BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it is a leather goods dealer offering wholesale, Internet, and catalog sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leather Unlimited Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Leather Unlimited Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Leather Unlimited Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 02, 1999 Business started: 12/16/1971 in WI Business started locally: 12/16/1971 Business incorporated: 07/05/1978 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President Ms. Patricia O'Connell, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President
Related Businesses
Deer Shack
Business Category

Leather Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Furniture - Retail Leather Goods - Dealers Sporting Goods - Retail Internet Shopping Luggage and Leather Goods Stores (NAICS: 448320)

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2013 Delivery Issues
2/3/2012 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a black oiled tan side that was meant to be 5.5 oz and OILED. I received something that is nowhere near 5.5 oz, and is definitely not oiled. The treatment is more like a spray sheen, there is no oiled texture. I purchase oiled tan hides regularly, this is the first time I receive anything like this. I contacted the seller who said they'd credit me if I return it, but when I quoted their 100% satisfaction guarantee and indicated I did not want to pay for the cost of return shipping when THEY made an error, I received no response. I filed a complaint with paypal, and the seller persists in telling me to return the product to them, but refuses to pay for shipping. I see absolutely no fairness in me paying for return shipping on THEIR error. They sent the wrong product, they should rectify the problem - I shouldn't be at a loss (the shipping costs) based on an error I didn't commit. Their 100% satisfaction guarantee is a complete lie - they have made no attempt to rectify the situation, in fact, they take more than a week to return an email, if they reply at all.

Desired Settlement: I am happy to return this piece of leather, of which I have no use for, to the company for a refund. I will only do so, however, if they pay for the return shipping. I do not think I should have to be out $50 for shipping something back when it wasn't even what I ordered. They need to send me a prepaid shipping slip, and I will gladly return this useless product in exchange for a full refund.

Business Response:

Dear Cristela,

 

 

I hope you are doing well.  I am writing in regard to complaint #*******.

 

 

We have sincerely and politely tried to reason with this customer.  Please note our PayPal discussions:

 

 

 

 

 

From Buyer - ******** *****

 

11/22/2011 11:12 PST

 

I purchased an oiled tan side that was meant to be 5.5 oz and OILED.

 

I received something that is nowhere near 5.5 oz, and is definitely not oiled. The treatment is more like a spray sheen, there is no oiled texture. I purchase oiled tan hides regularly, this is the first time I receive anything like this.

 

I contacted the seller who said they'd credit me if I return it, but when I quoted their 100% satisfaction guarantee and indicated I did not want to pay for the cost of return shipping when THEY made an error, I received no response.

 

From Seller - Leather Unlimited Corporation

 

11/29/2011 07:39 PST

 

You are welcome to return the leather. Your satisfaction is our priority. You must send the hide back for us to credit your account. You have put a claim in with paypal holding the funds. Therefore, we can't refund you this money until you return the hide and remove the claim with paypal. You must return the merchandise to us.

 

From Buyer - ******** *****

 

11/29/2011 09:41 PST

 

As mentioned - I will happily return the merchandise once you provide a USPS Slip. I will not pay $50 to ship something that was a mistake on your part. When I told you this I received NO REPLY, and despite following up, I received no reply.

 

You need to pay for the shipping of this, it's your error, not mine.

 

From Seller - Leather Unlimited Corporation

 

12/1/2011 13:01 PST

 

You must ship the item back to us. Once we have received the item, we will refund your money. We can't refund your money until we receive the item. Return it to us.

 

From Buyer - ******** *****

 

12/1/2011 13:51 PST

 

You must read before responding. YOU MUST PAY FOR SHIPPING. I am not paying money for an error that YOU made. Until you guarantee me that you are going to cover the cost of return shipping, I will not send the item back, and I will escalate this to a claim.

 

Look at my business, we buy a LOT of leather, and your poor customer service is losing you a customer. We bought one hide to see how your quality and service was, and thus far, it's nothing but a disappointment.

 

Why would I have to eat the cost of shipping for your error? Put yourself in my shoes - you order something, pay the cost of it, and it arrives and it's incorrect, not what you ordered. Would you then think you are responsible for paying the shipping to return the company's mistake? No, you would expect the company to pay for their own mistakes, not make their customers pay for their errors. You couldn't get a simple single order correct, that speaks volumes.

 

All you have to do is send me a UPS slip that prepays for the shipping. I don't see how that is so difficult for you to understand. Please, please, read this message before responding the same thing over and over again. Your communication skills are appalling, you don't answer promptly and some emails you just plain don't answer. I can't believe you are still in business, and to be honest I am wondering if you understand English at all.

 

If you don't pay for return shipping, by December 12 I will escalate this to a claim. Then Paypal will take the funds from your account and award them to the buyer.

 

From Seller - Leather Unlimited Corporation

 

12/2/2011 14:18 PST

 

********,

 

Leather Unlimited wants our customers to be satisfied, and we strive for that. If the leather is not what you ordered, then please return it to us. We can then issue you a refund. How am I suppose to know if an employee sent you the wrong leather when you won't return it. I am a reasonable business person and am willing to work with customers. But I also expect the customers to work with me and respect me as I have tried to do with you.

 

So I am again asking you to send the leather back. If it is really our mistake, then we will work with you regarding the shipping. Our company policy is such that we do not pay for return shipping until the items are returned. At that point, if it is a mistake on Leather Unlimited's part, we work with the customer for an amicable resolution.

 

As far as your criticism of me and my business, I will not address these issues. What is important is that we work through the leather problem.

 

So, please return the leather. If it is indeed Leather Unlimited's fault, we will work with you regarding the shipping costs. Thank you

 

 

 

 

If Leather Unlimited has made a mistake and shipped the wrong hide we will gladly refund the shipping for her return hide. We ask that ******** return the hide to us so that we can determine if the wrong leather was shipped to her by mistake.  We are asking no more of her that she has for her company return policy **************************

 

Please call me or advise how we should resolve this issue.  We want to work through this matter but seem to be facing a brick wall.

 

Thanks and Regards,

 

*** *********

 

--

 

*** ********* ******* ****** *****

**** *** * ******** *** ***** *** ************** ************** *** ******************** ******************

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have absolutely NO RECORD of the email that *** is referring to supposedly sent on December 2. If I had received it, I would have sent the leather back, as it addressed my single concern with doing so, which was that they would not pay for shipping.


*** is not 'faced with a brick wall", I have communicated clearly and regularly, while his company's responses have been erratic. I have maintained through all my communications that my only reservation with returning the leather is that they will not cover return shipping on an error they made, and until this last email, by *** himself, that concern was not ONCE addressed directly. And given that I didn't receive this email he is quoting, until today, December 19, well over a month after this transaction, I only now have confirmation from this business that they will refund the cost of shipping "if it's their error".


And what, presumably, am I to do if they decide it isn't their error? They sent the wrong leather, but in returning it they are not at a loss, they have the product returned to them, and they have the money I sent them. I, on the other hand, am left with nothing but the good faith that they will follow through with recognizing their error - and given this entire process and their lack of communication and understanding of the issue, you can understand why my faith is, well, non-existent.


My complaint with this business still stands.

I will return their leather, however, and will await their verdict on the error. I will also include a swatch of what an oily side of 5.5oz leather is meant to be, to ensure that there is no confusion as to what I purchased, and what was sent.


If, however, this business does not refund me in full and cover the cost of shipping the leather back to them, I will be left with no alternative but to contact my credit card company, and, quoting this entire history, request a charge back.


Please forward these comments to ***, so that he clearly understands that his 'brick wall' is two-way. Until his last email, he himself has made no attempt to remedy the situation or communicate with me directly. That is not the sign of someone interested in customer service. When you consider that this is not their first complaint, I am more than justified in being doubtful of ***'s sincerity and honesty.




Regards,

******** *****

 

Business Response: We have repeatedly asked ******** to return the oiled side shipped to her.  We are again asking her to return the hide at her expense, the same policy that she has for her business as posted on her website.  If the hide we shipped her is not correct, ******** will be reimbursed for the return shipping costs.  We have been waiting for the hide to be returned, but nothing has transpired.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1