Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Verlo Mattress Factory Stores

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 282-4334 Fax: (414) 282-3829 View Additional Phone Numbers 6501 W Layton Ave, Greenfield, WI 53220 View Additional Email Addresses http://verlo.com/locations/wisconsin/wauwatosa/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in made-to-order mattress sets, as well as futon frames and mattresses, adjustable beds, bed frames and sleep accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Verlo Mattress Factory Stores meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Verlo Mattress Factory Stores include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Verlo Mattress Factory Stores
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1987 Business started: 07/28/2011 in WI Business started locally: 07/28/2011 Business incorporated 06/02/2011 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Verhaalen , Controller Mr. Chris Nolte, CEO Ms. Mary Plemons, Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Plemons, Vice President of Operations
Principal: Mr. Matt Verhaalen , Controller
Business Category

Mattresses Beds - Wholesale & Manufacturers Mattress Makers Supplies Futon Sales Bedding Beds - Retail Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Service Area
Southeastern Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
FWR Wisconsin, LLC Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Brookfield Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Delafield Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Glendale Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Grafton Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Greenfield Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Menomonee Falls Verlo Mattress Factory Store of Racine

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Verlo Mattress Factory Stores has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13735 W Capitol Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 373-1480

  • 2089 Wisconsin Ave

    Grafton, WI 53024 (262) 377-7711

  • 2510 S Green Bay Rd

    Racine, WI 53406 (262) 554-4788

  • 2734 Hillside Dr Ste 6

    Delafield, WI 53018 (262) 646-3008

  • 5530 N Port Washington Rd

    Glendale, WI 53217 (414) 962-8228

  • 6501 W Layton Ave

    Greenfield, WI 53220 (414) 282-4334

  • W176N9348 River Crest Dr

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 (262) 251-9411

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife went to Verlo to buy a new mattress. She was poorly serviced and was sold a very poor mattress that does not serve either of us. She was visibly uncomfortable on the mattress. Which we had serviced and still was not to what we asked for, but they did bring it in and seen the discomfort. they have promised to fix the mattress but now will not return calls and it is effecting y wifes back issues, and I am not getting a good nights rest. I have epilepsy and need sleep, deep sleep. My wife has spinal stenosis and other back issues that are made worse by the mattress. At this point I am registering a complaint and considering a lawsuit based on unethical sales and service practices. She told the people she needed a memory foam mattress and now we just want an exchange for what should have been sold in the first place.

Desired Settlement: Exchange for the mattress that should have been sold to us from the start. A memory foam mattress and the setup we need for our sleep needs.

Business Response:


We spoke with Mr. ********* on 12/18.  During our discussion Mr. ********* agreed that they were satisfied with their current mattress based on the last

comfort adjustment we performed adding a number of layers of gel and soft foam developing a comfort feel that is a foam based feel they are looking for. 

The original mattress purchased was a pillowtop, Mr. ********* wanted to exchange for a Foam mattress or Hybrid.  We were able to provide similar

comfort through two comfort adjustments provided free of charge.  We did also offer an option to return their current mattress  for a foam option, with a

small charge for this exchange , Mr. ********* chose to instead take the free comfort adjustments.



Mr. ********* stated that he is happy with his current mattress.  We consider this request complete and appreciate the opportunity to provide our feedback.

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: . I was lied to repeatedly and maneuvered into buying something I could not afford nor did I want it. When I first came into the store my intention was to buy a twin bed. I have bought from Verlo many times in the past. When I started to talk to Phyllis about the differences in the mattresses somehow we ended up on queen size beds. My ex was there and tried to tell me the mistake but was rude and i dismissed what he had to say. My mistake. The sales person was Phyllis T. of the ******** store on **** ********** **. Al tho I also talked to her at the ********** store. After the Delivery of a Queen size bed which I did not need I was told by the guys that delivered it that the up and down mode could not, I repeat NOT be used unless you were laying down on the bed. Phyllis had told me you could raise the bed up and leave it that way. When she demonstrated it to me in the store, I got off and told her I could not handle the motion. At that time I did not tell her I had vertigo and falling problems, which in hind site I now know I should have. But I did not think it was her business. So I called the day after the delivery and said I could not used this bed its too big and I have vertigo and cannot lay on the bed to get it raised or lowered. Phyillis called me back and I explained everything to her and she swore she would get back to me by the next day after talking to the manager. SHE DID NOT> I waited for her call and when I did not get it I called her the day after. She said she would call me bk in a half hour. One and a half hours later she called and said since it is just a size issue the manager said No. Well it is not just a size issue. Its a health issue. when I tried to use the bed I got so dizzy from the motion I stumbled into something and hurt my foot again. TO Me she sweet talked me out of the only money I had to buy a bed.

Desired Settlement: Since they say the bed cannot be returned and I cannot use the bed I want half the money paid for the bed, 1,500.00. I will need to sell the bed and can only get back half the money I spent. I need to buy a bed I can sleep on.

Business Response: We do our best to match the perfect bed with each customer. We are sorry that this guest was not happy with her purchase. Verlo has offered a full refund of the purchase price in exchange for returning the mattress. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought mattress set 3.2.14, called store in June and talked to ***, said center of mattress is lacking support, he told me it would cast $200 to fix, the comfort guarantee is that in 6mo they fix defect for free. **** and **** came out and confirmed center of mattress was lacking support, sinks down. Salesman ***** called said $200 to fix and he did not remember selling me this item so he was not happy to be working with me on problem. I went in store and talked to ****** who confirmed the comfort guarantee if free adjustment in the first six months, with 24hr turn around. I would like the defective product fixed so it supports my body, at no cost like the guarantee is stated. This is the 5th set I have purchased from this store with no problems with other products.

Desired Settlement: I want my mattress fixed to support my body at no cost to me as the comfort guarantee states.

Business Response:

Verlo Mattress experts inspected Ms. *******'s mattress on 7/6/2014.  We found her mattress to not be defective.  We determined the customer wanted her mattress to be made more firm.  The particular mattress that Ms. ******* purchased at that time was not eligible for the one-time free comfort adjustment that our new lines currently have.  Ms. Trainer was made aware of this at the time of purchase.  Our salesperson correctly offered a comfort adjustment for this specific mattress for our standard fee of $200.  Ms. ******* was not happy with this response and came into the store to speak to a salesperson directly.  After having a conversation with Ms. *******, our salesperson determined that we would go ahead and offer a free adjustment in order to satisfy our customer.  No date for that adjustment was set at that time.  Our salesperson followed up by calling Ms. ******* twice within one week of our inspection and did not receive a response.  In fact, as this response is being written on 9/4/2014, the case is still "open" in our system since we have not yet heard from Ms. *******.  Ms. ******* has contacted the Better Business Bureau instead of our store about this issue.  This is the first we've heard from Ms. ******* since she visited our store and since we attempted to contact her.  Nevertheless, our district manager has just reached out to her via phone to again offer a free adjustment.  Our district manager was unable to reach Ms. ******* by phone today and left a voice mail indicating our offer.  We are waiting to hear back from Ms. ******* but are committed to making this customer happy with her Verlo purchase, as we try to do with all our customers.  We hope she will respond to this offer and will consider speaking favorably about Verlo's outstanding customer service attempts to resolve this issue in a timely manner.
Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

 

 **** ******* was not told her product did NOT come with guarantee..  The commercials do not say guarantee ON SELECT PRODUCTS, nor do the sales staff say on SELECT PRODUCTS when talking to them in the store. The Asst Mgr said they no longer make my model of product anymore.

Verlo has offered to make the mattress firmer but not to fix the support system, at this point I am waiting for Verlo to pick up mattress on Sept 20 and return the mattress on Sept 27 with some adjustment. Per ***** *********, **** *** **** ******

Business Response:

Ms. *******'s purchase from our "MisMatch" line (from which she made a purchase) - like all of our mattresses - did come with our exclusive Lifetime Comfort Guarantee but it did not come with one free "comfort adjustment" in the first six months or year like our current products do.  This was explained to Ms. ******* at the time of her purchase.

Despite this unfortunate misunderstanding, our district manager informed Ms. ******* that we would waive the fee for this single adjustment, and the delivery for that adjustment, to match what our current product line offers in an effort to satisfy the customer.  The adjustment is currently scheduled for Sat. Sept. 20.

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a box spring in late February (full, split, low profile). I still do not have it as of the typing of this complaint (Thursday August 7th, 2014). I visited the ********** store twice since ordering (May 10th and July 31st). Each time I was told I'd have it by the following Thursday. They did not deliver. On July 31st a friend was with me and suggested that since I've been so inconvenienced for 5 months that the least they could do is offer me free delivery. The salesperson agreed, but it's still wasn't delivered. In early July I called the headquarters office and left a message with **** ***** (**?). He has not returned my call. He was in the ********** store on July 31st when I stopped in and would not come out front to talk to me. No one from Verlo has ever returned a call from me, or emailed me, or informed in in any way at any time as to what the problem is. I've had to initiate every step of the way and always get the same non-answer. At this point I'm at a complete loss as to how to proceed with Verlo.

Desired Settlement: Refund by check. Verlo has wasted enough of my time.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this customer's complaint to me directly.  I asked our ******** ******* to look into this issue personally.  I spoke with him this morning and we discovered the root of the problem.  
 
During the last year, Verlo has been going through significant brand changes which has included a switching of vendors and suppliers used to create the materials we sell in our stores.  As this changeover was occurring, a flaw in our back ordering system was exposed where certain orders that could not be placed because of a shortage of materials were deleted from our system.  This problem has since been fixed and does not (and can not) occur any more.  Since our sales professionals write hundreds of orders per month, it is impossible for them to keep track of any one, specific order from memory.  And because orders were inadvertently deleted from the system when they could not be appropriately fulfilled, Mr. ******'s order got "lost" and went unfulfilled.  The fault was in the overall computerized ordering system itself, not any one sales professional or staff member.
 
Mr. ****** says one of our sales professionals "would not" come to the front of the store to speak with him.  This sales professional does not recall receiving any phone or email messages from Mr. ****** about this problem and does not recall any single instance when Mr. ****** was in the store to speak with him.  I can assure you our sales professionals never refuse a conversation with a customer unless he/she is deeply involved in work that makes stepping away an impossibility.  This sales professional expressed regret at having missed an opportunity to have spoken with Mr. ******.
 
Given the trouble Mr. ****** has experienced with this particular Verlo store, and continuing our long-standing and well-known practice of working closely with our customers to ensure 100% satisfaction at all times, we are prepared to offer Mr. ****** the following:
 
1.  A full refund in the amount of $236.54 (the full purchase price)
 
2.  We will be ordering Mr. ******'s box spring immediately and expect the materials to be delivered to our store on Friday, August 22.  We expect to deliver this box spring to Mr. ******'s home shortly thereafter.
 
There are always unforeseeable problems and delays when materials are delivered and constructed, but we are determined to make this right for Mr. ****** as soon as possible.  The ******** ******* will be following up personally with Mr. ****** today (Monday, August 11, 2014) and I'm authorized to give Mr. ****** our ******** *******'s personal cell phone number (which will be sent in a separate email directly to Mr. ******) for any further follow up.  I will also be giving Mr. ****** my personal cell phone number and work email for any further concerns or questions.
 
We appreciate the Better Business Bureau for working with Mr. ****** and with Verlo of ********** to successfully resolve this issue.  We are dedicated to customer satisfaction and our A+ rating is a testament to those efforts.  Thank you for calling this matter to our attention.
 

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in May of 2011, I purchased a ***** ******** set ( mattress and box spring) . I was told the mattress was latex and memory foam with a/coil/tubing structure that was very strong. I was told that buying the mattress and boxspring as a set was recommended for any warranty to be in place. I was further told that I must purchase a special ***** mattress pad for the warranty to be in place. I purchased said pad. I have a receipt showing the purchase of the bed, boxspring, and mattress pad. Unfortunately, I have no warranty documentation. At 2 years the mattress was sagging horribly. I called ***** and they sent someone to measure the sag. The sag is 1 inch. ***** said that industry standard for a sag before the manu accepts responsibility is 1.75 inch. They suggested I pay them to refurbish the mattress (make an adjustment for u300.00 or under on a 1300.00 mattress). I told them I did not want to do that since I have spent so much already. They say they can do nothing more. This is a business owned by ****** *********** . Obviously, such a prominent movie chain in the Midwest should be able to offer some compensation. This ia financial hardship as I was disabled in Sept, 2009, and we live on a fixed income.

Business Response:

Thank you for following up on ******** ************* case. I am happy to report that Ms. *********** is now a very satisfied ***** customer. We performed a free Comfort Adjustment on her mattress in our Comfort Adjustment Center at our Greenfield store. The adjustment was performed on Sat., 1026. Her mattress was returned on 10/27. On Monday, 10/28, we followed up with a phone call. She is very pleased with the results, reporting that her mattress felt "fantastic" and offering to provide a testimonial as to the quality of our mattress service.

On a related note, please update your files as your original letter was sent on 10/2 to ***** *****, an employee who has not been with our company for many years. Due to the incorrect contact information, there was a delay in our response. Our General Manager didn't get the letter until 10/18.

In the future, please direct any cases to:

***** Mattress Factory
***** ********** ******* ******* **** ** ****** ****** *********** ** *****

10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a mattress and adjustable base and it was delivered. Upon delivery the delivery drivers scratched our living room floor in three spots. They dropped the base. Then when taking the base up the stairs they scratched the base on the walls and damaged the corner of our walls. They also tore the hand rail out of the wall.

Desired Settlement: I need to have my floor fixed this floor is less than a year old. I feel like we are just getting a run around. They sent a manager out to look at the damages, contacted a floor guy to see if they could find pieces to fix the floor and nothing yesterday a general manager is more or less giving us more run around. I need to have my floor repaired.

Business Response:

August 22, 2013

 

 

 

Better Business Bureau

******* **********

********* **********

 

Complaint ID: *******

 

Dear Mr. **********,

 

Thank you for allowing Verlo Mattress Factory the opportunity to reply to the complaint you recently received.

 

Verlo’s Position:

 

Verlo Mattress Factory sincerely apologizes for accidently scratching the customer’s floor during delivery. Although we train our delivery personnel to be careful and respectful of our customers’ homes, accidents can unfortunately happen. Verlo is always willing to take responsibility when this occurs, and provide a fair solution to our customers.

 

As the customer stated, the delivery employees immediately called our store to report the incident. A manager went out to the customer’s home to survey the damage. Verlo offered to have the floor professionally repaired. The customer declined the offer, and requested a new floor. Verlo agreed to replace the entire floor, and asked the customer to provide information about the flooring, i.e., the manufacturer, product name, where it was purchased, etc. Once the customer provided the information, Verlo contacted the original store only to discover that the retailer no longer carried the discontinued flooring. After trying unsuccessfully to source the flooring at other retailers, Verlo offered to replace the customer’s entire floor with a new one using a comparable laminate. Verlo than notified the customer of this option - only to be told by the customer that they didn’t know if they wanted it and would get back to us. To date, we are still awaiting the customer’s decision. 

 

Having to source the flooring understandably took more time than we – or the customer – would have preferred. There was never any intention to provide anything other than a timely solution to this issue.

 

 

Sincerely,

***** *********

***** ********* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

From the start, we tried to work with your store manager and general manager. When they offered to Fix our floor we told them that the way they wanted to "professionally fix" our floor would void our warranty.  Our floor is only a year and a half old. Due to the fact that our floor was no longer made we had even offered that we would take the floor up in our bathroom, which is the same floor and we would put ceramic in the bathroom and replace the boards that were scratched Verlo denied to pay for that which would have been cheaper route than replacing the floor. The general manager laughed and said that the most he was willing to spend was $200.00 after several more phone calls we got no where with Verlo so then I contacted the BBB. After Verlo received the complaint the general manager and corporate called on a conference call and the general manager had a whole new tone. As per the phone conversation they offered to replace the floor. Today Verlo sent a floor guy to our house to give Verlo a price. Verlo states that we didn't want the floor replaced, then why did we agree to have the Floor Guy come to our home. Right after the Flooring Guy left I opened my email only to read that Verlo says we didn't know if we wanted to have them replace the floor, then why would we have allowed the flooring guy to come measure and get a quote for Verlo if we weren't going to let them replace the floor. We told Verlo that yes they can replace the floor the only thing per the last conversation we did not agree to was to retract our statement with the BBB and the other websites we contacted until this resolution has been resolved as per their corporate office they would like to have it removed. We stated that it would be as soon as this issue was resolved.  We would have never had to contact anybody if Verlo would have like they stated taken care of this in a reasonable time and with a professional manner.(Having a general manger laugh and make remarks is not so professional) We have been trying to work with Verlo and with reasonable request and only till we contacted BBB and others has Verlo been trying to work with us.  

Regards,

**** ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Verlo Mattress Factory Stores
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart