Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance services and coverage for consumers including auto, home, condo, identity theft, umbrella, and renters insurance.  They also offer business insurance services including general business, workers' comp, loss prevention and premium audit services. They have been offering insurance products for over 120 years.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Bend Mutual Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for West Bend Mutual Insurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on West Bend Mutual Insurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 04/13/1894 in WI Business started locally: 04/13/1894
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin State Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
P.O. Box 7873, Madison WI 53707-7873
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
Phone Number: 608-266-3585 state wide 800-236-8517
Fax Number: 608-266-9935 for general office

Business Management
Mr. Paul Hingtgen, Vice President, Argent Mr. Kevin Steiner, CEO & President Mr. Dale Kent, CFO & EVP Mr. Kevin Rausch , Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Hingtgen, Vice President, Argent
Principal: Mr. Kevin Steiner, CEO & President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Rental Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Services Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
Argent Workers Compensation Insurance NSI Specialty Lines Insurance
Industry Tips
Wisconsin Auto Insurance Requirements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1900 S 18th Ave

    West Bend, WI 53095 (262) 334-5571 (800) 236-5010

  • N25W23645 Watertown Road

    Waukesha, WI 53188

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/3/15 my wife took our van to ******* **** *** ***** in ********* ** to have 4 new tires installed, and an alignment. The manager tells my wife that when the employee closed the hood, it somehow punctured a hole in the AC condenser, and it was blowing fluid everywhere in the service causing the damage when they slammed it closed. The hood latch was definitely NOT bent before we went in there. No fluid was leaking BEFORE we went there. We had to tow the vehicle to a dealership for repair. An employee at the dealership stated that most likely the damage was from something (tool) being in the hood area when the hood was slammed, causing the puncture. **** *** ***** store turned this over to their insurance co, West Bend Insurance. The claims agent at West Bend has been uncooperative and rude from the beginning. Does not want to answer questions, and is stating the store manager looked at video footage of the repair area the night of the incident, and did not see any proof of negligence on their part., therefore they will not move forward with the claim. There were absolutely NO issues with the van when we entered the store, and we had to tow it out of there. Obviously, SOMETHING happened to cause the damage in the brief time it was in their possession.

Desired Settlement: I want Wend Bend Insurance to pay for my towing, and the cost of my repair.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********.

On November I l, 2015, Mr. ****** brought his 2010 Chrysler Town & Country into our insured's store for the purchase and installation of four new tires. As part of their service, **** *** ***** checks the condition of batteries for their customers.
**** *** ***** videos the work of their technicians to verify that they are following the required procedures +e repairing vehicles. In this instance, the video documents the technician opening the hood on the vehicle and then setting the support rod located on the passenger side of the vehicle. The technician then retrieved the battery tester, returns to the vehicle, and then tests the battery, which is located on the front driver's side of the vehicle. The technician then picks up the battery tester, returns it to the and returns the front passenger side of the vehicle and closes the hood.
After the technician completed the tire change, he started the vehicle to move it to the alignment rack when he noticed there was liquid coming up on the windshield. Upon inspection, he found that the condenser was leaking and it appeared to him that there was an ongoing problem with the hood's safety latch causing damage to the condenser.
The video documents that the technician did not do any work near the damaged condenser, which is located in the front of the engine compartment in the center of the vehicle. The video also documents that the technician did not use any hand tools during the period that the hood was open so the allegation that he left a tool under the hood is unfounded.
It is our position of our insured and our company that the technician did not do improper that have caused the damage to the condenser and as such, our insured is not responsible for the cost to replace the condenser.

Business Response: This will acknowledge receipt of your follow e-mail regarding Mr. ******'s addition concerns.
As we stated previously, the video documents that the technician did not do any work near the damaged condenser. In addition, we find nothing to support the allegations that the employee may have deleted a portion the video or that, our insured's are covering something up to avoid paying Mr. ******.
While it is true that the condenser failed while Mr. ******'s vehicle was in our care, they did not do anything to cause the failure to occur. It is our insured's position that the damage to the condenser was pre-existing and that failure just happened to have occurred while the vehicle was in their shop.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My vehicle had no pre-existing conditions prior to entering the business.  The damage occurred while in the possession of ****** **** *** *****, and should be covered by West Bend Insurance. 

Regards,

***** ******

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 9th 2015 there was a major hail storm in Cassville, Wisconsin. My home was damaged by the hail, West Bend's adjuster came out and meet with me and my contractor. The adjuster admitted that I had hail damage on my home's siding and roof. Yet would only cover a few of the window wraps for the damage. Yet the aluminum siding was damaged from it. The fact that West Bend Mutual Insurance Company own independent report from when I bought the house states there was no prior hail damage on the house, Should be enough. I provided hi resolution pictures from when I bought the house to show their was no prior hail damage to it before I bought the house. Only to be denied the adjuster and his supervisors. My claim on the siding for my house is valid and I am very upset that it is not even being covered! I was paid for the window wraps that were damaged from it so they could be repaired; Yet the siding is somehow not covered! I have been a customer with West Bend for over 10 years and this is how I am treated. I have multiple contractors from different companies telling me that it should be cover and I have received their expert opinions. Yet somehow I should trust the work of West Bend's agents when they will not even use their own independent report that was done by them when they insured my home. If by any chance you can clear this up. That would be great, but until then I will make sure everyone knows about how I am treated by your company. I have many people following me online that want to know how this turns out for me. I have even been interviewed by the local news about my house. They are very interested in seeing how this goes for me. The repair/replacement of the aluminum siding that was damaged should have been covered.? Instead I am expected to live with it. And the fact that I am sure they have now added a rider on my policy for the current hail damage. So nothing in the future is cover until the damage from the April storm is replaced.

Desired Settlement: I want West Bend to cover the damage from the storm and replace the damaged siding on my home. Then also cover any damage for my metal roof since they found hail damage on it also. I want the coverage that I have been paying for.

Business Response: Please accept this as our response to the complaint we received on July 9, 2015.
THE SILVER LlNING ®
On April 29, 2015, we received a claim for hail damage to the complainant's property. Our claim
representatives inspected the complainant's camper and home. Hail damage was found on the camper, as
well as window wraps and fascia on the home. Subsequently, our payment reflecting the cost of repairs
for the damage covered by the policy, less the deductible, was sent to the complainant.
It is our position that additional damage to the roof and siding is not covered by the policy.

Business Response: Please accept this as our response to the complainant's most recent objection to our handling of his
claim.
Insurance contracts generally have formal processes for dispute resolution. Our contract specifically
makes available an appraisal process. We've informed the customer of his right to engage in that
process. Aside from that process we consider this matter closed ..

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

"The Appraisal Process" The agent for West Bend Mutual is referring to in there letter does nothing for the damage to my property. They require me to spend money to make them counter me with their own appraisal and have told me that I would then need to take them to court for a judge to rule. They had an independent report that stated my property had no hail damage before the storm on April 9th or 2015. Now there is hail damage and they will only cover the window wraps but not the siding or roof.  "The Appraisal Process" is there way of making spend money on something that they will reject anyway.  How is "The Appraisal Process" going to evaluate my property damage before it happened when West Bend Mutual will not accept the evidence that their company already has that states there was not hail damage to the property before the storm. "The Appraisal Process" is a scam and a complete waste of money and time when your own report prior to the storm clearly states there was no hail damage before. 

Regards,

***** ****

 

 

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had insurance for a short time with West Bend mutual insurance. I cancelled my insurance on 4/20/15 West bend took out a payment from my account on 5/15/15 of the amount of $162.96.West Bend also took out a payment for the amount of 177.75 on 4/15/15I only had this insurance for 4 months this was house and auto insurance. The reason I cancelled was because the raised our premium two months after we took out the policy. They wanted to insure our home for way more the the home is worth and doing so raised our premium and then didn't want to lower back down. Somethings not right about that.But they only refunded me a $124.28 I called both the insurance agent and west bend but no one could or would help me on this matter. I know its a small amount of money but we (my husband and I )he's name is ******* ****** live on a fixed income of social securty The policy number with West Bend is HHE *********I would appreciate any help you can give to this matter.

Desired Settlement: Just want to get the whole refund that is due to us that's all.

Business Response: We have looked into this account and have found that the signed cancellation request was nor
received in our office until 5/ 18/ 15. This account was set up on automatic monthly EFT
withdrawals and since the required documentation to cancel a policy was not received until 5/18/15
the automatic EFT withdrawal was drafted on 5/15/15. A schedule of future withdrawals was
communicated to the insured prior to withdrawal.
We understand the frustration you have experienced with the changes to your policy that were made
after the policy was issued. Our policy requires that we insure homes at the full replacement cost so
that you are covered in the event of a loss. After inspection of your home, the results showed the
replacement cost was materially higher than originally submitted by your agent. Thus the reason for
the increase in premium. I have asked our accounting department to compile a detailed breakdown
pertaining to your billing questions. This will be in the mail shortly. We appreciate the contact and
hope this satisfies your request.

Business Response: We had further conversations with the insured directly related to this matter. We wanted to be sure
all of the insured's concerns and questions were answered to minimize any additional confusion
related to the timeline of events. The insured and West Bend agree that this matter has been
resolved.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

West Bend contacted me by phone an told me that they had mailed out a check to repay the money that they had taken out of my checking account.   As of this date I have yet to receive it. But they assured me the check was in the mail.

Thank you so much for all your help. I am so glad that BBB was there .

Sincerely

 

****** ******

 

 

 

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a home, multiple auto and umbrella policy customer for nine years I decided to move out of state where West Bend Mutual (WBM) is not licensed to sell insurance. I gave proper notice to WBM regarding the closing date of my WI home, and when I would no longer require the home policy. I was informed that WBM would only continue the multiple car policy through expiration of 6/9/2015, because they only write multiple product policies, and I choose to drop the home. I didn't care for it, but understood and moved forward with the understanding that I had a little over two months to replace my automobile insurance. The home policy ended on 3/27/2015. On 4/7/2015 I received a small refund from WBM at my new location with a cryptic note stating pro rated cancellation refund. On 4/8/2015 I called and learned that WBM had indeed cancelled the entire policy, autos included, on 3/27/2015 without my knowledge, meaning I was without automobile insurance for 12 days. To make matters worse when I finally found an insurance company to begin a new policy on 4/8/2015 there was a penalty because from their view I had a lapse in coverage. My annual coverage costs MORE than doubled due to WBM dropping me versus informing me of their plan and allowing me to find coverage without a lapse.

Desired Settlement: WBM to pay the difference of my new auto policy due to their cause of coverage lapse.

Business Response: This is in response to the complainant's most recent correspondence forwarded
to us under cover of yours dated April 9, 2015.
We have looked into this account and had further conversations with the insured
directly correcting this matter. In conclusion, an error had occurred while
processing the cancellation request. The agent had informed our office and we
were already in the process of correcting the error. As soon as West Bend was
aware of the error, it was immediately addressed and West Bend made
additional contact with the insured to be sure the issue was resolved.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* **********

 

 

 

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An initial claim was placed with my insurance company due to water damage, throughout the entire claim process my adjuster **** ****** from West Bend Mutual was told that the cause of the problem was partially cause by our soffit vents being covered and improper installation of insulation by a contractor.We had a company come out and do the work that was estimated my Mr. ****** however, six months later we are now having more water issues. I have contacted Mr. ****** and also the contractor to find out why this is happening, upon the contractor coming out we were made aware that the soffit vents were never cleared of the original insulation (the main cause of concern from the original claim) causing inadequate ventilation to our attic causing more damage. The contractor states that this was never on their original estimate from west bend to clear out the soffit vents (overhang of the house) when Mr. ****** was questioned about this all I was told was that I would have to place another claim on my policy to fix the current damages, I stated that since he knew that that soffit vents were covered during the original claim, why was this not on the estimate to be fixed? All I keep being told is that I will have to place another claim. The original damage was no fault of mine (there is currently an outstanding complaint with you in regards to this, and I now feel that West Bend is not willing to fix their error in retaliation for me filing said complaint).

Desired Settlement: West bend should cover the repairs that should have been included on the original claim and fix the current damages to my home at no charge to me.

Business Response: The complainant presented a claim on July 28,2014 for water damage to the interior of
her home that resulted from moisture build up in the attic due to improper ventilation.
During the claims process, we informed the customer her policy covers the resulting
damage to the home, but it would be her responsibility to make any necessary corrections
to alleviate future problems and this cost would not be covered by her policy.
The claim was investigated, adjusted and paid in accordance with the terms of the
insurance policy.
In March of 2015, the complainant informed us that she again had ice damming and
moisture built up in her attic. We advised the customer this new damage would again be
covered under her policy and a new claim could be set up, as this would be considered as
another occurrence.
If the complainant decides to proceed with the second claim, the water damage would be
covered under the policy but she would again be responsible for making any necessary
corrections to her home that may be causing the water infiltration.

Business Response: This is in response to the complainant's most recent correspondence forwarded to us
under cover of yours dated March 30, 2015.
The initial damage we inspected was the result of condensation due to an improperly
vented attic. We paid to remove the wet insulation and install new insulation and also
take care of the resulting interior damage caused by the condensation in the attic. After
repairs were completed , the complainant's contractor found soffit vents had insulation
partially covering them. It is not known whether this insulation was a result of work
performed by the contractor that insulated the attic or the repair contractor who attended
to the condensation damage. Regardless, West Bend's responsibility is to pay for
damage covered by the policy. We are not responsible for the supervision of contractors
or the quality of work they perform.
The complainant was told at the initial inspection that necessary corrections to properly
ventilate the attic would not be covered under her policy. West Bend does not have an
obligation under the policy to diagnose or pay costs to rectify the ventilation problem .
We have offered to consider the new damage from the second incident as a separate
claim. The complainant remains unwilling to handle the damage as a separate claim.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not agree with West Bends Response and at this time will have to seek legal council to litigate this matter. I also urge West bend to fix my clue report as it states that I had a claim for water damage in 2012 and 2014 (three separate claims). When originally placing the claim they used the date that the repairs were done and then changed it to 2014 when the damages were noticed. This is incorrect and would like to have this rectified. They are also showing a claim for the Ford in 2011 and this claim was never acted upon, it was paid for out of pocket. West Bend should teach their estimator how to communicate with their insured so this unfortunate situation does not happen to someone else. It's a shame that a loyal customer of 6 years gets to go through all of this through no fault of her own due to poor communication and finger pointing. 

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a incident where someone said that I hit there car. I notified the insurance company before hand, thinking that they would take control in helping the situation and get everything resolved and to find out almost a year later from a difference insurance company that they paid out damages and without my knowledge. My thing is I told the insurance company I did not hit the other car and my insurance company did one not only assess any damages done to my car or there car or take anything of what I said into consideration. Last but not least letting me know anything when I should of been involved.

Desired Settlement: To be mailed a letter from the company saying that I am free and clear of any accidents.

Business Response: This claim was reported to us on July 4, 2014 and assigned to a Claims representative for
investigation.
During our investigation, we contacted the parties involved and obtained their respective accounts
of the incident. We a lso gathered photographic evidence of the claimed damage from the adverse
party.
After a review of all the evidence. we determined our insured driver was responsible for the
claimed damage and we handled the claim according to the terms of the insuring agreement of the
policy in force at the time of the loss.

Business Response: This is in response to the complainant's most recent correspondence forwarded to us under cover
of yours dated March 25, 2015.
Both claims and underwriting management have reviewed this matter. We do feel our
investigation led to the correct result. However, we also recognize that the complainant is
dissatisfied with both the level of communication and the outcome of the claim. Since this was a
relatively minor incident and the facts are disputed, we have decided to change our policy record
to show this incident as a not at fault accident.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ********

 

 

 

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your agent ***** ****** is the rudest person I have ever spoken too. I wan IN a work vehicle ans WAS HIT from behind by an uninsured motorist WHILE I was working. I was seeking treatment in ********* and now moved to *******, Ms. ****** said she suspended my case and that she was waiting on my medical records. She said she sent me a letter, which she did not. I told her over and over I need to seek treatment in ******* because the result of the accident I cannot move, get out of bed, ride bike, walk, run or do anything else without pain in my back. I am convinced her job there is to deny claims. Let me recap: I was AT WORK, in a car OWNED by my company, I WAS HIT by another car i am IN PAIN and DISCOMFORT and YOUR COMPANY AND AGENT DENY me services. Oh hold it, not deny me services just WON'T PAY. How can you have a more clear cut case??? Now I am without insurance and no treatment because I cannot afford it is this how your company handles clear cut cases? There is not even a question. The police report? Check. The letter from my doctor saying because of the accident I need treatment? Check. I ask that Ms. ****** be disciplined from her position for a clear act of NOT taking care of the injured party which is me. Even when I talked to the State they said it was clear cut. Now I have to file a claim to get it paid with an attorney for which I will ask the courts to pay attorney fees. All I was asking for was treatment. Now since I cannot do anything without severe pain I will have to look into other areas.

Desired Settlement: The Workman's Comp Division needs to take care of my medical needs.

Business Response:

******, A Division of West Bend is the workers compensation insurer handling a
********* workers compensation claim for the complainant from injury date 8/4/2014.
Since receipt of the complaint, we have corresponded with the complainant addressing
the issues he identified in his I 115/2014 complaint letter.
Prior to complainant's move from ********* to *******, ****** paid all of the medical
treatment incurred related to his 8/4/2014 accident. No medical bills incurred relative to
complainant's 8/4/2014 work injury have been denied. On 9/23/2014, complainant
contacted our fi le handler to ask if there were any parameters for out-of-state
treatment. Complainant did not indicate during that conversation he was intending to
move to *******. Our file handler advised complainant of *********'s choice of
practitioners rule, including up to two (2) choices of providers licensed to practice and
practicing in *********, and that a referral from the practicing ********* doctor to an
out-of-state practitioner would not be considered a second choice. Our file handler also
explained how bordering state's treatment was handled. On 9/26/2014, complainant
secured a referral from his ********* doctor, to a doctor in Fort Meyers, *******, but
evidently, the new ******* doctor refused to provide medical treatment because he stated
he does not treat workers compensation patients. The Workers Compensation Act of
********* states, "By mutual agreement, the employee may have the choice of a
qualified practitioner not licensed in this state ... "(102.42(2)(a)), and effective 1/ 1/2000,
an employee's right to out-of-state treatment when referred by an in-state practitioner is
not limited by a requirement for prior approval. From reviewing our file, it is evident our
file handler explained these rights under the Act. Because the ********* Act does not
permit the insurance carrier to direct medical care, the responsibility of choosing a
practitioner is that of the injured worker, regardless of where the treatment is sought.
On 10/15/2014, our file handler advised complainant via email that we could not direct
his medical care. She further advised that she was requesting complainant's prior
medical records in order to obtain an independent medical opinion to address the nature

and extent of the injury. We advised that if an independent medical review determines a

plateau in recovery has been reached, at any point, we have the right to adapt that opinion

and extent of the injury. We advised that if an independent medical review determines a
plateau in recovery has been reached, at any point, we have the right to adapt that opinion
and discontinue benefits. As of this date, there has been no written correspondence from
our file handler or summary of conversations that we are denying complainant's claim.
We have asked our file handler why she believes complainant would make the statement
about her being rude. She believes the primary issue from the 11 /5/2014 telephone
conversation was that she would not provide a denial letter to complainant because he
continued to come back to that question. Evidently, complainant wanted a written denial
of workers compensation benefits letter from ****** to provide to his auto insured.
If you would like any supporting material or further clarification, please contact *****
******, Assistant Vice President ****** Claims at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10295647, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have now gotten 4 referrals to 4 different doctors who will not accept ********* Workman's Comp or ****** Ins. Since I do not have insurance and have been asking for referrals from my FORMER Insurance carrier and Doctor they have now told me that this last referral would the the past one they send. So now I cannot even get a referral from my past Doctor. So I wrote to ****** Insurance to see if they would help me to find a doctor that might be in their network. But they never replied. They also never mentioned all the times I called asking for help which they REFUSE to help me. I am now walking with a cane to take the weight off my back and it is getting worse every day.

Not once have they said just go to any doctor that will accept ********* Workman's Comp. Instead they throw around dates and what they allegedly told me which is incorrect too.

They are not in the help business at all. They are in the "How can we avoid helping someone who we insure, who was in a car accident and now suffering business." 

I am quite certain I would have been better by now if they had just let me seek treatment but as I said they refuse too help me and my condition is worsening. Imagine no being able to get out of bed in the morning, being able to shower or get ready for work. When at work need to get up from my desk every 10 minutes to bend and stretch my back to try to get some relief.

An insurance company, ******, paid by my former employer to help victims of accidents like me and they are not doing what Kayser Auto has paid them to do. Instead they throw out excuses why they won't help me.

I asked can I just go to any Doctor that would accept this case and of course they will now reply. They will however reply to this BBB post to say nothing but dates and this and that.

This is the absolute worst customer service I have ever seen. I guess the only way I can get help is to fly back to ********* to see the original doctor according to them that's the only way they will cover it. I can't afford that. 

I will however move back to ********* because the pain is so great that I cannot stand it and go for permanent disability. This is the reality of this case. They won't help, I can't afford help so as long as my pain keeps getting worse I will have no choice than to not to be able to work.

I would like supporting material that they will allow me to see any Doctor here in ******* but they will not provide that. What do they care? I'm in pain and they are being typical big business by trying to avoid payment. I am sure the Vice President Jim ******** get's paid a pretty good salary and that his time is worth money. Instead of paying for my severe injury he has time to write the BBB back. FOr the time and money he wasted writing back that would have been at least 2 appointments for me to seek help.

I truly believe their position is, "let's not pay the injured person's claim and hopefully they will go away." At least this is the position they've taken up till now.

I am not sure if I need to take this to the news in ********* or work with Social Media for which I am an expert. Before I do that I will write the ********* ************ ** *********.

The sad part is, I was only seeking help from an accident that happened at work and for which they are the Insurer.  My father was in insurance his whole life. When something happened to someone he was there for them. My how times have change. Corporate policy to not help an insured patient is unreal.

Now I am certain Mr. ******** will make time to respond to this instead of just getting me taken care or.

#****************

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

******, A Division of West Bend is the workers compensation insurer handling a
********* workers compensation claim for the complainant from injury date 8/4/2014.
This response is to complainant's 12/22/2014, follow-up concerns to the BBB, which he
did not feel were properly addressed in our 11/15/14 or 12/18/2014 responses.
The State of *********, Department of Workforce Development has established the
laws governing workers compensation benefits to all ********* employees, employers
and insurance companies/benefit administrators not otherwise governed under another
State or Federal workers compensation program. ****** has explained to complainant
*********'s out-of-state treatment parameters as outlined in statute 1 02.42(2)(a) which
state an injured worker may have the choice of a qualified practitioner not licensed in
this state (*********) upon the referral of injured workers in-state practitioner.
As stated in our previous responses, ****** has not denied benefits to complainant
relative to his 8/4/2014 ********* workers compensation claim. The last *******
practitioner referral ****** received was 9/26/2014. At that time, complainant's
********* practitioner made a referral to a ******* doctor, however, that ******* doctor
refused to treat a patient on workers compensation benefits. ****** has received no
other referrals from complainant's ********* doctor.
If complainant believes ****** has denied medical treatment as outlined in *********
statute 102.42(2)(a), he can file an Application for Hearing with the State of *********,
Department of Workforce Development, ******* ************ ********* ** *** **** * ******** *** ********** , Complainant can also call the Workers Compensation
Division at ###-###-#### to ask if ****** has failed to administer his claim pursuant to
********* workers compensation statutes and receive additional instruction for filing a
formal Application for Hearing.

If you would like any supporting material or further clarification, please advise the
undersigned at your earliest convenience.

12/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "The Silver Lining" is not so silver. We have had west bend mutual for many years. We had a hail storm in Hartland on 08/01/02014 and we had damage to two vehicles and our roof on our house. Four years ago hail storm took out our garage roof. West Bend paid both claims, and repairs were done no problems. BUT now they are not renewing our policy when it comes time to renew it!!! To me that is bad practice and wrong!!

Desired Settlement: We would just like to renew our policies and stay with West Bend Mutual

Business Response: We looked into this account and have found that the decision was warranted based on the
duration of the account and claims history. However, before this complaint was received in our
office, we were already working with the agency on a possible solution. Further discussions
with the agency and the insured together, we have reached a solution.
We appreciate the contact and hope this satisfies this matter.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted my not a fault insurance claim # ******* 3 estimates all within $20 of each other plus $900 estimate for diminished value. West Bend denied claim and cut payment to $900. This is not fair practice.

Desired Settlement: Send check for $3000.00 for 4 estimates I provided. See attached information.

Business Response:

This complaint arises from an accident which occurred on November 6, 2014. The complainant
asserted the amount offered to repair his vehicle was insufficient and that we denied his claim for
diminution in value of his car.
The claim was reported to us on November 7, 2014. We received the police report, which
identified the complainant, on November 17th
. On November 21st, our appraiser met with the
complainant to inspect his vehicle, and on November 26th, an offer was extended to the
complainant for the settlement of his claim.
Our appraiser contacted two of the three shops that the complainant had submitted estimates
from , and both agreed to do the repair for the amount of our estimate. All three of the estimates
submitted by the complainant included the cost of a new bumper cover. The bumper cover is no
longer available and both shops stated they included it in their estimate at the request of the
complainant.
We reviewed the complainant's claim for diminution in value but the evidence he supplied did
not support his claim. When our appraiser met with the complainant, he showed him evidence of
prior repair work to both the front and rear of the vehicle. We were able to verify that the vehicle
was involved in an accident in 2004 and it was reported that the car sustained front and rear
damage. Based on the minor damage from this accident, coupled with the prior damage to the
car, we do not believe there is a basis for a diminution in value claim
In the time since your office received this complaint, we resolved the matter with the
complainant and secured his release and discharge of any complaints against West Bend.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

11/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bank paid my house insurance on 3/28/2014. My auto insurance was due on 4/11/2014, I decided to go with a new car insurance carrier on 4/11/2014 so I did not make my insurance premium payment with West Bend Mutual. I thought I notified them but they said I didn't. They continued to send car premium bills for the next few months which I ignored thinking they just still had me in the pipeline. Then I get a notice saying my house insurance was cancelled on 9/20/2014 and they also billed me for car insurance until 9/20/2014 at what point it was cancelled 6 months after I was no longer sending them premium payments. Then they proceeded to take my house insurance payment made on 3/28/2014 and split it in half giving half to my car insurance premium and half to my house insurance premium and did not tell me this for a couple months and also charged me 85 dollars for more car insurance premium and threated to send the 85 dollar amount to collection so I paid that.

Desired Settlement: I want them to adjust the billing and either reinstate my house insurance or reimburce me for the remaining policy premium and not to charge me for car insurance 6 months after I was no longer paying premiums and not take this money out of my house insurance premium to pay car insuance and to tell me exactly why I was also charged 85 dollars for extra premium.

Business Response:

Attn: ****

 

We are looking into your account and working through this matter. In order for West Bend to cancel a policy or coverage portion, it is required we received a signed cancellation request from the insured. We have found that this request was not received, which is why we continued to provide coverage since premium was paid/applied to the package policy. As of 11/12/14, we have received the signed cancellation request and proof of replacement auto coverage effective 4/11/14. We have updated our records and our accounting department has compiled a revised billing breakdown. This breakdown along with your refund check will be out in the mail shortly. We appreciate your contact and hope this satisfies your request.

 

Thank you!

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *******

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An insured of west bend mutual ins caused damage with their vehicle to my wrought iron stairs and concrete at my business, at which time we filed a police report. It took a few days to get the insured persons insurance information as they were not very cooperative and then the police report itself took around two weeks to receive from the ******** ** ****** department. I finally spoke with a west bend agent and was told to get estimates and photos of the damaged stairs and concrete. At that time I sent in damage estimated totaling about $7685.00 at which time west bend mutual sent me a letter and offered me $150 for the repairs. I don't even know what to say about that other then when I called and spoke with someone at west bend mutual after she was rude and argumentative she made a comment that they offered me that because they thought that I was just after some money. How professional is this? I asked to talk to a supervisor and after a I spoke with her she assured me they would take care of my problem and sent out their insurance adjustor at which time he told me that they are only willing to pay 60 or 70 percent of the damaged stair claim and not the cracked concrete claim which he said I had to prove that it was a new and not an old crack. At this point they sent me a letter to sign of on this deal after I informed them that they should hire their own contractors and do what needs to be done if they do not like the estimates I provided at which they replied that I should go through my own insurance if I do not like it. Very rude and unprofessional people I'm dealing with. One of the agents also told me that they are not used to dealing with property damage but auto damage claims. And they call themselves an accredited Insurance company. I was treated rudely, unprofessionally and caused and is causing a lot of upset and problems. I still have damaged stairs at my property and an insurance that is not trying to solve the problem but worried about their bottom line.

Desired Settlement: I would like my damaged stairs and concrete to be fixed to their original condition. I don't know why I should be going through all this to get West Bend Mutual to do what they are required to do.

Business Response:

We received our first notice of this claim on May 27, 2014 and made contact with the complainant by telephone the same day.  In that conversation, we asked the complainant to obtain an estimate of repair for the damage caused by our insured when he backed into the complainant’s railing. 

 

On June 24, 2014, we received only photos from the complainant, which showed an iron railing with what appeared to be minimal damage.  The complainant also sent photos of concrete which appeared to have been cracked long ago.  Having received no estimate of repair, we sent a good-faith offer to the complainant for the minimal railing damage visible in the photos.   

 

When the complainant refused our offer in a phone conversation on July 3, 2014, we assigned an appraiser to inspect the complainant’s property and estimate the damage caused by our insured.  That appraiser determined the cost to repair the railing, however, due to the fact the railing is 20 years old and was in worn and rusted condition prior to this incident, he suggested a depreciation percentage would apply to the cost of repairs.  Furthermore, the appraiser advised it is evident the cracking of concrete around the stairway pre-existed this occurrence and was caused by settling of the concrete. 

 

We’ve offered a settlement to the complainant, which represents the replacement cost of repairs less depreciation, for the damage caused by our insured.  We stand ready to forward payment upon receipt of the complainant’s signed release.  

 

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 13th my mechanic crashed my 2001 Audi S4 he is covered by West Bend Mutual. The insurance company did an evaluation of the car and determined that it was a total loss. My concern is that my car is not a stock car and it has had over $13,387.09 in work and modifications put into it in the past year. While I did not expect to be reimbursed for labor I was expecting to be compensated for the new parts that were put into the car so I could buy something that was comparable to my car. I was also skeptical of the market analysis that was done by West Bend Mutual. There is a different market for modified cars versus stock cars and they did not take this into consideration during their analysis. I had an independent analysis done by Auto Appraisal Group on March 6th. They determined that the total loss value of my Audi was $16,120. West Bend did not take this into consideration and determined my car's total loss value was $10,035.

Desired Settlement: While I had all documentation stating what was done to my vehicle to raise its value I was still not provided enough to purchase a reasonably similar S4. I would like the remaining $6,085 and I would like West Bend to change their appraisal tactics for modified vehicles so other people are not put into this situation.

Business Response: This complaint involved a dispute of the value of the complainant's vehicle.
During the investigation of this claim, we determined our policyholder was in an accident while test
driving Mr. ****'s vehicle. The amount of damage to the vehicle rendered it a total loss. Our valuation
research included all aspects of the vehicle including its options and modifications. We determined a fair
and accurate valuation of Mr. ****'s vehicle and offered him that amount. We reached a settlement
agreement with the complainant prior to our receipt of this complaint. Our payment has been issued and
this matter has been closed.

Business Response: We regret the complainant disagrees with the value of his vehicle, however, we have set forth, in
previous responses, our position in this matter and our rationale for that position. We will offer no
further payment to the complainant for this loss.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Rejecting because no resolution was agreed upon.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed up for insurance for my car and home in march of 2013 and then in June of 2013 I had a major plumbing/sewage problem in my basement that needed immediate repair. I contacted my representative and he failed to return my phone call for almost a week. When I told him about the problem he basically laughed at me and told me it wasn't covered. And in my paperwork of insurance coverage it stated cleanup and repair of plumbing. He said it wouldn't be covered and told me I bought a dud of a house. Was completely rude. I filed a claim anyways over the phone with the actual company. Then their adjuster was horrible at getting back to me. His schedule to come look at the damage was scarce. Would only be in the area one day that next week and for only 2 hours. The time didn't work for me so he said he would have to get back to me. It was 2 weeks before I heard from him again and same story. I had to go severly limiting my plumbing for a month waiting for this guy to come out and access damage before I could have repairs made. I would call him and he wouldn't return my calls, or would be unavailable to come to the house when I needed him too. In July 2013 I cancelled my insurance for both auto and home due to the mess with their lack of communication. I wasn't going to pay for service that they did not provide. Also when I initially signed up I was told my car insurance would be about 75 a month, when I got my first bill I noticed it was 115. Lack of honesty with company and handling issues in a timely and appropriate manner. They have since sent me bills for past due payment saying I haven't paid for my insurance since July 2013. I cancelled service and they still charged me.

Desired Settlement: I want my "past due" bill of over $300 removed. I do not want it affecting my credit and them to keep sending me bills or send me to collections. I cancelled the service therefore I shouldn't have been charged for the months to follow. I am not paying for service I cancelled and no longer received.

Business Response: I am writing in regard to the above referenced matter.

In regards to the claims concerns, after receiving notice of the claim, our claims representative
contacted the insured. Based on the facts of this claim, in our initial discussion we told our
insured that it was unlikely the claim would be covered by her policy. To assure a complete
understanding of the matter we thought it would be important to meet with her and inspect the
home. Scheduling such a meeting that would meet both parties' schedules was difficult - so we
sent a letter attempting to finalize a date. With no response to the letter, we sent another letter
setting out our position for denial of the claim. We, of course, understand our insured's
disappointment that the claim was uncovered, however the facts as we have them do not allow
for us to provide coverage.
In regards to the billing concerns for the auto premium questioned, we found the following. The
applications that were signed by the insured showed an auto premium of $1065 annually
($88.75/month). The first bill that was due for $114.60 included the entire package premium
(auto, home and umbrella).
The policy was cancelled effective 11/2/2013 for non-payment of premium. Neither West Bend,
nor the agency received a signed cancellation request from the insured to cancel the policy in
July. As a result, we continued billings to the insured. However, it has been confirmed with the
accounting department, after the cancellation was processed on 11/2/13, there is no premium
currently due on the account and the policy was never sent to collections.
If you have any questions please let me know.
Sincerely,
*** *******
**** ********* * ******** ***** *** ********* ******

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, let’s get down to the facts of my claim. My Business suffered a loss due to a storm that allowed water to enter my building due to a storm drain that failed. This happened on Saturday, June 29, I called into the claims department right away. They advised to do what I can to minimize the damage done from the storm. We did what was told and advised that an Adjuster would come out and see the damage first hand. I was told that the Adjuster should be there by 24-48 business hours after the event. The Adjuster finally arrived on Thursday, July 4 at 9:30 am, well over the allotted time said that they would be there. Furthermore my doors of my business had to be closed due to the damage done by the storm. Before the Adjustor arrived at my property (July 3), I received a letter from West Bend (dated July 2) advising me what they are not going to cover even before the Insurance Company Adjustor arrives. I like to call this the pre denial letter based on the West Bend advising me what was reported and that they did not want to pay from day one. The Adjuster arrives and sends the report back to West Bend. His findings which are very clear and very descriptive how the damage occurred were sent in this report. Weeks and months go by and we are still dealing with a claim that should have been resolved with payment. The Adjustor discovered the cause of the claim and documented his findings to West Bend, however West Bend has refused to read the report in its full entirety. Again, the Adjustor who was hired by West Bend gave his expert conclusion how the damage occurred and West Bend are not using his findings in our Insurance Claim. I would like to know, if another representative of West Bend, Insurance agent, or Adjustor has came to my Business and what they found in their report that West Bend Claims is using not the report that was done on July 4, 2013? My Business has suffered with the damage done to our property. We have lost a substantial amount of Business and what concerns me the most is the lack of urgency and responsibility that West Bend has failed to do. Looking at “Silver Lining” foundation of this company, I feel that we have not noticed the following and I quote, “At the core of everything we do lies a simple premise. A sincere desire to help our customers through problems and adversity. To make sure that positives come from negative situations. To step up when you need us. To do the right thing.”

Desired Settlement: I would like West Bend to replace my damage floor and cover the loss business that I have had since the storm.

Business Response: October 21,2013
BBB of Wisconsin
Bradley **********
***** ** ********** *** ********** ** ******** ***
Dear Mr. **********,
I am writing in regard to the above referenced claim.
A heavy rainstorm caused water to back up around a damaged downspout to storm drain. The
water then flowed on the surface of the ground through an emergency exit door on the building
causing interior water damages to the
flooring.
This claim was reported on Saturday June 29 and assigned Monday July I. The adjuster left a
message for the insured on July I and finally touched base with the insured on July 2nd
• After obtaining the facts of the loss from the insured, the adjuster informed the insured of the potential
coverage issue and a Reservation of Rights letter was sent to the insured outlining the coverage
issue. The insured was also told an independent adjuster would be out to inspect the property and
confirm the cause of loss.
The independent adjuster inspected the loss on July 4 and confirmed the cause of loss.
Inspection of the loss revealed the source of the water was from a downspout that emptied into a
storm drain that had failed. It was noted that the connection between the downspout and the
drain had been damaged and caused water to gather on the ground directly outside of the
emergency exit door. A substantial amount of water had entered the building under the
emergency exit door located on the right elevation near the front comer.
The policy with West Bend Mutual Insurance provides coverage under Causes of Loss - Special
Form. Form number CPI 030 edition date 04/02. This form states the following:
B. Exclusions
I. We will not pay for loss or damage caused directly or indirectly by any of the
following. Such loss or damage is excluded regardless of any other cause or event
that contributes concurrently or in any sequence to the loss.
g. Water
(1) Flood, surface water, waves, tides, tidal waves, overflow of any body of water, or
their spray, all whether driven by wind or not;
(2) Mudslide or mudflow;
(3) Water that backs up or overflows from a sewer, drain or sump; or
(4) Water under the ground surface pressing on, or flowing or seeping through:
(a) Foundations, walls, floors or paved surfaces;
(b) Basements, whether paved or not; or
(c) Doors, windows or other openings.
But if Water, as described in g.(I) through g.(4) above, results in fire, explosion or
sprinkler leakage, we will pay for the loss or damage caused by that fire, explosion or sprinkler
leakage.
Damages caused by surface water are excluded per the cited language above and West Bend
Mutual Insurance is unable to pay for these damages ..
Sincerely,
*** ********
**** ********* * ******** ***** *** *********

Business Response: October 21,2013
BBB of Wisconsin
Bradley **********
***** ** ********** *** ********** ** ******** ***
Dear Mr. **********,
I am writing in regard to the above referenced claim.
A heavy rainstorm caused water to back up around a damaged downspout to storm drain. The
water then flowed on the surface of the ground through an emergency exit door on the building
causing interior water damages to the
flooring.
This claim was reported on Saturday June 29 and assigned Monday July I. The adjuster left a
message for the insured on July I and finally touched base with the insured on July 2nd
• After obtaining the facts of the loss from the insured, the adjuster informed the insured of the potential
coverage issue and a Reservation of Rights letter was sent to the insured outlining the coverage
issue. The insured was also told an independent adjuster would be out to inspect the property and
confirm the cause of loss.
The independent adjuster inspected the loss on July 4 and confirmed the cause of loss.
Inspection of the loss revealed the source of the water was from a downspout that emptied into a
storm drain that had failed. It was noted that the connection between the downspout and the
drain had been damaged and caused water to gather on the ground directly outside of the
emergency exit door. A substantial amount of water had entered the building under the
emergency exit door located on the right elevation near the front comer.
The policy with West Bend Mutual Insurance provides coverage under Causes of Loss - Special
Form. Form number CPI 030 edition date 04/02. This form states the following:
B. Exclusions
I. We will not pay for loss or damage caused directly or indirectly by any of the
following. Such loss or damage is excluded regardless of any other cause or event
that contributes concurrently or in any sequence to the loss.
g. Water
(1) Flood, surface water, waves, tides, tidal waves, overflow of any body of water, or
their spray, all whether driven by wind or not;
(2) Mudslide or mudflow;
(3) Water that backs up or overflows from a sewer, drain or sump; or
(4) Water under the ground surface pressing on, or flowing or seeping through:
(a) Foundations, walls, floors or paved surfaces;
(b) Basements, whether paved or not; or
(c) Doors, windows or other openings.
But if Water, as described in g.(I) through g.(4) above, results in fire, explosion or
sprinkler leakage, we will pay for the loss or damage caused by that fire, explosion or sprinkler
leakage.
Damages caused by surface water are excluded per the cited language above and West Bend
Mutual Insurance is unable to pay for these damages ..
Sincerely,
*** ********
**** ********* * ******** ***** *** *********

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********,
I am writing in regard to the above referenced claim.
A heavy rainstorm caused water to back up around a damaged downspout to storm drain. The
water then flowed on the surface of the ground through an emergency exit door on the building
causing interior water damages to the flooring.
We have checked with legal counsel and instances in which water from rain combines with
discharge on the ground from a gutter/downspout system or which is prevented from entering
a blocked or overtaxed sewer or drain still remains surface water.
West Bend Mutual Insurance is unable to pay for the damage to the flooring as it resulted from
surface water and this type of loss is excluded as cited in our previous correspondence.
Sincerely,
******** **************
******

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********,
I am writing in regard to the above referenced claim.
A heavy rainstorm caused water to back up around a damaged downspout to storm drain. The
water then flowed on the surface of the ground through an emergency exit door on the building
causing interior water damages to the flooring.
We have checked with legal counsel and instances in which water from rain combines with
discharge on the ground from a gutter/downspout system or which is prevented from entering
a blocked or overtaxed sewer or drain still remains surface water.
West Bend Mutual Insurance is unable to pay for the damage to the flooring as it resulted from
surface water and this type of loss is excluded as cited in our previous correspondence.
Sincerely,
******** **************
******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Mr. **********:

The most recent response from West Bend does not resolve this matter.  Upon the advice of my legal counsel, I unfortunately believe the only way this matter will be resolved is through continued negotiations with West Bend, not excluding potential litigation.  

Unfortunately, it seems West Bend is not interested in interpreting the policy correctly as they continue to ignore the language of the addendum and the recommendations and statements of their own chosen adjuster.  As soon as the claim is resolved either by a court of law, or through negotiation, I will inform the BBB.

Please do not mark this claim as resolved as it is far from it.

Sincerely,

****** ******

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Mr. **********:

The most recent response from West Bend does not resolve this matter.  Upon the advice of my legal counsel, I unfortunately believe the only way this matter will be resolved is through continued negotiations with West Bend, not excluding potential litigation.  

Unfortunately, it seems West Bend is not interested in interpreting the policy correctly as they continue to ignore the language of the addendum and the recommendations and statements of their own chosen adjuster.  As soon as the claim is resolved either by a court of law, or through negotiation, I will inform the BBB.

Please do not mark this claim as resolved as it is far from it.

Sincerely,

****** ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on West Bend Mutual Insurance Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart