Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Complete Lawn Services, Inc.

Phone: (262) 853-1354 Fax: (262) 674-1200 View Additional Phone Numbers P. O. Box 213, Jackson, WI 53037 http://www.completelawnservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers residential and commercial lawn maintenance, including snow plowing, aeration, fertilization, mowing, and tree and shrub care.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Complete Lawn Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Complete Lawn Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/15/2001 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jena Holcomb Mr. Peter Holcomb, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jena Holcomb
Related Businesses
Complete Lawn & Landscape Supply
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Fertilizers Lawn Mowers Snow Removal Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Box 213

    Jackson, WI 53037 (262) 853-1354

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CLS has been providing lawn services (weed & feed - multiple applications including pre-emergent all of 2012 & one treatment in 2013), tree & shrub care (fall 2012), lawn aeration (2012) & lawn dethatching (2013). After all of these treatments, I still have extensive crabgrass, broadleaf weeds and thistles. I also experienced burning to my grass including in patterns in the backyard which I showed to *** ***** who blamed the drought. I have pictures & a $1,200 water bill from 2012 to prove my lawn and gardens were well watered despite the drought conditions. The worst issue is the total destruction of multiple expensive shrubs and the severe damage to the trees from this company's tree & shrub care treatment given (fall 2012). I lost completely 4 very large beautiful rose bushes, the bush right next to my front door & 3 very large hydrangea bushes. The granulated feed used is still visible in the burnt out bases of the shrubs. I have severe damage to numerous other shrubs and every one of my trees. I would highly recommend others to avoid using this company.

Desired Settlement: I don't expect this company will fix the issues, they seem to be in denial every time I bring something to their attention. This complaint is for BBB informational purposes only. I have hired a new lawn service and will be replacing my losses as I can afford it.

Business Response: I have spoken and met with ***** on numerous occasions.  2012 was an extreme drought in the southeast Wisconsin area and this did in fact take a toll on her landscape, as well as many others.  Her lawn sustained drought damage which she is claiming to be burning of the lawn.  The lawn would be burned throughout if this was the result of our products used.  Her issues with crabgrass and weeds are also a result of the areas of lawn that were damaged by drought.  There is no healthy lawn to choke out crabgrass and weeds from growing in those bare areas.  Additionally, her shrubs were also showing visible drought damage and we recommended having them fertilized in the fall to help them recover the next season.  While we believe drought was the cause of her shrubs being damage, we did offer to replace those shrubs for her at no charge in order to keep our customer satisfied.  She responded by saying she did not want us on her property at all, giving us no chance to remedy the situation.  As you know we have been in business since 2000 and have a customer base of over 800 satisfied clients.  We aim to provide quality service to all of our patrons and we have an excellent track record of doing just that.  Unfortunately, there are the occasional clients who are unwilling to work with us in resolving their concerns.  We stand by our work completely and were willing to work with her regarding these issues.  Please contact me for any additional information regarding this case.

 
Sincerely,
 
***** *******
 

Complete Lawn Services, Inc.
PO Box 213
Jackson, WI 53037
** ************ **  ************ ****************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

*** ******* NEVER offered to replace anything.  I have pictures of my lawn and shrubs from last year and an over $1200 water bill (attached).  You can clearly see from the pictures, my lawn and yard was the only one in the neighborhood that DID NOT suffer from the drought conditions BECAUSE I KEPT IT WELL WATERED!  All of the surrounding yards are yellow or brown.  I also NEVER denied Mr. ******* access to my property.  I only denied further treatments when his men came to fertilize again this summer.  I had sent his wife **** an e-mail letting her know I no longer wanted their services.  She responded and asked why and I told her.  You have a copy of that e-mail.  I never received a call or response whatsoever or any offer to make amends.  His granular product is still visible on some of my shrubs even after the winter snows and numerous rainfalls in 2013, yet just another indication that his men over-fertilized. 

Another company that has been in business since 1880 took soil samples and did a thorough inspection of my lawn, shrubs and perennial gardens.  They confirmed that CLS OVER-FERTILIZED.  I would love to have Mr. ******* stand up for his company as he states and replace my lost shrubs.  I hold no ill will towards him or his family.  His men destroyed my shrubs, harmed my trees and lawn.  I would hope he would do the right thing but to date I have received no communication from Mr. ******* whatsoever.  My new lawn service company said they can save the trees and lawn so only the burnt out shrubs need replacing.  The shrubs needing replacement:

3 Mature Rose Bushes in front yard

1 Shrub next to front porch

1 Shrub in front yard on side of garage

3 Hydrangea Bushes in back yard

4 other Bushes in back yard that I don't know the name of but would be happy to show Mr. Holcomb

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Complete Lawn Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)