10/11/2013 My father is 88 years old and has been getting PILES of junk mail, some with free ha ha ha gifts that make him feel obligated to send money back for. In the past year he has been duped out of hundreds of dollars. He lives on a fixed income and can no way afford to be giving to all these non profit and charity's. So we had his mail forwarded to me, the post office will not forward junk mail. Everything went along fine, no junk for over 2 months. Then I made the mistake to have one of his magazines that he has paid for forwarded to my address, so I could take it to him. Little did I know by doing that, my mail box is now flooded with the junk mail too. I get 6 to 10 per day now, and never had gotten 1 before . The magazine I had changed his address on was Country Extra, now owned by Reader Digest. I found Dad had paid for it by going through his check book, along with the rest he had been conned into buying from the company. If I would of known they were selling my address to all these con places I would never had given the address to them, now I have to pay to have all of it taken away every week to a landfill to be disposed of. What a waste of my time and money because of the company's greed to sell my address. I contacted them and ask for a refund of all three of the magazines Dad had paid for, and to remove my mailing address from all the junk mail lists, but I have heard nothing back. I think it terrible these place take advantage of old people making them feel guilty if they don't send them $ every time they send a box of cards or trinkets to send in a donation. Do you have any idea's how now I can get the junk mail stopped??i
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Deb T. on 10/11/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I have contacted the customer via email, explaining that I have removed the address from our contact lists, and have cancelled and refunded her father's magazine subscriptions. by on 1/7/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
9/21/2013 In the Sept/Oct 2013 issue of "Taste of Home" magazine, in a recipe for Marinated Chicken Wings, there is a picture that appears to misrepresent the finished product. It has a coloration not possible from the ingredients, & appears to have been blackened or grilled in some fashion. The finished recipe in no way, shape, or form, resembles the finished dish.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
by Rob E. on 9/21/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business This recipe was retested. The wings were placed under the broiler to darken and crisp them up. This has been added to the online recipe as an option. by on 2/25/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
9/18/2013 Reiman's media group, through deceptive billing practices, is preying on senior citizens who feel they must pay a "5th invoice" sent to collections when in fact they have ordered nothing after receiving a supposedly free magazine.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Jo-Anne C. on 9/18/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Magazine subscriptions are only processed when we receive an order for the magazine. When a customer requests a trial magazine, per the offer, we process an order for the subscription, mail an issue and invoice, and then suspend the subscription awaiting payment. The offers state that the first issue will be sent, and if the customer does not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing, and keep the magazine at no charge. When a cancellation is received, the order is cancelled as well as future invoices. Invoices are sent to all customers who accept the offer, we would not have knowledge of the customer’s age when we receive an order. by on 1/7/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
8/29/2013 Ordered 2 books from them on July 29, 2013 for $29.95 each which i selected that i would pay upfront so i didn't have to pay any shipping or handling. I noticed that there wasn't a charge on my credit card and since I am unable to check the status of my order online - I call them on Aug 7. I call them and they had no information as to when it will be sent out. I call them again the following week and the woman on the phone advises me that they were switching warehouses so no books have been sent out. The company didn't even bother to send out an email stating that the books were on back order nor did the website say there was a back order. No further information on when it will be sent out. I email them on August 21 in which no one to this day has replied to me asking them if the order has been sent out yet. I called them for a 4th time and the woman I spoke to was quite pleasant and told me that the books had been sent out on August 15th and that I should expect them near the end of August. Today is August 29 and I call them for a 5th time because I still have not received the books I ordered now over a month ago. The woman I spoke to on the phone today was extremely rude, I know that I am a frustrated customer but her responses to me were quite snotty. I said to her that I don't think my credit card was charged when I ordered the books, because there was a deal that if you paid upfront you wouldn't have to pay s&h. So she advised me that my credit card was charged on aug 17. So I check my account online and I see there was a charge for $31 so I said to her that they haven't charged me for both books. She then tells me that they only sent me one book and I said but I ordered two... The digest diet and the digest diet cookbook and she said that she only sees that I ordered the first one. So, now I'm obviously frustrated because its been a month and I still haven't received my books plus if I had to reorder the cookbook would I be waiting another month and a half to receive it? Then I bring up the fact that online on their readersdigeststore.com that I am looking at the book I ordered and its now saying its $14.00 but I had paid $29.95 for mine. She did put me on hold to see what she could do but came back to the phone and said $14.00 is the American price, $29.95 is the Canadian price. Which is absolutely ridiculous considering that American and Canadian exchange rate is basically par. I advised her that once I receive the book that I will be sending it back for a full refund and that it was my first time shopping at reader's digest and that I will NEVER order from them again. Their customer service is the pits and you have to wait forever to receive an order... Still waiting on mine, I believe I have to wait another 2 weeks even though a month has already passed.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Andrea M. on 8/29/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I am so sorry for the problems the customer had with the order. Moving our warehouse created more problems and delays than anticipated. I have credited the customer's credit card. by on 1/7/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo