BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thrivent Financial for Lutherans meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thrivent Financial for Lutherans include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Thrivent Financial for Lutherans
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 11/24/1902 in WI Business started locally: 11/24/1902 Business incorporated: 10/26/1998 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street, Madison WI 53703
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 6082663585 8002368517
Fax Number: (608) 266-9935

SECURITIES EXCHANGE COMMISSION
450 5TH ST NW, WASHINGTON DC 20549
www.sec.gov/invkhome.htm
Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Wisconsin State Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
P.O. Box 7873, Madison WI 53707-7873
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 608-266-3585 state wide 800-236-8517
Fax Number: 608-266-9935 for general office

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Hewitt, President and CEO Mr. John Gilbert, Chairman of the Board Ms. Debby Smet, Supervisor of Member Relations Mr. Brett Weinberg, Director of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Hewitt, President and CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Debby Smet, Supervisor of Member Relations
Business Category

Insurance Services Credit Unions Insurance Companies Investment Advisory Service All Other Insurance Related Activities (NAICS: 524298)

Additional Information

Thrivent Financial For Lutherans is a fraternal benefits society engaged in the sale of insurance and other financial services and fraternal benefits.


Additional Locations

  • 4321 N Ballard Rd

    Appleton, WI 54919 (800) 847-4836

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an insurance contract on my Grandson ***** when he was an infant designating myself as primary beneficiary and my son **** *****'s father as secondary beneficiary;. At age 21 he passed away. I contacted them to begin the claim process. Due to an incompetent agent 16 years ago a change of beneficiary was completed without my understanding eliminating me as at the primary beneficiary. Thrivent refused to speak to me citing privacy issues. Privacy never came up over the many years when they sent invoices, statements, director elections, junk mail or solicitations. I have written to their board of directors regarding my issues with them and received in return a "kiss off" letter from ***** ****** ******** ********** ******** ****** **********

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call from a Board Member so that I can be sure confirming they received my complaint letter, that it was not intercepted by someone else in an attempt to cover their anatomy and a satisfactory explanation for such poor service and what they intend to do to rectify all the issues in my letter of complaint.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********:

The following is in regard to your letter of December 17, 2013, concerning consumer ***** *****
and our insured ***** *****, your file number *******.
Our Board of Directors receives information on all complaints that are filed, but our Member Relations
area is charged with researching and responding to the complaints as we have access to all member
information and are familiar with our company business processes. In this case the appropriate
management personnel involved with this business process have seen and reviewed this complaint.
I have enclosed the following items for your review and for your complaint file:
1. A letter dated 5/30/13 from Ms. *****'s attorney.
2. Thrivent's response letter to the attorney dated 6/6/13.
3. A letter from dated 7/24/13 from the Pennsylvania Insurance Department.
4. Thrivent's response letter to the insurance department dated 8/1/13.
5. A letter dated 12/5/13 from Ms. ***** to Thrivent's Board of Directors.
6. Thrivent's response letter to Ms. ***** dated 12/11 / 13.
7. A copy of the beneficiary designation completed on 9/22/97 which names **** and ****
***** as the beneficiary to *****'s contract 72 15184.
8. The 9/25/13 fax received from ***** ***** with the required information to pay the death
claim to **** *****.
9. The benefit statement dated 9/27/13 which was enclosed with payment of the death
proceeds to **** *****.
Our letter of August 1, 2013, to the insu rance department provides an explanation of the iss ues
related to Ms. *****'s concerns. Since Ms. ***** was not the beneficiary, nor the contract owner,
nor the legal representative of the estate, information could not be released to her.
Mr. **********, if after your review of this information you have additional questions, please let us
know.
Sincerely,
~~
***** *****
******** ********** *******
****** *********
********* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm ***** ******, son and power of attorney of ***** and ***** ****** and we are having difficulty in paying my parents long term care fourth quarter premium. The company will not accept fourth quarter long term care insurance premium, due to a dispute over the third quarter premium. Since we believe third quarter premium has been satisfied, we have sent a check for fourth quarter premium. Company says they will not apply our payment to the fourth quarter until third quarter has been paid to THEIR satisfaction. They have told us if we did not apply the check for the fourth quarter premium to the third quarter that the check will be returned on 9/19/13. We feel we are being HEAVILY pressured to repay the third quarter premium with threats of policy cancellation, when we are trying to pay the fourth quarter premium and keep the policy in good standing. POLICY LAPSES ON 9/28/13. I am writing this complaint on 9/22/13. Since we believe they will be returning our premium check this week, we will be submitting a second fourth quarter premium payment.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent accept payment for the fourth quarter and future payments to keep policy from lapsing.

Business Response: October 1,2013
******* **********
**** ***** ******** **********
BBB of Wisconsin
10019 W Greenfield Ave
Milwaukee WI 53214

RE: ***** ****** (insured ); ***** ******, Power of Attorney (POA)
**** ********
****** ** *****
Dear Mr. **********:
This letter is being scnt in response to the above-referenced inquiry received from your office on
9/25/13.
***** ******, POA for his mother ***** ****** stated Thrivent Financial has refused to accept payment
of the 4'" quarter premium on long-term care (LTC) contract ********. He was advised that we were
unable to accept it l as the 3rd quarter premium has not yet been paid due to a dispute between
Thrivent Financial and the insured. Following is a chronological history that provides additional
information:
6/19/13 - Eligibility for claim benefits was approved. A letter was sent to the insured on this date which
also provided information about the premium waiver benefit (copy enclosed). As you will see, per the
terms of the contract, the premiums will be waived after 90 consecutive days of qualifying care has
been provided.
8/19/13 - A letter was sent to the insured which advised that an over payment of claims benefits was
made (copy enclosed). As the insured was not confined to a qualifying care facility for 90 consecutive
days, the premium waiver benefit did not apply. The letter further stated that a premium notice
would be sent soon for the premium due as of 6/14/13.
8/28/13 - Another letter was sent to the insured which advised that a premium was due to cover the
period of 6/14/13 to 12/14/13 (copy enclosed). This totaled 5769.92.
9/1 1/13 - A letter was received from ***** ****** with a personal check for 5384.96 (copy enclosed ) .
She included specific instructions that the premium was to be applied to the 4th quarter, and under no
circumstances was it to be applied to the 3rd quarter.
9/17/13 - The home office contacted ***** ****** , POA , via telephone and explained that we were
unable to honor the request to "skip" the 3rd quarter premium and apply the funds to the 4th quarter.
If, after completion of the review of the dispute it was determined the 3rd quarter premium was not
required, the funds could then be refunded. Mr. ****** advised he would contact our payment services
department by 9/18/13 with a response. He was also made aware that if he did not respond by
9/19/13, we would have to return the check and the contract would lapse due to insufficient premiums.
9/17/13 - A letter was sent to Ms. ****** which provided the options available to her with regard to the
check for 5384.96. Please refer to the enclosed copy.
9/20/13 - No additional communication was received from the insured or the POA so the payment of
$384.96 was returned with a letter of explanation (copy enclosed). The letter and check were sent via
certified mail and we received confirmation in our home office (on 9/30/13) that ***** ****** signed
for it on 9/25/13.
The contract is now lapsed due to non-payment of the required premium.
In addition to copies of the various pieces of correspondence referenced above, I have enclosed a copy
of the LTC contract. Please refer to Section 4. WAIVER OF PREMIUM BENERY which confirms the
requirement of a 90 consecutive day confinement in order to meet the premium waiver requirement. It
also includes the following disclosure: "On any premium due date, if premiums are no longer waived, you
must pay them to keep this contract in force." Since Ms. ****** did not satisfy the 90 day requirement for
premium waiver, it was necessary that she pay the past due premium. By not doing so, the contract
has lapsed. Please also refer to Section 7 .3 REINSTATEMENT which indicates the steps that need to
be taken to apply for reinstatement of the coverage.
Please note that we are unable to override the terms of the contract to accommodate the request made
by the insured and her POA.
If you have questions, I may be reached at ###-###-####, extension #######.
Sincerely,
***** ****** ********** *******
****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a basic disability policy to with Thrivent Financial in ******** ** in 2006. There are no claims on the policy and I am not making a claim at this time. I am asserting that Thrivent wrote the policy with an overly broad endorsement eliminating coverage to such a degree that it does not provide the protections that should be expected for such a policy. They acted in an unfair and unreasonable manner to take a minor medical issue and use to write an endorsement that would eliminate coverage for accidents completely unrelated to the issue relating to the endorsement. The endorsement eliminating coverage states"...shall not cover any loss resulting from: Disorder or injury of the lumbar or sacral spine including vertebral disc,vertebrae, nerve roots,surrounding ligaments, or any complications thereof. At the time of the policy I did disclose all of my medical issues with Thrivent. Several years prior to taking out this policy I did have a back pain issue associated with a ****** accident which I disclosed. Prior to the accident, I never had a issue with back problems and after the injury and associated recovery, I never have had any significant back problems and I have stated such to Thrivent in a detailed email. Except for a brief period associated with the accident where I took about a week off of work, I have never missed a day of work due to back pain. I have asked Thrivent to remove the endorsement eliminating coverage - it is unfair and unreasonable to exclude coverage for "injury" unrelated to the back issue. My issue is that they took the opportunity at the time of the policy writing to basically exclude coverage for one of the primary purposes one seeks coverage (a disabling injury that prevents ambuatory movement). As written currently, if I incurred an injury to my back and became a quadrapalegic due to a car accident, I would not be covered. It is unconscionable to have such an exclusion in a disability policy. I'm sorry I did not understand or catch the endorsement when I signed the policy.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent has stated that I should reapply for a new policy - and I did start the process. However, my concern is that now that I am older with a few more medical issues that the policy rates would very likely be higher. I belevie policy's like this have a set monthly rate - the early part of the policy when you are younger subsidizes the rate as you age. I strongly believe I should not have to reapply for a new policy - they should either eliminate the endorsement or rewrite the endorsement so it not so unreasonably one-sided (multiple uses of the word "any" and the use of the word "injury"). My trust level of Thrivent is low and I am contemplating having a new policy written by another company since this policy does not accomplish the protections that any reasonable person would expect in a disability policy. Another reason for not applying for a new policy with Thrivent - I am concerned that applying with Thrivent for a new policy could effect and complicate writting a new policy with a new firm. The new insurance policy company will ask if I applyed for a policy elsewhere and associated details. They should not have written a policy with such a ridiculously unreasonable endosement eliminating coverage for probably the primary reason one seeks coverage (a severe disabling accident). This is akin to writing a homeowners policy and eliminating coverage for fire and water damage. If they want to have my doctor ( or any other medical professional of their choosing) examine and write them a letter addressing any back issues that could be accomplished. My back is healthy and strong. Desired outcome - Thrivent should voluntarily rewrite the policy to be fair and reasonable.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Mar 20, 2013 at 3:58 AM, ******************** wrote:

Dear **** ******* :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 3/5/2013 3:59:59 AM against Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.  Your complaint was assigned ID *******.

You recently requested our help concerning a problem with the company named above. The company has not responded to the BBB to date. 

If you have heard from the company please contact the BBB at
***************************** or return this letter to the BBB. 

Have you heard from the company? Yes 

Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter? Yes

If not, please explain.

Sincerely,

******* **********
********* **********
***************************** 
****** ******** ******


Business Response:

February 4, 2013

 

 

Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

***** * ********** *** *** ***

********* ** *****

 

Re:  Complaint ID *******

        Complainant: **** ******

 

Dear Sir/Madam:

 

Thank you for making us aware of Mr. ******’s concerns regarding his Thrivent Financial for Lutherans life insurance contract. He stated in his complaint that he had never had any contact from Thrivent until 2012 and did not understand how he could have a reportable tax gain of $3,254.62.

 

Mr. ******’s contract was issued by Lutheran Brotherhood. In 2002 Lutheran Brotherhood merged with Aid Association for Lutherans to become Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Mr. ****** may not have been aware of the merger and resulting name change as his address was unknown to us during that time. 

 

Enclosed is a copy of the letter and enclosures I sent to Mr. ****** explaining the issue of the contract, how it has remained in force when he hasn’t paid premiums, and why there is a reportable tax gain. While Thrivent made attempts to locate active addresses, it is the contract owner’s responsibility to provide updated information. It is Thrivent’s position that it fulfilled the terms of the contract and reported the tax gain in accordance with IRS requirements.

 

If you have additional questions, please let me know. I can be reached by calling ###-###-####. Say “directory” and when prompted ask for extension *****. Alternatively, you may call my direct line at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

****** *****

******** ********** *******

Member Relations

 

****  

 

******: **** ******

*********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Fall of 2012 I received a letter in the mail from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans asking me to pay them over $3000.00 for an insurance policy. I have never had any contact with this group before this letter. I called their 800 number and talked to a person who informed me that I had a life insurance policy with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans which they say was taken out in the early 1970's and I now need to pay the over $3000.00 in premiums or they would send a letter to the IRS stating I had a large tax bill and therefore would owe the government a lot of money, if I didn't pay them first. I told the person that I had never taken out ANY life insurance policies at all. I am a never married single male in my middle 50's. I never took out any life insurance as when I pass away there will not be any family to need any money. I asked for some kind of signature verification or proof of this supposed life insurance policy from the early 1970's. I never received a response back from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Today I received some tax form in the mail from them (Form 1099-R) that seems to say I received $6096.50 from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and that I therefore will owe the IRS taxes on $3254.62. I have never taken out a life insurance policy with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, nor have I ever received any letters or bills from 1970 until the fall of 2012 from them (when they sent the letter demanding money from me.) I do not know how they got my name and address, I have never spoken with them or signed contracts or talked to agents or asked or or received any product from them. I do not understand why they are trying to steal thousands of dollars from me, but I do know this is not right and I should not be strong-armed into letting them steal my money.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent Financial for Lutherans needs to remove this false information and billing from my name and address. They are in the wrong trying to take money from me for no reason at all. I did not order or buy their thing so I should not be billed for it.

Business Response: February 4,2013
Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
***** ** ********** *** *** ***
********* ** *****
Re: Complaint *********
Complainant: **** ******
Dear Sir/Madam:

Thank you for making us aware of Mr. ******'s concerns regarding his Thrivent Financial for
Lutherans life insurance contract. He stated in his complaint that he had never had any contact
from Thrivent until 2012 and did not understand how he could have a reportable tax gain of
$3,254.62.
Mr. ******'s contract was issued by Lutheran Brotherhood. In 2002 Lutheran Brotherhood
merged with Aid Association for Lutherans to become Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Mr.
****** may not have been aware of the merger and resulting name change as his address was
unknown to us during that time.
Enclosed is a copy of the letter and enclosures I sent to Mr. ****** explaining the issue of the
contract, how it has remained in force when he hasn't paid premiums, and why there is a
reportable tax gain. While Thrivent made attempts to locate active addresses, it is the contract
owner's responsibility to provide updated information. It is Thrivent's position that it fulfilled
the terms of the contract and reported the tax gain in accordance with IRS requirements.
If you have additional questions, please let me know. I can be reached by calling ###-###-####.
Say "directory" and when prompted ask for extension *****. Alternatively, you may call my
direct line at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
****** *****
Advanced Compliance Analyst
Member Relations

********* **** ******
***-***-****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

 

Sirs:

 

I did indeed receive this information packet from Thrivent Lutheran Insurance Company.  I feel that this insurance company is running a scam -- they have maintained an insurance policy over all the years that I was unaware of its existance.  This insurance company paid themselves for this policy and reaped all the benefits from this policy.  Then they stuck me with a large bill to 'keep the policy in effect' and when I refused their strong arm tactics, they informed me I will now have thousands of dollars in tax obligations for the policy that they paid themselves to maintain.  I did not receive any financial benefit from this policy.  For decades I was unaware of the existance of this policy.  Thrivant for Lutherns paid themselves all this money and then are sticking me with the tax bill.  This policy was closed out by them.  I am very unhappy with their conduct and am planning on discussing this in further detail on as many social networks as I can, in order to warn others of their shady business practices.  I am just one person.  I cannot fight a giant insurance company.  They are worse than the Mafia in that they were able to sneak money into their own pockets and then hand me the tax bill.  I cannot express how outraged I am at this organization.  I only hope other people will take notice of the mistreatment I have gone through and boycott this terrible, terrible company.  Shame on them for making money at my expense, never providing me any service and finally sticking me with an enormous tax bill - all under the guise of a religion.   They are awful.  Please close out this matter as there is nothing I can do.  I am unhappy, disappointed, and mad at them and their underhanded schemes.  Rotten, rotten business practices.

Regards,

**** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I had ********* Life Insurance policies with Thrivent Financial for Lutheran’s. I found term Life Insurance through ***** **** Insurance to be a more affordable alternative. Prior to committing to a new policy with ***** **** Insurance, I contacted Thrivent to inquiry about the process to cancel our existing policies. I was advised, on a recorded line, by a customer service representative that the cancelation fees for both my policies and my wife’s ********* Live Policies would be approximately $50.00. Thrivent advised that they could not provide the cash value of my wife’s account over the phone due to privacy concerns, but assured me that the process for canceling both accounts would be the same. After completing the paperwork for the new term life insurance through ***** Farm, I submitted the necessary paperwork to cancel our Life Insurance through Thrivent. A few days later my wife and I were contacted by Thrivent to advise us of a $500.00 surrender charge for my wife’s account. I advised Thrivent of our previous conversation in which the customer service representative informed me that we would only be assessed a $50.00 fee to cancel the account. After listening to the recorded line, Erin, advised us that because I did not specifically ask about a surrender charge, and only about the fees and process to close the accounts, they would stand by their decision to asses a $500.00 surrender charge on my wife’s policy for early cancelation. Had I been given accurate information over the phone by Thrivent representatives I would have been able to make an informed decision regarding our life insurance policies. Thrivent has failed to honor its agreements by providing inaccurate information about our insurance contract over the phone. Thrivent has a recorded conversation in which they advised me "the process to cancel your wife’s universal life insurance account is the same as yours". I took this to mean that the cancelation fees and paperwork that must be submitted are the same. Thrivent could have advised me at any time that my wife should call back to inquire as to any additional charges, which we would have done. Instead they led me to believe there was nothing different about canceling her account, which has now cost us a $500.00 surrender charge they neglected to inform us about. When dealing with a Financial/Insurance company I expect complete and accurate information. I did not receive this from Thrivent Financial for Lutheran’s and will not be doing business or recommending others do business with them in the future.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of the $500.00 surrender charge assesed on the Universal Life Insurance Account

Business Response:

BBB of Wisconsin

***** * ********** ***** **** ***

*********

 

** *****

 

Complaint

 

10 *******

 

Member

 

FINRA and SIPC.

 

The complainant alleged that Thrivent provided him inaccurate information regarding the

process to surrender his wife's contract and that as a result she incurred a higher surrender

charge than he expected.

I

 

listened to the phone call between the complainant the Thrivent Customer Service

 

Representative. The Customer Service Representative provided the complainant information

about

 

the process to cancel his contract and the surrender charges that would be incurred.

 

When the complainant asked

 

if the process would be the same for his wife, he was told yes but

 

for privacy reasons, she would need to call for her value information.

My investigation further revealed that Thrivent made

 

a courtesy call to the complainant's

 

spouse to inform her of the sw-render charges. She was provided an opportunity at that time to

withdraw her surrender request. She made the decision to proceed

 

with the cancellation.

 

Based on

 

OUT findings, Thrivent denied the request to reimburse surrender charges. The

 

complainant's spouse has been informed of this decision by letter dated today, copy enclosed.

If

 

you have any questions, please let me know.

 

********

Advanced Compliance Analyst

Member Relations

Business Response:

BBB of Wisconsin

***** * ********** ***** **** ***

*********

 

** *****

 

Complaint

 

10 *******

 

Member

 

FINRA and SIPC.

 

The complainant alleged that Thrivent provided him inaccurate information regarding the

process to surrender his wife's contract and that as a result she incurred a higher surrender

charge than he expected.

I

 

listened to the phone call between the complainant the Thrivent Customer Service

 

Representative. The Customer Service Representative provided the complainant information

about

 

the process to cancel his contract and the surrender charges that would be incurred.

 

When the complainant asked

 

if the process would be the same for his wife, he was told yes but

 

for privacy reasons, she would need to call for her value information.

My investigation further revealed that Thrivent made

 

a courtesy call to the complainant's

 

spouse to inform her of the sw-render charges. She was provided an opportunity at that time to

withdraw her surrender request. She made the decision to proceed

 

with the cancellation.

 

Based on

 

OUT findings, Thrivent denied the request to reimburse surrender charges. The

 

complainant's spouse has been informed of this decision by letter dated today, copy enclosed.

If

 

you have any questions, please let me know.

 

********

Advanced Compliance Analyst

Member Relations

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I stand by my original complaint that Thrivent's Customer Service Representative did not provide accurate information when I contacted them regarding the cancelation of life insurance policy's resulting in an unexpected $500.00 surrender charge.
 
I understand that Thrivent gave a courtesy call to my wife, after the inaccurate information was already provided to me a week earlier by the customer service representative. However, based on the customer service representative's inaccurate information regarding the process to cancel the policies, we made the decision to purchase life insurance through another provider. As a result we were already locked in to new insurance policies by the time Thrivent reliezed their error and gave a courtesy call to advise us of the updated surrender charge. At this point we were left with no choice but to submit to the surrender charge as we were now committed to new life insurance policies and did not have use for the old policies through Thrivent.

In addition, I find it concerning that this week I received an apology card from Thrivent in the mail stating that they apologized for the miscommunication and enclosed an american express gift check in the amount of $50.00. This further shows me that they are will to somewhat acknowledge the error in providing inaccurate information regarding my accounts, but are unwilling to provide reimbursement for the $500.00 surrender charge as requested despite their mistake. I did not ask for or find a $50.00 gift check and apology card satisfactory. I believe Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, as an accredited Better Business Bureau organization, should have offered the $50.00 through the appropriate channels, being the Better Business Bureau complaint process, instead it seems as if they are trying to make my complaint go away by sending an apology card and $50.00 in the mail.
In summary, I stand by my original complaint of poor customer service and inaccurate information when dealing with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and I reject Thrivent's response to my complaint
 
v

Regards,

 ****** ******

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I stand by my original complaint that Thrivent's Customer Service Representative did not provide accurate information when I contacted them regarding the cancelation of life insurance policy's resulting in an unexpected $500.00 surrender charge.
 
I understand that Thrivent gave a courtesy call to my wife, after the inaccurate information was already provided to me a week earlier by the customer service representative. However, based on the customer service representative's inaccurate information regarding the process to cancel the policies, we made the decision to purchase life insurance through another provider. As a result we were already locked in to new insurance policies by the time Thrivent reliezed their error and gave a courtesy call to advise us of the updated surrender charge. At this point we were left with no choice but to submit to the surrender charge as we were now committed to new life insurance policies and did not have use for the old policies through Thrivent.

In addition, I find it concerning that this week I received an apology card from Thrivent in the mail stating that they apologized for the miscommunication and enclosed an american express gift check in the amount of $50.00. This further shows me that they are will to somewhat acknowledge the error in providing inaccurate information regarding my accounts, but are unwilling to provide reimbursement for the $500.00 surrender charge as requested despite their mistake. I did not ask for or find a $50.00 gift check and apology card satisfactory. I believe Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, as an accredited Better Business Bureau organization, should have offered the $50.00 through the appropriate channels, being the Better Business Bureau complaint process, instead it seems as if they are trying to make my complaint go away by sending an apology card and $50.00 in the mail.
In summary, I stand by my original complaint of poor customer service and inaccurate information when dealing with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and I reject Thrivent's response to my complaint
 
v

Regards,

 ****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

****** ******

**** ******* **

******* ** *****

Dear Mr. ******:

Member FINRA and SIPC.

The Better Business Bureau

 

has informed us that they closed their file regarding the concerns

 

you expressed about your recent interaction with Thrfvent Finandal for Lutherans. They also

provided

 

us with a copy of your message to them wherein you stated you rejected Thrivent's

 

response to ********.

I'd

 

like to take this opportunity to further clarify Thrivent's position. The Customer Service

 

Representative

 

did not provide you with inaccurate information. He informed you the process

 

was the same to surrender ********'s contract but that she would need to call for her value

information. Value information is unrelated to the process.

When the Manager of the Customer Interaction Center processed the American Express

 

Gift

 

Cheque you received, she was not yet aware of your inquiry to the Better Business Bureau. The

check

 

was Q goodwill gesture because you expressed dissatisfaction. It was not intended as an

 

admission of wrongdoing. Additionally,

 

I was not aware when I responded earlier that the

 

American Express Cheque had been sent to you.

As

 

I explained in my letter to ********, while we do regret that you are unhappy with Thrivent,

 

we are required by law to enforce the terms of contracts equitably. It would not be fair to other

members to reimburse the surrender charge ******** incurred.

Slncerely,

* ** *****

anced Compliance Analyst

Member Relations

cc:

 

Better Business Bureau

 

ID

 

*******

 

Business Response:

****** ******

**** ******* **

******* ** *****

Dear Mr. ******:

Member FINRA and SIPC.

The Better Business Bureau

 

has informed us that they closed their file regarding the concerns

 

you expressed about your recent interaction with Thrfvent Finandal for Lutherans. They also

provided

 

us with a copy of your message to them wherein you stated you rejected Thrivent's

 

response to Kristine.

I'd

 

like to take this opportunity to further clarify Thrivent's position. The Customer Service

 

Representative

 

did not provide you with inaccurate information. He informed you the process

 

was the same to surrender ********'s contract but that she would need to call for her value

information. Value information is unrelated to the process.

When the Manager of the Customer Interaction Center processed the American Express

 

Gift

 

Cheque you received, she was not yet aware of your inquiry to the Better Business Bureau. The

check

 

was Q goodwill gesture because you expressed dissatisfaction. It was not intended as an

 

admission of wrongdoing. Additionally,

 

I was not aware when I responded earlier that the

 

American Express Cheque had been sent to you.

As

 

I explained in my letter to ********, while we do regret that you are unhappy with Thrivent,

 

we are required by law to enforce the terms of contracts equitably. It would not be fair to other

members to reimburse the surrender charge ******** incurred.

Slncerely,

* ** *****

anced Compliance Analyst

Member Relations

cc:

 

Better Business Bureau

 

ID

 

*******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Thrivent via their website on Feb. 12 requesting that the representative in charge of my policy contact me Automated reply that I would be contacted soon, 2/13. Second request for contact, 2/15 Third request for contact, 2/21

Desired Settlement: Require clarification on policy which we have paid over $200,000.

Business Response:

Wisconsin Better Business Bureau

10101

 

 

W Greenfield Ave Suite 12S

 

Milwaukee

 

 

WI 53214

 

Your Comp

 

 

laint File No. *******

 

Complainant

 

 

- ****** ********

 

Atten

 

 

tion: ********* ********:

 

Secu

 

 

rities offered through

 

Th

 

 

rivent Investment Management Inc.,

 

***

 

 

****** ***.

*** ************ ** ** ** *** ***,

 

 

a wholly ow

 

 

ned subsidiary of Thrivent Financial fo r Lutherans.

 

 

Me

 

 

mber FlNRA and SIPe.

 

 

ans. e.

The following

 

 

is in regard to the inquiry you received from ****** ** ******** of

*** ***** *********.

 

 

On

 

 

Sunday, February 12, 2012, Mr. ******** sent an e-mai l to Thrivent Financial requesting that a

 

representative

 

 

contact him. An acknowledgement was sent to him from our office on Monday, the

 

13

 

 

th . On Friday, the 17th a representative from our Financial Advice Center ca lled Mr. ******** and

 

left

 

 

a voice message. Mr. Hanschen sent a follow e-mail up to our office on Tuesday, February 21" to

 

which

 

 

an acknowledgement was again sent to him from our office. He sent another e-mail on

 

Saturday,

 

 

February 25'h On Monday, the 27''', our Financial Advice Center representative then called

 

Mr. ********, and

 

 

left him another voice message. The representative also sent him an e-mail at the

 

same

 

 

time to which Mr. ******** responded, and our representative was able to assist him. Enclosed

 

is

 

 

a copy of the dialog in the e-mails from February 27, 2012, for your review.

 

The normal

 

 

response time we generally have for such service requests is 2 business days. However,

 

othe

 

 

r factors are taken into consideration when prioritizing them based upon the nature of the

 

request.

 

 

In Mr. ********'s case we regret that we failed to meet his serv ice expectation.

 

Ms. ********,

 

 

if after your review of this information you have additional questions, please let us

 

know.

 

 

 

***** *****

 

Advanced

 

 

Compliance Analyst

 

Member Relations

Extension *****

Ene.

********: ******

 

 

**** *********.

 

Additional To: *** ******** <******************>

CC:

BCC:

Attachment:

Subject: RE: Thrivent Financial for Lutherans

Body:

***.

At this pOint, your contract is not paid up. From my experience, this is due to interest rates being lower in the later

2000's and thus lower dividends than expected back in 1994. My suggestion would be

 

pay a few more years.

 

Instead of 17 years, I would check back in 3-4 years. I have no way of determining how much it will provide in 3-4

years at this point.

If you no longer wish to pay, you have the ability to change this policy to a "Reduced-paid up contract". The

amount that your current cash value would provide would be less than your current policy.

For your privacy protection, I am limited in the information I can disclose over email.

You have a few options if you would like additional details.

1. We can find a time to discuss this over the phone.

2. I can communicate through our secure messaging at Thrivent.com (I simply send you a secure messagesimilar

to other banking institutions and you log on to Thrivent.com to view the secure messages. This can

include contract numbers, in-force illustrations, etc.)

Please let me know how you would like to proceed. Also. please keep my contact information and the Financial

Advice Center's contact information - ************** as we can help you out going forward.

Thanks,

****

******* ** ******, CFP(r), FIC

Financial Advice Center Representative

Financial Advice Center

CA Insurance 10 No.: OG50942

AR Insurance 10 No.: 350696

Thrivent Financial for Lutherans(r)

*** ****** ****** ****** ************ ** **********

Office: ###-###-#### ext: 83062*****

Fax: ###-###-####

Email: ************************<mailto: ************************>

Web Address:****************************

Please do not use email to request, authorize, or affect the purchase or sale of any security or insurance product

or service, to send fund transfer instructions, or to effect any other transactions, as we are not authorized to

accept these requests in an electronic format. Any such requests, orders, or instructions that you send will not be

accepted and will not be processed.

The Financial Advice Center may not offer the variety of products and services that can be offered by a local

representative. If your situation requires a product or service not currently available through the Financial Advice

Center. a Center representative can put you in contact with a local Thrivent Financial representative to assist

you. Whether you purchase a product or service through a Financial Advice Center representative or a local

representative. generally there will be no difference in the fees and expenses you will incur.

Securities offered through Thrivent Investment Management Inc .• *** ****** **** * ** ************ *** ******  

****.###-###-####. a registered broker-dealer and investment adviser. and a wholly owned subsidiary of

Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Member FINRA. Member SIPC. Your financial representative is a Registered

Representative of Thrivent Investment Management and a licensed insurance agent of Thrivent Financial for

Lutherans.

Thrivent Investment Management Inc. outgoing and incoming email is electronically archived and recorded and is

subject to review. monitoring and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient.

Description: cid:******************************

This message contains confidential information intended only for the above addressees and may contain

information that is proprietary or legally privileged. If you received this message in error, please notify us and

delete the original message. You must obtain permission from Thrivent Financial to use its logo on a\l materials.

Failure to do so could result in legal action.

From: *** ******** [mailto:*******************

Sent: Monday, February 27. 2012 5:08 PM

To: **** ******

Subject: Re: Thrivent Financial for Lutherans

Thanks for getting back to me Mike. My basic question is, are we finished with payments on the insurance

poliCy? When we started it. we were under the impression that after 17 years, the policy would be self-funding at

the $2 million level. If we wanted to increase the payout. we could continue making annual payment.

E-mail is the best way to contact me as I travel constantly for work, with weekends out of town as well. and am

rarely at the home number.

Thanks again for responding.

tomh

On Man, Feb 27, 2012 at 11 :01 AM. **** ******<************************<mailto:************************» wrote:

Mr. ********.

I can help you out with the policy that you are the trustee on.

From our notes.

 

1 believe that the initial request was missed. When 1 was informed to contact you, I left you a

 

message (Phone ####-###-####<tel:###-###-####» on February 17th soon after I was requested.

Our department. The Financial Advice Center. is responsible for your accounts. We can be reached at****** ********

<tel:###-###-####> from 8am-9pm Monday-Thursday and Friday until6pm (My personal extension is

*****). I will be available until6pm this evening.

If you could provide a daytime phone number I could reach you today. Otherwise, you can reach me at your

convenience today.

Let me know either by phone or email how you would like to proceed.

Thanks,

****

******* ** ******, CFP(r), FIC

Financial Advice Center Representative

Financial Advice Center

CA Insurance 10 No.: *******

AR Insurance 10 No.: ******

Thrivent Financial for Lutherans(r)

*** ****** ****** ****** ************ ** **********

Office: ###-###-#### ext: *****<tel:###-###-####%20ext%3A%2083062>

Fax: ###-###-####<tel:###-###-####>

Email: ************************<mailto:************************>

Web Address: ****************************

Please do not use email to request, authorize, or affect the purchase or sale of any security or insurance product

or service, to send fund transfer instructions, or to effect any other transactions, as we are not authorized to

accept these requests in an electronic format. Any such requests. orders, or instructions that you send will not be

accepted and will not be processed.

The Financial Advice Center may not offer the variety of products and services that can be offered by a local

representative. If your situation requires a product or service not currently available through the Financial Advice

Center, a Center representative can put you in contact with a local Thrivent Financial representative to assist

you. Whether you purchase a product or service through a Financial Advice Center representative or a local

representative, generally there will be no difference in the fees and expenses you will incur.

Securities offered through Thrivent Investment Management Inc .•*** ****** **** *** ************ *** ****** ****

, ###-###-####<tel:###-###-####>, a registered broker-dealer and investment adviser, and a wholly owned

subsidiary of Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Member FINRA. Member 5IPC. Your financial representative is a

Registered Representative of Thrivent Investment Management and a licensed insurance agent of Thrivent

Financial for Lutherans.

Thrivent Investment Management Inc. outgoing and incoming email is electronically archived and recorded and is

subject to review, monitoring and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient. .

Description: cid:******************************

This message contains confidential information intended only for the above addressees and may contain

information that is proprietary or legally privileged. If you received this message in error, please notify us and

delete the original message. You must obtain permission from Thrivent Financial to use its logo on all materials.

Failure to do so could result in legal action.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1