BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Johnson Controls, Inc. is a global market provider of automotive systems and facility management and control. In the automotive market, it is a large supplier of integrated seating and interior systems, and batteries. For nonresidential facilities, Johnson Controls provides control systems and services, including comfort, energy and security management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Johnson Controls, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johnson Controls, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Controls, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1941 Business started: 01/01/1885 Business started locally: 01/01/1885 Business incorporated: 07/31/1900 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Liz Blair Mr. Mary Dowell, Director of Community Relations Ms. Tanya D. Ensor, Heating & Air Conditioning Ms. Deborah Liebert, Complaints Contact Mr. Frank A. Voltolina, Vice President & Treasurer Mr. Keith E. Wandell, President and COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tanya D. Ensor, Heating & Air Conditioning
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers


Additional Locations

  • 1007 S. 12th

    Watertown, WI 53094

  • 2400 Kilgust Rd

    Madison, WI 53713

  • 507 E. Michigan

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 5757 N. Green Bay Ave.

    Milwaukee, WI 53209

  • P.O. Box 591

    Milwaukee, WI 53201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 961-6500(Phone)
  • (608) 222-9100(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a house with a York brand air conditioner a little over two years ago. The compressor is defective, and the unit does not work anymore. The compressor is covered under warranty, but the labor and materials are not. The company built the product with a defective part. They should cover the complete cost of the repair.

Desired Settlement: The company should pay for the materials and labor to have the defective part replaced. The quote to repair the unit is $840 ($585 for freon replacement/$255 for labor).

Business Response:

Mr. **********,

Please find the attached response to Mr. ********* regarding your ID file number *******.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This product was made using a defective part. The fact that a warranty exists implies that there is a likelihood or possibility of this happening. This defect has caused me personal financial damage (repair cost), time, and personal comfort (no AC). I understand that they have a piece of paper they produced, that says they are not responsible for repair costs. That does mean it is the right thing to do. Most of the HVAC companies I talked to while getting repair quotes told me that there is no way a compressor should fail after this short amount of time, and that the compressor generally outlasts the unit itself. I believe a manufacturer should stand behind their product, and take responsiblity for damages caused by the malfunction of the product. As I do not believe their response reflects ethical treatment of consumers or general integrity, I must therefore respectfully reject their response.

Regards,

**** *********

 

 

Business Response:

Mr. **********,

This is in response to your follow up correspondence regarding BBB complaint ID *******, Mr. **** *********.

There are many reasons that a compressor can fail including, but certainly not limited to, poor installation, application or maintenance, issues with the power supplied to the equipment (surges, brown outs, etc), refrigerant or airflow issues, or manufacturing defect.  Although mechanical failures can occur at any time in the life of the equipment, typically failures from manufacturing defect will occur at start up or very soon thereafter rather than several years into the life the equipment.  You’ll recall in the previously provided correspondence that Mr. ******* has provided Mr. ********* a start up sheet for his servicing dealer to complete and submit for technical review.  The startup sheet provides operational performance data that can assist in determining if there are further issues present that should be addressed.  

Johnson Controls does stand behind its products by supporting the terms of the established warranty and administering that warranty in a consistent manner that is fair to all its customers.  As the limited warranty specifically excludes labor and material charges we must again respectfully decline Mr. *********’s request to provide coverage beyond the stated terms of the warranty.

Sincerely,

***** *****

******** ******** *********

Johnson Controls

**** **** *****

******* ******** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 11, 2010 I purchased a new air conditioning unit that was manufactured by Johnson Controls, Inc. The unit stopped working on July 5, 2012, one year, ten months, and three weeks after it was installed. Because of the faulty unit that was sold to me, I had to spend $1177.76 on installation and coolant for the new unit. I sent a letter to Johnson Controls, Inc. requesting a refund of the full amount. Instead of getting a response from the company's headquarters, my letter was forwarded to an office in ********. The office in ******** sent me a letter, dated August 8, 2012, stating that they'd forwarded my complaint to an office in ******* *** Shortly before I received the letter from the ******** branch, I'd been referred to the same ****** branch by a representative from an office in ******** **. I emailed the ****** office a copy of the letter and invoice that I sent to the Johnson Controls, Inc. headquarters. Each time, I requested that a company representative contact me, via telephone, within seven days. It has been eleven days since the ******** office forwarded my complaint, and seven days since I sent an email. I have not received any type of communication from the ****** office. I am filing this complaint with the main company because all of my paperwork points to Johnson Controls, Inc., not Century AC Supply( the ****** company they supposedly forwarded my information to).

Desired Settlement: I simply want a refund. In 2010 I spent $3995 on a brand new air conditioning unit; I do not have an additional $1177.76 to waste on the same unit, less than two years later. I am a public school guidance counselor. I don't have lots of spare money to throw away. The company's brochure promises high quality and reliability, but I haven't seen any of that.

Business Response: Please see attached.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** Yates

 

 

Consumer Response: I am not satisfied with the company's response because it did not solve my issue. Because of a poorly constructed air conditioning unit, I am currently out of $1177.76. If this unit had not been purchased new, or been only a year old when it stopped working, I wouldn't be so upset. I am a public school counselor, so I don't make enough money to spend $3995 on the purchase of a new air conditioning unit, then spend almost $1200 on the same unit- less than two years later! A product that costs $3995 should last longer than a year and a half. Period!

The Johnson Controls, Inc. response mentioned something about ******* ********** having the part in stock, but that is not true. I had TWO technicians from ******* ********** come out to my house on the same day as **** *** (the company I chose to go with). I asked the ******* ********** technicians if they had the part in stock and I was told that they did not. Not to mention, ******* ********** quoted me a price of $1995, without coolant, to install the part. The technician also mentioned that this particular air conditioning unit (brand) FREQUENTLY has issues with the compressor going out in a short amount of time. My case is not anything new to Johnson Controls, Inc.

I was redirected to countless divisions within Johnson Controls, Inc, as well as outside companies that fall under the corporate umbrella. A couple of those departments and companies contacted me back; most of them, including ******* ** ******, did not. Each time I was contacted, I was again sent to someone else. From what I have seen, passing the responsibility for poorly constructed, sub par equipment is just the Johnson Controls, Inc. way of doing business; so I am not surprised that they chose to include ******* ********** and **** *** in their response.

Johnson Controls, Inc. is a company that promises exceptional quality and customer service, but does not deliver on any of it. I am completely disgusted with this whole situation! Instead of spending money to prepare for the school year, and my new students, I had to pay to replace something that shouldn't have broken in the first place.

Business Response: Please see attached.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.On the cover of the manual that I received from Johnson Controls Inc., the company states, " Congratulations on your purchase of a product built by Johnson Controls. We hope you will find this product to be of high quality and reliability. We are dedicated to raising the standard not only in workmanship but in service and comfort as well.” Unfortunately, this company did not deliver on any of those things. Not only was the product that I received of very low quality, but the service from the company's employees was also very poor. I was bounced around from department to department, and from company to company under the Johnson Controls Inc. umbrella. It is disgusting that a company can build shoddy machinery, sell it to consumers for outrageous prices, and then leave the cost of repair for that item on the shoulders of the consumer. Although, as evidenced by the way I've been treated, I do believe that it is indicative of the nature and character of this corporation for them to not resolve this issue in a manner that is satisfactory to consumers who allow their business to thrive. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable