Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J.W. Winco, Inc

Phone: (262) 786-8227 Fax: (262) 786-8524 View Additional Phone Numbers 2815 S Calhoun Rd, New Berlin, WI 53151 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jwwinco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers metric and standard inch size machinery components and assembly hardware.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.W. Winco, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.W. Winco, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.W. Winco, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1978 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated 05/25/1978 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John M. Winkler, CEO Ms. Diane Lau, Marketing Communications Specialist Mr. Matthew Lunow, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Lunow, Director of Sales
Principal: Mr. John M. Winkler, CEO
Business Category

Machine Tools Tools - Cutting Tools - Hand Machine Tool Manufacturing (NAICS: 333517)


Additional Locations

  • 2815 S Calhoun Rd

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 957-5132 (800) 877-8351 (262) 786-8227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently placed two separate orders from JW Winco - one order came to $4.46, the other $2.26 (both were for two wing screws). I searched the entire website for what the shipping charges would be, and they were not listed. When I submitted my order, the totals given to be charged to my card were those listed above. When I received my credit card statement, I was shocked to find out that I had been charged $10.20 for shipping for each order, a price that I never would have agreed to had I been told before ordering. I find it to be incredibly dishonest of the company to not tell customers what the shipping rate will be, and then to charge such an exorbitant rate that the customer only finds out after already paying. I have never ordered from a website that is not clear about the total charge before you place the order. I spoke with a very friendly representative on the phone, but was told that despite the fact that the policy is unfair, there is nothing they could do about it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my shipping charges, since I did not agree to them before my credit card was charged. Had I known what the charges were, I would not have ordered from the company in the first place.

Business Response:

J.W. Winco is committed to meeting our customers’ needs and takes all customers concerns very seriously.

We are sorry to hear that a customer felt their experience with our company was less than positive and appreciate the opportunity to address this situation toward a mutual resolution.

The two separate orders were placed by the customer, one placed on 11/11/13 and shipped 11/11/13, and the other placed on 11/15/13 and shipped 11/18/13.  Both orders were below the $20 amount to qualify for our free shipping program.  J.W. Winco offers our customers the following shipping policy:

"For orders of $20 and over, all parcel shipments to all 50 states in the U.S.A. and Puerto Rico are FOB - destination and are freight prepaid. For orders less than $20, customers will be required to pay shipping costs."

This policy can be found in our standard terms and conditions page on our web site, which is linked to virtually every page near the bottom of each page.  Furthermore, on our e-store Shipping Information screen, where customers enter their shipping information, we state the following at the top of the page:

"U.S. Customers: No Minimum order required. Free Shipping on orders over $20. Freight charges will be added to orders below $20."

To those customers not meeting the $20 amount, we offer multiple options to handle shipping, including options through both UPS and USPS. The customer chose the UPS Ground Options for both orders. The actual shipping charges are calculated at the time of shipment, and are billed at the standard rates calculated from UPS. For the two orders placed by the customer, those charges came to $10.20 ea. per shipment. These amounts were billed to each of the two separate orders placed by the customer as we state in the terms and conditions above.  We did not receive any notification from the custoemr on these orders, either by e-mail, phone call, or on the notes area of the Shipping Information screen, concerning any concern or question over the freight costs associated with either of these orders, until they called us this morning, 11/26/13.

J.W. Winco attempts to service our customers in the best possible manner, in a fair and equitable manner. We would like to extend a resolution to our customer in this matter, and offer a credit for half of her shipping costs between the two orders placed, in the amount of $10.20.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J.W. Winco, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)