3/25/2015 They delivered a snow blower which was brand new and was leaking fluid from the front. When I notified them they said they would fix it , but I had to pay 50 dollars for pick up and delivery. I paid for a working machine and i think this is what i should have gotten. I should not be responsible for any charges. I would never recommend Ariens for anything.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by bad snowblower. on 3/25/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3/6/2015 Got this snow blower before last winter and was assembled and delivered by local Arien service company. They said I needed to buy a gas additive from them because of the ethanol in the gas that is sold in this area. I followed there instructions & used it successfully last year (used it 3 times). I made sure the tank was empty by running it until it shut off before putting it away for the summer. This year I added fresh gas with the additive & it will not start. I spoke with the service company and they said there must have been some gas left in the engine & that my warranty is now void and I would have to pay nearly $400 to have it repaired. This is such a scam since my previous snow blower never needed additive nor did i have to drain the old gas out before storing it & it started every year for 8 years. Worst thing of all is all of my attempts to contact the manufacturer have failed. I left numerous messages and not one call back. I find it strange that I cannot get a live person to talk to. With all the snow that we have gotten this year in the NYC area my 100 foot driveway, which is still mostly covered in snow and ice, will probably not be accessible for another month. So even if I would consider getting this snow blower repaired, I cannot, since it is buried near the back of the driveway.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Sam T. on 3/6/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business The Ariens Company would like to apologize for the customer's experience thus far. Not only with the machine not working, but also for no one getting back to you. We answer calls from 7am-5pm CST, Monday-Friday, as well as Saturday mornings from 7am-11am. When messages are left due to increased call volume during peak times of the season, we usually return calls within 1-2 hours. If the customer can provide some dates/times as to when calls were not being returned, I would be happy to dig further into this issue to understand why. The Ariens Company relies on it's authorized, independent, dealers to diagnose and repair machines. For any manufacturing defect, the Ariens Company has a warranty policy which is follows, and will fix for no charge parts and labor during the warranty period. Unfortunately, fuel related issues are not covered, as that is considered a maintenance related item and is outlines in the owner's manual. Thank you. by on 3/6/2015

Report Abuse This is the response I got vis email : As for the issue with the machine, it sounds as if treatment wasn't added to your machine, which causes carburetors to get a varnish substance build up, preventing flow. Not only do engine manufacturers recommend adding treatment to every fill up of your gas can, but at the end of season too. To ensure a quick start next snow season, the Ariens Company and most engine manufacturers, recommend that snow blowers going into extended storage are properly prepared for storage by mixing fuel stabilizer with the gasoline in the machine's fuel tank. Ariens recommends that you use Ultra-Fresh Fuel Stabilizer (Ariens part number 00592900). Mix the gasoline according to the instructions on the stabilizer container. If possible, use gasoline with the least amount of ethanol in your area. Fill the machine's gas tank about 3/4 full and allow the machine to run for a few minutes to make sure stabilized gasoline is in the carburetor as well as the tank. If equipped, turn the fuel valve to the off position and run the engine until it stops. Your snowblower is now ready for extended storage. When your authorized service center setup & delivered the snow blower I was told to use an additive only for the ethanol & to remove all gas before storing it for the summer. So by listening to you service center I now have a unit that is no longer covered under warranty (according to your service center), which has been used 3 times & will cost me $400 to get it working again, which I will not pay. So unless you are going to repair it under warranty there is nothing left to discuss. by Sam T. on 3/6/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
1/26/2015 I purchased an Ariens snowblower Model 921030 Deluxe 28 from Home Depot on 10/15/13. I used the snowblower maybe 6 times the first season. I winterized it according to manual guidelines. When I used first time this season in November, the machine was surging and backfiring. Removed spark plug and the threads came with it. Took machine to authorized dealer the next day on 11/12/14. They had to order a head and they replaced it but machine still surged. They then proceeded to sonic clean the carburetor. Machine still surged. They then ordered a new carburetor around 12/10/14. Because carburetors were on backorder, they did not receive until 1/16/15. I finally got my snowblower back after approximately 10 weeks! This is not acceptable customer service. A dealer or a customer should not have to wait for a month or more to get parts nor should they have to be without a NEW snowblower in the middle of winter for 10 weeks. Perhaps if you have trouble getting parts on a timely basis, you should check into getting your parts from a different supplier.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Ronald A. on 1/26/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business The Ariens Company appreciates your feedback and sincerely apologize for your experience with the machine. We certainly can appreciate the frustration caused by the backordered carburetor. I can assure you this is not common when it comes to parts. Are they on backorder from time to time, yes, but 10 weeks is uncommon and agreed, poor service. We truly apologize for the inconvenience and certainly hope the machine meets all expectations going forward. If not, please don’t hesitate to contact Ariens customer support. by on 1/26/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
12/2/2014 I am not happy with my Ariens snowblower, nor am I happy with Bob's Power Center in Rhinelander where I purchased the machine. The cotter pin broke, which it seems to do a lot, and would not line-up with the rotating shaft when I tried to replace the broken pin. When I tried to loosen the bolts on the side to line it up, the cheap bolts broke. They are of poor quality. Bob's Power Center has also taken more than three weeks to fix the problem, which you would think is not a major repair. I feel like I'm getting the run-around whenever I call. I feel like they are taking others in front of me, instead of repairing the snowblowers in the order they were brought in. Ariens is a Wisconsin company and I believed them to be the Cadillac of snowblowers, but I've been disappointed with their quality, as well as the dealership. In the future I will take it someplace else for repairs.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Alan B. on 12/2/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6/19/2013 I PURCHASED A NEW 42" RIDING MOWER JUST OVER 1 MONTH AGO. AFTER JUST 5 CUTS OF MY YARD THE STARTER SOLENOID HAS WENT OUT ON MY NEW MOWER.I CONTACTED HOME DEPOT WHERE I PURCHASED THE MOWER AND WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE WARRANTY DEPT. I DID AND WAS THEN INFORMED THE PICK UP CHARGE ON MY NEW MOWER WOULD BE HUNDRED DOLLARS PLUS. WHAT??REALLY THIS IS A BRAND NEW MOWER. UNACCEPTABLE.I CALLED ARIENS COMPANY TO WHICH THE MOST UNHELPFULL REPS. WERE THERE TO ASSIST ME. THEY REFUSE TO HELP PAY FOR THE COST OF TRANSPORTATION OF MY/THEIR NEW MOWER. THE PART YES BUT NOT THE FEE TO TRANSPORT.I FIND IT HARD TO ACCEPT THAT THE COMPANY CAN NOT PAY FOR THE COST OF STANDING BY WHATEVER WENT WRONG WITH MY MOWER. $5 TO $100. MY HUSBAND WHO IS CURRENTLY OVER SEAS SENT THIS MONEY HOME FOR ME TO BUY US A NEW MOWER SO IT WOULD BE ONE LESS THING I WOULD HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT WHILE HE IS SERVING, AND HERE I AM WITH UNRESOLVED ISSUES. THE COST OF THIS REPAIR FROM A TO B SHOULD NOT BE MY OUT OF MY POCKET . I WOULD JUST LIKE THE EXPENSE TO BE PAYED FOR I WAS CONFIDENT WHEN I PURCHED THIS PRODUCT AND NOW I KNOW I SHOULD HAVE GONE WITH MY GUT FEELING. THE MANUFACTURING COMPANY INSTALLED A FAULTY PART AND I THE CONSUMER AM FORCED TO PAY THE EXTRA COST BECAUSE THEY DO NOT BACK THERE PRODUCT AFTER 40 PLUS DAYS.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by DON S. on 6/19/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I emailed the customer the following: I am reaching out to you as I read the feedback you submitted to the Better Business Bureau. First, I would like to apologize for your starter solenoid not working as it should. That is not common to go out so quickly, but unfortunately manufacturing defects do happen, which is why we have our warranty policy. As for the pickup and delivery, our policy states it's the consumers responsibility to pay for that service. However, there are exceptions to every rule. The fact the solenoid went out after just 40 days, is a reasonable reason for the Ariens Company to do what's right and cover that cost for you. If you could reply back with your model & serial number, along with the name of your dealer, I will be happy to arrange that for you. Again, I am sorry this was not handled right with your first contact with out company, but I assure you we stand behind our products. Thank you, **** ******* Manager, Technical Service Ariens Company by on 6/20/2013

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo