Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

fatwallet.com

Phone: (888) 634-0098 100 E Grand Ave, Beloit, WI 53511 http://www.fatwallet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a website offering internet coupons offering savings on a variety of products and services nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that fatwallet.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for fatwallet.com include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for fatwallet.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on fatwallet.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/26/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Washatka, President Ms. Linda Schemel, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Nelson, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Ryan Washatka, President
Business Category

Internet Shopping Advertising Specialties Advertising - Internet Online Retailer Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Alternate Business Names
Fat Wallet Fatwallet, Inc
Industry Tips
Avoiding Overspending While Shopping Ebay Shopping Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

fatwallet.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 E Grand Ave

    Beloit, WI 53511 (888) 634-0098

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shopped through fatwallet.com in January of 2015. The website states "The bonus of Cash Back means you’ll always save more shopping through FatWallet. It’s like getting paid to shop online. Sign up for FREE today so you don’t miss out on any more savings." "Enjoy Coupons, Sales, and Deals with generous Cash Back rewards." Unfortunately, I never got my promised cash back and asked for assistance. Filling out the form to get support for my missing cash back was confusing but I did the best I could. To this day, I have not received my cash back for items I bought in January of 2015. I emailed for help but no one helped. I called today and the person told me i need an extensive amount of information like dates of purchase, amount of purchase, purchase order numbers in order to get assistance and I don't have all of that information. I did not know I would need copies of all that stuff. Anyway, their advertising claims are false. It is not easy, you don't always get your cash back and the support team wants the consumer to do all of the investigation.

Desired Settlement: I just want my cash back for the items I bought in January of 2015.

Business Response: Hi *********,

Thank you for contacting us by way of BBB.  We certainly want to help you with your missing Cash Back that you were expecting through FatWallet.com.  Since these purchases did not report directly to your account, we need the order confirmations for your purchases to accurately add these orders to your FatWallet.com account.  If the store did not automatically report your order, we are forced to retain this information from the customer in order to research why this order wasn't directly reported to your account.  If you no longer have this documentation, do you have an estimate on how much Cash Back is missing from your account?  We can try to work something out that way too.

We look forward to hearing back from you and resolving all of your concerns.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Business Response: Hi *********,

These orders did not report to your account because the store did not send the data to FatWallet.com in order to reward you for these purchases.  Cash Back is a winning situation for the both of us, in which we must receive credit for referring your sale in order to pass along the savings to you.  We do not have any record or data that supports these missing purchases, which is why they have not been added/reported to your account.  Additionally, FatWallet.com is a free service, in which has paid you over $50 in Cash Back since you started your membership, so this should assist in believing that we are not here to be untruthful about anything.  As a courtesy, I've added a $40 adjustment to cover and resolve your current missing Cash Back claims. 

In the future, please remember to retain your purchase documentation should another order not report to your account.  We require this information in order to contact the store on your behalf to see why it did not report to your account automatically.  We hope that future purchases work more seamlessly, and we're happy to have this issue resolved for you today.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.

It is more than generous.  I don't expect more than what I'm due.  I know $20 was owed from coastal but I don't know about the other ones. I would think 5-10% of purchase price. 

Regards,

 

********* ******

 

 

 

3/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fatwallet.com closed my account without any reason. I have some money in my account. It refused refund me.

Desired Settlement: refund all money to me.

Business Response: Hi ****,

We'll be happy to release the suspension of your account if you are able to provide the required documentation for proof of purchase.  There are several orders in your account in which have been returned, cancelled, or exchanged.  Once we receive the requested information, we can resolve your concerns.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns, and we'll be happy to help.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

I already confirmed the orders to fatwallet.com. It still suspends my account.

Regards,

**** ***

 

 

Business Response: Hi ****,

Thank you for your reply.  We requested information regarding your orders on 2/11/15 and we still have yet to receive a reply.  **** is your contact on this case.  Once we receive the required documentation of your purchases, we'll be able to move forward with releasing your account.  We look forward to receiving this information and resolving your concerns as soon as possible. 

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was behaving normally with my fatwallet account, and one day fatwallet temporally closed my account without any notification. I tried to contact them, and within responses they claim for details of transactions which i provided. they failed to provide information regarding what triggered the closure of my account, and failed to notice me responsively. They have also improperly claimed that i cancelled transactions and illy claimed payments from fatwallet. Fatwallet process cash back payments automatically with no place i can manipulate.

Desired Settlement: I feel offensed. I need apology and reopen of the account.

Business Response: Hi *****,

Thank you for contacting FatWallet by way of Better Business Bureau.  After review of your case with our Customer Service team it appears that you are going outside of our User Agreement that is agreed to upon signing up.  It has been discovered that many of your recent eBay purchases have been cancelled after you've received a reward, and you've requested payment on cancelled purchases.  These practices are outside of our User Agreement, this has been communicated to you, and you suggested that you were going to find other alternative ways around our User Agreement.  Unfortunately, we are unable to continue your membership with this type of account behavior.

In order to reactivate your account we need you to provide all of the requested information to your account specialist.  Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Business Response: Hi *****,

We still are in need of contact back between yourself and your account specialist (****).  We have paid out all of your available Cash Back via PayPal, but we still find you practicing behaviors that we are not interested in forgoing a rewarding relationship with you in the future.  These types of behaviors you are displaying mock those of other fraudulent accounts.  Additionally, the threats you have given to our employees, and in your previous BBB complaint, lead us to believe you will continue practicing behaviors that abuse our rewards program.

We regret that this may not resolve your inquiry, and hope that you are able to find better ways to be rewarded while shopping online.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Hi *******,

Thanks for replying.

As a matter of fact, there still is a pending payment on my account just as I checked in a few minutes earlier. And you have refused to provide any evidence for or against this payment, but rather shut down my account to avoid the payment request. I find your part of stating very hard to believe.

Moreover, your **** threatened to shut down my account even before he did any investigation, and continued with stating that "we will not be responding to you since you have filed a compliant with BBB."

Other than the very unconformable words from you, I have neither seen any concrete evidence nor specific terms/policies. It is also not an effective way of drain your personal emotion.

Fatwallet is a great company but I can't say the same for some of its employees. I enjoy the relationship with fatwallet.com and hope you do the same.

 

Best,

 

*****

2/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 30, 2014 Fatwallet.com was adverting a ******** blender and was promised $30 off + 7.5% cash back. I called to report that the $30 was never deducted from my total and was told that it would be credited once I received the product. Now Fatwallet.com is claiming that they are not responsible for honoring this deal. They are misleading consumers to buy products and not honoring their promotions.

Desired Settlement: Honor advertised promotion $30 off + 7.5% cash back.

Business Response: Hi ****,

Thanks for contacting us by way of BBB.  After review of your complaint, you were correctly informed on FatWallet.com's responsibility to honor ********'s discount.  Any offer that is displayed on our site, is provided to us by the store.  These offers change frequently, and as our User Agreement states, we are not responsible for an offer published that may be expired.  We did reward the Cash Back that you were expecting on this purchase.  In addition to this reward, we added a $20 Valued Member adjustment to your account for the confusion over this offer.
We are happy to resolve this for you in this manner.  Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns, and we'll be happy to help.
Sincerely,
*******
FatWallet.com

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I 'm with Fatwallet for more than 5 years. when I do online shopping, always use their website for cash back earnings. I just accumulated my cash back from holiday shopping and requested a check from them last week. Today I found out my account was deactivated. No reason was giving. No email was sent to me. No nothing. All cashback gone. Fatwallet used to be fairly reliable and honest until recently acquired by the Japanese company, *******. ******* plays the same tricks of reward points the same way, you can go to check their infamous records.

Desired Settlement: mail me the check of all cashback i entitled

Business Response: Hi Ling,

Thank you for contacting us.  We have concerns in your shopping habits through eBay.com, and have requested that you submit a Support Request to speak with your Account Specialist - **** *.  Unfortunately, you failed to comply after several requests to contact us via Support Request.  Please contact us from the below link:

*************************************************

From there we should be able to resolve your concern.  If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to ask, we'll be happy to help.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined FatWallet (an online rebate program) in late August of this year. On 9/7/14, I made my first purchase. Since then, I have made four purchases through them. The following is under FatWallet's FAQ's as far as Cash Back details: "It depends on the merchant. Each merchant has a set amount of time to allow for reversals and to finalize their reports. This varies from 7 to 90 days, depending upon the merchant. When the wait is over, you will see the amount in your "Available Balance." You can then request payment." In spite of my 9/7/14 purchase being well over 90 days at this point, I still do not have this rebate amount in my available balance. When I contacted FatWallet about this discrepancy (on 12/16/14) I got a reply that this amount would not be available until 1/4/15. When I replied that this was actually 120 days, not 90 as the maximum they stated in their FAQ's, I got no reply.I was also told that another purchase (on 10/28/14) would become available on 12/23/14. This has not happened. Out of the four purchases I have made, only one shows as available in Cash Back. Another issue pertains to what their Cash Available threshold is. An answer to this is nearly impossible to find in their FAQ's, so I sent a query on 11/21/14. I received the following reply: "Thanks for your reply. I just checked your FatWallet balance, and you have $2.70 "Pending" Cash Back. This remains in Pending status for 7-90 days, depending on the merchant, in the case of any exchange, return, cancellation, pricematch or any other contact with the merchant after the online purchase was already completed. The merchant will have time to adjust the Cash Back they reported to your account before you request payout. As soon as the amount changes to "Available" you will be able to Request Payment, either by PayPal, or Check." You will note two things: Nothing is said about a minimum threshold to cash out, and they repeat the "90 day" mantra. However, I have now been informed it takes a minimum of $10 to request a payment.

Desired Settlement: I am fed up with constantly contacting FatWallet about money that should be available to me. They misrepresent themselves by saying cash will be available after a maximum 90 days. Waiting 120 days for a $1.07 rebate is completely ridiculous. They also lied about when another rebate would be available (they said December 23, I am still waiting). I want the total amount of my rebates (a grand amount of $4.31) to be refunded to me *now*, in light of the fact that they have strung me along and misrepresented (i.e. lied) regarding their policies. I really don't think that is an outrageous request. Because of their ridiculous wait periods and mediocre customer service, I really do NOT want to continue trying to deal with them on future purchases, as it appears it's going to be a headache every time.

Business Response: Hi *******,

Thank you for writing in.  We appreciate your patience while we looked into your issue.  The reason that you're having these issues is because the Cash Back reward is becoming available 45 & 90 days after your order has reported to your account, instead of the actual date you placed your order.  After looking at the purchases you are inquiring upon, I see that they are now available to cash out, as it is now passed 1/4/15.  We are working with our engineering department to improve this experience towards the order date, but this improvement is still in development.  For your patience, we have placed a $20 Valued Member Adjustment onto your account, and this will be available within 24 hours of today.

As for your concern around the minimum amount of $10 to be requested, this is supported in our User Agreement at the below link:

http://www.fatwallet.com/user-agreement - To receive FatWallet Cash Back in an amount of $10.00 or less, you must have an account at PayPal, and request payment electronically.

We look forward to improving this experience, and we're happy to resolve this for you today.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

However, FatWallet customer service personnel do not seem to be on the same page as far when the Cash Back reward is actually available. Patrick, in the BBB response said "The reason that you're having these issues is because the Cash Back reward is becoming available 45 & 90 days after your order has reported to your account, instead of the actual date you placed your order." However, I got an email from 'Marge' at FW today that said the following: "As a matter of fact, the Pending time for your Abe's Market purchase is inaccurate.  At the most, it should be 90 days (from the date of purchase)." So those are two contradictory statements. Furthermore, I have sent at least two emails to FatWallet that mention the "90 day" issue, and neither email rated a response from CS. So understandably, all this causes annoyance on the part of the consumer.

Thank you for your attention to this matter (both BBB and FW) and I now consider the matter closed.


 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the last 6 months or so I have used fatwallet's service to purchase items and get a rebates. They decided to audit my account and I have since answered and replied to all of their e-mails and requests. They have decided unilaterally to shut down my account, claiming that I have not provided them with sufficient information. They randomly picked orders from literally across the country, **********, and asked me to confirm them. I did not lie and said it was not mine. They have only asked me about 3-5 transactions out of 10s of them that I actually made. I amde multiple attempts by phone and e-mail to speak with their rep, ****, with no response. When I finally was able to speak with **** he kept repeating that the account is closed and he can not disclose any more information I subsequently asked who gets to keep the money in my account and was given the same answer that my account was closed. The money, or at least most of it, does belong to me and they kept it. They would not deny that they kept it and did not admit to returning it to the store which shold have been done if the transactions were cancelled or made in error as they claimed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the money I am owed be returned to me. I am willing to go through each transaction to help figure out what I am owed. This means that fatwallet has to be transparent and honest in their dealings.

Business Response: Hi ******,

Thank you for contacting us by way of the Better Business Bureau.  After review of your account and transactions that have posted to it, we are aware that several of the purchases you made are not valid.  Because you are not making the purchases that are reporting to your account, or these purchases are not valid, we are unable to reward you for these fraudulent purchases.  We regret to inform you that we are unable to reactivate your account after the patterns you have shown in purchasing.  FatWallet does not allow you to earn Cash Back on purchases you did not make.  This also is true with cancelled, returned, or exchanged orders.

We appreciate your understanding and hope that you are able to continue finding the best online deals in the future.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Business Response: Hi ******,

We've lifted the restriction on your account today.  Please note, that you were already paid for several orders that were not made by you, as specified.  Additionally, you received another bonus on top of these orders while we were running the Double the Difference Promotion.  Don't worry, again, we've released your account and you are now able to request payment.  In the future, please be aware that orders that were not made by you will be restricted from reward and your account may be audited if these patterns continue.

As always, if you have any further questions or concerns, we'll be happy to help.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I appreciate all the effort on the company's part.  I once again offer to go through the transactions together with the company to confirm what is and what is not mine.  Please let me know.  Otherwise, once I request/receive payment I will be donating a portion to my local charity so as not to keep what might not be mine.

Once again, thank you for your understanding and time.

Regards,

 

****** **********

 

 

 

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted them several times via emailed and have called, only to have the phone continue ringing. A few months ago they upgraded the website,a nd my cash back disappeared. Money was pending, and suddenly it was gone. They stole from me, and they haven't responded.

Desired Settlement: I also want a public apology and for them to give money to others they have scammed. I will litigate over a few dollars, jus tot hold them accountable.

Business Response: Hi Laura,

We certainly want to reward you for this missing purchase on your account.  It looks like all orders have reported and are either available or have been paid in the past.  For us to resolve this we need order confirmation page (that includes an order number, order date and price break-down showing product total, shipping, tax and method of payment).  We look forward to hearing back and resolving this for you.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I received an email from fatwallet which told me I can request my cash back, which was more than $400.00. I went to my account and requested a check. After that, I suddenly realized my account was limited. This happened around two weeks ago. Then I tried to contact fatwallet to release my account. They first asked me to provide my personal information, I did.Then they asked me to provide order confirmation/receipts, I told them those orders were not shipped. And then, they asked me to provide other orders, I did provide other order information to them. As a shopping service, do they have the rights to keep all of my personal information in my order receipt? Do they have the right to limit my account without any notice? Do they really want to give me the cash back? This problem can be solved in 2 mins, they have delayed for two weeks. I have been a member of fatwallet for almost five years. They just limited my account and requested several order receipts from me, once, twice.....I hope there is no three times. Is this the way how fatwallet treats customers, like me? I have called them two days ago, they said my account would be ok yesterday. However, it did not happen. Today, they remembered me and requested other order information. Low efficiency, not solve problem. Limit my account without any reason provided. I am so disappointed at fatwallt. I hope they can give me an answer as soon as possible. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: release my account, give me a reason. Be more efficient and respect customers. Also, I am moving. If you want to give me the cashback, which is more than $400, please do not send me the check. I need to change the address.

Business Response:

Hi ****** **,

Thank you for contacting us.  We regret the delay on this response.  We see that we did process a payment for your request on 7/10/14 in the amount of
$404.61.  If your order does not report fully to your account, as we would expect it to, we do request that you provide your order confirmation, so that we can contact the store on your behalf and receive a resolution for you.

We're happy that you received your payment, and hopefully you can continue to receive Cash Back by shopping through FatWallet.com.

Sincerely,

*******

FatWallet.com

 

9/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 28Jul14 I took advantage of Fatwallet's offering of 6.5% cashback on cruise purchases made on Orbitz when using Fatwallet as the referral. Later I found out that the projected cashback amount I would receive according to Fatwallet was considerable less than what 6.5% would have been. My purchase amount was $970.83 but instead Fatwallet will only acknowledge a fraction of that, $338 as the purchase amount. After contacting Fatwallet I was informed that they only provided cashback for the "actual" cruise fare and not taxes, etc. However, this was at no point disclosed anywhere during my purchase, I was careful to read the fine print and noticed their disclaimer that cashback was not applicable to any amount paid for travel insurance, which was fine by me because I did not select travel insurance when I purchased the cruise tickets. Fatwallet misled me into using their website with a false cashback offer, while I could have purchased the tickets elsewhere for a considerable lower price.

Desired Settlement: Honor cashback offer as advertised 6.5% on $970.83 transaction.

Business Response: Hi ************ **************,

Thank you for contacting us.  We regret that you had this experience, and want to make you aware that future purchases made through FatWallet.com do not include taxes or fees accrued in your purchase.  We regret any inconvenience this may cause.  We do want to resolve this confusion for you today, but the account in which you created this BBB complaint does not match up to an account we have registered with FatWallet.com.  Can you please reply with the email address you have registered with FatWallet.com so that we can resolve this for you?

We look forward to hearing back from you and resolving this as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Business Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Today we have updated your account with an additional $41.13 bonus on behalf of FatWallet.com.  Please be aware that future purchases through Travel Sites will exclude additional fees, charges, and taxes.  We are happy to resolve this issue for you today.  Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance, and we'll be happy to help.

Sincerely,

*******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

************ **************

 

 

 

9/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the company keeps sending advertising emails even after repeatedly unsubscribing from the email services. its extremely annoying and disturbing to keep receiving emails from them.

Business Response: Hi ****** ******,

Thank you for contacting us.  We regret that you are receiving emails in which are not wanted, and have made the appropriate edits to your account to ensure that you are unsubscribed from all of our promotional emails.  If you are receiving emails outside of the promotional mail, please contact us at *************************************************.  We hope to resolve any of these concerns as soon as possible moving forward.

Sincerely,

******* *************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

4/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FATWALLET.COM HAD A PROMOTIONAL ADVERTISEMENT ON THEIR WEBSITE STATING "REFER A FRIEND, GET $20". IN EXPLANATION, WHAT THIS ENTAILS IS WHEN ONE REFERS TWO PEOPLE TO FATWALLET.COM AND THEY EACH MAKE A PURCHASE OF $25 OR MORE, THE REFERRAL GETS $5 FOR EACH REFERRAL PLUS AN ADDITIONAL $10 BONUS. TOTAL ADDS UP TO $20. FATWALLET HONORED THEIR PROMOTIONAL ADVERTISEMENT AND ADDED $20 TO MY FATWALLET ACCOUNT BUT THEY REVERSED IT AFTER A FEW DAYS. I CALLED FATWALLET TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE $20 DELETION FROM MY ACCOUNT BUT THE PERSON THAT I SPOKE TO STATED THAT ALL HE COULD TELL ME IS THAT THE REFERRALS THAT WERE MADE WERE SELF-REFERRALS AND THAT SELF-REFERRALS DO NOT QUALIFY FOR THE PROMOTION. I EXPLICITLY EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT MY REFERRALS ARE NOT SELF-REFERRALS. I WILL NOT STOOP THAT LOW. MY REFERRALS MADE ABOUT $3000 TOTAL IN PURCHASES AND NOT THE MINIMUM $25 THAT THEY REQUIRED. IT IS SENSIBLY IMPOSSIBLE TO SELF-REFER YOURSELF AND MAKE A $3000 PURCHASE JUST TO GET $20 BACK. I TOLD HIM TO EXPLAIN WHY AND HOW HE CONCLUDED THEY ARE SELF-REFERRALS REPEATEDLY, BUT THE ONLY ANSWERS THAT HE KEPT ON GIVING ME IS THAT HE CANNOT SAY NOR EXPLAIN. THAT WAS IT. NO EXPLANATION. NO REASON. TAKE IT OR DON'T TAKE IT. THAT WAS PRETTY MUCH HIS ANSWER. I HAD PREVIOUSLY EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT MY REFERRALS ARE FROM THE SAME WORK COMPANY. WE ALL WORK TOGETHER. THE INPUT ADDRESS ON OUR ACCOUNTS IS THE COMPANY ADDRESS. AFTER A MUCH CONSIDERABLE TIME ON THE PHONE WITH FATWALLET, HE AGREED TO PAY OUT ONLY ONE REFERRAL WHICH AMOUNTED TO $5. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE FORFEITED PAYING ME ON MY SECOND $5 REFERRAL. THE SECOND REFERRAL IS WHAT TRIGGERS THE ADDITIONAL $10 BONUS. HENCE, FATWALLET IS WITHHOLDING A TOTAL OF $15 ON MY REFERRAL FUNDS. THIS IS UNETHICAL AND JUST PLAIN WRONG. I WOULD LIKE THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU TO HELP ME RECOVER THE $15 THAT FATWALLET HAS TAKEN FROM ME AND HELP STOP THIS BAIT & SWITCH TACTICS.

Desired Settlement: HAVE FATWALLET RE-CREDIT THE "REFER A FRIEND" $15 REMAINDER AMOUNT THAT I EARNED IN A NOBLE WAY AND ENTITLED TO.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***** ****,

Thank you for writing in.  Today, we have updated your account with an additional $15 Bonus on behalf of FatWallet.com.  We noticed that the referrals you sent our way used the same PayPal address as your's, when requesting payment, which is how we came to the conclusion that your referrals were self referrals.  Nonetheless, we will reward you for these referrals today.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

*******
**** **** *******
FatWallet.com

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ****

 

 

 

3/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: fatwallet.com offers cashback on goods you purchase thru their website i collected cashback from the last few months over $400 when i wanted to requat a check for the cashback i earned they said my account was deactivated and i cannot get my cashback i earned when i contacted them they said that my account was deactivated because a few orders was canceled by the merchant, i understand that they wont give me cashback for the orderes canceled but how about for the other orders that was not canceled?! i feel that fatwallet.com stole over $400 and that is unfair they should honer the cash back iv earned they said a supervisor will contact me which they never did

Desired Settlement: honor the over $400 cashback iv earned

Business Response: Hello,

Thank you for contacting us.  We attempted to reach our to Mr.**** on two different occasions to address his issue over the phone, with no answer.  After a thorough analysis and investigation of this customers account, we found several fraudulent purchases that reported to this customers account.  This customer made one purchase from REI earning $101 in Cash Back, but later returned the purchase, which makes this purchase ineligible for Cash Back.  They also made a purchase through ******'s and continued the same behavior by cancelling the order, and still expecting Cash Back ($72).  This goes against the terms and conditions of our program, and we are unable to reward Cash Back when customers act in this manor.  Additionally, this customer made several cancelled/returned purchases through *********, which were later reversed by the store. 

We have reversed all of the orders on this customers account in which have been deemed ineligible for our program, requested payment for this customer for the purchases that are eligible under our program, and we will maintain the restricted status of this customers account after they have been paid, because of the abusive patterns they are using in conjunction with our shopping program.

FatWallet.com is a free service, in which you can earn money for clicking through our site.  The transaction must be completed all the way to you receiving and keeping the merchandise/booking ordered.  We are happy to resolve this by allowing Mr.**** to cash out on his eligible purchases, and again, will keep his account in a restricted status because of past shopping behaviors through our site.

Please let us know if there is any further concerns.

Sincerely,

******* ****** **** **** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

hi

 

first of all i did not cancel any orders the merchant canceled the orders because the items i ordered was out of stock,

i understand the reversal of the cash back $101 and $72  but then they took off $190.12 and they refused to give me a reason why this was taken off my account

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

Business Response: Hi Mr. ****,

 
We have deemed this purchases, similar to your REI purchase, as a fraudulent purchases.  This is because you have taken a pattern with one of our higher risk merchants and made purchases in which should have been reversed.  If you can provide documentation that you have received your ********* purchases, we will be happy to investigate your eligibility for Cash Back.  As it stands, we are unable to reward Cash Back for these purchases as they have been deemed ineligible.  We hope that you understand that we are offering a free service and we have rewarded you with the Cash Back in which you were eligible for.
 
Please let us know if you have any further concerns, and we'll be happy to answer them.
 
Sincerely,
 
*******
**** **** *******

1/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fatwallet advertises that a consumer will recieve cash back from them if they use their website to click through to a vendor. I recently made a purchase through their website, following all of their listed procedures and policies and now they are refusing to pay me the cash back. I made a purchase through their website from ****. They advertised 4% cash back, which would mean I recieved $33.54 from Fatwallet. (My purchase was on 10/2/2013 in the amount of $838.69). I never recieved the cash back, and contacted Fatwallet's Customer Service on several occasions and provided a reciept copy. Each time, I was told to be patient and that they would investigate. It has now been over 60 days, and nothing has been resolved. I believe they have falsely advertised their relationship with this vendor.

Desired Settlement: I would like the advertised cash back amount, which is $33.54.

Business Response: Thank you for your notification,

 
After a thorough investigation of this purchase at ****, we have rewarded this customer their expected Cash Back reward (as of 12/27/13).  We regret any delay as we do depend on the store in which they made a purchase to report their transaction back to us.  We are happy to have this resolved.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ******
**** **** *******
FatWallet.com

1/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fatwallet use False advertising and deceptive advertising to misleading coustom make purchase through their website and then refuse pay cash back to the custom. Per percentage cash back avertisement posted on Fatwallet website, I have therefore made purchase through their website and completed purchase. Obviously, they do not give cash back money for purchase with higher amoutn of money. I have contacted their coustom servce. First they will ask you for your reciepts of purchase. Then they will find reasons to refuse to pay cash back. These happened twice already. 1.Purchase from Sears: Order Date: 19-Nov-2012 Salecheck Number: ************ Initial Subtotal: $699.99 Tax: $48.63 Total: $748.62 2. Purchase from Sears: Order Date: 19-Nov-2012 Salecheck Number: ************ Return code: ****-****-****-****-**** Initial Subtotal: $599.99 Tax: $34.50 Your Savings: $100.00 Total: $534.49 An other complaint form of purchase from **** **** will be posted later.

Desired Settlement: 5% cash back as claimed in fatwallet website for ***** $1283.11*5%=$64.15

Business Response:

Hello,

We have resolved this customers inquiry, and credited these purchases.  Unfortunately, after review of this customers email history with FatWallet.com, an email was never submitted to us by this user to inform us of these missing purchases.  We have credited this customers account, and initiated contact with them informing them of this resolution.  Below is the reply that we sent:

"Hi *******,

We received notice from the BBB today that you had some missing orders from your Cash Back account.  We have updated your account to reflect these ***** purchases (************ & ***********).  We regret that this purchase through FatWallet.com ended up as a complaint, and we are happy to resolve this for you today.

In the future, if you have any missing orders, please contact us within 60 days of this purchase by clicking the 'My Cash Back' button > 'View Click History' > and submitting a Support Ticket for any missing Cash Back purchase you have made.

Again, we regret any inconvenience, and appreciate your patience while we had this resolved for you.  Please let us know if you have any further concerns, and we'll be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

******* **** **** *******
FatWallet.com"

Please let us know if you need any further information.  Thanks!

Sincerely,

*******

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******