BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Speedway Sales, LLC

Phone: (888) 617-7333 View Additional Phone Numbers 16600 W Cleveland Ave, New Berlin, WI 53151 http://www.speedwaysales.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides retail and online sales and service of generators, snow blowers, lawn mowers, zero turn mowers, aerators, augers, blowers, brush cutters, chain saws, dethatchers, dump carts, edgers, engine drills, hedge trimmers, lawn sweepers, lawn vacs, log splitters, oil,  pruners, rollers, sprayers, spreaders, tillers, tow-behind tractors, trimmers and water pumps. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Speedway Sales, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speedway Sales, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Speedway Sales, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1972 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business under new ownership as of: 02/01/1998 Business incorporated: 02/03/2004 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Maudood Ahmad , Owner Mr. Rizwan "Riz" Ahmad, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Maudood Ahmad , Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Rizwan "Riz" Ahmad, Manager
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn Mowers Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair Snow Removal Equipment Grass Trimmers & Tillers Outdoor Power Equipment Stores (NAICS: 444210)


Additional Locations

  • 16600 W Cleveland Ave

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (888) 617-7333 (262) 641-7530

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (262) 641-7530(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you buy a piece of equipment from this company and you receive it, and it works well, you would probably give this company a five-star rating. However, as with my experience, if you had any problems with it, you are in for a big surprise. We never heard from Speedway as phone calls not returned, emails requesting delivery confirmation were not accepted, a certified letter with a signed return (which I received) was not addressed, and follow up emails were ignored. In October we purchased a snowblower for $999 from Speedway. The first snow here came in December. Time to use the snowblower. My husband attempted to put together the remaining pieces that were in the box - much to his dismay, he was not able to connect the handlebar parts because the holes were drilled in the wrong place! Now this is a heavy piece of equipment. We had no way to get it to a certified repair place (********** **** ******** *** *********), so we had no choice but to pay $85.00 for them to pick it up and return it. What made it even more disappointing was the fact the repair place couldn't even get it started once it was there. Now, if you spent this kind of money on something, you might say, there is always a chance something will be wrong. I don't know how you would feel if you spent that kind of money on something only to be ignored , without even the courtesy of a response, but I imagine you wouldn't be giving five stars after shelling out $212.82 to have the repairs done on a BRAND NEW piece of equipment.

Desired Settlement: $212.82 to cover what we had to pay to get the snowblower in working condition. Copies of invoices were sent to Speedway enclosed with my certified letter of January 13, 2014.

Business Response: I tried to respond to the customers emails and they kept getting blocked by a spam blocker on the customers side.

The machine is manufactured by ****** the warranty is provided by ******.  When the buyer placed the order online they have to check box agreeing to the terms and conditions.  Which state

Manufactures Defect / Defective Products:

The repair or replacement / exchange of a defective or malfunctioning product must be handled through your local authorized dealer for the respective brand under their manufacturer’s warranty policy. Products can not be shipped back to Speedway Sales for any problem which is covered under warranty at a local service center.

 

 

If the dealer deemed that this was not a warranty repair they will need to contact the Manufacture ****** to see why they didnt cover it, and what ****** can do as a customer service exception.  We ship the products out the same way they come in from the factory.  The phone number for ****** is ###-###-####

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will try to contact the manufacturer of the snow blower to see if they will help me.  However, I will leave my original comments regarding Speedway Sales on the BBC Website because consumers should be aware of the way this company treats their customers.  They say they tried to contact me and spam blocked their emails.  I use Spam Arrest to filter all my emails and I am able to see everything that comes in to make sure I am not missing anything.  Believe me, I checked every day for a month or more awaiting to hear from Speedway Sales.  This also can't hold true because there was no problem ordering the snow blower on-line.  I heard back from them right away (through email) that my sale went through!  So it's quite different if money is involved.  The certified letter I sent them was not responded to, which is an insult when you spend $1,000.  They had my address and my phone number yet there was no response.  Speedway Sales is not consumer friendly.  They will take your money right quick, but they don't care if you have an issue, they ignore you.  A brand new piece of $1,000 equipment should work - 100%! not cause over $200 worth of problems for the consumer which has to come out of pocket.

Regards,

******* ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new snow blower that was delivered on February 22, 2014. When it arrived I noticed that the recoil starter was jammed. I called Speedway sales & told them that I wanted to have the snow blower replaced since it was brand new and had never been used. *** ***** *** said that they would not replace it I would have to get it repaired under warranty. I dont feel that a brand new snow blower should have to be repaired it should be replaced with a new one.

Desired Settlement: I feel they have a duty to replace any defective equipment that has been sold to a customer as new

Business Response: The customer was instructed that he needs to have the machine taken care of under the Ariens Warranty procedure.  We are just a dealer for the product, we dont build them, we dont assemble them we send it out to the customer the same way it comes in from the factory.  If there is any issue it needs to be addressed with the manufacture they will direct the customer to a local service center. 

Our policy for instaces of a manufacture are dictated to us by Ariens and our website clearly says what our policy's are in the case of any Manufacture defect

Manufactures Defect / Defective Products:

The repair or replacement / exchange of a defective or malfunctioning product must be handled through your local authorized dealer for the respective brand under their manufacturer’s warranty policy. Products can not be shipped back to Speedway Sales for any problem which is covered under warranty at a local service center.

A full copy of our terms and conditions can be viewed at *********************************************************************

 

When Mr ******** called he was given Ariens customer service number to have Ariens handle the situation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order online for a ***** *********- *******. I did specify that I don't want certain S/N# range due to a recall from manufacturer. The merchant ignored my request and sent me the unit. I tried to contact them to get exchange or a full refund + return freight. They told me all the stocks in U.S.A are within that recall range. There's no one can get an unit outside of the S/Ns range until next ship from Japan. They refused to give me full refund, and told me the unit has been checked and reworked from factory. Anyway, they should inform me the order can't be fulfilled with my request. Instead, they just processed it. I could have purchased other brand name or have other choice as a customer. My friend had purchased a same unit from same website, he did get the unit outside of the recall S/Ns. After all, honesty is the best policy.

Desired Settlement: exchange (2 ways freight at merchant's expense), or a full refund with a return freight at merchant's expense.

Business Response: The product sold the customer is not under the recall from *****. The product came to us from ***** after they announced the recall. As explained to the customer, the recall form ***** was to inspect a fuel line. After ***** inspected all of their inventory they tagged the products and shipped them out after the inspection was complete. The customer was advised that they can veify this with *****. WE ARE NOT SELLING RECALLED PRODUCTS! The factory inspected the product and shipped it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1