12/8/2015 I booked a trip and purchased insurance for "any reason cancellation". 70% for any reason 100% refund for family emergency. My father got really sick and I had to cancel my trip. AIG travel Guard mentioned I would get my full refund all I needed was to fill out their forms and medical certificate certified by my father's doctor. I mailed and emailed all my forms to which they replied it wasn't enough and they needed a letter from his nurse which I did. 3 weeks after I received no phone calls or emails so I called asking what was the story? To which they basically replied they couldn't verify medical things with my fathers care over the phone and they forgot to call back his care. I cancelled my trip in mid-September and after many stressing phone calls and emails, I finally received my full amount of money on December 7th! It took me three-four clicks to buy my ticket and almost three months to get my full money!!?? AIG has filed for bankruptcy in the past and now I can see why. I would never recommend anyone to go through what I went through!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Darla K. on 12/8/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business ****** Thanks for expressing your concern. After discussion with our Claims Department it was noted that the medical verification that was sent in did not contain appropriate documentation (on medical facility letter head) for us to ensure that it did indeed come from a medical provider. Thank you for working with us to provide the care provider's phone number so that we could verify treatment. Our records indicate that this claim is paid and appropriate steps were taken to ensure valid payment. by on 12/9/2015

Report Abuse To add, yes they did tell me it needed to be on a letterhead, to which I responded if I gave you his care's information to email or call to verify and they said that wasn't a problem and they would get back to me. However I never received a phone call or email from them. It wasn't until finally after three weeks I called them and then they remembered "oh it takes three weeks to process, but we'll give them a call now". So I have to remind them to call and take care of it? It wasn't until I called asking about it that they remembered to follow up? That's their job am I wrong? It's poor work ethic and lousy customer service. Once again I would never use their service again or recommend it. by Darla K. on 12/9/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
2/10/2015 When you purchase the insurance, this is the coverage that they show. "$100.00 Payout Limit Per Day LIVETRAVEL EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE Included Per Insured MISSED CONNECTION $500.00 Per Insured TRAVEL MEDICAL ASSISTANCE Included Per Insured TRIP CANCELLATION 100% Trip Cost Per Insured TRIP DELAY $500.00 Per Insured $100.00 Payout Limit Per Day TRIP INTERRUPTION 125% Trip Cost Per Insured" I went on a trip and had a death of a close friend and needed to rearrange my flight. This insurance company would not help me cancel or move my flight because it wasn't an immediate family as notated in the fine print in a separate document. I requested a refund which was not approved because I had already completed the first leg of the trip. Don't waste your money.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Merry W. on 2/10/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business *** *******, After reviewing the description of coverage on the policy purchased; unfortunately, the death of a close friend is not a covered loss per the terms and conditions of the policy. You may set up a claim for further review by calling our Claims Department. at 1.800.826.7791. Thank you. by on 2/11/2015

Report Abuse I read the fine print after the fact which is my fault. I think this is shady that it is not presented clearly at time of purchase and do not wish to do business with you any longer. Also, upon requesting a refund, it was refused because it was after my date of departure. Your satisfaction guarantee states that the consumer should be 100% satisfied with the purchase - unless it's after your departure date. How would I have time to know whether or not I was satisfied. Again - SCAM. You'll catch us with the fine print and then refuse a refund because the consumer realizes this is a scam. by Merry W. on 2/11/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
7 people found this review helpful and 4 people did not find this review helpful.
1/7/2015 I called travel guard and explained my situation, that I was planning on attending an international wedding, but my wife was pregnant and giving birth prior to the trip, but depending on our child's age and how my wife was doing, I might want to cancel the trip. I was told by the representative that I couldn't cancel a trip due to a pregnancy, but I could be reimbursed if I needed to care for my child, so I purchased the plane ticket and the insurance. A few months later, a few weeks after my son was born, I called to get claim information, as my wife and son needed my assistance. I was told that all claims would be denied due to the claim being pregnancy related. I relayed everything I was told, but they kept denying the claim. They also pulled the tape of my sales phone call and apologized profusely for what the sales representative had told me initially, saying he would be "retrained" and they would make sure other customers were given "clearer information." Travel Guard ultimately refused to pay my claim, and referred me to the insurance commission as my only recourse. I feel Travel Guard was misleading at best and fraudulent at worst in their interactions with me. I lost over $400, along with countless hours on the phone with them. I would discourage everyone from using them, but if you must, record all of your phone calls with them (they refuse to share their recordings with you).
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Carson D. on 1/7/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Mr. *****, Thanks for reaching out. We hear your frustration. Detailed coverage for each of our insurance plans can be found in the description of coverage offered with the plan that was purchased. After speaking with our Claims Department, we have found that no documentation has been received regarding your case. We are happy to talk you through our terms of coverage and coverable reasons anytime. We are available 24/7 at 1.800.826.1300. Thank you. by on 1/22/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
7 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
10/17/2014 I honestly had the worst experience with this "insurance" company. After waiting and waiting to hear from them, I finally called and asked for any updates regarding my claim. Their response was that they needed more information from me, which I did, then they said "sorry my claim was not approved". Honestly, I wasn't even surprised their decision.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Sam M. on 10/17/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
8 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
10/1/2014 We purchased Travel Guard for my daughter and boyfriend for trip to Jamaica. This was done through Bookit who made airfare arrangements. On the way back to the States, the connecting flight in Miami had a short window for Denver. The kids got stuck in customs and had to go to a "secondary" screen. There were no problems but because of the delay they missed their flight and had to spend the night. Travel guard implied that we should have worked this issue out with the airline although it was a delay in TSA. Many others had to rebook. We were asking for reimbursement only for the one night hotel, but after being treated rudely, they promised to send a claim form but never did. Now since it is past the "31" days to submit it won't even be considered. I would like buyers to beware this is coverage on paper only and wasn't there when we needed it. In addition, the customer service was lacking and not sympathetic.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Therese R. on 10/1/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
10 people found this review helpful and 2 people did not find this review helpful.
1 2 3 4