This business is not BBB accredited.

AFD Medical Advisors

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 276-3912 5633 Hwy. 10 East, #384, Stevens Point, WI 54482 http://www.afdmedicaladvisors.com ! There is an alert on AFD Medical Advisors !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AFD Medical Advisors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints
  • Government action(s) against the business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for AFD Medical Advisors include:

  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Complaint Information

The BBB is receiving complaints from around the country. All complaints are from children filing on behalf of an elderly parent.

Complainants report that their parent received an unsolicited phone call from AFD Medical Advisors, either advising of a problem with their Medicare program, or offering free medical prescriptions through a drug discount plan. In all cases, AFD Medical Advisors representatives requested a bank account number and withdrew $299.

The company has responded to most complaints, by making refunds. However, the company’s rating is based on the nature of serious complaints filed, information not supplied by the company and two unanswered Advertising Review requests by the BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AFD Medical Advisors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2012
Business Management
Mr. Aaron Frank Dupont (AFD), Registered Agent Mr. John Stevens, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Frank Dupont (AFD), Registered Agent
Principal: Mr. John Stevens, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Medical - Dental Discount Plans

Alternate Business Names
AFD Advisors, LLC AFD Brokerage, LLC AFD Medical Services
Additional Information

The Better Business Bureau has confirmed that the address provided by the company, 5633 Hwy. 10 East, #384, Stevens Point WI 54482 is a UPS Store with #384 being a rented box. 

According to research by the BBB, the company was incorporated in Wisconsin under the name “AFD Advisors, LLC” on June 7, 2012 and under the name “AFD Brokerage, LLC” on July 24, 2012.  The website www.afdmedicaladvisors.com  was created on September 17, 2012.  

This "company" is currently out of business. For further information, please read Government Action in report above.

Industry Tips
Discount Medical Plans Health Discount Plans Medical Discount Plans: They're Not Health Insurance

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3111 Sandgate Ct

    Weston, WI 54476

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5633 Hwy. 10 East, #384

    Stevens Point, WI 54482

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 43

    Schofield, WI 54476 (877) 276-3912

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I periodically review my mother's bank accounts. I discovered an autowithdrawal draft made out to AFD medical advisors submitted on 1/11/2013 in the amount of $299.00. I researched AFD, found their website, [ http://www.afdmedicaladvisors.com/] where they state that they supply some drug discount card. My mother has only one prescription and that is fully covered by medicare. She has no need for this "service" Her phone is on the Do Not Call register - * there should not have been any contact by this company. My mother is 90 years old and they took advantage of her. On 02/04/2013 I used their website "contact us" form to cancel and demand a refund. And again on 02/05/2013 and 02/07/2013. On 02/08/2013 I sent a letter, signed by my mother, to **** ******* ** **** **** ******* ****** ** - requesting a refund. [ their website claims to have a "60 day no questions asked money back guarantee". I have not heard from them - no call, no email, no letter - and certainly no refund check. * You successfully registered your phone number ending in 8207 on November 02, 2011.

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least $299.00, plus interest.. And a "will never call again" assurance

2/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFD tried to bill me for services I did not want. My bank sent the electronic check back to AFD. My son contacted them to have my name taken off there list and to inform them that I did not want there service. He contacted a **** ****** at AFD and she stated that I had already received a refund and they would take me off the list and not contact me anymore. AFD has called my house several times since 01/07/2013 to try and send me new cards and to get me to sign up.

Desired Settlement: I would like AFD to not contact me and to have them not bill or send me anymore letters

Business Response:



  Mrs.**** had called us for a refund and we obliged and was automatically put on our do not call list 



**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
**************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

This is what they told me the last time I talked to them.  The next day they called my house 5 times.  I am satisfied only if they do not call me again.  

Regards,

**** ****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Ms. **** continues to be contacted by AFD several times each day.  She does not want to be contacted by them any longer.

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

Business Response: Ms. ****'s must be mistaken, we have her on a do not call list.  Our toll free number is ###-###-#### if she does not see that number on her phone then it is not us contacting her it must be a different company. 




******** ******* **********
***** ******
###-###-####

2/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFD debited $299.00 from my checking account without authorization and when I call their phone number it puts you on hold and hangs up. They presented a copy of a check that they manufactured to represent an actual check of mine.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money returned and any services offered cancelled.

Business Response:

While Mr. ******* ****** is not one of our clients we do in fact have ****** ****** as a client and he is probably not aware that she authorized this charge, if she wishes to cancel please have her call us back .


***** ******
Customer Service Senior Agent
1-877-276-3912

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

**SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENTS**

Regards,

******* ******

 

2/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Mom (****** ******), who is elderly, was called and was made to believe that this was her insurance. They said that she had to pay right away or lose her insurance, also that she had 60 days to change mind if she decided not to pay. My sister and I have been on the phone daily to this company at ************** and spoke with *******, and have been given the run around (manager in meeting, will have to wait till receive cancellation papers, etc) It is a scam and there are other notices on the web of other elderly people being tricked also.

Desired Settlement: want the money refunded to ******'s account and no further contact with her. Remove from the list.

Business Response:

    Mrs. ****** called in regards for her mother ****** ****** and she requested a refund so we obliged by issueing her a refund for February 4th 2013 and it will take between 5 to 10 business days to receive. 

 

 

Thank You,

***** ******

Customer Service Department Supervisor 

1-(877)-276-3912

2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this complaint on behalf of my elderly friend who is legally blind and is 86 years old. This busines said they got her permission to take an electronic transfer from her account when in fact they did not.I just got off the phone and they said they are sending her a refund check. I'll believe it when it's in her hand since they did this without her permisssion. She had to close her checking account and the bank is threatening to charge her $216 in overdrawn fees. This business already has an F rating with you. Can't anyone do anything about this fraudulant practice. This has caused my friend a great deal of stress.

Desired Settlement: They say they have sent a check as of January 14th and it will take 5-10 business days to get here. I really don't believe it. It would be nice if they'd also pay the overdrawn fees of $216 if the bank goes ahead and charges her for this because they took this money out. Are there a lot of companies out there like this who can take your money out of the bank without your permission. This is scary!!!!!!

Business Response:




In regards to Mrs. ******** ******** , it is very important to note that we don't charge anybody without their permission. In this case Mrs. ******** gave us verbal authorisation which was recorded stating to enroll her and giving us permission to charge her. This can be verified or listened to at any time. We did speak with Her afterwards because she called in stating she wished to be canceled out of the program. A refund has been issued and will arrive in the 5-10 business she was promised. 


***** ******
Customer Service Senior Agent 
###-###-####

2/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ***** called my mother today and sold her a product she had no understanding what it was or how it would help her. The use of words such as medicare and social security along with how ******* takes care of his mom's finances after a scam, gave my mother(WHO IS 90) a feeling he was truthful in stating how this program would save her money with social security and medicare payments along with persciptions. I feel like this information was very misleading. When I called and talked with *********, she said they had recoded my mom saying YES; I would like to hear the entire phone call between ******* and my mother.

Desired Settlement: Stop the misleading message.

Business Response: In regards to Mr. ***** * *******,


we cannot properly respond to this complaint without further information like the mothers name and/or phone number in order to verify that she is a client and that this did take place.

***** Brooks
Customer Service Senior Agent
###-###-####

1/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They took advantage of my elderly mother & conned $299 from her. The contact number does not reach anyone.

Desired Settlement: refund of $299.00

Business Response: We have been unable to reach ****** ***** and have left a message for her to contact us back. We will continue to attempt to reach her to rectify the situation.






**** *******


1/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Caller suggested that she represented US government for a Medicare Drug program. Caller requested Social security number and bank account information, which was provided. Consumer was mislead. This is not a Medicare drug plan, it is in fact a program that is provided free of charge by the State Health Insurance Program.

Desired Settlement: Do not remove any funds from Mrs. *****'s checking account. This was a misrepresentation of a product. Her Medicare is handled by her daughter who works for the State Health Insurance program.

Consumer Response: **SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENT**

*****, they have not refunded the money yet. But here is a copy of the check.  Let me know if you need anything else.  Please black out the account number.  My sister and I continue to try to call the number and we only get hang ups.  To me that indicates that they don't want to receive any return calls.  Thank you for your help.


Click the OneNote attachment if you want to view or edit the notes in OneNote.
If you don't have OneNote 2007, you can click the second attachment to view the notes as a Web page.

You can download a free OneNote trial version from:
***************************************************************************************

Note: The information in this message is confidential and maybe legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this message by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, or distribution of the message, or any action or omission taken by you in reliance on it, is prohibited and maybe unlawful. Please delete this e-mail and immediately contact the sender if you have received this message in error.
Thank you.

Business Response: Various Attempts have been made to get in touch With ***** but all have been unsuccessful



**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
1(877)276-3912





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

 please call her daughter ****** ******** ************, since Mrs.  ***** is concerned about answering the phone.

Consumer Response: They removed the money from the checking account.  We want it back.  We have tried repeatedly to call them started on Friday before the deduction.  My parents can not afford to loose this money.

Business Response: We have spoken with Mrs ***** daughter and told her that a refund had been issued. She was pleased with this resolution.





**** *******
Customer service supervisor

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] Once the check is in hand, we will consider this a closed matter, but not until.

Regards,

***** *****

 

Business Response:


We can confirm That Mrs.***** has received her refund check. This can be verified by going to www.USPS.com and entering in the following tracking number ******************** , Mrs ***** received her check on December 10, 2012, 2:25 pm.



**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
**************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

check has not cleared bank at this time.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

This complaint was actually resolved in our favor.  Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

***** *****

 

1/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I discovered when reviewing my mom's bank account this morning that an unauthorized debit had been made from her account by AFD Medical Advisors. I have attempted several times to contact them and have gotten three different recordings, but no one to talk to about this situation. My mom does not need this service and it appears to be another case of elder abuse, fraud and theft. They state on their website that there is a 60 day money back guarantee which I will be surprise to receive. Any help in soliciting these funds would be appreciated.

Desired Settlement: A refund for total amount equaling $299.00

Business Response: We spoke with ******* regarding her mother , we informed her that her mother had indeed  authorized the charge as we have a verbal recording authorization on file. As per our 60 day money back guarantee we agreed to cancel her out of the program and issue a refund. The check will be sent out to her mother ( Patricia Peebles) on January 7 and should take 3-5 business days to arrive . 




**** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

 

12/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS COMPANY CALLED MY 97 YEAR OLD FATHER, **** ******, AND CONVINCED HIM TO BUY THEIR SERVICE AND GIVE THEM HIS CHECKING ACCOUNT NUMBER. WITHIN THE HOUR HE CALLED ME TO SAY SOMETHING WAS NOT RIGHT ABOUT THIS. I CALLED THEM AT ************ ALSO WITHIN THE HOUR ON THE SAME DAY 12/10/2012 AND SPOKE WITH ***** ****** WHO SAID SHE WAS A SUPERVISOR AND SHE CANCELLED THIS AUTHORIZATION - CALCELLATION NUMBER 172412 ON 12/10/2012. SHE ASSURED ME THAT NOTHING WOULD BE DEDUCTED FROM HIS ACCOUNT SINCE I CANCELLED THIS IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE BEEN CHECKING HIS BANK ACCOUNT DAILY AND FIND THAT AFD MEDICAL ADVISORS DEBITED HIS ACCOUNT ON 12/11/2012 THRU CITIZENS BANK - WHEN OUR ACCT. IS WITH CHARTER ONE BANK. I AGAIN CALLED AFD MEDICAL ADVISORS - SPOKE TO ***** ****** WHO SAID SOMETHING WENT WRONG WITH CANCELLATION. ASKED FOR HER SUPERVISOR - TALKED WITH ***** ****** ON 12/14/2012 - SHE INDICATED TO ME THAT AFD MEDICAL ADVISORS WOULD ISSUE A CHECK ON 12/27/2012 IN ORDER TO REFUND HIS MONEY. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF FILLING OUT AN AFFIDAVIT OF FRAUD WITH OUR BANK, CHARTER ONE, IN PLYMOUTH, MI. AS I DO NOT BELIEVE THERE WILL BE A REFUND CHECK.

Desired Settlement: CREDIT BACK TO HIS BANK ACCOUNT

Business Response:

Complaint ID *******.

We looked into the situation and have traced the source of the error. The way our system works is that when a customer calls to cancel before they have been enrolled or processed through our system , we enter in their phone number as a flagged person so the computer knows not to go ahead and enroll or charge the customer. What happened in this case is Ms. ****** had accidentley entered in Mrs. ******** **** **** phone number  instead of Mr **** ****** phone number, that is how the charge accidnetly went through. We spoke with Mrs. **** and let her know of the situation. She was understanding and  asked us if we can over night the check and we obliged . The  Refund check was sent and we emailed Mrs.west the tracking number and urged her to call us if there was any other Questions or she needed follow up. We thank Mrs. **** for her Co-operation in this matter and trust that this issue is resolved .


**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
**************

12/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A rep from AFD Medical contacted by phone my elderly mom who is not in a capacity to be making financial decisions...and obtained her bank account number and promptly charged her $299; now, upon trying to reach the company to reverse the charges, I am not able to get a live person to handle my complaint.

Desired Settlement: Give her money back.

Business Response:


We spoke with Mr.*** and obliged his request to cancel his mother out of the program. A refund check should arrive in the next 7-10 business days and told him there might be a slight delay because of the holidays. He understood and will keep an eye out for it 



**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
**************

12/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company withdrew $299.00 electronic funds from my elderly mother's checking account. (2nd incident -1st incident they were located in Canada). I had a detective with ********** Township police dept research as the bank states it was a preauthorized withdrawal - no signature required on check. The "check" looks different than our authentic checks with regard to a phone number and my name is also on the account. After numerous attempts, company never returned my call. I was put on hold and always disconnected. The detective did speak to them via phone and they told him she verbally agreed to said services but they did not have a voice recording of her giving them her checking account number. Who knows if it really was my mother? Detective states they play a recording where they speak very fast, sometimes in a confusing manner and get victim to agree to service, somehow get checking account number and make the withdrawal from account stating it is preauthorized. They do this for several months with numerous victims, close the company and move on to another location. I would like a certified cashier's check in the amount of $299.00 payable to me and sent to my address. Hopefully, this does not happen again or to anyone else. Also, this company should be investigated for authentic tax identification numbers and if they are reporting "income" that they are scamming from innocent elderly victims that are on a limited fixed income thinking they may be getting a discount card to help pay for prescriptions. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $299.00 certified cashier's check sent to the address indicated, payable to me.

Business Response:




We have looked into the matter and can find  no record of a ***** ******* being a customer of ours or anyone located at that address . We would require more information to follow up on the validity of this complaint.
 

**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
**************





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

Hello:  12/13/12 3:32 PM

The name is ******* ******* (she is my mother).  Her address is: **** ********* ***** *********** ****** ******** ** *****.  I am handling this for her as she is elderly.  I stated in the complaint "my mother".  You deducted funds from her account.  I would like the check sent to me at my address.  Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.  ***** ******* (******* *******'s daughter). 

Business Response:



We contacted Mrs.***** ******* on 12/14//12 and addressed her concerns regarding her mother and told her that because her mother falls in the window of our 60 day no Questions asked money back guarantee , we will go ahead and issue her  mother a refund. Regarding her other claims we took issue with and we brought that to her attention. First of we are a US company and have no clue where her claim of Canada even came from , Secondly we told her that when the detective listened to the recording of her mother providing verbal authorization to be enrolled , he deemed the recording perfect and that her  mother had indeed authorized the charge . Mrs ******* response to that was that the detective would not know her mothers voice, which is contrary to what she said in her statement. We offered to have her listened to the recording but since she was just concerned in getting the money back and we agreed to refund her, there was no reason to. Lastly we would like to state the following , Mrs ******* ******* ( her mother) gave authorization to be enrolled and charged in the program, we have a verbal recording of that, We sent out her program and enrollment forms on time as promised , we have usps tracking numbers to prove that and finally when she requested a refund, we went ahead and issued her one. A company that is malicious would not employee these practices and standards. We are here to help , we understand sometimes people  say anything to get out of being enrolled in a program or a purchase but we do feel this has crossed a line. MRS. ******* ******* has been issued a refund check on December 17, 2012 and as per her daughters request , it was sent to her daughter , ***** *******. She  should receive the check in the next 3-5 business days. We trust this matter is now closed. 

Thank you



**** *******
Customer service supervisor
* *************

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother ****** ******, patient #*************, is an 88 year old senior citizen who was contacted by phone on November 7, 2012 by sales person ******* *****. The person I talked to on the phone named ***** on November 20, 2012 said that Mr. ***** called my mom after she did not respond to a mailing from the company. He talked my mother into buying whatever their product is. My mother lives in senior housing in *******, ** and we take care of her business affairs. We found out about this purchase after finding a computer generated unsigned check for $299 in her November bank statement. I immediately called the company to complain and ask for an immediate refund of the $299. I was told my mother would be getting information in the mail and there would be a form for her to return if she wanted to cancel. This would be very difficult for my mother to do and after a bit of discussion with ***** she agreed to cancel the program on the spot and my mother would get a refund by mail. She said that refunds were sent out in batches on Mondays and the next open slot wasn't until December 10. This raised another red flag. They must send out a lot of refunds if the next available slot wasn't for 3 weeks. We will be watching for the refund. My main complaint is that this company actually called a senior citizen on the phone and talked her into making this purchase. In talking to her, she had no recollection of even talking to Mr. ***** and if we hadn't been taking care of her financial affairs this check would probably gone unnoticed and she would have bought whatever this product is without needing or wanting it. I feel this is a terrible business practice that preys on vulnerable seniors and I felt the BBB should know about it.

Desired Settlement: We are expecting a refund of the $299 and cancellation of her enrollment in this program in a timely manner with no further solicitations.

Business Response:



When we spoke with Mr ****** and agreed to issue the  refund , Mr ****** did not mention any of these concerns and had left us with the impression that he was satisfied with the resolution, The reason for the delay with his aunt's refund was at the time we had not yet gotten a response that His aunt's payment had indeed went through so we had to wait just  few more days to make sure. Regarding Monday , refunds in our company are always issued on Monday's to avoid any accounting errors that may occur. It should be noted that the refund for ****** ****** is scheduled to go out on December 5 and not 10 (which is earlier than promised) as we had already processed her refund request. Regarding Mrs ****** not having any recollection, a verbal authorization recording  of her accepting to be enrolled in the program is present . We are not sure if Mr ****** listened to this recording or not. We trust that resolution of this matter is satisfactory and are always present for follow up.



**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
###-###-####

12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this in behalf of my 87 year old aunt. She received a call from AFD Medical around the end of Oct or early Nov 2012. The person had told her that they had sent here some forms to sign approx 10 weeks prior to this date. They said they had not heard from her so they were calling to advise her of some problems with her medicare. They told her since they did not hear from her that they were going to change her social security number and if she did not provide in information they needed her Medicare was going to be cancelled the next day. She must of told them her checking account number. When my aunt told me about this several hours later, I contacted AFD medical by phoe. The female who answered the phone said that my had agreed to their service. I told them I she indicated to me she was not interested in their service and she was concerned about her account at the bank. I then told the lady that I had contacted bank and advised them not clear any electronic debits on her account. The lady told me that my aunt would be receiving a letter in the mail and this was only to cancel their service. I told her again that my aunt did not want their service. Approx 2 weeks later we never received a concelation letter to sign but a letter stating they were concelling their service also enclosed a check for 299.00. AS far I we can determined no money was ever debited from her account for 299.00. The check was drawn on ** ****. The number of the check was ****. The payor was AFD Medical Advisors at **** ******** ** ** ****** **. ******-****. The complete numbers on the bottom of the check are ********* ************ ****. We did not attempt to cash or deposit this check.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know if this is an legitimate business and valid check. I would to know if this is a scam targeting the elderly and if this is a scam, I would like to in formation to be forward to appropriate entity for action to stop this abuse

Business Response:


We have spoke with Mr ****** on November 29, Told him the check was the refund request for his Aunt since she wanted to be canceled out of the program. He informed us that in the end her payment for the program did not go through so the refund wasn't necessary any more  . He asked  if we wanted the check to be mailed back. we informed him that was  unnecessary , a stop payment would be issued on the check and him destroying the check would be sufficient.  As always we are here to assist and  hope this response is satisfactory 

**** *******
Customer Service **********
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

 

11/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Mother lives with me after my dad passed,she is very easily giving people trust. A.F.D. medical advisors called my mom and told her they could give her free medical (prescriptions) she is on medicaid and medicare and recieves free prescriptions anyway. they convinced my mother (who is not able to make clear decisions) to give them her banking numbers.After she did so,she told them to not take money from her account or they will be sued.They assured her they would not.I was not home at the time or this would not have taken place.After they assured her they would not take her money,exactly 8 days later,They did...299.00 to be exact,money she did not have in there which overdrew her account.We filed a police report.contacted her bank and they suggested i file a report to bbb. I believe they are preying on the elderly to get their bank info so they can rob there bank accounts..They told me they would put the money back in approx.2 weeks but my mothers bank believes this is a scam and they are buying time.PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE look into this business before they take another persons social security check.

Desired Settlement: 299.00 and the amount they overdraft my mothers account until the money is put back.

Business Response: Hello 


 In Regards to Complaint ID *******, Mrs ******* Had called in regarding ***** ***** (her mother), She claimed her mother had misunderstood the program and no longer wished to be enrolled in the program. As per our 60 day money back guaranty she was granted a full refund and Told her refund Check would arrive within 10 to 15 business days  . The check contained an extra 50$ as courtesy because she said it had over drafted her account . It was something we worn't required to do but we did anyways . A follow up email and phone call was placed  on 11/27/2012 informing Mrs ***** that her check was already sent and was still on track to arrive in the 10-15 business day window we had promised her. In the interim, Mrs. ******* contacted the BBB even though we were under the assumption that we had handled her concerns to her satisfaction.  We trust this is a satisfactory response and are always available to answer further questions.


Thank you


**** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
1(877)276-3912

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** *******