BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp

Phone: (414) 416-1622 PO Box 11047, Milwaukee, WI 53211 http://www.milwaukeebootcamp.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fitness training and instruction for individuals and small group.  These services include: personal training, nutritional forums, functional training, strength training and endurance training.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 25, 2008 Business started: 02/01/2008 in WI Business started locally: 02/01/2008 Business incorporated: 11/27/2007 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Catherine E. Andersen, Owner Ms. Aubrey Woods, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine E. Andersen, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Aubrey Woods, Office Manager
Business Category

Health & Fitness Program Consultants Personal Trainers Health & Wellness Nutrition Vitamins & Food Supplements Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday and Sunday appointments available
Service Area
Downtown Milwaukee, East Side of Milwaukee, Shorewood, Whitefish Bay, Glendale, Bayview, Mequon, Wauwatosa, Elm Grove, Brookfield
Alternate Business Names
Achieve Personal Fitness, Inc
Industry Tips
Buying Medicines and Medical Products Online Discount Medical Plans Health Clubs

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 11047

    Milwaukee, WI 53211

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an advertisement for a "FREE 16 week Weight Loss and Exercise Study" that was not free but required maintenance fees of $69.00 a month. When I visited the site they required you to sign a contract for 1 or 2 years. the price I was offered for the study was $365.00, which the sales person reduced to $315.00, in a one time payment and $69.00 a month starting on July 25,2012 with the option to terminate at anytime if I was not satisfied. The other 2 options I was offered required a contract starting that day for 1 or 2 years which included smaller down payments and the $69.00 monthly fee starting immediately. I signed a contract with **** on Saturday, 3-17-2012, and paid the $315.00 by check being assured that if the program wasn't a "good fit" for me they would tear up the contract and refund my money. The first problem I encountered was that they double charged me, they cashed the check for $315.00 on 3-19-2012 and debited my account for $315.00 on 3-20-2012. I notified *** at MABC and she apologized and said she would immediately refund the $315.00 she took by mistake. I told her I had decided I to terminate the contract and she said **** would have to refund that payment of $315.00. I spoke with **** on Tuesday 3-20-2012 and requested a refund and he said no, that I was bound by the contract. I informed him that I had mailed a certified letter to his company within the 3 business days allowed and he said he would have to wait to refund my money until they received the letter. I followed up with *** and she assured me that she had put through the $315.00 credit andthat she would confirm with **** that he would be refunding the $315.00. On 3-30--2012 I still had not received either credit so I called and spoke with **** who told me to come in and he would give me a check. When I arrived at the office of MABC **** told me that I would have to bring in a bank statement proving I was double charged and evidence that I had cancelled by certified letter. I showed him the letter and receipt and he had me talk to his supervisor by phone who told me I couldn't have been doubled charged and to come back Monday 4-2-2012 and he would e-mail the owner of MABC.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $630.00 refunded to me immediately.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I wanted to let you know that after I filed the complaint I put together all of the paperwork requested  by Adventure Boot Camp and visited them. **** wrote me a check for $315.00 and Ann put through a refund for $315.00 so I have all of my money refunded. I wanted to point out that on their web site they advertise being BBB accredited.  Thank you,****** ******

 

 

 

Business Response: Hi *****,Hope you are well.  Thanks for the voice mail last week and confirmation that the billing company (NAC) the marketing promotions group (PFP) we were working with had refunded ****** ******. You mentioned that since the matter was successfully resolved that I did not have to respond, but being a small business owner having a "tarnish free" reputation in our community, I HAVE to respond even if it is just to help me sleep at night. :) Achieve Personal Fitness, Inc. (Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp) ran a 16-week weight loss and exercise study, new client promotion with an outside marketing promotions group, Platinum Fitness Promotions. Our goal was to introduce the unique fitness options we offer the Milwaukee and North Shore communities. Platinum Fitness Promotions (PFP) ran the direct mail piece AND sent a membership consultant to our location to help run the promotion. The ad is attached to this email. **** H. was the membership consultant that PFP had sent to kick off the campaign and to be the point person for all new clients coming in as a response to the direct mail piece.  We (my admin staff and I) would meet and greet and **** would run through the program in a private consult. The process was as follows: 1) Clients receive the mail piece and call to to get more info, get pre qualified and set up a consult appointment to see the studio and walk through the program details.2) Clients who are interested and feel it is for them, discuss the "maintenance fees may apply" bullet point.3) There is an initial set up fee (admin, supplies, nutrition booklet and direct mail cost recoup, postage, etc.) 4) There is also a "special promotions" monthly maintenance membership if they believe that extending their 16-week program to 1-year or 2-years maybe be on interest to them. 5) The FREE component is explained as: if a new client joins the program and completes it per the requirements they accept (a detailed client contract) (attend fitness sessions at least 3 and up to 5 times per week; have a coach review and sign off on their nutrition and food log at least three times per, schedule and complete a "weigh in", BF% analysis every 4 weeks)...at the end of 16-weeks not only would they experience super results and be healthier, we would be also able to use their results as future marketing of success stories and they would vie for the chance to have their initial fee reimbursed in full. For ******, the fee was $315.6) PFP uses a third party billing company called NAC. Each new client signs a legal contract and pays their initial fee and sets up monthly billing through NAC.7) From there, we take over and get them started in our service... The first issue was how the initial fee was billed: There was poor communication from **** to our front desk/admin staff as to how ****** paid her initial fee of $315. She paid via check that went to NAC (*********** **) for deposit. Unfortunately the paper work Ann, our admin associate, received reflected ******'s initial fee to be billed via credit card, which we did for $315. Thus the double billing. Once we found out that we, Achieve, billed her improperly we immediately refunded the $315. Since we use a merchant credit card system, we have the ability to refund right away. The second issue was in how ******'s refund request and then cancellation of membership was handled by ****. If a client believes they made a mistake and decide they are not ready for what they signed up for, they are able to cancel with NAC within the first 72 hour (three days). If, after that time, the contract outlines they need a doctor note or verification they moved over 20 miles from the studio. Again, this is what the NAC billing contract outlines. It seems, **** did not handle the double billing and subsequent request for refund in a customer focused way. Hearing from my admin staff about his conversation with ******. The third issue seems to be the time it took the billing company to process a refund. Most third party billing companies have a billing cycle. Some are three days, some are seven some are 30. Once ****** decided to cancel her membership, it took NAC their billing cycle (including the time it took to receive ******'s original check for $315)...to refund her fee. For NAC the cycle was five business days after it was received. Also, to cancel a membership, NAC requires a certified letter stating that a client is officially canceling. None of this came to my (owner) attention until after ****** had experienced what she did. Once I heard, I contacted ****'s boss at PFP and demanded her refund be processed immediately and that **** be removed and another membership consultant be sent to us by PFP.  It seems NAC did complete the refund but not until ****** had experienced a less than stellar service. I emailed ****** and have called her twice with no reply. My goal is to try to replace the "bad" experience she had with us (Achieve), as a result of the PFP, **** and NAC interaction. Our goal is ALWAYS have clients leave us with a fantastic experience. Thanks ***** and I am available any time to clarify the above.  I know ****** was very angry, as I would have been also, and I know we sometimes have a knee jerk reaction and just want our plight to be heard...thus her contacting the BBB. I do not fault her but just wish I would have gotten involved earlier and maybe all of this could have been avoided. Please let me know if/when the complaint and response will be posted on the BBB. Have a super day! Respectfully, ********* --
********* ********Co-Owner & Head CoachAchieve Personal Fitness, Inc.Milwaukee Adventure Boot Camp  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.