Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Universal Masonry Construction, LLC

Phone: (262) 818-3350 Fax: (262) 652-6745 View Additional Phone Numbers 7707 10th Ave, Kenosha, WI 53143 http://www.kenoshabrick.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers masonry construction services including brick, block, stone, glass block, historical home renovation, foundation repairs and waterproofing, tuckpointing, chimney repairs, and concrete installation.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Universal Masonry Construction, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Universal Masonry Construction, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 2009 Business started: 09/01/2004 in WI Business started locally: 09/01/2004 Business incorporated 04/30/2009 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation
400 7th Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Fax Number: 617-494-2783

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David L. Klein, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David L. Klein, Owner
Business Category

Mason Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Chimney Builders & Repair Concrete Contractors Commercial and Institutional Building Construction (NAICS: 236220)

Service Area
Southeastern Wisconsin and Northern Illinois
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Universal Masonry Construction, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7707 10th Ave

    Kenosha, WI 53143 (262) 818-3350 (847) 260-7898

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Universal Masonary sent an estimate on 4/30/2015 for masonry services on the front of my home. I sent the required $500 deposit to his address on 5/5/2015. The masonry estimate and work were to be completed within 3 weeks. The work to date is not complete (6/17/15) as I believe the work is not complete to general industry standards. During the weeks that a should have taken 1 to 3 days the "flashing" was forgotten because of lack of coordination between management and employees. After speaking to other professional masonry providers this step needs to be completed in order to adhere the brick to my house siding. The flashing needed to be added prior to adding the lime stone onto the top. Also, one of the lime stone pieces is not centered onto the brick and another piece is a different color as the original piece was dropped by the employees and broken. Mr. ***** explained that he lost money on this job and it should not have taken so long and he fired 2 of the 3 employees that worked on our home. The owners of this company, David *****, disagrees and stated his contract (we have none? only as estimate) includes bricks not securing them to my home, and flashing and caulking were not part of the price. I have a difficult time believing this contractor actually is a member of the BBB by his unprofessional behavior toward myself and my family. I do not believe I should pay the remainder of the estimate until this issue is resolved as I can take the remainder of the funds and hire another contractor to actually finish the job. He is insisting this is how he bids his job and we should have made it more clear to him and he would have said her wasn't a carpenter? I believe he should finish the job to make it have a professional appearance or no longer contact me for funds and I will hire another mason for dismantle of the bricks and complete the job correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would either like him to give us in writing the job will be finished with flashing and centering of the one limestone brick and caulk as necessary and with a professional outcome. My second option is I would like to not pay the remainder of the balance and hire a mason that can dismantle to work to date and make the necessary adjustments to make the front of my home look professional. His resolution as to he will move one piece of limestone and take the caulk off he himself put on my home and "re-do" it.

Business Response: The estimated time from acceptance of contract and deposit is 3 to 5 weeks weather permitting, this year's rainfall amounts have been above normal amounts therefore the customers project was delayed due to weather.  At time of visit for the estimate,  the homeowners already had removed existing brick veneer off of structure, repaired all rotten wood and applied vapor barrier prior to universal masonry arriving,therefore we treated this job as described in our description as installation of brick veneer with installation of self adhesive air barrier onto brick ledge , installation of weep rope and installation of wall ties to adhere veneer onto structure. Universal masonry at no time offered or included flashing between top of brick wall and  under existing siding that was removed by homeowners prior to commencement. Universal masonry was paid in full with a check from homeowners and asked to wait to deposit for two business days, on post dated check date the customer called and placed a stop payment on check, I David *****, owner of universal masonry returned to project location and was met by homeowners brother in law who stated that there was no flashing installed on top of wall and under siding, I informed him that that is a siding issue and was removed prior to our start and not in our job description.  I informed him that the stone sills would have to be removed to allow for installation which we could do at an additional cost but the homeowners or other hired contractors should of installed prior to our installation and that is not something we work with. Mr. ****** then opened garage showing the flashing that was removed from original veneer and asked why we didn't install, I told him once again we do not work with siding and we had no knowledge that was in his garage even if we did. Regarding limestone sill that was broken, the replacement piece is the same " Indiana rockface limestone " from same supplier as original order,  I offered  to remove existing caulk that homeowners were not happy with and replace sill that was not centered by 1/4" but they declined after insulting me personally about my children and threatened me by saying they were going to tell everyone what a horrible contractor we are and how we will be put out of business. Our company prides itself in customer service and quality and that is why we offered to fix sill and redo caulking,   the homeowners started a project that they were acting as the general contractor and once they realized the flashing for the siding should have been installed back before the brick wall was then now are looking to blame universal masonry.  We have done hundreds of jobs for large commercial projects, cellular tower structures, municipality,  goverment, waste water treatment centers and numerous builders so obviously  we care about our work. I will repair garage sill and either remove or redo caulking, but we do not work with siding and we came into this project mid swing only hired to install a brick veneer which customer received and was obviously happy with if the paid check in full, therefore if final payment is made we will correct these issues and if not our council shall file a motion to lien property per wisconsin lien law. Thankyou 

Business Response: The homeowners acted as general contractor, hiring independent subcontractors,  universal masonry has satisfied all portions of contract which were to install a brick veneer, did not include vapor barrier, did not include flashing, 1/2 inch void is standard air insulation to allow moisture to evacuate from behind wall. Universal masonry will accept $1100 for final payment,  reducing original balance owed of $1275. This will allow homeowners enough to sub contract another mason contractor to finish items that they feel did not meet there expectations but still fall into industry standards with allowance . If customers do not wish to accept, universal masonry has retained council for further assistance. 

Thank you 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While the offer of a reduced invoice is a favorable option in the right direct in order to conclude the workmanship issue at my home I would like to have a credit of what it will cost to remove the 3 limestone pieces and have them set to the correct pitch and center.  Obviously there are workmanship errors that will be unable to be corrected without complete demolition. 

Once I receive the confirmation from the National Masonry Organization that my home is weather proofed correctly I would like to settle the matter with a payment that would be closer to a three to four hundred dollar credit.


Regards,

******* ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Universal Masonry Construction, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart