Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Johnson Controls, Inc. is a global market provider of automotive systems and facility management and control. In the automotive market, it is a large supplier of integrated seating and interior systems, and batteries. For nonresidential facilities, Johnson Controls provides control systems and services, including comfort, energy and security management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Johnson Controls, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johnson Controls, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Controls, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1941 Business started: 01/01/1885 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1885 Business incorporated 07/31/1900 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex A. Molinaroli, Chairman President & CEO Ms. Liz Blair Mr. Mary Dowell, Director of Community Relations Ms. Tanya D. Ensor, Heating & Air Conditioning Ms. Deborah Liebert, Complaints Contact Mr. Frank A. Voltolina, Vice President & Treasurer Mr. Keith E. Wandell, President and COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tanya D. Ensor, Heating & Air Conditioning
Principal: Mr. Alex A. Molinaroli, Chairman President & CEO
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers All Other Miscellaneous Manufacturing (NAICS: 339999)

Products & Services

Johnson Controls, Inc. offers the following product(s): creates quality products, services and solutions to optimize energy and operational efficiencies of buildings; lead-acid automotive batteries and advanced batteries for hybrid and electric vehicles; and interior systems for automobiles.


Additional Locations

  • 1007 S 12th St

    Watertown, WI 53094

  • 2400 Kilgust Rd

    Monona, WI 53713

  • 507 E Michigan St

    Milwaukee, WI 53202

  • 5757 N. Green Bay Ave.

    Milwaukee, WI 53209

  • P.O. Box 591

    Milwaukee, WI 53201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Johnson Controls manufactures the Ever Start brand of vehicle batteries sold nationwide at Wal-Mart stores. Wal-Mart does not manufacture the battery, Johnson Controls does. My husband, ****** ********** (it's a joint complaint) bought two Everstart batteries from our local Wal-Mart store (3220 Irving Cobb Dr., Paducah, KY) on the date of 7/21/13. The batteries purchased were listed on the ticket (which we have and can present) as item 060538809836 which is this item: http://www.walmart.com/ip/EverStart-Plus-56-3-Lead-Acid-Automotive-Battery/28275674#about The batteries have a two year warranty, which expired on 7/21/15. On the date of 4/28/16, when starting up the vehicle as normal, (an RV) one of the batteries exploded (yes exploded!) with a large bang (only one of the batteries was involved, the other one bought on the above ticket was okay-it was on the other side of the engine.). No one was injured, and the only reason no property damage (that we know of, and it doesn't look like there is any) occurred is my husband rinsing everything off in the engine compartment with water very quickly. He had to to remove the battery (and he is unharmed) that was spilling battery acid everywhere. I have a picture of the battery and one side of it is basically missing. The local Wal-Mart store can cooperate this as it was returned to them for a "core". Since the warranty had expired, the local Wal-Mart store could do nothing to help us. They have been very kind and courteous and as helpful as possible on all levels, locally and corporate. When I called Johnson Controls, I spoke with a woman (I should have gotten her name, but didn't-but she did get mine.) who flat out denied that Johnson control has any responsibility in this matter. They tried to put the blame and responsibility on Wal-Mart. Saying, "We just make them for them." They also implied that my husband had done something irregular to the battery for this to have happened. Which was simply not true. They in a round about way blamed both us and Wal-Mart for the failure of the battery and it's explosion. It is ludicrous to expect any store to be liable for it's product. Liability should always, logically lie with the manufacturer. Manufacturers must be held to reasonable standards of care and safety. An exploding battery is not exactly something anyone would consider safe! The battery that exploded had a serial number of (one of these two, we bought two on the same ticket, and only one exploded) either JCH13004605005 or JCH13004046047. The purchase price after core return and tax was $90.07. On 4/29/16, when our local Wal-Mart could not replace the exploded battery (but did take it as a core) we purchased another battery, also an Ever Start. Wal-Mart item 060538809700 http://www.walmart.com/ip/EverStart-Plus-24-3-Lead-Acid-Automotive-Battery/28275666 The serial number was: JCH15002766525. The purchase price after core return and tax was $95.37. (I have all the receipts on both batteries, by the way.) So, in a bit less than three years, we have a battery that explodes and spills battery acid everywhere when our RV was started. I don't think anyone would think this is normal. It is unconscionable that Johnson tries to blame Wal-Mart and ourselves-when the only fault is theirs for manufacturing a faulty battery. Someone could have been hurt, maimed or killed or an RV motor ruined or a fire started by this battery. We are all fortunate that the only damage appears to be in the battery itself. I can supply pictures and receipts if needed as well.

Desired Settlement: We did not pay Johnson directly, but Wal-Mart. I think it's only reasonable that they pay the cost of the original battery (which is $5.30 less than the cost of the new battery). They deny responsibility and try to say it is Wal-Mart's problem. No reasonable person would expect the seller to pay for this or make it right, it is solely the manufacturer, Johnson's issue and liability. And they need to do the right thing and take responsibility for this faulty battery.

Business Response:

As a matter of practice and agreement, we do not supersede or circumvent our customer's decisions on their warranty programs.  Johnson Controls does not handle the warranties on behalf of the retailer.  The retailer has the sole responsibility to manage their warranty program.  To receive a warranty on your product you must return the battery to the company with a proof of purchase.  The retailer's decision is the final decision.

On the original receipt, when the battery was purchased it states: “Receipt is necessary to validate date of purchase for warranty adjustments.”  See attached sample image with the warranty verbiage (Note this is only a sample and not a copy of your receipt).  The battery receipt purchase date is used to determine the start of the warranty.  From the information you provided the warranty began on 7/21/13 and ended on 7/21/15.  The warranty period for an Everstart plus battery is two years from the data of purchase.  This will place the time of issue with the battery on 4/28/16, outside of the warranty period.  Warranty is strictly handled by the retailer and is not honored / extended by Johnson Controls.  No warranty assistance will be provided by Johnson Controls, Inc. battery division.

If you have additional questions about your battery you may contact Walmart Customer Service Directly at (###-###-####) and a customer care representative will assist you.

If you feel that you have a liability claim that needs to be addressed you will need to contact the Walmart Customer Service directly at (###-###-####) with your complaint.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I think everyone can agree that Wal-Mart handles normal and customary warranty issues and warranty claims instead of Johnson Co.. And I have no doubt that had it been under warranty and a warranty related claim, Wal-Mart would have done so properly. But it is not a warranty issue, and it is ridiculous to believe that it is a warranty issue when a battery explodes.

This is outside of the scope of a warranty issue or expired warranty. The idea that this is a warranty claim and not a manufacturing issue, is ludicrous. Johnson Co. is passing the blame on to Wal-Mart in the guise of calling it a warranty issue, for a faulty product that they made and Wal-Mart did not (but was unfortunate enough to sell). This is not a warranty issue it is a product manufacturing, quality and safety issue. 

Can you imagine any other product (admittedly out of warranty by less than a year) when it EXPLODED (a fact that seems to be blatantly ignored by Johnson Co., that the battery EXPLODED as the picture shows one side of it missing!) or caused any harm to person or property (we were very fortunate no person or property was harmed), can anyone actually imagine the manufacturer in a similar situation blaming the store and passing the responsibility on to them as a warranty issue? It would be unthinkable and irrational. If any consumer blamed the store instead of the manufacturer in a case like this, that would be irrational as well.

The only logical conclusion is that this is not a warranty issue but a manufacturing issue that Johnson Co. is solely responsible for. This is a manufacturing issue and not a warranty issue and Johnson Co. seems to want to avoid taking responsibility for a manufacturing issue that caused a battery to explode when an RV was started. For some reason, they seem to think that an exploding battery that they made is a warranty issue not a manufacturing issue. 

I will be sure to inform Wal-Mart of this matter and Johnson Co.'s mishandling of it. This is unacceptable and unprofessional of Johnson Co. and I urge the BBB to look further into this matter if at all possible, and if not, to change the rating of Johnson Co. to reflect their poor handling of this issue. 



Regards,

******** **********

8/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Johnson Controls $450,000,.00 for air condition equipment to be supplied by Them and for My Company to install at Fort *** ******* in San Antonio TX The customer is the ****** ****** ********** AKA the **** *** ***** ******** ******* *** *****. Johnson Controls Delivered equipment that was not correct and miss matched. This equipment was supplied by YORK ( Owned by Johnson Controls ) The equipment was a total miss match. My Company spent a Year trying to get the equipment to work. I asked mutable times for assistance from them and asked that the design engineer visit the job. They laughed at Me on the phone and then never replied to My emails. Their failure to provide the correct equipment has cost My Company $71,107.00 They did sign My certified mail I sent Them requesting reimbursement but refuse to reply. Their lack of response to the contractors They sell to is ridicules. The lack of Customer support is ridicules. The fact that They can get away with how They treat Their Customers and Contractors is Ridicules. I pity any Contractor or Building Owner that ever uses Their equipment or services.

Desired Settlement: Johnson Controls owns up to Their mistake and pay the $71,107.00 I have lost and They take owner ship of the warranty on this equipment for the next Year that is owed to The ****** ****** **********,

Business Response: I am ****** ***** ****************** ************ ******** for Johnson Controls, Inc. ("JCI") and your
letter addressed to ***** ****** and ******* *******, dated June 11, 2015, has been forwarded to my
attention. In that letter you raise issues with One Stop's purchase of 7 air conditioning units for the
******* **** ***** **** ****** ***** *** ******** ******
We have had an opportunity to review the information identified in your correspondence, and we find
that the allegations contained therein to be completely meritless. There was no "catastrophic failure"
caused by any alleged inconsistency between JCI's evaporator units and evaporator coils. The slight delay
resulting from replacement of those coils ultimately played no role in the completion of the project.
Further, JCI quickly handled compressor replacements notwithstanding that their failure was due to
improper installation by One Stop. In sum, JCI has addressed all of One Stop's requests for assistance on
this project.
All of the other problems that One Stop experienced with respect to the JCI units were due entirely to
One Stop's lack of experience and poor management in the installation of the units. Just as examples of
the problems caused by One Stop:
• Piping and refrigeration lines were not installed per contract drawings;
• Dryers were not changed when systems opened, per common HVAC practices;
• Consistent leaks were caused by improper copper cleaning and soldering practices;
• Refrigeration lines were left open and not protected from the atmosphere and moisture;
• Proper tools (e.g., scales, micrometers) were not used to control and manage refrigerant levels;
and
• Proper vacuum was not pulled from the refrigerant line sets when the work was completed or
repairs made.
These problems are detailed, in part, in the attached report from ***** *****, which JCI had provided to
you on multiple occasions during the spring of 2015. Furthermore, at a February 26, 2015 call between
JCI and One Stop, JCI previously offered, and One Stop gladly accepted, a deductive change order totaling
$6,000, as an accommodation to account for and settle One Stop's purported grievances, including the
compressor replacements that One Stop undertook without seeking JCl's assistance.
JCI has performed its contractual obligations while One Stop is in breach. One Stop has an overdue
outstanding invoice to JCI of $35,270 on a separate controls contract, and we expect that to be paid no
later than September 1, 2015, to avoid us having to take action to collect that sum either through legal
action or a claim on One Stop's surety. Furthermore, to the extent we have to take legal action to collect
this overdue sum, JCI will explore recovery of the costs and expenses incurred by JCI in assisting One Stop
in installation ofthe units.
The foregoing is without prejudice to and with full reservation of all legal, equitable or other rights that
Johnson Controls, Inc. has in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Johnson Controls has no regards to ethics, They refuse to support Their products and assist Their customers.

I would never bid another job with Their name on the job as suppliers.

Regards,

***** ********

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two years ago I purchased a Duralast battery from an AutoZone. Recently battery acid damaged the transmission shift cable in my car. A new battery was purchased and a claim was filed with the company to be reimbursed for the damage, the new battery I paid for, and one day of pay for having to use a vacation day. Myself and the mechanic both saw battery acid corrosion around the battery area and the battery appeared to be leaking from somewhere. Within about a two week time period of sending in the battery, my claim was denied saying the company tested the battery and found no issues. The claim was dismissed without them speaking to me about where the battery appeared to be leaking. I contacted the claims manager and had to reopen the complaint. This time she actually spent time gathering information. She called the repair shop and was told the battery appeared to be leaking from the top seal. After about a four week period, I emailed the claims manager and did not hear back. The next day I left a voicemail and finally a day after that I spoke to the ****** *******. But again, she says they don't know what happened to cause the battery corrosion but their battery isn't defective. They said there was no visible evidence of the battery leaking but the mechanic and I could clearly see where something was running down the side of the battery. I sent an email requesting to have the battery returned because I paid for it and to have copies of the test results sent. Again, after a full business day I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for all of the repair work, the second battery I purchased, and one day's pay. In total, I request a payment of $927.45.

Consumer Response: On Tue, Jul 15, 2014 at 8:43 AM, ******* ***** ************************** wrote:

*******, I have settled this issue satisfactorily with Johnson Controls. Can you please close this issue or is there something that I need to do?

 

Thanks,

*****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Controls, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)