This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Bath & Kitchen, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 329-1882 Fax: (414) 329-1686 View Additional Phone Numbers 3636 S 108th St, Milwaukee, WI 53228 ! There is an alert on Affordable Bath & Kitchen, Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they specialize in kitchen/bath design and remodeling, including cabinets and countertops.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Affordable Bath & Kitchen, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 2001 Business started: 10/01/2000 in WI Business started locally: 10/01/2000 Business incorporated 10/04/2000 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: (608) 267-0644
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Madsen, President Mrs. Molly Madsen, Vice President/co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Madsen, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Molly Madsen, Vice President/co-owner
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Cabinets Countertops Home Theater Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Baths Kitchen & Bath Design Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Industry Tips
Contractor Certification (Dwelling) Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11063 N Port Washington Rd

    Mequon, WI 53092 (262) 241-1882

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3636 S 108th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53228 (414) 329-1882

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had a full remodel of my kitchen. A new counter depth refrigerator was ordered utilizing companies measurements and when it arrived French door would not open fully due to adjoining wall. The company offered me two solutions which were unacceptable to me. One was to remove 2 inches of a plaster wall and/ or narrow the cabinets by 3 inches.. I have a 100 year old home and a very narrow kitchen and require all the cabinet space I can get as we'll as symmetry of walls. A cabinet was damaged during the remodel and was not repaired or replaced. All cabinets opened and hit the walls. Slide in stove has a gap in the countertop from improper measurement . Moldings around window and door frame were cut and unable to be replaced requiring me to get additional carpentry work and expense. The company hires inexperienced carpenters whom have no experience with old homes. I would like a credit for carpentry redo.

Desired Settlement: A 1,500 credit for additional carpentry redo.

Business Response:

Date:  August 7, 2014

Attn:   Better Business Bureau

Re:   ***** *****, Complaint #********

Thank you for sharing the concerns expressed in ***** *****’s complaint submitted 8/4/14.  Our goal is to make sure that every client is satisfied and any outstanding issues are addressed as quickly as possible.  I have emailed, texted and called her numerous times asking if there were any outstanding issues she wanted taken care of, and we never heard back. 

I’d like to clarify a few of the items in her letter to help the BBB better understand the situation.

***** did not purchase her appliances from our company.  She was provided with a plan that indicated the exact opening for the refrigerator including the attached adjacent wood panel as well as the exact dimensions of the existing wall to the left of the frig.  The frig she chose worked in the space if pulled forward slightly, i.e. approx 2 inches.  We offered her options to correct the issue if she chose to do so.  Instead, she was able to find a zero clearance frig which did not require any additional fillers to allow the doors to open clearly and was able to resolve the issue without any construction.

***** refers to a cabinet that was damaged during the remodel.  This was the first time this was brought to our attention.  The “damage” she is referring to is not actually any damage, it is a pitch pocket.  Cherry is a reliable hardwood and finished product will typically include pin knots, small dark spots (pitch pockets) and /or dark mineral streaks.  This information was clearly indicated on the label of the back panel of the door from which she made her selection.

***** also indicates that the cabinet doors, when opened, hit the walls.  ***** has a galley kitchen and the cabinetry butts up to walls on 3 sides of the kitchen.  We provided restrictor clips for all of the doors that are adjacent to a perpendicular wall.  She refused to allow us to install them, and indicated her other carpenter would take care of this.  Installing those clips is a simple fix and would take less than sixty seconds per door.  She has those clips in her possession.

***** suggests the countertop was not measured properly.  This is the first time we’ve heard of this issue, but it is not a measurement issue as she indicates.  When the range she purchased is pushed back, there is a gap behind the range.  Sometimes, this is not evident until the appliances are placed and connected.  An easy fix would be to run another few inches of tile below the area behind the back of the range.  We would be happy to do this if she chooses.

Finally, ***** indicates moldings were cut and unable to be replaced.  As ***** was told at the initial check measure, her existing moldings were already cut/notched around to accommodate the original cabinetry.  Attached please find photos showing several areas where the moldings were notched around cabinetry, tops and a radiator.   We had processed a change order to replace the existing moldings, and she then indicated she was going to have her other carpenter take care of the molding so we processed another change order reversing the charges. 

The carpenter that performed the majority of the work in ***** ‘s home is very experienced in both older homes as well as new construction.  His work is impeccable.  He has received a 10 out of 10 on every customer rating prior to *****’s project. 

Communications have been a constant challenge with *****.  While we are happy to take care of installing the restrictor clips and adding another row of tile behind the range, we were never paid to replace the moldings around the doors and windows. 

I’m happy to provide a credit for the few hours of labor that it would take to address the above issues that were part of our contract (restrictor clips and tile).  ***** was accommodating when we discovered one cabinet had to be remade because of a measurement error.  A generous settlement for this work and allowing the cabinet remake would be $750.  I am happy to provide her with a check for this amount if she would prefer to contract the work with another company.

Sincerely,

***** ******, *****

AB&K (Affordable Bath and Kitchen, Inc.)

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A,B & K carpenters damaged cabinetry doors and drawers with hardware installation, for example; splintered, chipped and gouged wood. Both owners refuse to address our concern after repeated attempts on our part. For clarity, not defective cabinetry by manufacturer which is covered under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: We have paid full price for new cabinetry with properly installed hardware. Our desired outcome is cabinetry with properly installed hardware in our kitchen. The replacement cabinetry will need to match in color and design. Thank you.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint from ****** *** ******** (Complaint #*******).  Our goal at AB&K is to satisfy all of our customers and walk away knowing we did everything we could to make a customer happy.  Unfortunately, I believe ****** *** is one of those clients that we simply cannot satisfy.  Her dissatisfaction with our company escalated when she was told that we were prepared to file a lien on her home after she was delinquent in paying by nearly 3 months.  She complained about the workmanship, yet she gave our installer a gift card for the work he did in her home.

 

We have replaced 7 doors (out of a total of 14 doors in her entire kitchen) because of very minor dings and dents.  We had 3 people in her home trying to figure out which door she considered "damaged" because none of us could figure it out, so we had to ask her to point out the exact door.  Several of the doors were not issues at the initial installation and inspection, yet after the kitchen had been in use for months, new damage was found.  The manufacture considered most of the doors within normal tolerances and required that we pay for replacements.  I’ve attached a photo of one drawer that she claims  we damaged (or as her letter states, “splintered/chipped/gouged”.  When a cabinet door or drawer is drilled, the wood on the opposite side (on the inside of the drawer) can exhibit very slight fractures around the hole from where the drill bit comes through on the other side (refer to the attached photo -- the rightmost screw).  It is a normal part of the drilling process and is well within industry tolerances. 

 

After the last service call at ********, our ******* ***, ****, who has worked for our company for over 10 years (and was a **** ********* ** *** **** ******** ** *** **** *****), said he would not ever go back into her home after the way he was treated by ****** *** during his last service call.  **** has never said anything like this about any customer in all of his years of employment, and he’s in dozens of homes every week.  Our project manager was also there, and stated that he would never send any AB&K employee back into her home. 

 

We have addressed all of the issues (including items that were well within industry tolerances), and we also added items such as undercabinet lighting that she was not charged for.  I have reviewed the issue with several people in our organization as well as fellow industry associates, and the universal response from everyone that I’ve spoken to is that the “chipping” exhibited on the opposite sides of the doors and drawers is normal and is not something that would dictate replacement for any reasonable consumer.

 

Thank you for taking the time to review my response.  If the BBB feels AB&K's response has been unreasonable after review of this letter, I will gladly listen to your recommendation, share additional photos, etc.  However, I feel strongly that we’ve gone above and beyond for this client and believe her comments should not reflect negatively against our company. 

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

AB&K (owners, installers, project managers and the designer ) have tried to do everything possible to satisfy this customer.  We strive for all of our customers to be thrilled with their finished project. 

 

I am a professional remodeler, highly regarded in our industry, and I am confident that any other industry professional would walk into the ********'s kitchen and agree that the work was done in a professional manner.  I am certain that any experienced remodeler after viewing the project in person would tell ****** *** that the drilling on the inside of her doors and drawers is perfectly acceptable.  All experienced professionals would agree that touch ups, which includes fill sticks and color match putty are used on every job.   I have been in this business for 12 years and NEVER had a customer complain about imperfections associated with hardware drilling on the inside of the doors and drawers.  We've already replaced doors that the manufacturer tells us are well within industry standards.  The photo she included of the outlet heights was  resolved months ago. We agreed that they needed to be adjusted and took care of it immediately.  Yes, there were issues, as there are on many jobs (any professional remodeler will be quick to admit that.)  We took care of them. 

 

Completing work in a timely manner has a component that is sometimes out of our control.  When a homeowner will only allow us access for limited time windows during the middle of the day or on weekends, it makes it a challenge to schedule service work in a timely manner.  We tried and were denied access to the home on several occasions. 

 

I am certain that if we were to bring in a mediator, we would prevail.  I've already shared photos with the past president of NARI, and he fully agreed that the doors and drawers are absolutely fine.  However, I am tired of the back and forth and want to put this to rest as this is not a productive use of my time.  I am willing to offer a $250 credit ( a check addressed to the ********s from AB&K) for the simple sake of bringing this to an end. I will offer an additional $150 if she removes all complaints and stops all negative comments about our company.  

Consumer Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** *** ********

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Affordable Bath & Kitchen, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart