Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Care-Plus Dental Plans, Inc.

Phone: (414) 771-1711 Fax: (414) 771-7640 11711 W Burleigh St, Wauwatosa, WI 53222 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.careplusdentalplans.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental insurance for businesses and group plans, family, individual, and supplemental plans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Care-Plus Dental Plans, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Care-Plus Dental Plans, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Care-Plus Dental Plans, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 1998 Business started: 06/01/1983 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1983 Business incorporated 05/23/1983 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin State Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
P.O. Box 7873, Madison WI 53707-7873
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 608-266-3585 state wide 800-236-8517
Fax Number: 608-266-9935 for general office

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Thomas Manos , President Ms. Katherine Grueneberg, Director of PFS Ms. Debbie Roberts, Administration Assistant Miss. Colleen Sorenson, Manager of Administration Ms. Angela Weidemann , Marketing Coordinator Former
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Thomas Manos , President
Customer Contact: Miss. Colleen Sorenson, Manager of Administration
Business Category

Insurance - Dental Insurance Consultants Insurance Services Dental Service Plans Insurance Companies Direct Health and Medical Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524114)

Alternate Business Names
Care Plus Dental Plans

Additional Locations

  • 11711 W Burleigh St

    Wauwatosa, WI 53222 (414) 771-1711

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have dental insurance through my spouse with Care Plus Dental Plans, Inc. I needed endodontic treatment and received a referral to an endodontic specialist, made by a Dental Associates dentist. This dentist examined me and determined that I needed to receive treatment by an Endodontist. Care Plus Dental Plans, Inc. has refused to pay for my treatment on the basis of receiving treatment out of network. Instead of allowing me to receive appropriate treatment by a qualified dentist with the necessary expertise, I received a telephone call from Dental Associates office for me to make an appointment to extract my tooth. I believe the members of Dental Associates who have dental insurance with Care Plus Plan, Inc. deserve better care than they now receive. Members should not be subjected to care from a dentist whose expertise is outside his/her scope of practice. Thus compromising their dental health by having unnecessary dental extraction when restorative treatment is the treatment of choice.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Dental Associates provide dentist who specializes in endodontic in eastern Wisconsin and not subject members to limited treatment because general dentists are practicing outside their scope of practice. Also, When members require specialty care, that care should be paid for by Care Plus Plan, Inc.

Business Response: We have received the complaint made to your organization.  Before we can respond, would you please have the complainant complete the attached authorization to disclose Personal Health Information.  Upon receipt of the authorization, we will send our response to the complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please see attached.

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

Business Response: Dr. ***** ******** has forwarded a copy of her response to Ms. ****'s complaint to the
CarePlus Grievance Committee.
Services rendered by an out-of-network provider are not a covered benefit of the
CarePlus policy Ms. **** is enrolled in without prior-authorization or approval, unless it
is for emergency treatment outside the service area. However, upon review, the
committee has authorized additional payment for the services rendered to her.
We apologize for Ms. ****'s dissatisfaction with the services provided by Dental
Associates and the benefits provided in her CarePlus managed care policy. In the future,
Ms. **** must receive fonnal written prior approval before seeing any out-of-network
providers, including any specialty providers from CarePlus Dental Plans. In addition, we
ask that she use the grievance process indicated in her policy for appeals should the need
arise.
We suggest that Ms. **** contact the Dental Associates Clinic ******** or ******** ******* at the ******** facility if she requires additional dental treatment or has
concerns about the quality of care she has received.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Care-Plus Dental Plans, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)