Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment

Phone: (414) 422-9130 Fax: (414) 422-9462 S63W14323 College Ave, Muskego, WI 53150 http://www.olsonspower.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial sales, service and parts for all major brands of grass mowers, lawn and garden tractors, snowblowers, leaf collection systems, aerators, seeders, fertilizers, rotor tillers, log splitters, chipper shredders, hand-held trimming equipment including enclosed and open trailers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1995 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 06/15/1992 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg D. Olson, Owner Ms. Serita Olson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg D. Olson, Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn Mowers Trailers - Repair & Service Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair Snow Removal Equipment Tractor Dealers Tractor Equipment & Parts Tractor Repair & Service Fertilizers Lawn and Garden Tractor and Home Lawn and Garden Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS: 333112)

Alternate Business Names
Olson's Outdoor Power Equipment Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • S63W14323 College Ave

    Muskego, WI 53150 (414) 422-9130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to see how much it would be to get an oil change for a snow blower. They told me it would be $10. If we decided to get a full tune up it would be $75. I took in two snow blowers and asked for an oil change. When they called me to pick them up they said the bill was over $260. They charged us for a tune up on both even though I did not ask for it, and then said they rebuild some parts on one of the snow blowers. They never called me to get approval for the rebuild of the parts. Both snow blowers were working great before we took them in. I would not have approved the additional work.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $240 that I was overcharged refunded.

Business Response: WHEN THESE MACHINES CAME IN WE WERE TOLD TO DO A TUNEUP AND GO OVER MACHINE.  WHEN I TAKE IN A MACHINE I WRITE WORD FOR WORD.  I'VE BEEN DOING THIS FOR OVER 20 YEARS AND I KNOW BETTER THAN THAT. IF YOU WANT ONLY AN OIL CHANGE THAT IS WHAT YOU WILL GET.  THE FIRST MACHINE HAD A TUNEUP AND WE REBUILT THE CARB BECAUSE IT HAD ROTTEN GAS AND WOULDN'T STAY RUNNING.  WE DONT CALL ABOUT CLEANING OUT CARBS AND PUTTING IN A CARB KIT  BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DO THIS FIRST BEFORE YOU FIND OUT IF IT WORKS OR YOU HAVE TO REPLACE CARB.  IF WE REPLACE A CARB WE WILL CALL FIRST. WE DIDNT COME CLOSE TO EXCEEDING THE VALUE OF THE MACHINE. THIS BILL WAS WITH PARTS AND LABOR $171.49. THE SECOND MACHINE I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, DO A TUNEUP  AND WE DID. THE BILL WAS $95.33.  WHEN HE PICKED UP HE  MACHINES, THERE WASN'T A COMPLAINT. HE PAID THE BILL.   WE TOOK GOOD CARE OF THEM LIKE WE DO WITH ALL OUR CUSTOMERS.  WHEN THEY GO TO USE THEIR MACHINES THIS YEAR THEY WILL WORK LIKE THEY SHOULD.  Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: I disagree with there statement. I brought the snow machines in asking for an oil changes on both and to have the smaller machine looked at too see if anything might be an issue. I left and there was no contact with ****** until I called two days before the first snow of the season. I was told I would get a call when they were done. I got the call a few days later and was told the cost, I nearly soiled myself. I explained that was a lot they said tune ups were scheduled. I again disagreed but I needed my machines and just was goin to pick them up. 

 

One me thing that was strange was the larger machine is only 18 months old and should not need any service and a mechanic should have realized that and no work should have been done or charged. That stands out to me like things are just moved through the shop and charge the most possible.


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

YOU BROUGHT YOUR MACHINES IN FOR OIL CHANGE AND GO OVER.  WE CALL THAT A TUNE UP. WE WRITE ON THE WORK ORDER

EXACTLY WHAT THE CUSTOMER SAYS.

IF YOU DONT STORE YOUR MACHINE PROPERLY, YOU WILL RUN INTO THIS PROBLEM.   IT DOESN'T HAVE ANYTHING TO

DO WITH THE AGE OF THE MACHINE. WHEN YOU PICKED UP THESE MACHINES YOU DIDN'T SAY A WORD ABOUT BEING

DISAPPOINTED.  WE ARE A FAMILY OWNED STORE AND WE DO EXCELLENT WORK FOR A LOT OF HAPPY CUSTOMER'S.

WE DONT CHARGE YOU FOR WORK THAT ISN'T NECESSARY. SERVICING EQUIPMENT OF OVER 20 YEARS IS WHAT WE ARE

VERY GOOD AT. WHEN A PERSON ASKS FOR US TO GO OVER  THEIR MACHINE,  WE HAVE TO CHECK AND OR FIX WHAT IS NECESSARY

TO HAVE IT WORK PROPERLY. THE LARGE MACHINE WOULDN'T RUN SO A CARB CLEANING NEEDED TO BE PREFORMED. WE ALSO CHECKED OVER

THE ENTIRE MACHINE & GOT READY FOR THE SNOW FALL. WE CHARGE $ TO DO ALL THIS. IF YOU GOT YOUR MACHINE HOME AFTER WE WENT OVER

IT COMPLETELY AND IT DIDN'T RUN, WHICH IT DIDN'T,  YOU WOULD BE EVEN MORE UPSET. WE HAVE PLAYED THIS GAME BEFORE WITH PEOPLE

AND KNOW YOU WILL NOT UNDERSTAND OR BE HAPPY WITH US BEING THOROUGH BECAUSE IT COST YOU MONEY.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my riding lawn mower to *****'s to have a tune up/brakes/blade work done. They informed me that it would be up to three weeks before I got my mower back. The repair/service work cost approximately $340. When I picked up the mower three weeks later, I took it home and went to cut the grass. I flipped the switch to engage the blades and nothing happened. The blades would not turn, nor did it sound like there was any attempt to turn. This functioned flawlessly when I dropped the mower off. I called and spoke to an employee who stated that I should bring the mower back. I made sure to ask specifically about when I would get the mower back, since I felt waiting another three weeks was unacceptable. I dropped the mower off again on 7/18/14 early in the day. I was informed that they (*****'s) would look at it within a day or two. Four business days later, I contacted *****'s because I had not yet had any communication with them. I was told they had not even looked at the mower yet, but would today (7/23/14). Several hours later, I received a call from a man who later identified himself as one of the co-owners. He stated that the electronic clutch needed to be replaced, and that the repair would cost me $350. I informed him that this part worked fine when I dropped it off and now after the repairs does not, and I feel that I should not have to pay for something that happened while my mower was being worked on. His response was that the only way this is going to be fixed is if I pay for it. He then transferred me to a manager at my request. I repeated the problem to the manager, who cut me off and said that the part just failed. When I started to explain that I felt that I should not have to pay for this repair, she continued to talk over me and refused to listen to my complaint. By now I was very upset, however I was not profane or belligerent. I again explained that this part worked fine when I brought the mower in, and now does not. She said that parts just fail all the time, and everything was tested before I picked it up. She told me that this happened after the mower left the shop. She was very rude, and continually cut me off. At one point she said, "Clutches fail all the time. I'm not buying you a new clutch. End of story!" She told me to come pick up my machine, then hung up the phone before I had a chance to respond. At this time I am still without a lawn mower and my grass has not been cut in over a month.

Desired Settlement: I would like my mower to be fixed to the working condition that it was in before I brought it to *****'s. Or if they are unwilling to do the work, I would like my money refunded from the previous service work. This would come out to be about the same as the cost of fixing the electronic clutch.

Business Response:

MR. ******** HAD  HIS MACHINE HERE FOR A TUNEUP .   WE DID A COMPLETE TUNEUP ON HIS TRACTOR, REPLACED HIS BRAKE PADS,
REPLACED BALD TIRES ON FRONT END.  WHEN THIS MACHINE WAS TESTED OUT HIS PTO CLUTCH
WORKED FINE.  WE DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH HIS DECK ENGAGING.  WHEN HE CALLED US UP WE SAID BRING IT IN AND WE
WOULD LOOK AT IT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.  MY MECHANIC FOUND THE ELECTRIC CLUTCH WAS BURNT OUT.  ELECTRIC CLUTCHES CAN
BURN OUT ANY TIME LIKE EVERYTHING ELSE.  IT JUST HAPPENED TO BURN OUT IN HIS DRIVEWAY.   IF IT WOULD OF BURNT OUT HERE,
WE WOULD OF INFORMED HIM THAT IS WOULD COST HIM  $280.00 FOR A NEW CLUTCH PLUS INSTALLATION.  WHEN I TALKED TO MR.
******** WE BOTH AGREED THAT I WOULD BE ABLE TO TALK TO HIM WITHOUT HIM TALKING OVER ME.  WHEN HE REPEATED HIMSELF
OVER OVER ABOUT WANTING A NEW CLUTCH AND THAT I WAS RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE I WAS THE LAST PERSON TO HAVE HIS MACHINE,
I FINALLY TOLD HIM THAT WE HAD NOTHING ELSE TO SAY AND THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO MAKE UP HIS MIND AND HAVE IT FIXED FOR
THE PRICE QUOTED OR PICKUP HIS MACHINE. 
 

Business Response: I'VE SENT 3 RESPONSES.  IN ALL MY RESPONSES I MADE IT CLEAR THAT *****'S OUTDOOR POWER

IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR SOMETHING WE DID NOT WORK ON.  I'M NOT SURE HOW YOU CANT UNDERSTAND
THIS.  MY WIFE TRIED TO TALK TO YOU FACE TO FACE WHEN YOU PICKED UP YOU MACHINE AND CHOSE
NOT TO TALK.  I THINK SHE DESERVES AN  APOLOGY. YOUR COMPLAINT IS THE SAME AND OUR RESPONSE 
IS THE SAME ALL 3 TIMES.  WHAT PART OF THIS DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND?


We have responded to the customer service issue , the strange part is that he did all the talking and didn’t let us even speak.My wife had to request him to give her a chance to talk but that didn’t work as stated in our response. When he picked up his machine my wife wanted to speak to him and he responded very rudely to her once again.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*****'s Outdoor Power has again responded with an insulting and condescending message.  This is not the type of response I would expect from an "A+" rated BBB company.   The point of this is to try and resolve the complaint.  Obviously, we have two different positions on this.  I understand your position, however I do not agree with it.   If I took my vehicle in to the dealer to have my four wheel drive worked on and they gave it back with a blown transmission, I would fully expect that the dealer would fix it at no cost to me since it worked at the time I dropped it off. (Even though they didn't do any work on the transmission itself).  A representative for Braeger Chevrolet agreed with this position. 


When the initial conversation over the part occurred, I was very upset.   I was even more irritated when the employee kept talking over me and kept cutting me off when I tried to explain my position.  I did raise my voice and asked that she stop talking over me.  I had to repeat myself multiple times because she refused to acknowledge what I was saying. During the conversation, I did listen to her argument.  I just don't agree with it.  The phone call ended with her hanging up on me.  


It is unessessary and unprofessional to be insulting in your response.  I do understand what you are saying.  However if I agreed with you, this complaint would not be on going.  In addition, the customer service issue has never once been addressed.  I have yet to see any comments on how rude your employees were in handling this.  


In regards to your wife.  I did speak with her when I picked up the machine.  She did not identify herself at anytime.  She located my paperwork and when she noticed that there was a BBB complaint attached, she said, "A BBB complaint; what happened with that?"  I responded to her by calmly saying that the complaint was still on going.  She did not ask any more questions, nor did she try to further engage in conversation.  I said a pleasent "thank you" and left.  She was very friendly and helpful; a first for me in my experience with *****'s.  


I'm not sure why you are accusing me of being rude, especially since you were not there at the time.  If I came off as being rude, that was not my intention and I offer a sincere apology.  That is more than I have ever been offered by *****' Outdoor Power.  

Regards,

**** ********

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Olsons Outdoor Power Equipment
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart