Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

David Wright Masonry

Phone: (920) 924-6161 41 E 9th St, Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 http://www.davidwrightmasonryfdl.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they specialize in masonry and chimney repair including waterproofing, liners and chimney caps.This company also does thin stone, brick block, stone work and foundation repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that David Wright Masonry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for David Wright Masonry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on David Wright Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2005 in WI Business started locally: 03/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Wright, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Wright, Owner
Business Category

Mason Contractors Tuck Pointing Chimney Cleaning Basement - Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Chimney Builders & Repair Masonry Contractors (NAICS: 238140)

Additional Information

This company has indicated to the BBB that they do not pull residential permits.  Permits must be pulled by sub-contractors or the homeowner.

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

David Wright Masonry has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 41 E 9th St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 (920) 924-6161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ****** was paid $1000 to purchase materials with a promise to start taking down and rebuilding our chimney within the next few weeks. It took Mr. ****** a year to start the contracted work, after repeated phone calls and prodding to get the job underway. The contract was finally fulfilled in June 2014, with the exception of the cap he has yet to put on our chimney within several days as promised.Within two weeks after the chimney was rebuilt, we had our first heavy rainfall. We immediately noticed water leaking down the side of the chimney into our garage. Mr. ****** received a phone call reporting the issue that day, followed by six additional phone calls since that time. We have yet to receive a response to any of our calls, nor has Mr. ****** come to install the cap and make the necessary repairs to his work.

Desired Settlement: We would like the necessary repairs to be made and cap installed on our chimney. If he is not able to do the work in a timely manner, we would like him to pay another mason to complete the job. We would also like to see these issues reflected in his Better Business Bureau rating, as working with this individual has been an absolutely horrible experience.

Business Response: I HAD A CONTRACT WITH THIS CUSTOMER I DID RECIEVE $1000 FOR MATERIAL WHICH I BOUGHT RIGHT AWAY. I NOT GET THERE BECAUSE WINTER ARRIVED' I DID COMPLETE THE JOB. THE CAP WAS NOT PART OF THE CONTRACT,THAT WAS A FAVOR. I NEVER RECEIVED A PHONE CALL ABOUT WATER LEAKING IN THE GARAGE OR I WOULD HAVE BEEN THERE TO CORRECT IT. I STILL AM PUTTING THE CAP ON LIKE I SAID ,THERE IS NOTHING IN THE CONTRACT ABOUT A CAP

Business Response: AS STATED $1000 WAS GIVEN TO ME FOR A MATERIAL DEPOSIT.WITH WHICH 2 PALLETS OF BRICK WERE PURCHASED.TIME DID GO BYAND I DID NOT MAKE IT BE FORE WINTER.I ADMIT IT WAS A WHILE IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE ASAP         . I  DID COMPLETE THE JOB.  I WILL CHECK THE LEAK,AND PUT THE CAP ON BY WED.OF NEXT WEEK.           I TOOK $800 OF THIS JOB BECAUSE HE SAID HE WAS ON SOCIAL SECURITY AND WAS MORE THAN HE COULD AFFORD      ALSO  A  SSCAP  DONT MAKE ME LOOK LIKE THE BAD GUY.I TRIED TO HELP U OUT.LIKE I SAID I:LL BE THERE BY NEXT WED    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. ******'s inaccurate responses to our complaint, coupled by the fact that he failed to satisfactorily complete the job and took nearly a year to do it in the first place, leaves us with little trust that he will follow through on his promise to correct these issues. He has displayed a lack of integrity by relaying false information (such as saying he never received a call notifying him of the chimney leak and that I told him I was on Social Security, neither of which are true). He also repeatedly promised us he would be here to do the job and then failed to show up month after month. In addition, Mr. ****** did not replace the flashing before beginning to rebuild the chimney, which was part of the original contract, and may be what is contributing to the leak issue.


Until the chimney leak is fixed to our satisfaction and chimney cap installed, we will not consider this complaint resolved.

 

 

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We agreed to have this mason do the repairs needed for our chimeny in early May, and he had stated it may only take a day or two. Once we decided on him I called to let him know and he stated he would be over to pick-up a check for materials he needed for the job. I wrote him a check(he asked that it be made out to him not the business) for two hundred and some dollars that day. I started leaving him messages wondering when he'd be able to start (so we could get our cars out of the driveway) and I have never heard back, although the check was cashed right away. It is now the end of June. To say the least his business etiquette leaves something to be desired.

Desired Settlement: We no longer can wait for him to show up or call. I want other people to be aware and not give any money before the job is even started.

Business Response: I AGREED TO FIX HER CHIMNEY FOR $800 .I TOLD HER I WOULD NEED A PAYMENT OF $215 FOR THE BRICK.I ALSO HER I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK BRICKYARDS I N NEW BERLIN ,MILWAUKE ,APPLETON.THEY WERE A SPECIAL BRICK  THAT I WAS TRYING TO MATCH.THE HOUSE WAS BRICK AND THE CHIMNEY WAS MADE OF THE SAME BRICK.IT TOOK ME ABOUT A WEEK AND A HALF TO FIND THE BRICK. IN THE MEAN TIME I WAS FINISHING A JOB .I HAVE BEEN A MASON FOR 36 YEARS AND I TAKE DOWN PAYMENTS FOR EVERY JOB WHEN I HAVE TO BUY MATERIAL.HER $200 PAYMENT DID NOT PAY FOR THE GAS DRIVING AROUND LOOKING FOR THE BRICK,OR THE BRICK.I WAS CALLING HER THE FOLLOWING DAY TO START THE JOB.WHEN I SAW SHE HAD CONTACTED THE BBB. I DID CALL HER THAT DAY AND SHE CALLED ME BACK A WEEK LATER AND I TOLD HER I WOULD RETURN THE BRICK AND GIVE HER THE DOWN PAYMENT BACK

Business Response: YES YOU GAVE ME THE MONEY FOR THE BRICK THAT WAS SPECIAL ORDER.EVERY CONTRACTOR GETS MONEY DOWN FOR MATERIAL ESPESPECIALY FOR THINGS THAT HAVE TO BE ORDERED.LIKE I TOLD YOU THE MATERIAL HAD TO BE RETURNED.MONEY RETURNED.I SHOULD HAVE JUST GIVEN YOU THE BRICK! I TOLD YOU IT WOULD BE A FEW WEEKS.MONEY SENT

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    

Regards,

 

******** *******

 

 I did receive the check today 07/28/14 Thank you

 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on David Wright Masonry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart