BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers manufacturing and distribution of window coverings.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Springs Window Fashions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Springs Window Fashions, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Springs Window Fashions, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 06, 1994 Business started: 12/01/1939 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/1939 Business incorporated: 12/15/2005 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Merker, Director of Engineering Mr. John Comeford, General Counsel Ms. Amy Dakin, Professional Channel Sales Mr. Mark Emmrich, Director of Human Resources Mr. Scott A. Fawcett, President/CEO Mr. Phillip Garton, CFO Mr. Bill Hartline, Director of Customer Service Mr. Tom Rodgers, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Merker, Director of Engineering
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Shutters Window Shades Windows

Alternate Business Names
Bali Blinds Graber Blinds

Additional Locations

  • 7549 Graber Rd

    Middleton, WI 53562 (800) 221-6352

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased shutters from ****** in ******** **. The MFG. Springs Window Fashion sent out the installer to install the shutters. He performed poor workmanship. He ordered replacement parts to fix the problems. Spring Window Fashions refuse to put the re-order in order to fix the problems. Spring Window Fashions has a life time warranty they now have refused to honor.

Desired Settlement: Fix the and replace the shutters as agreed. Credit of trim not matching.

Business Response: Customer contacted her place of purchase and Springs Window Fashions on 2/20/13 regarding dissatisfaction that the frame on her By-pass shutter does not match those on her standard shutters.  We explained this is normal and cannot be done any other way and confirmed with the installer that this was explained during the time of measure.  As the consumer contacted SWF, we explained the only options are to remove and refund or a cost concession to keep as is since there is no other way to accommodate the opening properly.  We informed customer that we would relay this info to store since any compensation would be given to her directly from them.  We called store and offered a $465 cost concession for customer due to her dissatisfaction and also advised that the other option we had given was a full refund of the By-pass shutter with its removal.  At this point the situation was left with store to get the consumer's decision of removal or cost concession.

Customer contacted SWF again on 2/20 stating that there were also installation issues(something not level and rough spots where the installer used nails).  She said the installer told her that he could fix these issues.  We advised customer that we would touch base with the installer about these concerns and call her back with the resolution.

The issue was pushed to our ************* *********** and ******** ************ *******.  The Coordinator contacted customer on 2/21 to advise that he would be working with the installer and RIM to devise a strategy to address all of her complaints.  Customer and the installer agreed to meet on 3/1 to go over all issues.  A remake for all items was discussed during the inspection and customer contacted to ensure everything was covered before issuing the new order.  During this call to the customer, she stated that she failed to bring up damage that the installer caused to her window and door and demanded money before we were to proceed with remaking anything for her. 

On 3/4, we spoke to the store's associate dealing with the consumer to explain that they would need to contact customer and offer the previously discussed $465 cost concession so that we could in turn begin production on the remake order.  After the cost concession was offered, customer contacted SWF stating that the store's offer of $465 was not acceptable or fair.  At this point customer was given 2 options; to accept the $465 and proceed with the remake or we can remove all the shutters and issue 50% on the entire order, however we eventually agreed to remake everything.

Installation of the remake is scheduled for 6/17/13 at which time we have planned to have the original installer, another area installer and a store associate present.  Our hopes are at this time we will be able to install all new product and address all concerns. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had faux wood blinds put in our entire new construction house. They are horrible. I cant even begin to tell you how many times we have had to repair these. The wands break every other day. Then we have to wait for parts to even use them again. It is so frustrating. I have told them several times about the problem and they just keep sending me parts. I dont want anymore parts. I think the quality is horrible.

Desired Settlement: Either give me a credit and I will order a product that doesnt have wands or give me my money back and come pick them up.

Business Response: This consumer's complaint was regarding her wand tilters on her faux wood blinds. She's had several break since her original order in 2011 (PO# ********). SWF offered to send cord tilters for all of her blinds and cover the fee for the **** ***** installer to come out and replace them. She accepted this resolution. She also informed me that one of her lift cords recently broke. SWF has processed a remake order for that blind as well as the parts order for the new tilters. SWF is working with Rep at **** ***** to arrange for the installer to go out to the home.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hoping this is the correct company - the address on my Allen & Roth rod box says *********, Wisconsin. I recently purchased a 72" to 144" drapery rod #******- the ends look in pineapples? I just got off the phone with your service representative ******* (?) at ###-###-####. She told me to take the rod back to ***** since the package was missing the screws and anchors and she would not be able to provide me with the fasteners. This is terrible customer service and in direct opposition to what the paper insert says to do. You can bet I will net buying Springs Window Fashions products in the future.

Desired Settlement: All I wanted was replacement parts as disclosed in the product insert paper instead of me having to return the product to be place of purchase

Business Response: This consumer purchased a Drapery Hardware item from ****'s and it was missing the screws and wall anchors. SWF reached him via e-mail and apologized for the missing parts. He informed me that he already went and bought his own screws and wall anchors. He also expressed his disappointment with how long it took us to respond to the BBB complaint. SWF customer service representative apologized and explained that there was an issue with the communication of the complaint (SWF did not receive notice until 2/5/13) . CS representative reassured him that this is not the standard we have for ourselves when responding to customers. CS rep offered to reimburse him the cost of the screws and wall anchors he had to purchase. He refused, and simply requested we no longer contact him and that he considers this matter closed unsatisfactorily.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, it is accurate on its face. 

Their original contact  took six weeks, I informed them that I considered this matter closed.  

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am completely dissatisfied with the service I received from Graber/ Spring Window Fashions and its local vendor (***** **** *********** *****) located in ******** *** I contacted Mr. ****-General Manager (of Graber/Spring Window Fashions at 1-800-###-###-####) on Wednesday, November 14, 2012. Mr. **** was advised of an incorrect order I received on Wednesday, November 14, 2012 regarding my shutters. I advised Mr. **** that the shutters I received were not the shutters I had ordered. I also advised Mr. **** that on the date I ordered the shutters (Friday, September 28, 2012), I was not completely advised that my shutters would be connected to the frame or to the moulding I ordered. I explained to Mr. **** that I was under the impression that my custom ordered shutters and the frame would be individual pieces. I also explained to Mr. **** that my master bedroom custom ordered shutters were "all wrong". The installer advised me that the warehouse had sent the incorrect order for my bathroom as well. The installer stated to my husband that after reviewing the order sheet and looking at the product he was preparing to install (in my bathroom), he realized it was not what we had ordered. After explaining the aforementioned information to Mr. ****, I further advised him that I had spoken with the owner of the contractor business associated with Graber. I informed Mr. **** that the contractor had recently arrived at my residence to install the shutters. I went on to explain to Mr. **** of the incorrect order. I also explained to Mr. **** that I attempted to schedule another appointment with the contractor to have the correct shutters installed. I explained to Mr. **** that the contractor advised me he would contact me to schedule another appointment with me. Well needless to say, the contractor did not keep his promise or his word. Instead, the funds for the previously incorrect order, was debited back into my account. I explained all of this information to Mr. **** who advised me the situation would be taken care of and he would contact me the following day because he needed to speak with the local contractor and vendor in reference to how the situation could be rectified. Needless to say, I have yet to receive a returned phone call from either Mr. **** or any member of the Graber team. I would not be disappointed if Mr. **** or any representative of Graber/Spring Window Fashions,LLC would have called and stated that they had chosen to refund my money. At least I would've understood that I needed to purchase my shutters from another company. But I am disappointed because NO ONE has yet to contact me and its been approximately 1 week or close to 1 week. After speaking with Mr. ****, I waited approximately 2 days for a response. After my phone call and message went unanswered or unreturned, I contacted Graber Customer Service again.. I spoke with a female representative who informed me that Mr. **** was out of the office and she then proceeded to look at the notes regarding my service. After reading the notes, the female representative advised me she would be certain to contact me personally on Monday, November 19,2012. Here it is Wednesday, November 21, 2012, and I have yet to receive a returned telephone call from anyone. My family and friends often purchase blinds/shutters from Graber and the local vendors associated with Graber.. As of now I will encourage them not to purchase blinds/shutters from Graber because of the unprofessionalism and the lack of concern for their dedicated customers. I will be certain to advise them of the lack of care my family received and the lack of concern Graber displayed in reference to an incorrect order which was delivered to my residence. I will advise them of the constant lies I received from Mr. **** and his team (customer service representatives) Thank You!

Desired Settlement: More care and concern for dedicated customers.... Be truthful and notify the customers one way or the other.. even if a returned phone call is to UPDATE the customer as to where the concerning matter is at that point!!!

Business Response:

This complaint was turned over to a Product Specialist within our Customer Service team shortly after it was received.

The resolution is dependent on a Design Technician  verifying whether or not a Hang Strip is a feasible application in the consumer's windows. We are in process of trying to connect with the consumer to make arrangements for the in-house visit to complete the evaluation.

To date, our Product Specialist has made 4 attempts to contact the customer directly

  • 11/21- call, no answer, left a voice mail for Mrs. ****** ** ************
  • 11/21- emailed Mrs. ******
  • 11/23- call, no amswer, left a voice mail for Mrs. ****** on ###-###-####

  • 11/29- contacted the Lowe's store where Mrs. ****** purchased these shutters to see if they have heard from Mrs. ****** OR had any alternate ways to contact her. The store advised that they have not heard from her. The store provided an alternate phone number which was called and received voice mail. Left a voice mail today (11/29/12) for Mrs. ****** on ###-###-####.

We will continue our attempts to make contact with consumer and resolve the open issue.

 

 

Business Response: On Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 3:03 PM, *** ****** ************************************** ******
I have an update on the update to this complaint- I believe the issue has been resolved.

We finally connected with Mrs. ****** and she stated that she no longer needs our services.  She said that she and her husband "decided to go with another company" and then thanked me for making various attempts to contact her.

No product had been installed in her home so there is no further action required.



Regards
*** ****** ******* *** ******* *********** ******** ** *********** ************************************ ******* ****** ********* *** **** ****** **** ********** ** ***** *** ************ *** ************
*** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company guarantees from workmanship defect, however they will not honor that claim

Desired Settlement: refund my money so I can replace my blind or replace/repair

Business Response:

Oone of our customer service representatives contacted the customer regarding the situation below and a resolution has been found. Customer emailed us expressing the difficulties she has had raising 2 of her 3 cordless aluminum blinds, due to those difficulties the cords had broken. The customer was advised she was out of warranty and must pay for repair, she felt that the workmanship caused the cords to break. The resolution was to remake all 3 blinds, due to discontinued color and customer did not want to be without window coverings. Also, customer requested standard cords for her remake.

The call ended with a happy customer and she even stated that she would continue to purchase **** products.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased ****** shutters for my new home through B&B Blinds. Not only did the product arrive 2 1/2 months late, but the product installed does not conform to the expectations based on the sales representatives claims about product quality and features. We were told that the ****** shutters were on par with ****** *******. The shutters we received lack the very basic design and quality standards that are expected of the price per square foot paid. For example, the paint job is very poor and varies from shutter to shutter in texture and color. Furthermore, the design of the shutters differ substantially from the samples shown by the sales rep. The top and bottom portion of the frame is unnecessarily thick, i.e. 5.75".

Desired Settlement: We have been requesting the manufacturer to take responsibility and address our complaint. The manufacturer is expected to review the complaint and uninstall the product and provide a refund.

Business Response:  The following is the summary of issues and te actions to be taken:

  • Customer ordered shutters from a local dealer and was not satisified (outlined in their complaint).
  • The dealer that sold the shutters is no longer in business.
  • Springs sent an associate to the consumers home with the sales rep to evaluate the situation and take pictures of the issues the customer is having. 
  • Members of our Sales and Customer Service team spoke with the consumer 4/26/2012 to discuss options of repairing or offering a cost concession.  
  • The customer is not willing to keep the shutters in his home.
  • He stated the shutters were misrepresented by the dealer.
  • In addition to the finish and other fit issues he was not aware the rails would be so large and was not happy with the panel configuration the dealer chose for his windows.
  • We will be extending a full refund and sending an installer to his home to remove the existing shutters.
  • Although he was disappointed in his experience with this particular dealer, he did say that he was impressed with our company's pride in our products and would use us in the future.
  • A member of our customer service team will be coordinating the refund and the consumer will contact us when he is ready to have the shutters removed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved