, Director Ms. Linda Carter, Director of State Compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Gans, President
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies Modeling Schools Schools - Private Agents and Managers for Artists, Athletes, Entertainers, and Other Public Figures (NAICS: 711410)

Alternate Business Names
Community Vocational Schools of Milwaukee, Inc.
Additional Information

This company's corporate office is located at 648 Trade Center Blvd. in Chesterfield, MO 63005.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

John Casablancas Modeling & Acting Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16650 W Bluemound Rd Ste 600

    Brookfield, WI 53005


    648 Trade Center Blvd

    Chesterfield, MO 63005


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well My 2 daughters and I seen an aid online for John Casablancas auditions. This was our first time even attending anything like this. We thought it would be nice to learn and have a little help. So we went to the auditions where the set up was beautiful it looked like a photo shoot and a runway they had it all set up. I believe they took advantage of some of the parents new to the business and had props to catch everyones attention. The director of the office said that all children who attended got through except two healthy size nice people that audition as well. (Hmm) Anywho, we were told to return and meet with ××× the next day for a reading audition. Surely we were excited. When we returned we were given a paper with a few lines fo my daughters to read (they made it seem so extravagant ). After the reading with ××× we were told that my daughters need work, my ** yr old son was present as well. I was offered modeling lessons for $370 down and $114 per month as a payment plan for classes and portfolio photos. I stated I did not have this $370 after i had already filled out the paperwork. From my understanding as ××× explained to me I had to pay the down payment for my girls to start the classes. The director was called in and I was given another price I could pay $200 down that would be $100 per child as the director stated. I told them I did not have all of the money on me. I would return to close out the agreement. I never made a down payment but my application /contract was still submitted to this credit company NEA National Education Acceptance place in ** ****** **. I did notify ××× that week that I wouldn't be able to do this payment plan due to family crisis. The total bal to NEA would be $1495. I dont have that kind of money after bolls. I told ××× at John Casablancas I would like to come to later auditions maybe late summer of 2015. She said ok goodluck and I was lead to believe everything was over. Until i received a bill for the $1495 in a payment plan agreement I never put a down payment on to begin with. I believe they are recruiting crooks. I need my money i never paid for services with John Casablancas nor with this National Education Acceptance for credit. I was sent this bill and letter for NEA not even knowing where these classes or modeling school is located. I don't even know if we can get there. All I was told by John Casablancas was the day and date the girls would start if I could make a down payment never a location. I would like for this fee to be wiped out because it will be reported to the credit bureau and I never agreed to this debt. John Casablancas never got a dime from me. Thank You ? ******* *****

Desired Settlement: I would like all debts wiped out with NEA and John Casablancas because I never paid a down payment at the appointment to start the contract for classes. I also never knew about NEA some credit company. I also was never told where classes were held just dates and times.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the correspondence from Ms. *****.  Her account was never processed and no money is due, or was ever due.  We do, however, take exception with Ms. *****’ account of how she came to this situation.  Ms. *****’ explanation of us having “props” to “catch everyone’s attention” makes no sense to us.  Our office is set up to operate our business.  Her statement that we are “recruiting crooks” seems odd as well.  We do not believe the people that come to our office are crooks’ but good people trying to help their children become better people.  Ms. ***** stating she did not know where we were located also makes no sense, since she claims she was at our office.


Regardless, Ms. ***** is not with our company, has no contract with our company and thus owes no money to our company.  We wish her and her family the best and suggest she not return to your office later in the summer, as she has suggested in her correspondence.


We shall consider this matter closed, unless we hear further from your office. 



James G***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Apparently James at John Casablancas did not understand all of my complaint. As long as I don't owe them I am happy a bill should have never been sent to me in the first place. I also would never return to jc after I reported to the bbb do u think I'm crazy? Lol I also wasnt calling the parents crooks I was talking about the employees at John Casablancas. I did know jc location but not the location of the so called "Acting classes". Thank you  good day 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


******* *****



4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on John Casablancas Modeling & Acting Center
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart