1/30/2015 I recently left a negative review regarding the wait times to speak with a customer service representative. The review was accurate, but I was told this is something they are working on... we'll see. In the interest of fairness, I thought I would share a better story. When replacing a ceiling fan I was quoted a maximum allowance for the fan of $337 only to have someone call back a week later and tell me, after I had already purchased a fan, that my maximum allowance was actually $94. I asked to speak with a supervisor, who was able to pull the phone call and correctly honored what I was told in the first place, and the information I based my purchase on. It seems odd that I should be surprised by the outcome, as this is the correct was to do business.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Ben Y. on 1/30/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
12/11/2014 Ok, I truly never take the time to write a review, but I truly want to do it this time in hopes of help someone out there... My experience with HSA has not being bad at all, not perfect, but better than I expected after reading all the reviews around the internet (and almost having a panic attack because my furnace went out and I have two little ones at home, plus a puppy, and we live in Iowa) The good: The first time I called to report the issue I was treated with a lot of kindness, and they send someone over the check the furnace about 4 hours after I placed the call, at the end of that same day, I had a quote and they explained to me that "fixing the issue" was going to cost us out of pocket almost as much as a new furnace, and so they decided to replace the furnace. The total cost our of pocket for us was $500, the rest (new furnace plus work) covered by HSA (hey! we thought it was going to be thousands of dollars!)... Th bad: The company the hired is a very small company out of the Des Moines area, and they picked up the furnace 3 days after It was ordered and couldn't install the day we first programmed due to a family emergency (by this, we have being without a furnace for a week, using space heaters), then, once the furnace was in, they couldn't finish the job due to "running out of metal sheet", and so our furnace blows air into the ducts but since there is no "tunnel" to connect the furnace with the duct my basement is very very warm... Think that by now, we have asked 2 days off from work (first day they cancelled, second day installation) and now we have to wait about a week to get the rest of the "tunnel" build... ahhhh I am trying to be very understanding because life happens, but this is something that usually wouldn't happen with a bigger contractor. (At least they aren't collecting the check until the job is done!) The Ugly: WAITING AND WAITING! the customer service is not that bad but geeezzz I wa son hold for about 4 hours total the past week!
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
by Carol R. on 12/11/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
9/22/2014 My experience with HSA was a 1st. I was coached by my sister who has been a homeowner for years. My garage door, garbage disposal and HVAC was all out. HSA filed the claim and all was replaced. $5000 repairs to my home, and $150 out of pocket for deductible. I just wished that the representatives on the other line would truly follow up with all updates, especially when the customer is recording all names and updates. But other than that, I kept a positive outlook, and it all worked out. Thank you HSA for taking care of my matter in a timely matter.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by LaDonna E. on 9/22/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business HSA is happy that we could assist you on yours claims. HSA will use your comments as a teaching tool to better improve our customer service. by on 10/9/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
7/3/2014 Eight months ago my wife and I puchased our first home. The home was old, the heating/cooling system and hot water tank were relatively old so we opted to puchase a home warranty. The home was purchased through ****** ***** who offered the warranty from HSA. This past Sunday I noticed some standing water in my basement and after some investigation found that the hot water heater was leaking. After cleaining up the water I called HSA and filed a claim. A plumber was dispatched and was to call me Monday morning. Monday afternoon came and I had not heard from the plumber (I called them two times) so I called HSA again. A second plumber was dispatched. As of Tuesday morning I had not heard from the second plumber so I called them. The plumber said he was aware of my claim and that he would be out the next morning. The plumber also forwarned me that HSA typically does not cover all of the costs associated with a new hot water heater install. The plumber showed up on Wendesday morning and diagnosed the situation. He contacted HSA who then contacted me with the "uncovered charges" which I had to approve. Although I thought the costs were high I approved the charges. The plumber quickly replaced the hot water heater. I felt the plumber was professional and did a fine job. Overall I was happy with the service and certainly happy I had the insurance in place. Although I did have to pay some out of pocket (including the deductible) it was likely 1/2 or 1/3 of the cost without a warranty. If I had any negative comments about HSA they would be that the hold times to report and check on a claim by phone are too long. I wated a minimum 15 minutes to talk to someone. I also caution anyone considering an HSA warranty to read the contract prior to puchasing. All of the costs associated with repair/replacement of any unit will likely not be covered. In my case the hot water heater and labor were covered, but the copper pipe, valves, flue pipe, and pavers for the tank.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Tyler K. on 7/3/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business HSA is glad to hear that you are happy with the vendor's service. The HSA contract covers for standard labor and the equipment costs, but the basic plan does not cover any installation modifications, code upgrades, disposal or permit fees that may be required for a repair/replacement. We do have a 7 star upgrade that does assist with those costs among other items that are additionally covered, which can be added to a policy within 60 days of the inception date or at renewal time. HSA apologizes for the longer than normal wait times we have had recently and we have all of our resources assisting all of our customers as best and as fast as we can. We are here 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Peak call times are from 7:30 am to 6 pm central time. It is best for early morning or later in the evening if you do not wish to wait on hold. You can also register on myhomewarranty.com to file claims, view claim status, view your contract, etc. by on 7/3/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
7/10/2013 Bought a policy when I bought a 10 year old house since the appliances were close to the service life (well the seller bought it for me). It cost about $4-500 with a $75 deductible. Just last week the air conditioner broke, called up HSA, and they had a repair person out within 2 days. They covered the $380 repair, and everything is great.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Stephen M. on 7/10/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Thank you for the positive feedback! HSA is delighted to hear we were able to resolve your claims quickly and efficiently. We will continue to provide you this 'piece of mind' in the future. by on 7/17/2013

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .