BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company manufactures outdoor power equipment, and replacement parts, for both consumer and commercial users. This includes various types of walk behind and ride on lawn mowers and snow throwers, manufactured under various brand names at various US locations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ariens Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ariens Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ariens Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 09/11/1933 in WI Business started locally: 09/11/1933 Business incorporated: 09/11/1933 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel T. Ariens, President & CEO Ms. Esther Pietrowski , Director Customer Support Mr. Michael S. Ariens, Chairman of Board Mr. Steve Demsien, Sr. V.P./ Sales & Marketing Mr. Fred Moreaux, Dir Prod Conformance Mr. Stewart M. Witkov, Corp. V. P. & CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel T. Ariens, President & CEO
Principal: Ms. Esther Pietrowski , Director Customer Support
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Lawn Mowers Log Splitting Equipment Snow Removal Equipment Commercial Products Manufacturers All Other Miscellaneous Manufacturing (NAICS: 339999)

Alternate Business Names
Ariens

Additional Locations

  • 655 W Ryan St

    Brillion, WI 54110 (920) 756-2141

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2014 Delivery Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: $130.97 The carburetor on the snowblower failed after only about 6 times running in last 2 yr. Other Briggs & Stratton engines are warranted 3yr.

Desired Settlement: REFUND

Business Response:

After reviewing this complaint, I reached out to the customer to get more information. I educated him so this would not happen again, and offered to reimburse him $100.00, which he agreed to.

 

Thank you,

 

**** *******

******** ********* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this firm on Sunday, 12/8 as I could not start their snow blower. I spoke with Mr. **** ******* on Thursday, 12/12 who at first gave me the run around. I then contacted his Supervisor, Esther who informed me that **** would be contacting me. **** did contact me last Thursday, 12/12 and informed that a "local" dealer will be contacting me. The dealer did contact me but they operate in mid-state Pennsylvania and I'm located in the ********* **** ** *** ******. Ariens did email me to inform me that they would locate another dealer who will be doing the repair on my snow blower. Ariens will pay for pick up and delivery of snow blower as well as any repairs needed. It is Thursday, 12/19 as I write and I've had no such contact from any "local" dealer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ariens to keep their word and either: - complete the repair as promised or - give me a pro-rated refund of their product and arrange for removal from my property.

Business Response:

After speaking to this customer, it appears the machine was not stored properly as recommended in the owner’s manual. I made several calls to dealers in the area as he was too busy to make calls himself.

 

This morning I made contact with *** ********* ****, and they are able and willing to pick up the machine for the customer. I asked them to contact him to arrange the time for pickup. I also indicated that the Ariens Company will cover the cost of transportation, which is estimated at about $80.

If this is a fuel related issue, it’s the customers responsibility to pay for the work done on the machine.

Business Response: On Sun, Jan 12, 2014 at 1:35 PM, ******* ******* ********************* wrote:

Bradley-

 

I have spoken to the dealer, and they have also shown me a picture of the carburetor, which is gummed up (attached). They could smell stale fuel, and noticed the oil level was 1 1/4" over the full mark, which is another instance of the customer not properly maintaining their unit.

 

If you enter the model/serial number of ****’s unit into the online version of the owner’s manual, and go to page 31, you will see our statement pertaining to old/stale fuel. By not following these directions, the exact situation which the customer in question, experienced.

  ********************************************************************************************************

 

 

 

 

http://ariens.custhelp.com/ci/inlineImage/get/16317/98a5b61282440098de1052fac85f1207

 

The Ariens Company has now reeducated the customer so this not happen again in the future. I would also like to offer to help with $58.16 of their cost, which is ¼ of the total bill. We also already covered the pickup and delivery charge, which is normally the owner’s responsibility ($75). I also need to reiterate this is a Briggs issue, not an Ariens, and the customer should be working with Briggs and Stratton, as they support their own equipment, but Ariens is trying to stand behind our brand and let the customer know we do care.

 

Hopefully the customer will find this offer satisfactory.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Whereas I can argue the point concerning fuel stabilizer (their documentation states "recommended" not required), they have adhered to the spirit of the original dialogue that I had with them whereby they agreed to cover part of the cost of repair.  This being said and assuming that they follow thru on their word; I will consider this resolution acceptable to me.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ***********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2011 I found myself in need of a riding mower. I decided on an online offer at **** *****. The mower I purchased was an Ariens 46" hydro tractor. The mower took over a month to deliver by freight and when it arrived some important parts where missing including an ignition key. Three weeks later **** ***** had the missing parts delivered. In May of 2013 while mowing my property the mower backfired and a large plume of white and black smoke came out of the exhaust. The mower would no longer run after that. All fluids had been checked before each use and were fine that day. I called **** ***** and was told to call Ariens as the mower is under a two year warranty. Ariens told me to take the mower to an authorized dealer in Milwaukie Or. called ********** *****. ********** told me to bring the mower in but it would be four weeks before they could look at it. I got the mower back around the first week of July 2013. I arrived home with the mower to mow a badly overgrown property and the mower again backfired and more smoke, and the mower no longer would run. ********* told me to bring it back ( round trip is 100 miles) and they would look at it again. I finally got the mower back twords the end of July 2013, but I had to leave the gas cap loose in order for it to run. The mower made it's last trip around my property on the last week of August of 2013 and has not run since. My limited warranty has expired, and Ariens still say's to contact *********. I spoke with a mechanic at ********* ***** in Sept. as he needed the serial number from to motor. I emailed ********* over a week ago and no contact. Ariens and ********* were trying to get ****** ******** involved in the matter. Now I feel as though I have been set adrift by all parties. I feel that I have a legitimate consumer complaint on this mowers short life. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Replacement or refund

Business Response:

Hello *******-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

I have read the written correspondence between Mr. ****, and our Technical Service agent, and have also had a conversation with the dealer. Mr. **** has been advised by both parties multiple times to bring the tractor back to the dealership for them to diagnose and resolve the issue. The dealer confirmed this is an engine issue. Per our owner’s manual on page 30, this warranty does not apply to the engine. For any engine repair work, we refer the owner to the applicable manufacturer’s warranty statement. In this case, it’s ****** * ********.

Thank you,
 
**** *******
******** ********* *******
Ariens Company

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

The repair facility has worked on the mower twice during the summer with negative results. The owner of ********** claims to have spoke to me about this matter. Never happened. The only contact I have had with them over the last three months was to provide an engine serial number and warranty information. I don't understand how Arien's can put their name on a product and not stand behind it. *********'s also claims that I must be mowing on property that has a greater than 15 degree slope and that causes the problems. If that were so they would not be able to sell mowers to half the western United States.

Regards,

***** ****

 

 

Business Response:

Hello *******-

The Ariens Company has reviewed the consumer’s response to our correspondence, and would like to submit the following:

The repair facility, *********’s, is more than willing to look at the machine again. They are awaiting the consumers call to setup an appointment. I understand that the proximity to the consumer’s home is an inconvenience due to the distance. After looking at ****** ****, the distance is about 47 miles. I have located another Ariens Master Service dealer, located in ********* **, with the distance of about 17 miles. The name of this company is ****** ********* **** (###-###-####). The consumer might try to work with this dealer and have them look at the machine. I have confirmed with ****** *********, they too are an authorized ****** *** ******** dealer.

Pertaining to the consumers comment on the 15 degree slope, the Ariens owner manual does state on page 31, “Do not mow slopes greater than 15 degrees.” This is not only for safety reasons, but oil may leak from the engine at a greater than 15 degree angle.

Regards,

**** *******

******** ********* ********

Ariens Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 29, 2012 I bought an Ariens lawn tractor from **** *****. June of 2013 the lawn tractor would not crank. On June 25 the tractor was picked up by ******** ***** ******* as per the warranty. Tractor was returned on July 9, 2013 and I was told by the delivery person that the tractor was not completely fixed but we could use it. He also told us that in a few weeks, when the parts came in ******'s would pick it up again and repair it. However, after only about 30 minutes of cutting, the mower stopped running and would not start. The driver for ******'s picked the tractor back up the next morning July 10, 2013. Since then, my sons and I have contacted ******'s many times. All they say is that they are waiting on parts. We have also went to **** ***** where we bought the lawn tractor and was told by managers that there is nothing they can do to help us. They would call us and let us know if they find out something. Their advice to us is to call Ariens since that is who we needed to talk to. On August 2, 2013 I did just that. I called ****** and they listened to my story and told me that they would get back in touch as soon as they found out something. To this date, nobody has ever called about my lawn tractor. All calls have been made by me and my sons. I don't know who is responsible for taking so long to fix my lawn tractor. Each company seems to pass the buck. ******'s says they are busy, **** ***** says it is out of their hands and Ariens doesn't want to call us back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my lawn tractor fixed right and sent back to me. If that is not possible I want somebody to contact me about other ways to handle this problem.

Business Response:

Hello *******-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

This customer was referred to ******’s ***** ****** from a source other that the Ariens Company. They are not an authorized dealer of the Ariens Company. This means that ******’s would have had to order the part through a nearby authorized dealer, so we were unaware of the customer’s situation.

Today I called ******’s and asked if they could speak about this situation. They mentioned the camshaft has been fixed, and they are only waiting on a belt bracket, which they assured me was set to arrive tomorrow per their ******* ******** ******.

I was then told this would be put on immediately, and they would personally deliver the machine back to the customer.

Thank you,

**** *******

******** ********* *******

Ariens Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new Gravely zero turn lawn mower (ZT1840XL) in the spring of 2007. It was bought from a Gravely dealer who sold me on this is the best built and best cutting mower available. When I got the mower home and cut the grass I could tell it wasn't cutting evenly like a mower should. I contacted Gravely who said it was something wrong with the deck. My dealer did the replacement and gave the mower back. The grass still was uneven. There were strips of uncut grass in every pass. Every year we would have the same problem and the dealer would try to fix it with no prevail. Well this year it still is cutting uneven and now the left side drive train seems to be broken. The left side wheel shutters when engaged. I checked the parking break and transmission by pass like the manual says. I contacted a dealer and they say it is most likely the transmission. I have followed the maintenance schedule and no where does it say that the transmission needs maintenance. I refuse to take this machine in and pay money for a defective product that has never lived up to its promises. Even if they fix the transmission, the grass still does not cut right. I like Gravely and there products, but I feel this particular machine or model is defective from the factory.

Desired Settlement: To take machine back and issue a credit towards a machine that works.

Business Response:

Hello *******-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

I spoke to this customer personally, trying to get more information about his mower.  He indicated the last time this machine was looked at was last summer by ******* *****, who mentioned he would think about a trade-in for this machine. Since that time, ******* ***** went out of business.

The customer then spoke with ***** ******* ***** *********, and stated without looking at the machine, that it could be a transmission issue along with the poor quality of cut.

I advised the customer that we need to have ***** ******* ***** physically evaluate the state of this machine and report back to us their diagnosis. Their evaluation will determine our next course of action, which I relayed to the customer.

Thank you,

**** *******

******** ********* *******

Ariens Company

Business Response:

*******-

 

The Ariens Company has sent a call tag to *****’s, and the failed transaxle is being returned to the Ariens Headquarters in Brillion, WI. Upon its return, we will rebuild it and then send it back to the dealer as soon as possible. The dealer has agreed to install it, and the consumer will only be charged labor.

Mr. ********** was as *****’s on Friday when the discussion took place between our Product Support Manager and the dealer.

 

Assuming all goes well, this should close this dispute. Mr. ********** has my contact information shall he need any further assistance.

 

**** *******

******** **** *******

Ariens Company

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** **********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ariens 46" Hydro Lawn Tractor from **** ***** 8/16/2012 In late September 2012 1 bearing spindle asembly broke sent for warranty repair took a month to repair .On April 20 2013 while mowing both bearing spindles failed again ,it was sent for repairs on 4/24/2013 it also took a month to repair repair shop was busy and it took them so time to get required parts to repair it , When I got the mower back I tried to mow and yet again a part broke off deck talked to repair shop to see if I could still use mower and I could he would get the part to fix mower.I have spoken to ***** at Ariens customer support and have requested that the deck be replaced , he said he could not approve that and then had a lady named **** contact me she stated the same things but made the remark that my issues with the deck was likley me hitting things in my yard ( stumps ,rocks) that did not sit well with me . I sent a letter to *** ********* of Ariens it was delivered on 5/24/2013 I'm still waiting on a response.

Desired Settlement: Truley I would like the whole mower replace , but if the deck was replace I would accept that

Business Response:

Hello *******-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

I actually spoke to this customer personally, as he wrote a letter to *** ********* and also posted his complaint via social media.

We have agreed to ship a new deck shell to his dealer (****** ******* *****) to no cost to the consumer. I have informed Mr. ******* **., that the piece is on backorder until about June 6, 2013. When this is in, I have instructions to overnight this at no charge.

Thank you,

 

**** *******

******** ********* *******

Ariens Company

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  As long as it gets repaired

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ARIENS ADVERTISED REPLACEMENT MOWER BLADES FOR LIFE IF PURCHASED THROUGH HOME DEPOT BEFORE 12/31/2010. THIS IS THE FIRST YEAR I TRIED TO UTILIZE THIS BENEFIT AND ARIENS SAID THEY CAN NOT FIND ME ON THEIR WEBSITE REGISTRATION. I REGISTERED IN THE SUMMER OF 2010 FOR BOTH THE PRODUCT AND THE BLADE REPLACEMENT AND SINCE THEY CAN NOT FIND THE REGISTRATION ON THEIR WEBSITE, THEY ARE NOT COMPLYING WITH THEIR PROMISE AS ADVERTISED

Desired Settlement: REPLACE THE BLADES AS PROMISED IN THEIR ADVERTISEMENT. IF NOT REIMBURSE ME IN FULL FOR THE MOWER DUE TO FALSE ADVERTISING.

Business Response:

Hello ********-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

The Blades for Life program was a joint promotion between ********* and **** *****.

The Blades for Life program was available for selected Ariens Tractors, purchased at **** ***** before December 31, 2010. Eligibility for the promotion required special registration, with ********* (not automatic nor was it the same as our warranty registration), with a deadline of December 31, 2011.

Since the consumer is just now trying to utilize the benefit for the first time, they are past the deadline. We would not find them on the website as we don’t have access to the other company’s database.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new ariens snowblower because I thought they were reliable. I have had to replace friction disc in 10/11 and again in 2/13. In 2/13 I had to also replace the plate swing. The winter of 1911 and 1912 was very easy and I used the snowblower only twice. I only used the machine 10 times between the replacement of the friction disc which lead to the replacement of the plate swing. I received no staisfaction when talking to the Ariens representive and he felt that it was normal. He felt that the time between 10/11 and 2/13 was two years. Hopefully you can see it was only 1 years and 4 months with an easy winter in between. People shoud be aware that this problem is normal. My last machine a ******** lasted 15 years.

Desired Settlement: i either want my money back from the dealer for the second replacement, a new machine, or the cost of the original machine so I can replace it with a better machine. I am ** and need my snowblower.

Business Response:

Hello ********-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

I can appreciate the frustration the customer has encountered. Friction wheels wear and tear in time. The authorized Ariens dealer evaluated the piece of equipment and indicated that the friction disc wore down normally as it grounded into the drive plate.

 I do realize that a snow blower is not used on a consistent manner, and is used dependent on weather patterns. The machine was purchased in 2008, and has a warranty period of 3 years. This machine is outside the standard warranty timeframe.

That being said, I would like to reach a mutual agreement with this customer, where the Ariens Company pay for the parts which most recently failed, which were a friction disc, and swing plate.

**** *******

*******, Tech Service

Ariens Company

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well I purchased an Ariens riding mower from **** ***** , located in **** ** *****. Soon after the purchase of this riding lawn mower back in May of 2011, about 4 months go by and minor equipment failures turned into major ones. I first contacted the **** ***** were I originally purchased this mower and was directed to call a service number. I told them the mower was a piece of "Junk" and just wanted to return it. But was told that was an impossible option an had to contact the Ariens Co. So I contacted Ariens and spoke to a tech support personnel *** ********** @(###-###-####) and explain to her the issues I was experiencing with their product I purchased and it only had about a year of lawn mows use on it. I was in instructed to send reciepts,pictures,and model number of the mower , I also sent a brief of descriptions and major repairs I had performed thus far.Now I did inform Mrs. ********** that I do use this supposed Heavy Duty Rider to cut additional 6 lawns, which of course would add extra wear and tear on the machine. But the repairs I have done go far and above one would expect to happen. Real Brief Top Issues Left front tire fell off while mowing,bolts that secure rear transmission came loose , causing damage to frame, one back mower deck bracket the weld broke,both front tires factory set an aligment not able to be performed ruined both front tires,Frame rails on both sides center of tractor broke clean through.These are some of the major issues I have brought to the attention of Ariens and get the blame placed back on myself. I expect to fix belts, mower deck spindles and blades , but the repairs thus far are more extensive than I ever imagine.I still have copies of pictures,receipts and any other important proof you may need to follow up on. Thank You!

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Ariens take responsibilty for these unacceptable costly repairs.I finance the machine through my **** ***** credit acct. So I cannot just stop paying cause I don't intend to ruin my excellent credit or place unnecessary financial burden on **** ***** for selling this product.So as of today (10-12-12) I currently owe $1700.00 on this Ariens Mower and strongly believe they should have the responsibility to assist in paying off their defective product. They can make a check payable to the **** ***** Credit Dept. and I would also drop off this useless Ariens mower if they so desire. Then I will be able to purchase a new riding mower that doesn't require me to constantly repair it . I appreciate your time in reviewing this matter and will respect your final decesion , Thank You !

Business Response:

Hello ********-

Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

We spoke to this Mr. **** and asked what he was using the lawnmower for. He stated it was for mowing his lawn, and 5-6 other properties. Under these circumstances, this mower qualifies as commercial use, which Ariens provides a 90 day service. This machine was purchased May, 2011.

Anytime a customer has repair work needed, we always advise them to take it to an authorized Ariens service dealer. This way, a product can be registered, and we can track of repair work, and make sure it’s done correctly. When *** asked where Mr. **** had his work done, he mentioned it was done himself or by a non-Ariens dealer.

The Ariens Company has issued a check for $30.82 for the frame repair, as this was a known issue with this Model #(******).

Thank you,

**** *******

*******, Technical Service

Ariens Company

###-###-####

 

ps-

********, ****** and **** would like me added to any correspondence to the Ariens Compnay, as I have taken over responses.

*******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ****

 The issues Im experiencing with the Ariens rider mower isn't due , because I mow a few extra lawns. The Lawn mower is made with defective metal, very poor assemblying and unsatisfactory craftman ship. So why would I want to have the exact same parts installed a second time , when they didn,t even last six months the first time. As I stated in my complaint Ariens Co. recieved colored photograph , written description of problems and all reciepts . I never had  ANY!! Riding lawn mower fail as this one has, ecspecially when I'm using it for its intended purpose of mowing grass. The main support frame rails broke clean through. The entire transmission assembly came forward , cause it wasn't secured properly  and broke the frame were the rear wheels are attached . The left hand rear  mower deck support bracket  broke free from mower deck . The left front tire came right of the axle while driving . Both front tires had to be replaced due to factory front end wheel alignment was set incorrectly. These are not problems from mowing a few extra lawn as  I told Ms. ********** on the phone and the pictures I sent should have also been quite  clear enough . So this mower has cost me a small fortune to keep it operational and the small $30.00 dollar check Ariens sent doesnt cover a fraction of the cost. So the check I recieved from Ariens is being returned to sender and will be mailed on 10-17-12 . The amount  I spent on this mower is  over $3000.00  and thats not  including the  above mention repairs , so I know they should have the responsibilty of shouldering some of the financial burden . Thanks ******* ****  

Business Response:

Hello ********-

 

Ariens Company has reviewed the follow up to this complaint, and would like to submit the following:

 

We really need to emphasize the fact this machine was never taken to an authorized Ariens dealer. The customer chose to take the matter into his own hands, and took it elsewhere, and also worked on it himself.

 

The reason why we suggest all customers to take a problem to an authorized Ariens dealer is  because they will repair any defect in material or workmanship and repair or replace any defective part, subject to the conditions, limitations and exclusions set for in the Ariens Warranty Statement included in the owner’s manual. By monitoring the situation from the beginning, a dealer of ours could have prevented a small issue from turning into a major issue as the customer states.

 

Our dealers attend service training at the Ariens Company to keep them informed on all fixes, updates, and new products the Ariens Company offers.

 

I would also like to quote our warranty statement:

 

“The Manufacturer warrants to the original consumer purchaser that this product as manufactured is free from defects in materials

and work man ship. For a period of two (2) years from date of purchase by the original consumer purchaser, we will repair

or replace, at our option, without charge for parts or labor incurred in replacing parts, any part which we find to be defective

due to materials or workmanship. This Warranty is subject to the following limitations and exclusions.”

 

4. “The Warranty period for any products used for rental or commercial purposes is limited to 90 days from the date of original

purchase.”

 

Whether it mow 2 lawns, or 10, and in this case 5-6 lawns being mowed, that qualifies as commercial use. This machine was purchased from **** ***** on May 9, 2011. This is past the 90 day warranty period.

 

The Ariens Company did receive back the check for $30.82, and is currently in the file for Mr. ***o shall he change his mind.

 

Thank you,

**** *******

*******, Technical Service

Ariens Company

###-###-####

v

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* **** 

The many issues Ive experienced and currently am in the process of still correcting, should in the first place never occured . Lawn mowing is the least amount of work for any machine, so therefore , I know  the problems with this defective mower should never have occured . In all my years mowing grass I NEVER had ANY RIDING MOWER FAIL !! to perform its intended purpose of simply cutting grass . Now I can except minor break down as with any equipment , but thats not what happen to this mower . The break downs were very tremendous and unacceptable due to the fact of how well I keep up on the maintenance of items I purchase . I don't go out an spend my hard earned money and beat the **** out of anything I purchase. I know thats what really irratates me the most I thought I was making a wise purchase an I'm currently still paying on this malfunctioning riding mower . Now Ariens company did send me a ridiculous check for $ 30.. dollars ,which I wouldn't except and sent it back promptly. I seriously just wish I had NEVER PURCHASED!! this ***** ** **** and could return it to Ariens , as long as they would send a check for at least half the purchase price . Even so as I had stated in my previous complains I'm in the hole over three grand , so I know this is a reasonable request . Thanks ******* ****       

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 42 inch riding mower in June 2010 at Home Depot, Brooklyn Park, Minnesota. I was told by the saleman at the time that the mower came with an offer for free mower blades for life program. As I didn't need blades for a while, in April I contacted Ariens by email to see about getting my offered blades. At that time I was told that you had to register for the program by the end of 2011 to be eligible for the offer. I have also called them by phone regarding this situation, but was told the same. I asked why we were not informed about the time limit to register, but was not given a reason. There was no mention on my sales receipt about having to register by a certain time or how to register. There was no mention of it in the manuals and paperwork that came with the product. Nor was I told by the salesperson that I had to register by a certain time.

Desired Settlement: To be eligible for the offer that was offered in the first place. The company is not out anything, as it was what I was supposed to get in the first place

Business Response: Hello ********- Ariens Company has reviewed this complaint, and would like to submit the following: The "Free Blades For Life" promotion referred to in this complaint was a Home Depot promotion.  The Product was registered with Ariens Company on July 26, 2010.  Registration however, does not meet the requirement for registration for this promotion, since product registration is with the manufacturer, and the promotion was Home Depot sponsored. I apologize if the customer was told by an Ariens representative that they are no longer eligible for the promotion. Actually, customers who have not registered for the program can in fact still can sign up for it. In order to do so, they can call 877.257.6920. When the customer calls, they should have the following information ready, which I gathered for this customer: ·         Model # (936048) ·         Serial # (11822)·         Date of Purchase  (6.8.10)The customer is required to register every year for this promotion by calling the same number.**** **************
******* ******Ariens Company920.756.4385

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

***

* ** *** ***.

 

******** ** *****

May 2,2012

Better Business Bureau

Main Office

10101 W. Greenfield Ave. #125

Milwaukee, WI 53214

Dear Sir or Madam:

The enclosed letters have not been addressed by the companies located in *********, can

you assist me?

I

 

purchased a ****** Snow Blower and within a year it broke down. I have a 3 year

 

warranty but no one will support

it. I have written (see enclosed), called, e-mailed and no

 

company will reply. What kind of Business are these? They are in your state and I'm

hoping

I don't have to contact State & Fed.Governments for help.

 

Looking to hear from you ..

Sincerely,

******* *****

 

 

**** ** *** ***.

 

******** ** *****

February 27, 2012

Management

******

*** ** **** ***

********* ** *****

Dear Sir or Madam:

The enclosed bill was recently paid by me on my ****** Snow Blower. I tried for the

past two weeks to get someone at Home Depot in ******** **, where I purchased the

item a year ago to handle the problem and pay for the repair. I have a 3 year Warranty

and expect you to back it up and refund my money.

My first contact was Mr. *** ******, in Garden's at**** *****, he suggested I take my

machine to MowPower for repair and when I did, they tried to get someone to commit to

the repair cost, Mr. Mr. ***** ******* * *** ***, plus others and NO ONE WOULD

COMMITT TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. Is your company so flaky; that you don't

support your Warranties?

I will expect to hear from you within a v,'eek or two; if not then I will contact the BBB

and Consumer Assistance on the Fed. Level with my complaint. Looking to hear from

you soon.

Sincerely,

******* ***** Model #******-******, Serial #******

 

**** ** *** **

********** ** *****

March 13,2012

Management

Certified Parts Corp.

**** ***** ******* ******
*********** ** *****

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please review the enclosed documents.

 

I purchased an ****** snow blower from Home

 

Depot in ******** ** a little over a year ago and I have been having problems with it.

 

It

 

has been repaired at a cost of $110.49.

I wrote Ariens and you can see how they responded. Would you please refund my

expense for the repair?

Sincerely,

******* *****

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Hello ********,

On March 1, 2012 we responded to this consumer with the attached letter.  As you will see in the letter, we pointed out that the engine does not fall under the ****** Company warranty; rather it is covered by the engine manufacturer.  We have provided contact information for the engine manufacturer, but we are not able to make warranty decisions on their behalf.  This issue should be addressed to the appropriate manufacturer; ********* ***** ***********.  Thank you.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an Airen's 42 inch riding mower at *** **** ***** on April 18, 2010. The sales advertisement promised "free blades for life" with the purchase of this mower. I registered as required on their website, yet have never received any free blades. The seriel number of my mower is *************, model #*****************.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the free blades for life as promised. At this time I am owed blades for 2011 and now for 2012.

Business Response: The "Free Blades For Life" promotion referred to in this complaint was a Home Depot promotion.  We have checked with Home Depot, and this customer was not registered for the promotion.  Product Registration does not meet the requirement for registration for this promotion, since Product Registration is with the manufacturer, and the promotion was Home Depot sponsored.  We have contacted the appropriate people and completed the registration for this promotion.  The consumer will receive a free set of blades in approximately 8 weeks.  Consumer is required to register every year hereafter for this promotion by calling ###-###-####.  Since the original registration occurred on 5/7/2012, consumer must call this number after 5/7 of each subsequent year.  Any future correspondence regarding this promotion should be directed to the phone number listed.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

**** **********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an ariens snowblower in june of 2011. In october i decided to try it out and it would not start. I contacted ariens, due to the warranty, and they told me to take it to *** ********* **** in ***** ***** *** ******. Its been two Months and a half and the snowblower has not been fixed. Everytime i contact the shop they tell me that they haven't been able to get the part needed from ariens. I really don't think that it should take so long to have a product repaired under a warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like this matter to be settled as soon as possible. I think a company should stand behind its product and not just make the sell and forget about the customer. Dont forget there are other ariens products that i might want to purchase in the future. If for some reason the product cannot be repaired i would like purchase refund.

Business Response:

We have contacted the dealer to gather additional information.  The dealer has informed us that they are waiting for an ignition coil for the engine.  Ariens Company does not supoort the engine.  All Service, Support, and Warranty regarding the engine is provided by the engine manufacturer.

We have contacted the engine manufacturer, and they have agreed to expedite the necessary part to arrive at the dealer on Wednesday 1/11/2012.  The consumer has been sent an e-mail to this effect, and we have also called the consumer at the number provided, and left a message explaining what is happening.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1