BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Nate's Lawn Maintenance, Inc.

Phone: (262) 285-4100 Fax: (262) 285-4105 View Additional Phone Numbers 970 Jer Mar Rd, Belgium, WI 53004 http://www.nateslandscape.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawn mowing and trimming, complete lawn care, bed maintenance and commercial snow and ice control.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nate's Lawn Maintenance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nate's Lawn Maintenance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nate's Lawn Maintenance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 26, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated: 11/14/2002 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nathan Kohn, President Ms. Beth Grady, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathan Kohn, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Weed Control Service Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Irrigation Consultants Snow Removal Service Irrigation Systems & Equipment Lawn Installation Service Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Landscape Maintenance Contractors - Retaining Wall Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Nate's Landscape Company Professional Landscape Management & Construction

Additional Locations

  • 970 Jer Mar Rd

    Belgium, WI 53004 (262) 285-4100 (866) 268-7264

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 268-7264(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was not very user friendly. One of the reasons I choose them was based on timing of the project. I was informed, reassured multiple times that would be no issue. That of course was prior to the contract. Once the contract was signed, and down payment was sent it became a totally different story. My calls were not returned. The project started almost 4wks late with multiple excuses that were unjustified. They damaged the area leading into the project on the common space of the subdivision. When they were confronted about the issue they choose to drive on private property to access my yard without permission, and then also damaged my yard. Verbally I was informed that all this would be repaired, and at the end of the project that was denied, and argued. They used damaged stones for the patio, which were only replaced when marked and asked to do so. Multiple times and in multiple areas. They made "bad calculations" at the beginning of the project and the end, both of which I was expected to pay "a little" extra to the tune of thousands of dollars. The Arbor and Pergola do not match. The lighting project was not completed by a electrician, overcharged, and never "hard wired" as promised. Because I would not allow them to disturb the integrity of my home since I did not at that point have any respect for the quality of the work I received. In the end, prior to the completion of the work, (after being asked to pay more to make the appearance respectable)they owner of the company threatened me by stating he was going to place a lien on the property. PRIOR to completion of the work. Would I recommend them again, NO. I did have a friend recommend them, and have informed them also of all the issues and concerns in follow up. This was a Long and frustrating project.

Desired Settlement: My main reason is to put the information out in a public space to not allow other customers to be preyed on.

Business Response:

This is in response to complaint *******, on 8/19/2013.

 

We were hired to install a brick patio, seat-wall and landscape lighting as proposed. The customer signed the contract on June 3, 2013 and we received a down payment on June 10, 2013. Our first day on the job was June 26, 2013.

 

We were given permission from the customer to drive on the lawn to install the patio, during the pre-construction meeting April 10, 2013. During a conversation with the neighbor we were given the ok to drive on the common area of the subdivision, as long as it was graded and seeded when we left.

 

The construction of the pergola was in the scope of work, but not the staining or painting. The arbor was ordered pre-stained, the pergola was built using cedar; both were built as requested.

 

Upon completion of the project, and doing a final walk through on July 17, 2013 with the customer, payment was supposed to be received. She withheld payment saying certain areas needed to be fixed. We proceeded to make adjustments to the customer’s satisfaction.

 

The final cost of the project was invoiced less than what we first originally quoted. There were no extra charges assessed. The charge per item matches what she signed off on to have us start the project.

 

A lien on the customer’s property was discussed when we were having trouble collecting payment from the customer. A lien was never placed on the property. We sent the final invoice on July 17, 2013 and received payment, upon the customer’s satisfaction, on August 8, 2013.

 

 

It is our understanding that any issues the customer had with the project were taken care of, thus the reason she paid the final payment. We apologize for any misunderstanding or frustrations she had with the project.

 

If you have any questions, we can be reached at ***** ********. You may also e-mail us at *************************

 

Sincerely,

**** ****

President/Owner

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had originally purchased a lawn maintenance package with our new lawn install which included 6 fertilizer applications and aeration. We also purchased another package which included over-seeding and filling low spots. The first application of fertilizer was to be applied in April. That application was never applied and I was told it was due to weather. Nate's came and over-seeded in early May, as per plan, but the starter fertilizer that was supposed to be put down with the grass seed was never applied. The company told me they would come out the following Monday to apply the fertilizer, which never happened. Once grass seed is down you must wait 90 days before fertilizing again. I was never informed of this when originally purchasing both packages together. I spoke with Anthony, who I was told was my contact, about refunding the money for my fertilizer package since it hadn't been applied and at this point was to late to do so. He informed me that my $400 would be refunded via check asap. 2 weeks later I have not received a check or any response from the company. I have tried numerous times to contact Nate only to be told he was not in or he was too busy right now. The receptionist took all my info and said she would talk to Nate and call me back. That phone call back never happened. I have tried calling 2 more times since with no one answering the phones. After numerous attempts to contact the company about my refund none have been returned and I still don't have a check in hand. I also have a complaint with the original lawn install. We signed with Nate's on 6/13/2012 to install our lawn with 3 inches of screened topsoil. The company originally messed up the lawn install and the next night Nate came out to talk about it. At that point i mentioned to Nate that I felt they had not fulfilled the order for 3 inches of topsoil. The dirt on the lawn was hard as a rock, not soft and black like good screened topsoil. He told me that it was not possible to put 3 inches of depth everywhere and blew off my concern. I brought it up again and once again he blew it off. I got to talk to one of the heavy equipment operators about the soil and he told me that in order to bring in less soil he used soil from the hills behind my house. (We have hills of soil on the property behind me due to being a new subdivision and that's where the excess dirt gets put) After telling me that I once again mentioned my concern to Nate and he told me I was incorrect and that they were not bringing more soil. They proceeded to seed and cover the lawn. At this point I realized how many rocks there were in the yard from there "screened" topsoil. I called **** and he told me that the soil they use has rocks in it and it is normal. I have personally never seen "screened" topsoil that has big rocks in it. (rocks varied from 2-3inches and up. The biggest rock I pulled out was approx 2 ft long) I have since pulled out two 5-gallon buckets of rocks varying in sizes. There is still plenty more rocks in my yard as well. I feel they never brought out enough topsoil and I didn't receive the product I paid a premium for. We paid Nate's $1800 for topsoil and I feel like I only received $1000 worth of it with the other amount coming from the scrap dirt off the back lot. I have also had other companies come out to do various yard work, tree planting and landscaping, and both companies have mentioned the lack of topsoil on my yard. Also the spotty grass growing after initial seeding and over-seeding is a good indication of how the company applies seed. The seed was thrown on top of hard compacted soil. The seed should have been raked into the dirt to promote growing which never happened. I would like to receive some sort of compensation for the topsoil I paid for and never received due to the company admitting to taking it off the back dirt hills.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the $400 for the fertilization package that the company failed to provide me with. I would also like to receive $600 - $800 back for the lack of topsoil brought in by the company and the quality of soil they used. There is no reason why a employee should state that soil was taken from the back hills when I paid a premium for the screened topsoil. Also after finding two 5-gallon buckets of rocks (and there is more) in the yard it shows they used the soil from the back hills and not screened topsoil.

Business Response:

In response to Mr *******'s statement's dated 6-20-13. In Order.

Along with topdressing, over-seeding and lawn raking A fertilizer application was applied on May 8th.  This could not have been done sooner due to the temperatures in April and early May.  Mr. ******* was told this on several occasions when he called our office.

I have never heard of having to wait 90 days after seeding to apply fertilizer.

On two occasions I personally left messages for Mr. ******* to call me regarding his concerns.  I never received a call back.  I do not remember the dates and I did not wright them down.

In the quote dated 6-13-12 the scope called for 2" of topsoil to be applied.  The option of an additional 1" was also selected.  Mr. ******* was never quoted for screened topsoil.  It is industry standards to use unscreened topsoil on lawn installs.  I never "blew off" Mr. *******'s concern about the depth of the topsoil.  When figuring the amount of soil needed for a finish grade the area is calculated and the amount is figured based on the depth the job calls for.  In the case of a finish grade job topsoil is spread over an un-even rough grade.  This is why some areas receive 3", 2", 1", 4", 5" etc.  The 3" is simply the average.  This was explained to Mr. *******.

We never took soil from "the hills" or any where else to use as the topsoil on Mr. *******'s lawn.

It is common for unscreened soil to have rocks.  Most rocks are raked out during the finish grade process.  It is also common for rocks to surface in a new lawns from watering and then again after the first few winters from frost pushing them up.  We did not use soil with an unreasonable amount of rocks, especially ones that measure 2'.  Fact - A 2' rock weighs 2500-3500lbs.  How did Mr. ******* pull this from his finish graded lawn? 

A check for $352.00 (includes sales tax) is being sent out in todays mail to refund the remaining lawn care program.  This service is canceled.

No refund is being offered for topsoil because Mr. ******* received all the topsoil he paid for.

In an unrelated matter. Mr. ******* asked for a job plowing snow for my company after we completed his lawn install in fall.  I did not have a position for Mr. *******.  Maybe his recent issues with his lawn would have been different had he gotten a plowing job with our company?

Business Response: A replacement check was cut for Mr. ******* correcting his first name on July 3, 2013. The check was picked up by his wife. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1