Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Trees on the Move, Inc.

Phone: (262) 679-5200 Fax: (262) 679-5215 View Additional Phone Numbers 5611 S Calhoun Rd, New Berlin, WI 53151 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.treesonthemove.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree transplanting and complete landscaping services. They offer nursery stock that is grown by the company.  They also offer patio and walkway construction, landscape design and construction, outdoor living spaces  arborist services, tree pruning, emergency storm clean-up and lot clearing; grading and irrigation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trees on the Move, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trees on the Move, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Trees on the Move, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 11/12/1993 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary McHugh, President Ms. Sue McHugh, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary McHugh, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue McHugh, Office Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Nursery Stock Dealers Tree Service Patio & Deck Builders Nurseries - Plants, Trees Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Irrigation Consultants Irrigation Systems & Equipment Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Contractors - Retaining Wall Patio Design Outdoor Kitchens Arborist Patio Builder Snow Removal Service - Commercial Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Trees on the Move, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5611 S Calhoun Rd

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 679-5200 (262) 679-0303 (262) 789-6750 (262) 789-1130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two pine trees on 8/28/13 with a two year warranty. The trees were installed on 10/11/13. I went to the location to buy some tree fertilizer as this is part of the guidelines to uphold the guarantee. I was told that the trees had been fertilized when they planted them. In the spring of 2014 after the trees should have generated new growth and didn't I called ******* person that sold me the trees that I was concerned of the trees. I know that trees take time to establish. on the one year warranty 10/11/14 one of the two trees didn't seem to be taking off like the other. I have fertilized the tree, kept it watered and 3" mulch to follow the rules for the guarantee. I have a company I use to take care of all my other trees to spray, fertilize etc. They indicated that the tree wasn't planted correctly as it looks like it was planted to deep. So I called trees on the move and no one called me back. The spring of 2015 came and the tree didn't show hardly any new growth again. I called ******* again and never received a call back. So I had her cell number and I decided to text here. She did respond and said she would come out to check on the tree and inform me of the status of the tree. The responds after visit which was three weeks later stated " Oh your tree has been invested with spruce sawfly" we don't guarantee trees that have been infected. I called her back and finally was able to speak with her to notify after I looked up the "spruce sawfly" on the internet that there is now way in hell that this tree was infected with this. I take great pride in my care for my trees and would have noticed this, not to mention the company I use (Buckley Trees) has also confirmed that none of my pine trees have never been infected with such a disease like "Spruce sawfly" . She told me that she would have to have her manager call me. This was in July of 2015. I never received a call from her manager and I continued to care for the tree and in October 2015 I called the office and spoke to someone that passed the concern and my dissatisfaction of how this has all been handled and that today 10/11/15 is the last day of the warranty and I still haven't heard from anyone. I received a call two days later from **** the owner and explained the situation, I texted him pictures of the tree and he told me that he would come out and check out the tree. Today is 12/30/15 and never heard back from **** or ******* about the condition of my tree. I spent $1064.00 for this tree and half the deliver charge of $67.96. I find it very upsetting that a large company like Trees on the move would be more appreciative to customer satisfaction. Its as if OK we finished the job and we got paid and we are done. The most frustrating part is you never receive a call back. I read all the other complaints and it seems to be a ongoing is*** with this company.

Desired Settlement: The money spent for a tree that I have been trying to get help with for the past two years and get no answers. Obviously the company doesn't care and with the condition of the tree that probably will not grow. I should be given a refund or I should be given a new tree of my choose of the same or larger for all the inconvenience of how they don't care.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******

I will begin by apologizing for the lack of response from our Company.  You are correct this should not have happened.  Steps have and will be taken to address this is*** with all of our staff members as to responding in a timely manner no matter the situation.  We always try to improve our services not take a step backwards.   

With that said we will be replacing your tree with a Norway Spruce that matches the size of the other Norway Spruce that you purchased. (We want the trees to match)  I can not give you a specific date for planting as we are always governed by the weather. New Stock is dug in spring.  If it is not too much of an inconvenience for you, we would  like you to pick out the tree of your choice.  If you cannot come to our nursery to do so, we will be happy to choose your tree for you.  We are pulling your file and putting it with the Spring Planting folder.  I (***) will call you when our stock is in so you can be the 1st to choose your tree. 

Again I apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that we have caused you in this situation.  We hope to remedy this problem for you in spring.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchase 6 Canadian Hemlocks, which one was 1/2 dead the day they planted it. We followed their directions as far as watering, mulching etc. We called them in the fall about Sept. to tell them the trees did not look good and was told to wait till spring as they did not want to come and look at them, to give the trees more time. .In the spring, I called them 5 times with no response from them to come and also emailed them, no response. Supposedly they finally looked at them. Their response was that we did not water them till frost, which we did. They want to charge us $148.00 a tree to replace them. Then they said they would only charge us $148.00 for 4 trees a total of $592.00 plus tax. They should replace these free of charge as WE DID WATER UP TO FROST IN THE GROUND. It seems like they want more money only

Desired Settlement: Replacement with no charge

Business Response: This is our response to ***** ***** complaint #********


The **** family purchased 4 Canadian Hemlock Trees from us in July of 2014.  They were installed 3 weeks following the purchase date.  The customer did not want to come into the office and pick out their trees, nor did they have an interest in listening to our very detailed care and watering instructions.  We supplied the ***** with all the necessary care instructions through the mail, so that they could read the instructions on how to properly care for their newly planted evergreen trees. 

It is imperative to an evergreens health to be watered until the ground is FROZEN.  This typically means watering until mid-December.  Last year, it meant watering until January, as our average temperature for the month of December was 43deg Fahrenheit.  

If an evergreen does not have enough water going into winter, they become susceptible to winter burn-which causes the trees needles to turn brown and fall off.  Due to frigid temperatures, and higher wind speeds, the tree loses moisture quicker through transpiration than it can replenish it from the surrounding soil. 

At the ****’s home, the side of the trees that was exposed to cold winds throughout the winter months is the side of the trees that are dead.  The sides of the trees that were protected by larger, existing evergreens are perfectly fine, with no needle drop.  

The trees died as a result of winter burn, which is caused by lack of water throughout the winter months, and is not covered by our warranty.  The warranty information that was provided to the customer is attached.

Because the ***** did their best to take care of the trees, and we are sympathetic to the fact that not everyone has a green thumb, we agreed to replace the ****’s trees at cost, which is $148/tree (installed), which is a 60% discount.

 

 

Business Response: We have decided to replace the trees for a lower amount (below our cost).  We will replace them for $125.00/tree.  They can pick the species that they would like.  We cannot replace trees that have not been taken care of according to the directions given the the customer.  I spoke with them on the phone and explained the situation.  They told me they only watered the trees until the 1st frost not until the ground was frozen as the directions specifically say.  This in turn did not give the trees the proper amount of water to withstand our Wisconsin winters.  We would be more than happy to replace these trees at a cost of $125.00/tree.
As the picture shows, the whole area including the trees were not watered properly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****

This is still not acceptable.  They told us not to use a sprinkler near the trees or on them, this area has no grass hardly at all because pf lack of water

8/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue is in regards to Proposal #8019, dated 07/30/2014, completed in full in 10/07/2014. Following installation of the softscaping aspects associated with the contract, it was identified to the account manager of the account that there were concerns with the plants that were installed. Specific concerns included accuracy of the plants installed in which the plants installed did not match the quantity identified on the contract, health of the plants in which several installed plants did not look healthy, and planting methods in which several plants were not installed deep enough, and the ball of roots were partially above ground. The account manager indicated that a full assessment would be conducted in mid-to-late April after winter had passed, and any issues would be addressed accordingly per the warranty terms. All plants were maintained by the customers in accordance with the companies' 2014 version of their Care and Maintenance Guide. The account manager met on-site on 04/25/2015, and all concerns of the customers were identified and shown to the account manager. The account manager verbally committed to have every item addressed. The full list of concerns included: 1) multiple grasses did not come back; 2) the original transformer box that was installed was deeply scratched and dented, and did not look new; 3) multiple areas of lawn were driven on by contractors unrelated to the property in question; 4) a post was left in the yard by the company when the lawn was seeded, and this post left a deep hole; 5) several plants needed to be buried deeper so the root ***** were fully below ground; 6) the driveway and front sidewalk, both of which were installed by the company, had numerous spots where chips occurred and cracks formed; 7) several rose bushes did not come back; 8) a bush in the berm was only half-alive; 9) the large 6"+ diameter Sunset Maple never came back. The account manager left the meeting stating that all concerns were noted, and would be corrected. As of 06/29/2015, only items 7 and 8 on the list have been corrected. The refund for the overcharged plants was received. 9 weeks have passed since the account manager met onsite to review the warranty items. During this 9 week period, at least 12 calls have been placed to various employees of the company. The account manager has told the customers several times that he is not handling this warranty claim, and that the customers need to work with the office. The customers contacted the sales manager for support, however the sales manager has not committed to resolving these warranty claims, and has only stated that he needs to talk with the account manager. Within the past two weeks, phone messages have been left with three staff members of the company, and none of them have returned phone calls, and no additional warranty items have been resolved. The only employee who responds to phone calls is the account manager, and he refuses to help resolve these issues, or even get the proper employees involved.

Desired Settlement: The customers want all warranty items resolved in a timely manner - the preferred completion time is no later than 07/17/2015. The most serious of the warranty items is the dead tree, which cost $1,000 to install. The customers are very disappointed that multiple employees of the company have decided to ignore this repeated attempt to get information and a commitment on this warranty claim, and do not feel like valued customers who spent nearly $32,000 with the company.

Business Response:

This is in reply to Complaint from Mr ***** Complaint #********

Item #1

When we did the walk thru in May the grasses were not growing yet, we had a cool spring. The customer requested a walk thru happen in May. I recommended having it when the plants started to grow. When we planted the new grasses originally 6 were needed but, we only had to replace 2 that were less than full. Not dead just not full.

Item #2

When the customer did the walk thru in October 2014, the power box was not noted as scratched and the only note we have regarding it is after winter. The product was brand new out of the box in October. The manufacturer does not make a door for replacement.

Item #3

As stated in her remarks the grass had been driven on by contractors not related to the Trees on the Move project.

Item #4

The plumbers had left a water pipe mark in the front yard. It had not been removed prior to us finishing the lawn so we left it in the ground.  The homeowner pulled the pipe out of the ground leaving a hole.

Item #5

Winter’s freeze & thaw cycle will cause some plants to heave.  We agreed to replant them when we completed the replacements.

Item #6

The concrete contractor is addressing the concrete concerns.

Item #7

Although the roses were not properly pruned back and prepped for winter, we replaced them.

Note: The contract clearly states which plants are not covered by warranty – roses were included on this list. 

 

Item #8

We agreed to monitor the Nannyberry prior to winter, due to its condition in spring it was replaced.

Item #9

The Red Sunset Maple was replaced at no cost.  Many of the Red Sunset Maples (Acer Rubrum) were affected by the last 2 years hard winters.

The customer made numerous calls throughout the week asking about these concerns and they were told that it was in the scheduling area and I did not make that decision. All of her concerns were noted and all refunds were sent out. The husband would always follow up the same day with the same questions. The customer was made aware that the proper person had the account and was scheduling the projects replacements. Even after she was instructed that the plants she needed were not ready for replacement yet because of the weather. There was never a refusal to get involved or answer. They did not like the way our company has different people doing different jobs here.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that while I don't necessarily agree with the content of the response, the follow-up actions taken by the company and final resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trees on the Move has been the worst/unethical contractor that I have dealt with in 12 years in the construction industry. We contracted them to install our patio and some other misc. landscaping for our new home on 5/5/14. It started off good through the design process with their designer (*****). They seemed like a reputable contractor with many quality pictures of their installation. As mentioned above our contract was signed on 5/5/14. They did not mobilize until 7/9/14 (2 months later). This was just the start of what I would like to call HELL. The first day they mobilized we noticed that all of our paver wall bricks, pavers, and fire pit were all ordered the wrong color. Not one piece of brick/paver was the color we ordered. It gets worse... Trees on Move then gave us the option to go with the brick/pavers that they started installing or have them reorder the correct color that we wanted. Well after a couple days, we decided that this is a lifetime investment and we should go with the color we selected in the end. With that said, we found out the correct brick color was on back order for 3 weeks. 3 weeks ago by and here we’re at the end of July with no patio yet. This was supposed to be a 2 week project, let me remind you. So the new product gets delivered, installation is going good for a couple days. I noticed that they stopped installing the wall around our fire pit about halfway up. I didn’t think much of it, as I thought they would just bring more product out the next day to finish. It was 2 more days before they got more product out to finish, however the brick they installed was a tone darker than the bottom half. It looks like it came from a completely different production lot. See picture attached. This was just the start of poor workmanship issues. Other issues include: • White gravel rocks scattered throughout the brown mulch around the entire house, • All four column caps were not even close to being centered on columns. It looked like they didn’t even measure to try to center them (1 cap still yet to be resolved). • Fire pit cap was installed uneven and not centered. The fire pit ring was damaged upon arrival (still yet to be resolved). • A noticeable low pitch near the fire pit ground pavers that collected a pool of water when it rained. • Sitting wall caps not cut properly and bowed with an uneven surface (still yet to be resolved). • Adhesion glue dripping down the wall under the sitting wall caps (still yet to be resolved). • Cut our underground cable line coming into our house and didn’t even tell us. I physically had to go outside and found the break it a couple of minutes. I sat on the phone with Time Warner for 30 minutes trying to troubleshoot when it was an issue caused by them. • Left a large hole in our back yard from dirt that they used for an island we had put in the front yard. Their quote said they would bring in soil for the beds. Although they listened to us and fixed some of the issues that same day, we still got grief from the project manager (*******) and *** ***** (****). They acted demeaning to us, like why are you asking us to fix this? As of today, almost 6 weeks later they still have not repaired/replaced the items we asked them too. The biggest issue that we got grief for was the brick wall that is two different colors. Both ******* and **** claim it’s the same color and “power washer” will fix it. When they were here they said I should contact the manufacturer (*********) about my concern with the wall color. Don’t you think a quality; reputable landscaping company would take this in their own hands and contact them for *** *****? Not the case, I had to do everything. They left it up to me to deal with and work with the regional sales rep. The regional sales rep with ********* was very response and helpful in the matter. I sent her pictures on two occasions. One the day after we met with ******* and ****. One after I used a power spray nozzle to wash down the brick again. Both times, it resulted in looking like two different colors. I have it in writing that the regional sales rep agrees the wall is two different colors. She tried to follow up with ******* and **** again to come to a resolution. Again 2 weeks later, because Trees on the Move is horrible at responding, they give the same bullshit excuse, that they were both out here and they didn’t think the brick was a different color “(it looked worse in the pic than in person)”. Yes, these are the kind of people that we are dealing with. Let me also remind you that *** ***** (****) stood here on my property and quoted this, “It’s my job to make sure the customer is happy and we will do what it take to make sure that is done.” Well that isn’t happening…..Apparently the poor customer service/poor workmanship/being unethical comes from the top down…..So we sit here almost six weeks later and I still don’t know when and if we’ll have a patio to enjoy this summer.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is Trees on the Move to take ownership and work with the manufacturer (*********) to replace the wall with a similar matching lot color. I also expect compensation as a result of the poor customer service, poor workmanship, and further delayed schedule in resolving this manner when it could have been taken care of two weeks ago. I would like our last two payments of $888.38 (November and December 1st payments) be dropped.

Business Response:

Trees on the Move started working with the *********’s in early April.  ***** worked diligently through their process which included multiple designs and working with their builder to pour the concrete. After finalizing the design and including the concrete portion in the new scope of work, we worked with the *********’s to put a contract in place to accommodate their request to pay for the project over 6 months. Although this is not our policy, we agreed to the request. We signed the contract on 5/5/14.  Signing a contract puts customers on the schedule.  We told them we were backlogged and it would be June before we could get started. It rained 20 out of 30 days in June which put us behind even further.

 Prior to starting the project we ordered the product that was stated in the contract. The *********’s changed the product after the contract was signed (which is not a problem), but we made a mistake and ordered off of the contract forgetting about the change.  The correct material was ordered immediately but unfortunately was out of stock and put on backorder. ********* Concrete Products told us it would be 3 weeks to receive the order but it actually arrived in 2 weeks.

During the delay we continued with the landscape portion of the installation. When product arrived we began the installation of the seat walls and fire pit. The *********’s noticed a difference in color and asked that we stop and look at the walls with them. The block was NOT two different colors-same color- but two different lots from the manufacturer.  ********* Products admitted to supplying us with two different lots of material, something out of our control.  **** and ******* worked diligently with ********* for the quick resolution that was achieved. Trees on the Move would never leave a homeowner to resolve an issue with a supplier. In this case, Mr. ********* volunteered.

****, *** *****, and ******* met with the *********’s and ensured them that although there had  been some challenges on the job that Trees on the Move is very proud of the 40 years it had been doing business in SE Wisconsin and will not leave their project until they are completely satisfied. **** had offered some additional plantings for the front of their home as a courtesy for the challenges faced along the way but Mr. ********* declined.

********* delivered the new block at no cost and Trees on the Move removed the old block and installed the new.

Regarding the soil, soil was brought out to site and used for beds as is typical.  Some soil was scraped from back corner (unfinished grade) but had not been restored.  We had planned on completing this before we completed the project.

The miscellaneous stone in the mulch has been removed and will be looked at again before we leave site in case more has come up through mulch.

The cable was accidently cut by the crew and we were not aware this occurred or we would have informed the *********’s immediately.

As **** stated-we will always make sure customer is 100% satisfied.  Trees on the Move has provided the *********’s with a 7’ evergreen, mulch for all of his beds, and buried drain tile at no charge.

Mr. ********* has created another punch list which we assured him would be completed prior to leaving the site.

Trees on the Move will complete over 150 landscape projects from $1,000.00 to $500,000 this year alone and unfortunately there are some circumstances out of our control. As a company we will not leave the site until the project is 100% complete per plan and contract.

Business Response: Once again we apologize for any inconvenience you suffered.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Apparently customer service and integrity is not a core value for Trees on the Move.  You have an unsatisfied customer and you are not doing anything to resolve it. 

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1 tree out of the 8 planted in April 2014 is 1/2 dead. The Betula Nigra River Burch 10-12 foot is bare from the middle up, it looks like a bush. I called on 6/10 (was told they would send arborist out to check) no response 6/24 (said they didn't know, would talk to arborist and get back with me) no response 7/9 (stopped by business and talked to *** ******* who said they will replace tree. will put me on list but no time frame) 7/20 (called *** ******* 11AM said he would be out later in PM to check tree but never showed up. we ate or supper on the patio that day/ no rain ) 7/22 ( called *** ******* claimed it was raining that day so couldn't come out. He then said he can't change out tree with out SUE's OK, will be out in the next 3 day to check tree) Never showed up. I have pictures of this tree if needed

Desired Settlement: replace the tree with a good one.

Business Response: First I would like to apologize for the terrible lack of communication that you received from our company. This is not how we do business. When we receive notice that a tree is not doing well or has died the original salesperson is to go to the job site and check on the tree. If the tree is found to be dead the salesperson is to write up the appropriate paperwork and get it into dispatch so the tree can be replaced. I am sorry that Mr. ******* did not take care of his end of things as this matter would have been resolved back in July. Since then, Mr. ******* said he has since looked at the tree and verified that it is dead. I have written up the appropriate paperwork and this tree will be replaced within the next week. Again I want to apologize for all of the hassle and inconvenience that you have been put through.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *********

 

 

 

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We originally contacted Trees on the Move March 2013 for a quote to have landscape work done in our front yard and removing bushes in the backyard. We got our quote in April 2013 and were told it would be 4-6 weeks for our project to be on the schedule. It was a very rainy spring so we were pushed back to mid June until it was completed but during the waiting time (after receiving our approximately $3000 down payment) we received no communication unless we contacted them. The work completed was to include: remove and fill in bushes in backyard, bury 4 downspouts with pop-up drains, remove existing bushes in front of house and along sidewalk, remove existing landscape blocks around tree, lamppost, and flower bed in front of house, new flower bed to be cut out in front of house and along garage, plant new plants and bushes. We also included for a new front sidewalk and patch in front of our garage to be poured with new concrete. We were told it would take 2 1/2 days to complete the job and that ******* would come out and check to make sure we were satisfied with job. The concrete on the sidewalk looks GREAT and we couldn't be happier with it, the only problem is that the patch in front of the garage slops back toward the garage instead of toward the driveway. The landscaping took 1 day to complete with two guys here until past 8pm. Initially we were satisfied with the landscape overall but within 1 month of completion we had grass growing in the new beds due to lack of sufficient removal and lack of mulch being placed appropriately. There were no caps placed on the end of the downspout drains. The lamppost looks like they hurried to get it done, with barely any mulch placed (even ******* said it looked bad). The holes where the bushes were removed in the back were not filled in with dirt so we are left with giant holes every 12 inches. Plants in the bed out front were dying within the first month despite watering correctly as instructed. There are some plants that we could see the base of the plant on the surface of the dirt, no mulch placed around it. We contacted ******* ******* (who was the head guy on our project from the beginning) on 8/14/13 via email to inform of our complaints and included pictures of the problems. 8/19/13 ******* ******* replied and said that he would come by that week to look at the problems. He never showed that week nor did he call. ******* did call and schedule to come out 9/3/13, he did not show or call. We emailed him 9/4/13 asking about why he did not show on 9/3/13. ******* replied 9/5/13 saying that he would be out that morning. He did not show, did not call. ******* eventually came out in mid to late September 2013. He looked at all problems areas, agreed that lamppost looked bad and would be filled in with grass seed and mulch removed, Said that some plants may be dormant from the planting and he would wait until Spring to see if they make it through the winter. He did say that he would have them come out and fill in holes in backyard and bring downspout drain caps. No one showed. In March 2014 we went to the Home and Garden Show to speak with ******* ******* directly and voice out complaints yet again. Per his request our contact information was given to him, he said that he would call the following Tuesday to come out and check the problems. We received no phone call from him for close to 2 weeks. We then emailed the company approximately 4/11/14 directly through their website hoping for a response. On 4/14/14 ******* ******* called and made an appointment to come out on Tuesday 4/15/14. ******* ******* showed up on 4/15/14 and said that they would come out and remove dead plants, replace a few bushes that were also dead, fill in the holes in backyard, fix the base of downspout drains and provide caps, and fill in mulch all at no cost since it was still within the 1st year of completion. We did stress that we wanted the problems fixed prior to June 2014 so it was still within the 1 year of completion and covered. ******* said that there wouldn't be an issue if we went past the 1 year date. ******* said that they would call in a few weeks and let us know when we were on the schedule. We contacted ******* ******* on his cell phone on 5/12/14 asking if we could stop by and at least pick up the drain caps as we had animals crawling in the pipes and trying to make nests. ******* said that he had to pick them up but would bring them over on 5/13/14 and asked if that was okay. My husband said that it would be as long as he showed up on 5/13/14, he did not show, did not call. We called 5/17/14 and left message about the drain caps, no response. We called 6/2/14, ******* was not in the office, left a message on cell phone. We called 6/9/14, ******* was not in office, left a message on cell phone. We were not given an option to leave a voicemail on his work phone nor given any option of talking to anyone else.

Desired Settlement: WE would like Trees on the Move and ******* ******* to come out and fix the problems: fill in mulch appropriately, fill in holes in backyard, replace dead bushes, remove mulch and plant grass seed around lamppost. We gave this list to ******* ******* when he came out on 4/15/14 and it was also emailed to the company on 4/11/14.

Consumer Response:

On Thu, 12 Jun at 3:56 pm , ***** ****** ************************ wrote:
This email is to inform you that **** **** from Trees on the Move contacted me this afternoon 6/12/14 and scheduled an appointment to come out and address the problems listed in the complaint on 6/13/14 at 1pm

Thank you for your assistance in this complaint.

***** ******

Sent from my iPad
 

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 3, 2013 our company went into Trees on the Move to pick out and purchase four trees.. We purchased the trees with our credit card and asked to pick them up the next day. We went ahead as scheduled and picked up the trees the following day. Trees on the Mve loaded them onto our truck, placing the ***** ***** ****** on the bottom of the four trees. When we arrived at our job site about 15 minutes later and started to unload the trees, we noticed that the ***** **** ****** had rotten burlap on it and was coming undone, the basket strings were also broken off so we immediately called Trees on the Move and asked them if we could come back and have them reburlap the tree or exchange it for another one. They said they had to ask *** *****. They came back on the phone and said no to both of our requests. We knew that if we tried to take the tree off the truck like this, that the ball would come undone and the roots would become exposed and we would be planting a tree that would soon be unstable and in shock. We then called back and pleaded with them to please let us make an exchange and once again the answer was no. They told us that we should take the tree off the truck and try and plant it. We tried to take their advice and get the tree off the truck, but once we rolled the tree to rotate it off the truck, the burlap completely broke and all roots were exposed. We took several pictures and called back a third time, again with the answer owas no. We finally were able to speak with *** ***** and he told us that we could not get our money back, we could not exchange the tree for a different one and if we went ahead and planted the tree and it did not survive that we should contact him and he would allow us to purchase a second tree at "HIS" cost. REALLY? This was our very first and very last time we will ever purchase anything from Trees on the Move. Of all our years of buying and planting nursery stock we have never come upon this POOR of customer service. All we are asking for now is our money back. What a huge disappointment and we will let others know of our experience.

Business Response: ******** *********** purchased 4 trees on a cash and carry basis.  This means there is No Warranty on their purchase as their contract stated.    We stand behind all of our products.  The reason that we do not warranty trees picked up and planted by others, is that we do not know that others will handle the trees properly and plant them correctly.  There is an art to removing trees from trucks.  The proper technique and equipment is necessary as to not ruin the root ball.   Our ******* ******* loaded the trees onto the ******** Truck.  He has over 30 years experience and does not pile trees on top of each other.    When a woman from ******** called, she spoke with their sales person and the salesperson explained that per the contract it was a No Warranty sale.  The gentleman that was planting the trees then called back and did speak to *** *****.  After he explained what happened *** ***** told them to bring the tree back to our office that day and we would indeed trade it out for another tree.  ******** never returned to our office with the tree to switch it out.   Since the tree was never returned to our office and we do not know if it was planted or not, we will not give a refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Trees on the Move, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart